DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 04/11/2025 and 03/20/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-11, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn et al. (US 2023/0403066 A1), hereinafter referred to as Horn, in view of Awadin et al. (US 2023/0327735 A1), hereinafter referred to as Awadin, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2025/0211287 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wu.
Regarding claim 1, Horn teaches: A network comprising ( see FIG. 8 a device 805; ¶[0107] The device 805 may be an example of aspects of a network entity ):
a transmitter configured to transmit ( FIG. 8 Transmitter (815)), to a first signal forwarding device (see FIG 3, steps 310; ¶[0107] the network entity 105-c may transmit, and the repeater 310 may receive, an indication of a set of SSB indices):
a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) signal via a first beam that is selected from a first set of beams utilized by the network to transmit the SSB signal, each of the first set of beams associated with an SSB index selected from a first set of SSB indices ( see ¶[0107] the network entity 105-c may transmit, and the repeater 310 may receive, an indication of a set of SSB indices. The repeater 310 may determine, based at least in part on the indication of the set of SSB indices, a time occasion for receiving each SSB of a set of one or more SSBs; ¶[0108] At 315, the network entity 105-c may transmit, and the repeater 310 may receive, one or more SSBs via a first beam, each SSB of the one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index (e.g., the SSB indices indicated at repeater 310). IN some examples, a quantity of the one or more SSBs may satisfy (e.g., may be fewer than or equal to) the quantity of beams supported by the repeater 310), and
SSB configuration information indicating a second set of beams that are available for the first signal forwarding device to use to forward the SSB signal, each of the second set of beams associated with an SSB index selected from a second set of SSB indices (¶[0114] At 350, the repeater 310 may receive a second set of one or more SSBs via the first beam, each SSB of the second set of one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index, and a quantity of the second set of one or more SSBs may satisfy the second set of beams, and relay the set of one or more SSBs via the second set of beams. The repeater 310 may transmit the number of beams as configured by the network entity 105-c));;
a receiver configured to receive ( see FIG. 8 Receiver (810) ), from a user equipment (UE) device within a coverage area of the first signal forwarding device (see ¶[0104] The repeater 210 may then relay the SSBs to its coverage area, and facilitate communications between one or more UEs 115 and the network entity 105. The repeater 210 may estimate a number of SSBs (e.g., a number of beams) to request from the network entity based on actual coverage area, a number of served UEs in the coverage area; ¶[0109] At 320, the repeater 310 may relay the one or more SSBs via a first set of beams associated with a coverage area served by the repeater 310; ¶[0110] the repeater 310 may relay, based at least in part on relaying the one or more SSBs … signaling from the one or more UEs 115 (e.g., including the UE 115-d) to the network entity 105-c), an indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the first signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate; and
a controller (FIG. 8 Communication Manager (820)) configured to schedule transmissions for the UE device via the first signal forwarding device ( see ¶[0110] the repeater 310 may relay, based at least in part on relaying the one or more SSBs, signaling from a network entity 105-c to one or more UEs 115 served by the repeater 310, and signaling from the one or more UEs 115 (e.g., including the UE 115-d) to the network entity 105-c. Relaying may include receiving random access messages associated with respective SSB indices of the one or more SSBs from the one or more UEs 115 (e.g., including the UE 115-d) using the first set of beams, and relaying the received random access messages to the network entity 105-c (e.g., using the first beam). The repeater 310 may also relay data from and to the network entity 105-c. The relayed information may include control signaling and data signaling from and to the UE 115-d), in response to receiving the indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the first signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate.
Although Horn teaches ( see ¶[0090] The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured set of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands … The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection; ¶[0110] the repeater 310 may relay, based at least in part on relaying the one or more SSBs, signaling from a network entity 105-c to one or more UEs 115 served by the repeater 310, and signaling from the one or more UEs 115 (e.g., including the UE 115-d) to the network entity 105-c … The repeater 310 may also relay data from and to the network entity 105-c. The relayed information may include control signaling and data signaling from and to the UE 115-d), Horn, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to (a) SSB configuration information indicating a second set of beams that are available for the first signal forwarding device to use to forward the SSB signal, (b) an indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the first signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate, and (c) to schedule transmissions for the UE device via the first signal forwarding device, in response to receiving the indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the first signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate.
