DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
1. This office action is in response to communication filled on 06/17/2026. Claims 1-30 are pending on this application.
2. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 5-15, 17-27 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2022/0085943) in view of Ren (US 20240284398) and Josan (US 2020/0053712).
4. As per claim 1, Zhu teaches equipment (UE), comprising: one or more antennas (Zhu, Fig. 3 item 305); a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors (Zhu, ¶0005), the processing system configured to cause the UE to user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor (Zhu, Fig. 3 item 340); memory coupled with the processor (Zhu, Fig. 3 item 360), and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a first transmission reception point (TRP), a first reference signal (Zhu, ¶0102 “… CSI-RS … one TRP … CSI-RS … other TRP”. Furthermore, it’s well-known in the art at the time of the invention to communicate reference signal for timing adjustment purpose Ren US 2024/0284398 for example ¶0287); receive, from a second TRP, a second reference signal (Zhu, ¶0102 “… CSI-RS … one TRP … CSI-RS … other TRP”); and perform an autonomous timing advance adjustment procedure by autonomously adjusting a first timing advance parameter associated with the first TRP based at least in part on a measurement associated with the first reference signal (Zhu, ¶0165 “… measure the RSs … TRP-1 … determine … timings … TRP-1) and autonomously adjusting a second timing advance parameter associated with the second TRP based at least in part on a measurement associated with the second reference signal (Zhu, ¶0165 “… measure the RSs … TRP-2 … determine … timings … TRP-2),
Zhu doesn’t explicitly mention, Josan teaches wherein performing the autonomous timing advance adjustment procedure comprises performing the timing advance adjustment procedure without receiving a timing advance command from a network node (Josan, ¶0034). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Zhu Ren and Josan as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of timing adjustment.
5. Claim 25 is similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
6. As per claim 2, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the measurement associated with the first reference signal is associated with a first downlink reception timing associated with the first TRP (Zhu, ¶0165 “… measure the RSs … transmitted from TRP-1 ...), and wherein the measurement associated with the second reference signal is associated with a second downlink reception timing associated with the second TRP (Zhu, ¶0165 “… measure the RSs … transmitted from … TRP-2 ...).
7. Claim 26 is similarly analyzed as claim 2 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
8. As per claim 3, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, for each of the first TRP and the second TRP, autonomously adjusting a corresponding timing advance parameter is based at least in part on at least one of: a new downlink reception timing associated with a corresponding TRP, a physical layer time constant, a timing advance offset value, a new time alignment amount associated with the corresponding TRP, an old time alignment amount associated with the corresponding TRP, or an old downlink reception timing associated with the corresponding TRP (Ren, ¶0334).
9. Claim 27 is similarly analyzed as claim 3 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
10. As per claim 5, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first reference signal or the second reference signal is one of a synchronization signal block, a channel state information reference signal, or a positioning reference signal (Zhu, ¶0102”).
11. As per claim 6, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the first reference signal is associated with a first TRP identifier associated with the first TRP, and wherein the second reference signal is associated with a second TRP identifier associated with the second TRP (Zhu, ¶0092).
12. As per claim 7, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein at least one of the first TRP identifier or the second TRP identifier is associated with one of a control resource set pool index, a physical channel identity, or a sounding reference signal set identifier (Zhu, ¶0092).
13. As per claim 8, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to receive an indication associating the first reference signal with the first TRP identifier and associating the second reference signal with the second TRP identifier (Zhu, ¶0092 0165).
14. As per claim 9, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein the indication associating the first reference signal with the first TRP identifier and associating the second reference signal with the second TRP identifier is received via one of a radio resource control communication, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) communication, or a downlink control information message (Zhu, ¶0255).
15. As per claim 10, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein the indication associating the first reference signal with the first TRP identifier and associating the second reference signal with the second TRP identifier is associated with a bitmap mapping the first reference signal to the first TRP identifier and mapping the second reference signal to the second TRP identifier (Zhu, ¶0255).
16. As per claim 11, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein the indication associating the first reference signal with the first TRP identifier is associated with a first reference signal configuration associated with the first reference signal (Zhu, ¶0255), and wherein the indication associating the second reference signal with the second TRP identifier is associated with a second reference signal configuration associated with the second reference signal (Zhu, ¶0255).
17. As per claim 12, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: receive a first reference signal group configuration associated with the first reference signal, wherein the indication associating the first reference signal with the first TRP identifier is associated with the first reference signal group configuration(Zhu, ¶0255); and receive a second reference signal group configuration associated with the second reference signal, wherein the indication associating the second reference signal with the second TRP identifier is associated with the second reference signal group configuration (Zhu, ¶0255).
