DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabbay (US 20190234740 A1) in view of Ramanathan (US 10944669 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Gabbay teaches a tactical portable communication system for a user(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device.), comprising: a communication device provided with a casing that has arranged in it a processor(Gabbay discloses an algorithm that provides different instructions. The algorithm inherently indicates the existence of a processor that executes the instructions. Gabbay, paragraph 79, the algorithm constructed to provide instructions to the user, responsive to a current position of the user associated with the route, and wherein the software product is adapted to provide commands from the algorithm to activate the at least one interface component on a device associated with the user, responsive to a current position of the device. ), a communication module for communication with a wireless network(Gabbay, paragraph 58, operating System Software OS Android/IOS/Winmobile/other, a GPS service, at least one of BT/BLE/WiFi/RF/wire/3.sup.rd party proprietary communication module), and a plurality of user position and/or motion sensors( Gabbay, paragraph 50, device is adapted to provide commands from the algorithm to activate the at least one interface components or sensors, responsive to a position of the device.), and,
a portable device able to be attached to a limb of a user and equipped with tactile stimulation members for the tactile stimulation of said limb (Gabbay, paragraph 23, providing tactile instructions from a device placed on an arm of a user. Gabbay, paragraph 139, Device 260 is also termed herein a “forearm-band sensation device”.) and with a control unit able to command and control each of the tactile stimulation members (Gabbay, paragraph 24, the algorithm constructed to provide instructions to the user, responsive to a current position of the device associated with the route, wherein the at least one device is adapted to provide commands from the algorithm to activate the at least four tactile stimulus components, responsive to a position of the device.),
wherein the communication device and the portable device each comprise associated wireless connection means(Gabbay, paragraph 35, a computerized mobile device (such as a cellphone, laptop, tablet, Smartphone or the like) carried by the user, which is adapted to process navigation information, and that is adapted to communicate by wired and/or wireless connection with at least one device), and in that the processor of the communication device is designed:
on the basis of data received, by the communication module, from the mesh network and/or of measurements acquired by one or more of said sensors(Gabbay discloses updating the position data of an arm device based on GPS(sensor) , which indicates a communication between a GPS sensor and the portable device. Gabbay, paragraph 286, The GPS service is then operative to update a new position of the user to arm device 260 and/or to a screen 104, 204, smart watch 280 or to any other device described herein in an updating position step 1628), to transmit, via the connection means, an instruction to the control unit of the portable device to control the tactile stimulation members(Gabbay, paragraph 24, the algorithm constructed to provide instructions to the user, responsive to a current position of the device associated with the route, wherein the at least one device is adapted to provide commands from the algorithm to activate the at least four tactile stimulus components, responsive to a position of the device)
on the basis of data received, by the communication module, from the mesh network and/or of measurements acquired by one or more of said sensors(Gabbay, paragraph 286, the GPS service is then operative to update a new position of the user to arm device 260 and/or to a screen 104, 204, smart watch 280 or to any other device described herein in an updating position step 1628), to transmit, via the communication module, a sequence of data on the network(Gabbay, paragraph 35, a computerized mobile device (such as a cellphone, laptop, tablet, Smartphone or the like) carried by the user, which is adapted to process navigation information, and that is adapted to communicate by wired and/or wireless connection with at least one device. Gabbay, paragraph 148, device 400 is configured with a BT/BLE/WiFi/RF/wire/other communication module 414, a barometer 416, a wireless/cellular network component 418, to provide full app functionality and to enable 3.sup.rd party access to a network and Bluetooth.).
While Gabbay teaches network between portable device and communication device, it specifically fails to disclose communication with a wireless mesh network; transmit, via the communication module, a sequence of data on the mesh network.
