Claims 1-3, 15-17, and 22-24 have been amended.
Claims 1-7 and 15-28 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/4/2026 have been considered.
With respect to arguments regarding 112(b), the arguments are persuasive and the rejection is withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments.
With respect to arguments regarding 101, this argument is not persuasive. Training a service model may be just sending and receiving data, which is still not integrated into a practical application, therefore, the 101 rejection still stands.
With respect to arguments regarding 102 rejections that the cited reference does not teach “fragment sum value” or “specified fragment,” this argument is not persuasive. The claims do not require the fragment sum value to be a precomputed sum, just that the parties hold a sum of two values which meet a predetermined rule.
With respect to arguments regarding 102 rejections that the cited reference does not teach the claimed computation based on the fragment sum value, specified fragment, and two calculation fragments, this argument is not persuasive. The required products are still a part of the process of calculating the sum as the argued differences are not recited in the claims.
With respect to arguments regarding 102 rejections that the cited reference does not teach the amended feature, examiner respectfully disagrees, as Paragraph [0059] teaches that the data being shared by the parties is not allowed to be unencrypted which means the plaintext of the data is not being sent to the other parties.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 and 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 under the 2019 PEG framework. The claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea falling within the “methods of organizing human activity” and “data analysis” groupings) that is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 1: Statutory Category. Claims 1, 15, and 22 satisfies the statutory category requirement because it is directed to a “method” or “process” under 35 U.S.C. § 101(a). The claim recites a series of steps performed with at least one processor, including obtaining a library, obtaining vulnerability information, generating rules, training a machine learning model, scanning applications, and providing an indication of vulnerabilities.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Identification of Judicial Exception. Claims 1, 15, and 22 recites multiple judicial exceptions within the abstract idea category. First, the claim recites multi-party joint data processing: “acquiring two calculation fragments corresponding to the ith party from three calculation fragments obtained by dividing calculation data,” “determining a first result fragment of a product result of the target data and the calculation data based on the fragment sum value, the specified fragment, and the two calculation fragments…sending the first result fragment to a next participating party of the ith party,” “receiving a second result fragment of the product result from a previous participating party of the ith party, wherein the second result fragment is determined by the previous participating party based on a fragment sum value and a specified fragment that are held by the previous participating party, and two calculation fragments corresponding to the previous participating party,” and “training, using the second result fragment and without sending plaintext of a target fragment held by the ith party, a service model jointly with the next participating party and the previous participating party” constitute mental processes and data manipulation that could be performed in the human mind. Second, the claim recites a method of organizing human activity—a data processing method with contributions from different parties: acquire data, determine a result, sending the result to a different party, receiving a result from a different party. This is a business or organizational process predating computers. The offending clauses are: “acquiring two calculation fragments corresponding to the ith party from three calculation fragments obtained by dividing calculation data,” “determining a first result fragment of a product result of the target data and the calculation data based on the fragment sum value, the specified fragment, and the two calculation fragments…sending the first result fragment to a next participating party of the ith party,” “receiving a second result fragment of the product result from a previous participating party of the ith party, wherein the second result fragment is determined by the previous participating party based on a fragment sum value and a specified fragment that are held by the previous participating party, and two calculation fragments corresponding to the previous participating party,” and “training, using the second result fragment and without sending plaintext of a target fragment held by the ith party, a service model jointly with the next participating party and the previous participating party.”
Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration into a Practical Application. Claims 1, 15, and 22 fails integration analysis. The claim does not recite any specific technological improvement to computer functionality—no reduction in latency, improvement in detection accuracy, or optimization of memory utilization. The claim merely states “a plurality of parties are three participating parties” without describing the model’s innovation or technological contribution, which is insufficient under Alice and Mayo. The preamble recites that “the method is performed by the ith party,” but this is generic computer implementation language; there is no claim to specialized hardware, FPGA, ASIC, or particular machine architecture. Per Alice, 573 U.S. at 221, merely implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer does not confer eligibility. The claim does not transform a tangible article into a different state or thing; data manipulation alone—receiving vulnerability data, generating rules, scanning code, reporting results, training an ai model—is not transformation. Per Bilski, 561 U.S. at 618, and PEG p. 56, transformation requires a change in physical properties or state of a tangible article. The specification describes that “the three participating parties are data owners that jointly train a target service model” but not how the claimed method improves upon existing tools or methods in a non-conventional manner.
Step 2B: Significantly More / WURC Analysis. The additional elements—participating parties, processor, memory—are all well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the field of cybersecurity and application security testing as of the priority date of December 26, 2022. The specification provides no factual evidence demonstrating that these elements, individually or in combination, represent a non-conventional or inventive approach. Under Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018), the examiner would need to establish a factual record that these elements are not WURC, and no such record exists. Therefore, the claims fail Step 2B as well.
Claims 2-7, 16-21, and 23-28 recite limitations similar to those in claims 1, 15, and 22, respectively, therefore they are similarly analyzed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mohassel (WO 2019231481 A1, hereinafter referred to as Mohassel).