However, Awadin, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches (a) SSB configuration information indicating a second set of beams that are available for the first signal forwarding device to use to forward the SSB signal ( see Awadin ¶[0032] a repeater includes receiving, from a base station, an indication of beam indices including an indicated beam and a corresponding time to apply the indicated beam and transmitting at least one resource set using the indicated beam; ¶[0094] The gNB may indicate which SSBs from the set of SSBs received by repeater are to be forwarded by the repeater. When the repeater receives those SSBs, the repeater forwards them).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Horn's teachings with Awadin's above teaching in order to improve beam transmission and reception and facilitate more efficient wireless transmissions ( see Awadin ¶[0021] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Awadin prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Horn prior art) based on design incentives ( improve beam transmission and reception and facilitate more efficient wireless transmissions) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Although the combination teaches ( see Awadin ¶[0004] Coarse beam training occurs in a P1 procedure, which is generally an initial access phase in which a next generation NodeB (gNB) sweeps a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst set and based on the selected SSB, a user equipment (UE) transmits a physical random access channel (PRACH) using the preamble/occasion associated with the selected SSB. Once the gNB receives the transmitted PRACH, the gNB knows the preferred beam to be used in the subsequent DL transmissions ), the combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to (b) an indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the first signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate, and (c) to schedule transmissions for the UE device via the first signal forwarding device, in response to receiving the indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the first signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate.
However, Wu, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches (b) an indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the first signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate ( see Wu ¶[0031] A user equipment receiving one or more of the SSBs as reference beams may then measure the reference beams, determine one or more best reference beams, and report the best reference beams back to the network entity so that subsequent communications may be performed using the best beams; ¶[0132] the beam information message may indicate one or more preferred beams), and (c) to schedule transmissions for the UE device via the first signal forwarding device (see Wu ¶[0031] A user equipment receiving one or more of the SSBs as reference beams may then measure the reference beams, determine one or more best reference beams, and report the best reference beams back to the network entity so that subsequent communications may be performed using the best beams ; ¶[0126] Flow 1100 beings at 1106 where network entity 1102 schedules RIS 1103 to provide assistance to UE 1104, such as by reflecting signals from network entity 1102 to UE 1104 (e.g., as depicted in FIGS. 6 and 8A )), in response to receiving the indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the first signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate (¶[0132] Flow 1100 then proceeds to step 1120 where UE 1104 sends a beam information message to network entity 1102. For example, the beam information message may indicate one or more preferred beams (e.g., beam 816 in FIG. 8A) for receiving signals from network entity 1102 by way of RIS 1103).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Wu's above teachings in order to improve the capability of the wireless communications system to perform beamforming, which in-turn improves the overall function of the wireless communications system, such as by improving coverage, improving channel conditions, reducing interference, improving data throughput and speed, improving access, reducing latency, improving spectral efficiency, and reducing power consumption ( see Wu ¶[0039] ).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches: The network of claim 1, wherein the second set of SSB indices is different than the first set of SSB indices ( see Horn ¶[0108] At 315, the network entity 105-c may transmit, and the repeater 310 may receive, one or more SSBs via a first beam, each SSB of the one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index (e.g., the SSB indices indicated at repeater 310); ¶[0114] At 350, the repeater 310 may receive a second set of one or more SSBs via the first beam, each SSB of the second set of one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index, and a quantity of the second set of one or more SSBs may satisfy the second set of beams).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Horn's one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is to support transparent beamforming procedure resulting in improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, etc. (see ¶[0180]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches: The network of claim 1, wherein the SSB configuration information indicates a set of resources the first signal forwarding device is allowed to use to forward the SSB signal ( see Awadin ¶[0032] a repeater includes receiving, from a base station, an indication of beam indices including an indicated beam and a corresponding time to apply the indicated beam and transmitting at least one resource set using the indicated beam; ¶[0094] The gNB may indicate which SSBs from the set of SSBs received by repeater are to be forwarded by the repeater. When the repeater receives those SSBs, the repeater forwards them).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches: The network of claim 1, wherein the receiver is further configured to receive, from the first signal forwarding device, a request for a particular number of SSB indices to be included in the second set of SSB indices (see Horn ¶[0112] At 340, the repeater 310 may transmit, and the network entity 105-c may receive, based at least in part on relaying the one or more SSBs via the first set of beams, a repeater report (e.g., a beam report) comprising an indication of the second set of beams associated with service to one or more UEs 115 located in the coverage area served by the repeater 310; see Horn ¶[0114] At 350, the repeater 310 may receive a second set of one or more SSBs via the first beam, each SSB of the second set of one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index, and a quantity of the second set of one or more SSBs may satisfy the second set of beams).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Horn's one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is to support transparent beamforming procedure resulting in improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, etc. (see ¶[0180]).