However, Ramanathan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches A mesh network protocol, discloses communication with a wireless mesh network (Ramanathan, col.1 line 34, the invention pertains to the communication of a message from a message-generating source node to all reachable nodes in a Mobile Ad Hoc Network (MANET), a Mesh Network, or in general a wireless peer-to-peer, infrastructure-less multi-hop network ); transmit, via the communication module, a sequence of data on the mesh network (Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, in a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node. Ramanathan, col.1 line 34, the invention pertains to the communication of a message from a message-generating source node to all reachable nodes in a Mobile Ad Hoc Network (MANET), a Mesh Network, or in general a wireless peer-to-peer, infrastructure-less multi-hop network).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Gabbay with Ramanathan to incorporate a device that communicates with a wireless mesh network. By using mesh network for communication, it is possible to establish peer-to-peer communications between devices over a variety of frequency bands.( Ramanathan, col.2 line 38, Ad hoc networks or mesh networks are also known. These protocols permit peer-to-peer communications between devices over a variety of frequency bands, and a range of capabilities).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the portable system according to claim 1(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node ), wherein upon receipt of a data sequence from the mesh network by the communication module, the communication module is able to retransmit the received data sequence onto the mesh network(Ramanathan, col.19 line 11, a mesh network communication method, comprising: in a first mode, selectively retransmitting each packet received by a respective node as a first modified packet, if the received packet has not been transmitted before by the respective node).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the portable system according to claim 1(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node), wherein the processor is arranged to estimate a movement of the user, from measurements acquired by one or more of said sensors(Gabbay discloses determining a user’s a movement such movement direction, orientation, and steps count using different sensors. Gabbay, paragraph 200, these sensors are those described with respect to the device drawings herein: [0201] i. compass: obtain orientation; [0202] ii. accelerometer: obtain movement direction; [0203] iii. pedometer: obtain steps count ), since their last known position and to estimate a new position of the user from said estimated movement and said last known position(Gabbay discloses dead recking system where it determines new location of a user based on previous location, and adding distance passed according to the time, stride length, user subjective/personalized data and sensors' data to determine new location. Gabbay, paragraph 208, calculate new geo point location step 1208, the algorithm is constructed and configured to determine a new user location. Gabbay, paragraph 210, The algorithm is further constructed and configured to obtain a speed factor, this function applies to walking, slow motion, jogging, running, driving, diving, swimming, etc. This function calculates the distance passed according to the time, stride length, user subjective/personalized data and sensors' data if available) in order to determine a user's speed factor. Gabbay, paragraph 212, based on the above factors, the algorithm then determines a new GEO position of the user in a determining user position step 1212.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the portable system according claim 1,(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node),wherein the communication device is arranged to receive, from the mesh network(Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, in a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node. Ramanathan, col.1 line 34, the invention pertains to the communication of a message from a message-generating source node to all reachable nodes in a Mobile Ad Hoc Network (MANET), a Mesh Network, or in general a wireless peer-to-peer, infrastructure-less multi-hop network), a sequence of data defining a trail between a start position and an end position(Gabbay discloses a continuous-line route from starting position to destination, which corresponds to a trail. Gabbay, paragraph 293, the application employs an innovative fragmentation algorithm to segment a continuous-line course 1704 (e.g. a GPX file format) from a starting point 1702 to a destination 1704 via a continuous line route. Gabbay, paragraph 128, this continuous line-trail is actually an assimilation of hundreds or thousands of waypoints, very close to each other), and in that the processor is arranged to determine, from said sequence of data, a set of waypoints fragmenting said trail(Gabbay, paragraph 293, the application employs an innovative fragmentation algorithm to segment a continuous-line course 1704 (e.g. a GPX file format) from a starting point 1702 to a destination 1704 via a continuous line route, into a fragmented, straight, clear, bearings stretched between clear waypoints 1721, 1722, 1723, . . . 1789, 1790, 1791 etc ) and to transmit, via the connection means, an instruction to the control unit of the portable device for controlling the tactile stimulation members(Gabbay, paragraph 73, the algorithm constructed to provide instructions to the user, responsive to a current position of the device associated with the route, and wherein the at least one device is adapted to provide commands from the algorithm to activate the at least one interface components, responsive to a position of the device. Gabbay, paragraph 41, the device comprises at least one tactile stimulus provider such as a micro-vibrator an electric vibes provider, a skin scratching element and the like, and combinations thereof, placed on the tip of each directional arm and the vibrations are ergonomically funneled to a specific point on the users forearm), said instruction being determined as a function of a user position estimated from measurements acquired by one or more of said sensors and said set of waypoints (Gabbay, paragraph 340, the app supports free-hand routing: the Navigator may draw his own route and navigate according to his route, including pre-defined waypoints. Gabbay, paragraph 350, the app is constructed to receive data from the device, such as, but not limited to, receive location trigger data to create a landmark. When a landmark is set, a waypoint is created on the route and there is an indication, such as a green LED, which blinks. Gabbay, paragraph 351, Based on the speed of the walk/run, the app alerts the user a bit before a required turn in order for him not to miss the turn with several short vibration flicks and light flicks on the relevant directional device's arm).