Regarding claim 1, Mohassel discloses: A method for multi-party joint data processing to protect data privacy (Mohassel: Paragraph [0058] states, "Privacy -preserving machine learning via secure multiparty computation provides a promising solution by allowing different entities to train various models on their joint data without revealing any information beyond the outcome."), wherein a plurality of parties are three participating parties (Mohassel: Paragraph [0060] states, "The private data from multiple sources can be secret-shared among three training computers."), target data is divided into three target fragments (Mohassel: Paragraph [0102] states, "The private data item 412 can be split into a first share 412A, a second share 412B, and a third share 412C. The client computer 410 can transmit the first share 412A and the second share 412B to the first server computer 420. The client computer 410 can transmit the second share 412B and the third share 412C to the second server computer 430. The client computer 410 can also transmit the third share 412C and the first share 412A to the third server computer 440."), and any ith party in the plurality of parties holds a fragment sum value of two target fragments corresponding to an ith party (Mohassel:
Paragraph [0156] states, "the second training computer can truncate a sum of the second share and the third share, resulting in a value. The second computer can then subtract the random value from the value, resulting in a truncated second share. The second training computer can now hold the truncated second share and the truncated third share."), and a specified fragment that meets a predetermined rule in the two target fragments (Mohassel:
Paragraph [0011] states, "The intermediate value can be truncated by a predetermined number of bits to determine a truncated intermediate value."); and the method is performed by the ith party (Mohassel:
),
and comprises: acquiring two calculation fragments corresponding to the ith party from three calculation fragments obtained by dividing calculation data (Mohassel: Paragraph [0102] states, "The private data item 412 can be split into a first share 412A, a second share 412B, and a third share 412C. The client computer 410 can transmit the first share 412A and the second share 412B to the first server computer 420. The client computer 410 can transmit the second share 412B and the third share 412C to the second server computer 430. The client computer 410 can also transmit the third share 412C and the first share 412A to the third server computer 440."); determining a first result fragment of a product result of the target data and the calculation data based on the fragment sum value, the specified fragment, and the two calculation fragments (Mohassel:
), and sending the first result fragment to a next participating party of the ith party (Mohassel:
); receiving a second result fragment of the product result from a previous participating party of the ith party (Mohassel:
), wherein the second result fragment is determined by the previous participating party based on a fragment sum value and a specified fragment that are held by the previous participating party, and two calculation fragments corresponding to the previous participating party (Mohassel:
); and training, using the second result fragment and without sending plaintext of a target fragment held by the ith party, a service model jointly with the next participating party and the previous participating party (Mohassel: Paragraph [0130] states, "A similar security model and architecture as SecureML [41] is used, except that we extend it to the three party case with an honest majority and consider both semi -honest and malicious adversaries. In particular, data owners (clients) secret-share their data among three servers (training computers) who perform 3PC to train and evaluate models on the joint data." Paragraph [0059] states, "Data from different sources can be useful in training machine learning models. It can be beneficial to use data collected from other companies in the same technical field. However, in some cases data cannot be shared between companies. For example, the companies that wish to share data may be under legal requirements to not share unencrypted data.").
Regarding claim 2, Mohassel further discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the three target fragments are cyclically arranged (Mohassel: Paragraph [0102] states, "The private data item 412 can be split into a first share 412A, a second share 412B, and a third share 412C. The client computer 410 can transmit the first share 412A and the second share 412B to the first server computer 420. The client computer 410 can transmit the second share 412B and the third share 412C to the second server computer 430. The client computer 410 can also transmit the third share 412C and the first share 412A to the third server computer 440."); the specified fragment held by the ith party is an ith target fragment (Mohassel:
Paragraph [0011] states, "The intermediate value can be truncated by a predetermined number of bits to determine a truncated intermediate value."), and the fragment sum value held by the ith party is an ith sum value of the ith target fragment and a next target fragment of the ith target fragment (Mohassel:
Paragraph [0156] states, "the second training computer can truncate a sum of the second share and the third share, resulting in a value. The second computer can then subtract the random value from the value, resulting in a truncated second share. The second training computer can now hold the truncated second share and the truncated third share."); the two calculation fragments corresponding to the ith party are respectively an ith calculation fragment and a next calculation fragment of the ith calculation fragment (Mohassel: Paragraph [0102] states, "The private data item 412 can be split into a first share 412A, a second share 412B, and a third share 412C. The client computer 410 can transmit the first share 412A and the second share 412B to the first server computer 420. The client computer 410 can transmit the second share 412B and the third share 412C to the second server computer 430. The client computer 410 can also transmit the third share 412C and the first share 412A to the third server computer 440."); and wherein the determining the first result fragment of the product result of the target data and the calculation data comprises: calculating a sum value of a product of the ith sum value and the ith calculation fragment and a product of the in target fragment and the next calculation fragment, and determining the first result fragment based on the sum value (Mohassel:
).