Regarding claim 10, Horn teaches: A signal forwarding device comprising (see FIG. 3 repeater 310; FIG. 5, ¶[0124]):
a receiver (FIG. 5 receiver 510; ¶[0124]) configured to receive, from a network (¶[0107] the network entity 105-c may transmit, and the repeater 310 may receive, an indication of a set of SSB indices):
a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) signal via a first beam that is selected from a first set of beams utilized by the network to transmit the SSB signal, each of the first set of beams associated with an SSB index selected from a first set of SSB indices ( see ¶[0107] the network entity 105-c may transmit, and the repeater 310 may receive, an indication of a set of SSB indices. The repeater 310 may determine, based at least in part on the indication of the set of SSB indices, a time occasion for receiving each SSB of a set of one or more SSBs; ¶[0108] At 315, the network entity 105-c may transmit, and the repeater 310 may receive, one or more SSBs via a first beam, each SSB of the one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index (e.g., the SSB indices indicated at repeater 310). IN some examples, a quantity of the one or more SSBs may satisfy (e.g., may be fewer than or equal to) the quantity of beams supported by the repeater 310), and
SSB configuration information indicating a second set of beams that are available for the signal forwarding device to use to forward the SSB signal, each of the second set of beams associated with an SSB index selected from a second set of SSB indices (¶[0114] At 350, the repeater 310 may receive a second set of one or more SSBs via the first beam, each SSB of the second set of one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index, and a quantity of the second set of one or more SSBs may satisfy the second set of beams, and relay the set of one or more SSBs via the second set of beams. The repeater 310 may transmit the number of beams as configured by the network entity 105-c)); and
a transmitter (see FIG. 5 transmitter (515); ¶[0124]) configured to forward the SSB signal to a user equipment (UE) device within a coverage area of the signal forwarding device (see ¶[0104] The repeater 210 may then relay the SSBs to its coverage area, and facilitate communications between one or more UEs 115 and the network entity 105. The repeater 210 may estimate a number of SSBs (e.g., a number of beams) to request from the network entity based on actual coverage area, a number of served UEs in the coverage area; ¶[0109] At 320, the repeater 310 may relay the one or more SSBs via a first set of beams associated with a coverage area served by the repeater 310; ¶[0110] the repeater 310 may relay, based at least in part on relaying the one or more SSBs … signaling from the one or more UEs 115 (e.g., including the UE 115-d) to the network entity 105-c),
the receiver further configured to receive, from the network, scheduling information to schedule transmissions via the signal forwarding device for the UE device ( see ¶[0110] the repeater 310 may relay, based at least in part on relaying the one or more SSBs, signaling from a network entity 105-c to one or more UEs 115 served by the repeater 310, and signaling from the one or more UEs 115 (e.g., including the UE 115-d) to the network entity 105-c. Relaying may include receiving random access messages associated with respective SSB indices of the one or more SSBs from the one or more UEs 115 (e.g., including the UE 115-d) using the first set of beams, and relaying the received random access messages to the network entity 105-c (e.g., using the first beam). The repeater 310 may also relay data from and to the network entity 105-c. The relayed information may include control signaling and data signaling from and to the UE 115-d), the scheduling information sent in response to the network receiving an indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate.
Although Horn teaches ( see ¶[0090] The UE 115 may report feedback that indicates precoding weights for one or more beam directions, and the feedback may correspond to a configured set of beams across a system bandwidth or one or more sub-bands … The UE 115 may provide feedback for beam selection; ¶[0110] the repeater 310 may relay, based at least in part on relaying the one or more SSBs, signaling from a network entity 105-c to one or more UEs 115 served by the repeater 310, and signaling from the one or more UEs 115 (e.g., including the UE 115-d) to the network entity 105-c … The repeater 310 may also relay data from and to the network entity 105-c. The relayed information may include control signaling and data signaling from and to the UE 115-d), Horn, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to (a) SSB configuration information indicating a second set of beams that are available for the signal forwarding device to use to forward the SSB signal and (b) the scheduling information sent in response to the network receiving an indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate.