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the portable system according to claim 4(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node), wherein the communication device comprises a memory wherein are stored a plurality of predetermined instructions for controlling the tactile stimulation members(Gabbay discloses instructions provided by a device to the user can be a tactile instructions. Furthermore, Gabbay discloses a device storing instructions that computer action, which indicates the device possessing a memory that stores predetermined instruction. Gabbay, paragraph 79, a computer software product, the product configured for provision of navigation instructions to a user in a GPS-denied environment, the product including a computer-readable medium in which program instructions are stored, which instructions, when read by a computer, cause the computer to. [0080] a. provide the user with the navigational instructions… current position of the user associated with the route, and wherein the software product is adapted to provide commands from the algorithm to activate the at least one interface component on a device associated with the user, responsive to a current position of the device. Gabbay, paragraph 23, a method is described for providing tactile instructions from a device placed on an arm of a user in Global Positioning Systems GPS (hereafter, GPS)-denied environments. Gabbay, paragraph 24, the algorithm constructed to provide instructions to the user, responsive to a current position of the device associated with the route, wherein the at least one device is adapted to provide commands from the algorithm to activate the at least four tactile stimulus components, responsive to a position of the device.), in that the processor is arranged to select at least one of said predetermined instructions stored in said memory as a function of said user's estimated position with respect to at least one of the waypoints and to transmit(Gabbay discloses a landmark waypoints that are used to determine a user’s actual location. Gabbay, paragraph 296, the application enables the user to name waypoints with descriptive names and thus to assist him in identifying waypoints' landmarks in order to pin his actual location, to them ), via the connection means, said selected instruction to the control unit of the portable device, and in that the control unit is arranged, in response to receiving said instruction, to control the tactile stimulation members to generate said selected instruction(Gabbay, paragraph 79, a computer software product, the product configured for provision of navigation instructions to a user in a GPS-denied environment, the product including a computer-readable medium in which program instructions are stored, which instructions, when read by a computer, cause the computer to. [0080] a. provide the user with the navigational instructions… current position of the user associated with the route, and wherein the software product is adapted to provide commands from the algorithm to activate the at least one interface component on a device associated with the user, responsive to a current position of the device. Gabbay, paragraph 61, according to an embodiment of the present invention, the device App is configured to activate different tactile stimulus components to instruct the user with different instructions. ).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches a communication device for a tactical portable communication system according to claim 1(Gabbay, paragraph 34, a portable device, which according to some embodiments is a cell phone device and/or wearable navigation forearm-band for intuitive navigation at sport, extreme, and military scenarios and conditions…. the device is constructed and configured to provide tactile instructions).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the communication device according to the preceding claim 14(Gabbay, paragraph 34, a portable device, which according to some embodiments is a cell phone device and/or wearable navigation forearm-band for intuitive navigation at sport, extreme, and military scenarios and conditions…. the device is constructed and configured to provide tactile instructions); further comprising at least one sensor or a combination of sensors chosen from: an accelerometer, a gyroscope, an inertial unit, a compass, a satellite positioning system receiver, a barometer, an altimeter, a pedometer(Gabbay, paragraph 53, the at least one device includes at least one of a screen, an interactive screen, a pedometer a compass, and accelerometer).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabbay (US 20190234740 A1) in view of Ramanathan (US 10944669 B1) in further view of Pacella (US 20190318596 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the portable system according to claim 1(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node), transmit, via the communication module, a data sequence containing said estimated data of reception over the mesh network(Ramanathan, col.16 line 6, In a wireless mesh network, it is often required to broadcast a given packet network-wide, that is, deliver it to every node in the network that is reachable. An example application is to send a node's Position Location Information (PLI) to every other node for situational awareness)
The combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan specifically fails to disclose a system wherein the communication device comprises at least one sound sensor and the processor is arranged to determine whether a sound detected by said sound sensor is a gunshot sound, to estimate a direction of reception of said detected sound and to transmit, via the communication module, a data sequence containing said estimated direction.