Regarding claim 3: Mohassel discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the three target fragments are cyclically arranged (Mohassel: Paragraph [0102] states, "The private data item 412 can be split into a first share 412A, a second share 412B, and a third share 412C. The client computer 410 can transmit the first share 412A and the second share 412B to the first server computer 420. The client computer 410 can transmit the second share 412B and the third share 412C to the second server computer 430. The client computer 410 can also transmit the third share 412C and the first share 412A to the third server computer 440."); the specified fragment held by the ith party is an (i + 1)th target fragment (Mohassel:
Paragraph [0011] states, "The intermediate value can be truncated by a predetermined number of bits to determine a truncated intermediate value."), and the fragment sum value held by the ith party is an ith sum value of an ith target fragment and the (i + 1)th target fragment (Mohassel:
Paragraph [0156] states, "the second training computer can truncate a sum of the second share and the third share, resulting in a value. The second computer can then subtract the random value from the value, resulting in a truncated second share. The second training computer can now hold the truncated second share and the truncated third share."); the two calculation fragments corresponding to the ith party are respectively an ith calculation fragment and a next calculation fragment of the ith calculation fragment (Mohassel: Paragraph [0102] states, "The private data item 412 can be split into a first share 412A, a second share 412B, and a third share 412C. The client computer 410 can transmit the first share 412A and the second share 412B to the first server computer 420. The client computer 410 can transmit the second share 412B and the third share 412C to the second server computer 430. The client computer 410 can also transmit the third share 412C and the first share 412A to the third server computer 440."); and wherein the determining the first result fragment of the product result of the target data and the calculation data comprises: determining the first result fragment based on a sum value of a product of the ith sum value and the next calculation fragment and a product of the (i + 1)th target fragment and the in calculation fragment (Mohassel:
).
Regarding claim 4, Mohassel discloses: The method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the first result fragment based on the sum value comprises: obtaining the first result fragment based on the sum value and a first random number fragment (Mohassel:
), wherein other two random number fragments corresponding to the first random number fragment are held by the other two participating parties (Mohassel:
), and are respectively used to calculate result fragments corresponding to the other two participating parties (Mohassel:
); and a sum value of the three random number fragments is 0 (Mohassel:
).
Regarding claim 5: Mohassel discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the previous participating party of the ith party further holds a third result fragment sent by the next participating party of the ith party, and the third result fragment is determined by the next participating party based on a fragment sum value and a specified fragment that are held by the next participating party, and two calculation fragments corresponding to the next participating party (Mohassel:
).
Regarding claim 6, Mohassel discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: acquiring the two target fragments corresponding to the ith party, calculating a sum value of the two target fragments to obtain the fragment sum value, and storing the fragment sum value (Mohassel: Paragraph [0102] states, "The private data item 412 can be split into a first share 412A, a second share 412B, and a third share 412C. The client computer 410 can transmit the first share 412A and the second share 412B to the first server computer 420. The client computer 410 can transmit the second share 412B and the third share 412C to the second server computer 430. The client computer 410 can also transmit the third share 412C and the first share 412A to the third server computer 440."
Paragraph [0156] states, "the second training computer can truncate a sum of the second share and the third share, resulting in a value. The second computer can then subtract the random value from the value, resulting in a truncated second share. The second training computer can now hold the truncated second share and the truncated third share.").
Regarding claim 7, Mohassel discloses: The method according to claim 6, further comprising deleting a fragment other than the specified fragment in the two target fragments (Mohassel:
).
Claim 15 recites features similar to those in claim 1, therefore those features are rejected in a similar manner.
Mohassel further discloses: A computing device, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores executable code, and when the processor executes the executable code, the computing device is caused to implement a method for multi-party joint data processing to protect data privacy…(Mohassel: Paragraph [0467] states, "Any of the software components or functions described in this application may be implemented as software code to be executed by a processor using any suitable computer language such as, for example, Java, C, C++, C#, Objective-C, Swift, or scripting language such as Perl or Python using, for example, conventional or object-oriented techniques. The software code may be stored as a series of instructions or commands on a computer readable medium for storage and/or transmission. A suitable non-transitory computer readable medium can include random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a magnetic medium such as a hard-drive or a floppy disk, or an optical medium such as a compact disk (CD) or DVD (digital versatile disk), flash memory, and the like.").
Claims 16-21 recite features similar to those in claims 2-7, therefore they are rejected in a similar manner.
Claim 22 recites features similar to those in claim 1, therefore those features are rejected in a similar manner.
Mohassel further discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer- readable storage medium stores a computer program, and when the computer program is executed on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform a method for multi-party joint data processing to protect data privacy…(Mohassel: Paragraph [0467] states, "Any of the software components or functions described in this application may be implemented as software code to be executed by a processor using any suitable computer language such as, for example, Java, C, C++, C#, Objective-C, Swift, or scripting language such as Perl or Python using, for example, conventional or object-oriented techniques. The software code may be stored as a series of instructions or commands on a computer readable medium for storage and/or transmission. A suitable non-transitory computer readable medium can include random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a magnetic medium such as a hard-drive or a floppy disk, or an optical medium such as a compact disk (CD) or DVD (digital versatile disk), flash memory, and the like.").
Claims 23-28 recite features similar to those in claims 2-7, therefore they are rejected in a similar manner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHREYAJ RAM BHANDARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2434
/NOURA ZOUBAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434