However, Awadin, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: SSB configuration information indicating a second set of beams that are available for the signal forwarding device to use to forward the SSB signal ( see Awadin ¶[0032] a repeater includes receiving, from a base station, an indication of beam indices including an indicated beam and a corresponding time to apply the indicated beam and transmitting at least one resource set using the indicated beam; ¶[0094] The gNB may indicate which SSBs from the set of SSBs received by repeater are to be forwarded by the repeater. When the repeater receives those SSBs, the repeater forwards them).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Horn's teachings with Awadin's above teaching in order to improve beam transmission and reception and facilitate more efficient wireless transmissions ( see Awadin ¶[0021] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Awadin prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Horn prior art) based on design incentives ( improve beam transmission and reception and facilitate more efficient wireless transmissions) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Although the combination teaches ( see Awadin ¶[0004] Coarse beam training occurs in a P1 procedure, which is generally an initial access phase in which a next generation NodeB (gNB) sweeps a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst set and based on the selected SSB, a user equipment (UE) transmits a physical random access channel (PRACH) using the preamble/occasion associated with the selected SSB. Once the gNB receives the transmitted PRACH, the gNB knows the preferred beam to be used in the subsequent DL transmissions ), the combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to (b) the scheduling information sent in response to the network receiving an indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate
However, Wu, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: (b) the scheduling information sent in response to the network receiving an indication that the forwarded SSB signal received at the UE device from the signal forwarding device is a preferred beam candidate (see Wu ¶[0031] A user equipment receiving one or more of the SSBs as reference beams may then measure the reference beams, determine one or more best reference beams, and report the best reference beams back to the network entity so that subsequent communications may be performed using the best beams; ¶[0126] Flow 1100 beings at 1106 where network entity 1102 schedules RIS 1103 to provide assistance to UE 1104, such as by reflecting signals from network entity 1102 to UE 1104 (e.g., as depicted in FIGS. 6 and 8A ); ¶[0132] Flow 1100 then proceeds to step 1120 where UE 1104 sends a beam information message to network entity 1102. For example, the beam information message may indicate one or more preferred beams (e.g., beam 816 in FIG. 8A) for receiving signals from network entity 1102 by way of RIS 1103).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Wu's above teachings in order to improve the capability of the wireless communications system to perform beamforming, which in-turn improves the overall function of the wireless communications system, such as by improving coverage, improving channel conditions, reducing interference, improving data throughput and speed, improving access, reducing latency, improving spectral efficiency, and reducing power consumption ( see Wu ¶[0039] ).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches: The signal forwarding device of claim 10, wherein the second set of SSB indices is different than the first set of SSB indices ( see Horn ¶[0108] At 315, the network entity 105-c may transmit, and the repeater 310 may receive, one or more SSBs via a first beam, each SSB of the one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index (e.g., the SSB indices indicated at repeater 310); ¶[0114] At 350, the repeater 310 may receive a second set of one or more SSBs via the first beam, each SSB of the second set of one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index, and a quantity of the second set of one or more SSBs may satisfy the second set of beams).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Horn's one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is to support transparent beamforming procedure resulting in improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, etc. (see ¶[0180]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches: The signal forwarding device of claim 10, wherein the SSB configuration information indicates a set of resources the signal forwarding device is allowed to use to forward SSB signals ( see Awadin ¶[0032] a repeater includes receiving, from a base station, an indication of beam indices including an indicated beam and a corresponding time to apply the indicated beam and transmitting at least one resource set using the indicated beam; ¶[0094] The gNB may indicate which SSBs from the set of SSBs received by repeater are to be forwarded by the repeater. When the repeater receives those SSBs, the repeater forwards them).
Regarding claim 18, The combination teaches: The signal forwarding device of claim 10, wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit, to the network, a request for a particular number of SSB indices to be included in the second set of SSB indices (see Horn ¶[0112] At 340, the repeater 310 may transmit, and the network entity 105-c may receive, based at least in part on relaying the one or more SSBs via the first set of beams, a repeater report (e.g., a beam report) comprising an indication of the second set of beams associated with service to one or more UEs 115 located in the coverage area served by the repeater 310; see Horn ¶[0114] At 350, the repeater 310 may receive a second set of one or more SSBs via the first beam, each SSB of the second set of one or more SSBs corresponding to a respective SSB index, and a quantity of the second set of one or more SSBs may satisfy the second set of beams).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Horn's one or more other embodiment’s teachings. The motivation is to support transparent beamforming procedure resulting in improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, etc. (see ¶[0180]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches: The signal forwarding device of claim 10, wherein the signal forwarding device is a network-controlled repeater (NCR) ( see Horn, FIG. 3 repeater 310; see Awadin, FIG. 2, Network-controlled repeater (NCR) ) .