However, Pacella, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about mitigating a threat in a facility, it discloses a system wherein the communication device comprises at least one sound sensor(Pacella, paragraph 49, an acoustic sensor) and the processor(Pacella, paragraph 59, each user interface device 28 may include… a processor) is arranged to determine whether a sound detected by said sound sensor is a gunshot sound, to estimate a direction of reception of said detected sound and (Pacella, paragraph 49, the gunshot detection module may detect when a gunshot occurs in the facility 14, the location of the gunshot, and the direction of the gunshot based on an input from an acoustic sensor in the facility 14 (such as the microphone 24) and/or an optical sensor in the facility 14. ); to transmit, via the communication module, a data sequence containing said estimated direction(Pacella, paragraph 58, the threat detection module 18 may transmit a signal directly to the central command center 12 when a threat is identified. For example, if a gunshot is detected or a weapon is detected, the threat detection module 18 may output a signal directly to the central command center 12 indicating that the gunshot or weapon is detected. Pacella, paragraph 49, the gunshot detection module outputs a signal indicating when a gunshot is detected in the facility 14, the number of gunshots detected, the location of the gunshot(s), and/or the direction of the gunshot(s).).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Gabbay and Ramanathan with Pacella to detect a gunshot and its direction based on acoustic/ sound sensor data. By determining gunshot sound and its direction, it is possible to identify a threat in an area and plan a proactive or reactive approach to the threat. ( Pacella, paragraph 56, The threat identification module 26 may identify a threat in the facility 14 when the threat detection module 18 detects a gunshot and/or a weapon. If the threat detection module 18 determines whether a person holding a weapon in the facility 14 is authorized to do so, the threat identification module 26 may only identify a threat in the facility 14 when the person is not authorized to hold the weapon. Pacella, paragraph 41, Identifying a threat in a facility and using drone groups to mitigate the threat as described above takes more of a proactive approach to threat identification and mitigation than a reactive one).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the portable system according to claim 1(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node), further comprising a device for detecting a shot fired by the user(Pacella, paragraph 49, the gunshot detection module may detect when a gunshot occurs in the facility 14),the detection device comprising wireless connection means associated with the wireless connection means of the communication device(Pacella, paragraph 86, interface circuits may include wired or wireless interfaces that are connected to a local area network (LAN), the Internet, a wide area network (WAN), or combinations thereof), and in that the detection device and/or the processor of the communication device is arranged to estimate a number of shots fired by the user over a period of time(Pacella discloses determining a number of shots fired by a person, it specifically does not disclose determining the number of gunshot over a period of time. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the number of gunshot for a specific time period based on Pacella’s teaching. Pacella, paragraph 49, the gunshot detection module outputs a signal indicating when a gunshot is detected in the facility 14, the number of gunshots detected, the location of the gunshot(s), and/or the direction of the gunshot(s) ), from measurements acquired by the detection device, and in that the processor is arranged to transmit, via the communication module, a data sequence containing said estimated number(Pacella, paragraph 58, the threat detection module 18 may transmit a signal directly to the central command center 12 when a threat is identified. For example, if a gunshot is detected or a weapon is detected, the threat detection module 18 may output a signal directly to the central command center 12 indicating that the gunshot or weapon is detected ) over the mesh network(Ramanathan, col.1 line 34, the invention pertains to the communication of a message from a message-generating source node to all reachable nodes in a Mobile Ad Hoc Network (MANET), a Mesh Network, or in general a wireless peer-to-peer, infrastructure-less multi-hop network).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabbay (US 20190234740 A1) in view of Ramanathan (US 10944669 B1) in further view of Futami (WO 2021229886 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the portable system according to claim 1(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node), wherein the communication module is adapted to transmit a data sequence over the mesh network(Ramanathan, col.1 line 34, the invention pertains to the communication of a message from a message-generating source node to all reachable nodes in a Mobile Ad Hoc Network (MANET), a Mesh Network, or in general a wireless peer-to-peer, infrastructure-less multi-hop network )
The combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan specifically fails to disclose a communication by modulating, using said data sequence, a carrier wave having a center frequency selected from a plurality of predetermined center frequencies, and in that the processor is arranged to periodically select a new center frequency from said plurality of predetermined center frequencies for said transmission.
However, Futami, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a reception device, discloses a communication by modulating, using said data sequence, a carrier wave having a center frequency selected from a plurality of predetermined center frequencies(Futami discloses different bands (L1 and L5) that have predetermined center frequencies to transmit GPS data. Futami, paragraph 15, a predetermined frequency band (for example, L1 band and L5 band) in GPS or QZSS is transmitted. Here, the L1 band is a frequency band having a predetermined bandwidth (± 12.0 MHz, etc.) having a center frequency of 1575.42 MHz (MHz). The L5 band is a frequency band having a predetermined bandwidth (± 12.45 MHz, etc.) having a center frequency of 1176.45 MHz (MHz).), and in that the processor is arranged to periodically select a new center frequency from said plurality of predetermined center frequencies for said transmission(Futami, paragraph 208, switching from the combination of the L1 signal, the L5 signal and the L2 signal to the combination of the L1 signal, the L5 signal and the L6 signal is executed when predetermined conditions regarding the number of satellites, positioning accuracy and the like are satisfied. Futami, paragraph 15, a predetermined frequency band (for example, L1 band and L5 band) in GPS or QZSS is transmitted. Here, the L1 band is a frequency band having a predetermined bandwidth (± 12.0 MHz, etc.) having a center frequency of 1575.42 MHz (MHz). The L5 band is a frequency band having a predetermined bandwidth (± 12.45 MHz, etc.) having a center frequency of 1176.45 MHz (MHz).).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan with Futami to transmit data by selecting different center frequency from plurality of predetermined center frequencies. By selecting a band with different center frequency, it is possible to improve of data transmission accuracy such as position signal when a particular band is not functioning well. ( Futami, paragraph 104, the performance can be further improved by using the three frequency bands of the L1 signal, the L2 signal, and the L5 signal. Therefore, when the number of satellites, positioning accuracy, or the like is insufficient, the receiving device 200 switches from the two wavelengths of the L1 signal, the L5 signal, the L1 signal, and the L2 signal to the three wavelengths of the L1 signal, the L2 signal, and the L5 signal. Futami, paragraph 208, switching from the combination of the L1 signal, the L5 signal and the L2 signal to the combination of the L1 signal, the L5 signal and the L6 signal is executed when predetermined conditions regarding the number of satellites, positioning accuracy and the like are satisfied. Futami, paragraph 93, positioning accuracy may be insufficient only in these two frequency bands. be. The receiving device 200 of the modification of the first embodiment is different from the first embodiment in that positioning is further performed by using the L2 signal. Here, the L2 signal is a signal transmitted by the satellite after modulating the carrier wave in the L2 band. This L2 band is a frequency band having a predetermined bandwidth (± 12.0 MHz, etc.) having a center frequency of 1227.60 MHz (MHz). ).