18. As per claim 13, Zhu teaches a network node, comprising: one or more antennas (Zhu, Fig. 2 item 205); a processing system that includes one or more processors and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors, the processing system configured to cause the network node to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a reference signal configuration associated with a transmission reception point (TRP) (Zhu, ¶0006 “… configuration … “); transmit, to the UE, a reference signal based at least in part on the reference signal configuration (Zhu, ¶0006 “… RSs …”); and receive, from the UE, a communication, wherein a timing of the communication is based at least in part on a multi-TRP autonomous timing advance adjustment procedure performed by the UE (Zhu, ¶0006 “… receive … timing …”).
Zhu doesn’t explicitly mention, Josan teaches wherein performance of the multi-TRP autonomous timing advance adjustment procedure is without transmission of a timing advance command to the UE (Josan, ¶0034). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Zhu Ren and Josan as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of timing adjustment.
19. Claim 29 is similarly analyzed as claim 13 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
20. As per claim 14, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 13, wherein the multi-TRP autonomous timing advance adjustment procedure is associated with a downlink reception timing associated with the TRP and with another downlink reception timing associated with another TRP (Zhu, ¶0203).
21. Claim 30 is similarly analyzed as claim 14 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
22. As per claim 15, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 13, wherein the multi-TRP autonomous timing advance adjustment procedure is based at least in part on at least one of: a new downlink reception timing associated with the TRP, a physical layer time constant, a timing advance offset value, a new time alignment amount associated with the TRP, an old time alignment amount associated with the TRP, or an old downlink reception timing associated with the TRP (Ren, ¶0334).
23. As per claim 17, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 13, wherein the reference signal is one of a synchronization signal block, a channel state information reference signal, or a positioning reference signal (Zhu, ¶0102”).
24. As per claim 18, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 13, wherein the reference signal is associated with a TRP identifier associated with the TRP (Zhu, ¶0092 0165).
25. As per claim 19, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 18, wherein the TRP identifier is associated with one of a control resource set pool index, a physical channel identity, or a sounding reference signal set identifier (Zhu, ¶0092).
26. As per claim 20, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 18, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to transmit, to the UE, an indication associating the reference signal with the TRP identifier (Zhu, ¶0255).
27. As per claim 21, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 20, wherein the indication associating the reference signal with the TRP identifier is transmitted via one of a radio resource control communication, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) communication, or a downlink control information message (Zhu, ¶0255).
28. As per claim 22, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 20, wherein the indication associating the reference signal with the TRP identifier is associated with a bitmap mapping the reference signal to the TRP (Zhu, ¶0255).
29. As per claim 23, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 20, wherein the indication associating the reference signal with the TRP identifier is transmitted in a communication including the reference signal configuration (Zhu, ¶0255).
30. As per claim 24, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the network node of claim 20, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to transmit, to the UE, a reference signal group configuration associated with the reference signal, wherein the indication associating the reference signal with the TRP identifier is associated with the reference signal group configuration (Zhu, ¶0255).
31. Claims 4, 16 and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 2022/0085943) in view of Ren (US 20240284398) and Josan (US 2020/0053712) and further in view of Li (US 2023/0246683).
32. As per claim 4, Zhu in view of Ren and Josan teaches the UE of claim 1 (see claim 1). While Zhu in view of Ren doesn’t explicitly mention, Li teaches wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: receive, from the first TRP, a first set of reference signals, wherein the first reference signal is one of a strongest reference signal, of the first set of reference signals, or an earliest arriving reference signal, of the first set of reference signals (Li, ¶0062-0064 “… strongest … shortest time-of-flight …”); and receive, from the second TRP, a second set of reference signals, wherein the second reference signal is one of a strongest reference signal, of the second set of reference signals, or an earliest arriving reference signal, of the second set of reference signals (Li, ¶0062-0064 “… strongest … shortest time-of-flight …”). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Zhu, Ren and Li as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of improving timing adjustment in a communication system.
33. Claim 28 is similarly analyzed as claim 4 for obviousness reasons discussed above.
34. As per claim 16, Zhu in view of Ren, Josan and Li teaches the network node of claim 13, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to transmit, to the UE, a set of reference signals, wherein the UE uses, for the multi-TRP autonomous timing advance adjustment procedure, one of a strongest reference signal, of the set of reference signals, or an earliest arriving reference signal, of the set of reference signals (Li, ¶0062-0064 “… strongest … shortest time-of-flight …”). Therefore, taking the combined teaching of Zhu, Ren and Li as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the instant limitation for the benefit of improving timing adjustment in a communication system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635