Claims 9, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabbay (US 20190234740 A1) in view of Ramanathan (US 10944669 B1) in further view of Thompson(US 20210403157 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches a tactical information system, comprising a plurality of portable systems according to claim 1 and (Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node),
The combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan specifically fails to disclose a central control device comprising a processor, a visualization and interaction interface and a communication module with a wireless mesh network, the communication devices of all the portable systems and the central device forming a wireless mesh network, each communication device being able to exchange data, via its communication module and through the wireless mesh network, with the central device.
However, Thompson, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about control system of distributed assets, discloses a central control device comprising a processor, a visualization and interaction interface and a communication module with a wireless mesh network(Thompson’s radio and WIFI communication indicates an incorporation of wireless network. Thompson, paragraph 85, fig. 5 illustrates one embodiment of a system with a mesh communication network and a command & control unit. The embodiment shows a central unit 500, which may be a portable unit, or a central processing unit, with both communication and processing capabilities. Thompson, paragraph 10, the user interface (“UI”) to a person, which is typically located either in or at the physical location of the tablet or other portable device. Thompson, paragraph 76, positioning sub-systems 450 include any components useful in determining position, such as GPS, WiFi, Angle of Arrival, Time of Arrival, Frequency of Arrival, radio, WiFi, or any other components for triangulating location and otherwise determining position), the communication devices of all the portable systems and the central device forming a wireless mesh network(Thompson, paragraph 76, Positioning sub-systems 450 include any components useful in determining position, such as GPS, WiFi, Angle of Arrival, Time of Arrival, Frequency of Arrival, radio, WiFi, or any other components for triangulating location and otherwise determining position. Static support equipment 460 includes fixed sensors, or units for launching assets such as missile launchers. [0078] All of the units in the System, including both those in the bottom row and the command & control units, are part of a mesh communication network 410… [0079] Maps 480 and other intelligence 480 may be downloaded from the Internet, from other public sources, or from private sources, for placement with the C&C System, typically with the portable device or, in alternative embodiments, with a central processing device. ), each communication device being able to exchange data, via its communication module and through the wireless mesh network, with the central device(Thompson, paragraph 85, FIG. 5 illustrates one embodiment of a system with a mesh communication network and a command & control unit. The embodiment shows a central unit 500, which may be a portable unit, or a central processing unit, with both communication and processing capabilities ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Gabbay and Ramanathan with Thompson to a central unit with mesh communication network. By having a central control unit in a mesh network, it is possible to control different nodes/devices from a single apparatus controlled by a user. (Thompson, paragraph 11, a single user to be able to control numerous independent systems simultaneously, process large amounts of data quickly, and make mission-critical decisions as efficiently as possible ).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Thompson teaches the tactical information system according to claim 9(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node; Thompson, paragraph 85, fig. 5 illustrates one embodiment of a system with a mesh communication network and a command & control unit. The embodiment shows a central unit 500, which may be a portable unit, or a central processing unit, with both communication and processing capabilities. ), wherein the central control device is arranged to, depending on a user's interaction with the visualization and interaction interface, transmit to the communication device of at least one of the portable systems(Thompson, paragraph 15, a portable device executes both communication with the distributed assets, and processing of their data into information which may be displayed to a human user and on which decisions and actions may be taken. Such embodiments are “on-load” in the sense that the processing is done by the portable device without a separate processing unit. In these embodiments, all of the units operate in a mesh communication network, in which the portable device is in communication to and from the distributed assets ), via its communication module and through the wireless mesh network(As discussed above, Thompson’s radio and WIFI communication indicates an incorporation of wireless network. Thompson, paragraph 76, positioning sub-systems 450 include any components useful in determining position, such as GPS, WiFi, Angle of Arrival, Time of Arrival, Frequency of Arrival, radio, WiFi, or any other components for triangulating location and otherwise determining position), a data sequence defining a trail between a start position and an end position( As discussed above, Gabbay discloses a continuous-line route from starting position to destination, which corresponds to a trail. Gabbay, paragraph 293, the application employs an innovative fragmentation algorithm to segment a continuous-line course 1704 (e.g. a GPX file format) from a starting point 1702 to a destination 1704 via a continuous line route. Gabbay, paragraph 128, this continuous line-trail is actually an assimilation of hundreds or thousands of waypoints, very close to each other).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Thompson teaches the tactical information system according to claims 9(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node), wherein the central device is able to receive, from the communication device of at least one of the portable systems(Thompson paragraph 85, FIG. 5 illustrates one embodiment of a system with a mesh communication network and a command & control unit. The embodiment shows a central unit 500, which may be a portable unit, or a central processing unit, with both communication and processing capabilities. Any device or machine that has both capabilities—communication and processing—may be such a device 500. For example, a portable personal computer, an on-board computer on an armored personal carrier (“APC”), a handheld communicator, or another such device or machine.), a data sequence containing a position of the user of this portable system(Thompson discloses a device where it has a user’s own current coordinates, which corresponds to the position of the user. Thompson paragraph 49, a single user may deploy in a mission area with a tablet or other portable device for communication and processing, connected via a mesh network to a docking station containing a group of assets. The user would open the device and have a map view of his current coordinates), and wherein the processor of the central device is arranged, upon receipt of said data sequence, to update a map displayed on the visualization and interaction interface using said user position(Thompson paragraph 10, the user interface (“UI”) to a person, which is typically located either in or at the physical location of the tablet or other portable device, portrays the 3D map, dynamically updated by events in the field ).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabbay (US 20190234740 A1) in view of Ramanathan (US 10944669 B1) in further view of Thompson(US 20210403157 A1) in further view of Toh(US 20200387956 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Thompson teaches the tactical information system according claim 9 (Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node; Thompson, paragraph 85, fig. 5 illustrates one embodiment of a system with a mesh communication network and a command & control unit. The embodiment shows a central unit 500, which may be a portable unit, or a central processing unit, with both communication and processing capabilities.), wherein the central device is able to receive, from the communication device of at least one of the portable systems(Thompson paragraph 85, FIG. 5 illustrates one embodiment of a system with a mesh communication network and a command & control unit. The embodiment shows a central unit 500, which may be a portable unit, or a central processing unit, with both communication and processing capabilities. Any device or machine that has both capabilities—communication and processing—may be such a device 500. For example, a portable personal computer, an on-board computer on an armored personal carrier (“APC”), a handheld communicator, or another such device or machine.), a data sequence containing a position of the user of this portable system and (Thompson discloses a device where it has a user’s own current coordinates, which corresponds to the position of the user. Thompson paragraph 49, a single user may deploy in a mission area with a tablet or other portable device for communication and processing, connected via a mesh network to a docking station containing a group of assets. The user would open the device and have a map view of his current coordinates ),
The combination of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Thompson specifically fails to disclose a system wherein the processor of the central device is arranged, upon receipt of said data sequence, to compare said position of the user with respect to a predetermined geographical area and, as a function of said comparison, to transmit, via the communication module and through the wireless mesh network, a data sequence containing an alert.
However, Toh, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about deriving an actual location of the client device discloses a system wherein the processor of the central device is arranged, upon receipt of said data sequence, to compare said position of the user with respect to a predetermined geographical area and(Toh, paragraph 394, comparing the actual location of the client device with the pre-determined location of the user interaction, ), as a function of said comparison, to transmit, via the communication module(While Toh specifically discusses sending data to remote server, Ramanathan discloses transmitting data through wireless mesh network. The combination Toh and Ramanathan teaches transfer of compared location data with mesh network. Toh, paragraph 396, sending the automated message to the remote server as soon as the client device is connected over the wireless connection, and outputting the automated message to a user of the remote server) and through the wireless mesh network, a data sequence containing an alert( Toh, paragraph 395, generating an alert message if a mismatch between the actual location of the client device and the predetermined location of the user interaction is detected).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Thompson with Toh to compare current location of a user and with a predetermined location, and generate an alert based on location difference. By generating an alert when there is a mismatch between a user’s current location and predefined location, it is possible to notify the user not to travel out of an assigned area or in a wrong direction to prevent waste of time and resources.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabbay (US 20190234740 A1) in view of Ramanathan (US 10944669 B1) in further view of Thompson(US 20210403157 A1) in further view of Tirard (US 20160373846 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Thompson teaches the tactical information system according to claim 9(Gabbay, paragraph 173, System 450 connects via the internet 490, with a computer 495, such as a laptop, and/or device 452, which can communicate with tactile device; Ramanathan, col.8 line 24, In a mesh network, each node acts as both a transmitter and a receiver. Each node tries to forward every message to every one of its neighbors except the source node; Thompson, paragraph 85, fig. 5 illustrates one embodiment of a system with a mesh communication network and a command & control unit. The embodiment shows a central unit 500, which may be a portable unit, or a central processing unit, with both communication and processing capabilities),
The combination of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Thompson specifically fails to disclose a system wherein the central device is adapted to receive, from the communication device of at least three of the portable systems, data sequences each containing a direction of reception of a same sound of a detected gunshot, and wherein the processor of the central device is arranged, upon reception of said data sequences, to determine a position of origin of said shot.
However, Tirard, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a sound capturing system, discloses a system wherein the central device is adapted to receive, from the communication device of at least three of the portable systems(Tirard, paragraph 30, In FIG. 2, a sound pick-up system 10 is illustrated, including several acoustic sensors 2 (three acoustic sensors 2 are illustrated here but of course the sound pick-up system 10 may include a different number thereof) positioned on a support 21 and oriented in different directions), data sequences each containing a direction of reception of a same sound of a detected gunshot, and wherein the processor of the central device is arranged, upon reception of said data sequences, to determine a position of origin of said shot(Tirard discloses a device that is mounted on a vehicle that determines origin of a shooting/gunshot. Tirard, paragraph 4, an advantageous application is for example the detection of shooting in order to localize the origin by equipping military vehicles. Tirard, paragraph 5, These sound pick-up systems include acoustic sensors for example loaded onboard the roof of the vehicle ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Thompson with Tirard to determine the origin of a gunshot based on sound sensor data. By determining origin of the gunshot, it is possible for a military personnel to be aware of the gunshot direction and increase alertness in that specific direction, while taking proactive or reactive measures to counteract a threat.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabbay (US 20190234740 A1) in view of Ramanathan (US 10944669 B1) in further view of Niziol (US 20210057688 A1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the communication device according to 14(Gabbay, paragraph 34, a portable device, which according to some embodiments is a cell phone device and/or wearable navigation forearm-band for intuitive navigation at sport, extreme, and military scenarios and conditions….the device is constructed and configured to provide tactile instructions),
The combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan specifically fails to disclose a device further comprising a battery, in that the casing may comprise two parts, in that the battery is arranged in one of the parts while the processor, the communication module, and said plurality of sensors are arranged in the other of the parts, and in that the casing is made of an aluminum-based material.
However, Niziol, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about housing of an energy storage device, discloses a device further comprising a battery, in that the casing may comprise two parts(Niziol’s housing is similar to the casing. Niziol, paragraph 111, FIG. 3a-3e illustrates yet another embodiment of a storage and transport cassette in which the hollow longitudinal casing comprises multiple parts, such as two C-shaped shells coupled to each other to define a cavity for receiving battery packs ), in that the battery is arranged in one of the parts while the processor, the communication module, and said plurality of sensors are arranged in the other of the parts(Niziol’s separation of compartment and assigning a sole compartment for battery indicates other components such as a printed circuit board, sensors, and the communication interface, which is similar to the communication module, being in arranged in different compartments.. Niziol paragraph 103, divider board 42 may be a printed circuit board with circuitry and components, such as thermal sensor, and separates the battery pack compartment from the compartment with the printed circuit board 48. Niziol, paragraph 108, divider board also carries a thermal sensor and memory means with digital ID associated with cassette 70 and/or battery packs 72a, 72b, 72c and 72d. Niziol, paragraph 123, the battery management system includes a communication interface for exchanging information with a receiver board associated with the host equipment ), and in that the casing is made of an aluminum-based material(Niziol, paragraph 102, hollow longitudinal casing 14 may be formed from a metal, such as aluminum ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Gabbay and Ramanathan with Niziol to arrange battery in a compartment of the housing/ casing different from other components. By separating battery from other components, it is possible to prevent short circuit by avoiding contact with other conductive materials. ( Niziol, paragraph 6, the cells and batteries are afforded protection against short circuit, including protection against contact with conductive materials within the same packaging that could lead to a short circuit).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabbay (US 20190234740 A1) in view of Ramanathan (US 10944669 B1) in further view of Guttag(JP 2017531212 A) in further view of Wang(CN 211180224 U).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan teaches the communication device according to claims 14(Gabbay, paragraph 34, a portable device, which according to some embodiments is a cell phone device and/or wearable navigation forearm-band for intuitive navigation at sport, extreme, and military scenarios and conditions…. the device is constructed and configured to provide tactile instructions),
The combination of Gabbay and Ramanathan specifically fails to disclose a device further comprising at least one motion sensor and at least one receiver of a satellite positioning system, said motion sensor and receiver being arranged on the same printed circuit board, in that it comprises a cover made of a plastic polymer and interposed between the said printed circuit board and the casing, the cover comprising a window arranged opposite the said motion sensor and a recess arranged opposite the receiver, and in that the casing comprises a window arranged in a wall opposite which the cover is provided, the recess of the cover projecting from the window.
However, Guttag, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about head-up display device, discloses a device further comprising at least one motion sensor and at least one receiver of a satellite positioning system, said motion sensor and receiver being arranged on the same printed circuit board(Guttag discloses different sensors can be on an attached on an electronic device that can be implemented on printed circuit board. Furthermore these sensors can be GPS receivers(satellite positioning system) and motion sensors. Guttag, paragraph 111, a “posture sensor”, such as a gyroscope 223 (or an inclinometer, or other type of posture sensor with a sufficiently high bandwidth or refresh rate) is provided within the HUD device 2, for example a housing. 4 may be included in a printed circuit board on which the control electronic component 6 is mounted. Guttag, paragraph 84, the control electronics 6 can be “waken up” in response to the event, such as using information from the accelerometer 227 (or other type of motion sensor) to detect this.), in that it comprises a cover made of a plastic polymer (Guttag, paragraph 101, fig. 11 illustrates shell 4 of the exploded view of the structure. housing 4 comprises upper housing 104 and abdomen 106, upper shell 104 and abdomen 106 both can be made of polycarbonate or other plastic forming ) and interposed between the said printed circuit board and the casing(Guttag discloses that the belly(bottom wall of the housing/casing) which is plastic sits below the printed circuit board indicating it is interposed between the printed circuit board and the casing. Guttag, paragraph 101, housing 4 comprises upper housing 104 and abdomen 106, upper shell 104 and abdomen 106 both can be made of polycarbonate or other plastic forming, if necessary, belly 106 can be an elastomeric outer coating is formed.), the cover comprising a window arranged opposite the said motion sensor and(Guttag discloses an opening that exists on the belly which sits below the circuit board, where different sensors are attached. Furthermore, as discussed above, different sensors can be attached to the printed circuit board, which is opposite/facing the belly/cover of the device. Guttag, paragraph 101, fig. 11, the screen 12 through the hinge 16S (not show in FIG. 11) is attached to the belly 206 to the shell 4 is assembled, extends through the opening in housing 104), and in that the casing comprises a window arranged in a wall opposite which the cover is provided(As discussed above, Guttag discloses an opening that exists on the belly which sits below the circuit board, where different sensors are attached. Guttag, paragraph 101, fig. 11, the screen 12 through the hinge 16S (not show in FIG. 11) is attached to the belly 206 to the shell 4 is assembled, extends through the opening in housing 104 ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Gabbay and Ramanathan with Guttag to incorporate a plastic between the housing and printed circuit board. The existence the plastic helps provide insulation that reduces conductivity.(Guttag, paragraph 110, the core is covered with a plastic material or rubber material and has at least some viscous or a conformal material is adhered on the lower side has a memory. this configuration (a bendable portion particularly has base 100 of core part) not only realizes the HUD device 2 is safely placed on the instrument panel DSH, but also provides a projector engine 10, screen 12 and combiner 14 and mechanical isolation of the instrument panel DSH ).
The combination of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Guttag specifically fails to disclose a device with a recess arranged opposite the receiver; the recess of the cover projecting from the window.
However, Wang, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about SOS positioning intelligent terminal, discloses a device with a recess arranged opposite the receiver( Wang, paragraph 14, the first cavity, the second cavity opposite to the SIM card and the GPS module); the recess of the cover projecting from the window(Wang discusses different openings/windows that the device housing. Furthermore, Guttag discloses different openings/windows that provide access to different component of the device. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the teaching Guttag and Wang to incorporate a cavity/recess projecting from window. Wang, paragraph 28, wherein the upper shell (1) is clamped and connected with the clamping groove (25) set at the outer side of the upper end of the middle shell (2) through the clamping block (7) set at the outer side of the bottom end; and the middle shell (2) is sleeved and connected with the cylindrical (5) set at the front and back sides of the upper end of the bottom shell (4) through the round hole (10) opened at the front and back parts at the two sides of the bottom end ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Gabbay, Ramanathan, and Guttag with Wang to incorporate a cavity/recess opposite of the GPS module(satellite positioning system). The cavity allows the GPS module to be placed in a right position, which prevents the GPS sensor from providing a fluctuating data due to unstable sensor placement.
This conclusion of obviousness corresponds to KSR rationale “A”: it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP § 2141, subsection III.
Conclusion
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665