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches: The signal forwarding device of claim 10, wherein the signal forwarding device is an Intelligent Reflecting Surface (IRS) (see Horn ¶[0053]. The repeater 185 may be an example of a relay, a femto-cell, RIS, etc. The repeater 185 may extend coverage with limited (e.g., negligible) power consumption; see Wu FIG. 6, reflective intelligent surface RIS (608) ).
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn, in view of Awadin, in view of Wu, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2025/0374214A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhang.
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the network of claim 1. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the second set of SSB indices is the same as one or more of the first set of SSB indices.
However, Sedin, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: the second set of SSB indices is the same as one or more of the first set of SSB indices ( see Zhang ¶[0362]-¶[0364] the SSB transmission method provided in the embodiments of the present application is performed by a first auxiliary node, such as a reconfigurable intelligent meta-surface (RIS). The method includes: receiving multiple SSBs transmitted from a network device; and forwarding the multiple SSBs, where SSB indicated by each index corresponds to one node state of the first auxiliary node; ¶[0012] the multiple SSBs forwarded from the first auxiliary node include SSBs transmitted in multiple different given time periods, and indexes of one or more SSBs transmitted in each given time period are the same).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Sedin's above teachings to ensure that a terminal in a non-RRC connected state located in an area such as a cell blind area or a cell edge can detect the SSBs sent by the network device and then access a network normally (see Zhang Abstract ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Sedin prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Horn prior art) based on design incentives ( ensuring that a terminal in a non-RRC connected state located in an area such as a cell blind area or a cell edge can detect the SSBs sent by the network device and then access a network normally) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 13 recites similar limitations to claim 4 and is thus rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horn, in view of Awadin, in view of Wu, and further in view of Abedini et al. (US 2022/0077922 A1), hereinafter referred to as Abedini.
Regarding claim 7, Horn, Awadin, and Wu combination teaches the network of claim 1. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit SSB signals using first frequency resources that are different than second frequency resources used by the first signal forwarding device to forward the SSB signal.
However, Abedini, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The network of claim 1, wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit SSB signals using first frequency resources that are different than second frequency resources used by the first signal forwarding device to forward the SSB signal ( see Abedini ¶[0159] the base station 110 may transmit, and the forwarding node 905 may receive, one or more SSB communications (e.g., an SSB or a part thereof, such as a PSS, an SSS, a PBCH, and/or a DMRS) for forwarding by the forwarding node 905; ¶[0179] the forwarding node 905 may transmit (e.g., forward), and the UE 120 may receive, the one or more SSB communications regenerated by the forwarding node 905. The forwarding node 905 may transmit the one or more SSB communications in a downlink beam sweep; ¶[0180] In some aspects, the forwarding node 905 may transmit the FN SSBs in resources in which the MT of the forwarding node 905 is not scanning for, and receiving, BS SSBs from the base station 110. Thus, the base station 110 may transmit the BS SSBs in resources that are different from the resources used by the forwarding node 905 for transmitting the FN SSBs).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Abedini's above teachings in order to reduce SSB transmission at the base station, thereby conserving network resources and/or conserving computing resources at the base station ( see Abedini ¶[0031] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Abedini prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Horn prior art) based on design incentives ( conserving network resources and/or conserving computing resources at the base station) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 16 recites similar limitations to claim 7 and is thus rejected under a similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 12, and 14-15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abedini et al. (US 2023/0115394 A1) discloses Frequency domain beam sweeping for synchronization signals
Yi et al. (US 12634914 B1) discloses methods for forwarding data in a wireless communication network using a wireless repeater
Moon et al. (US 2024/0429994 A1) discloses an operation method of a relay in a mobile communication system
Yin et al. (US 2025/0393000 A1) discloses side information for synchronization signaling configuration and transmissions of network controlled repeaters (ncr)
Sahraei et al. (US 2024/0405842 A1) discloses a method of wireless communication including an initial access procedure using a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS)
Sampath et al. (US 2021/0067237 A1) discloses techniques for coordinating beams used by a base station (BS) and a directional repeater, for example, for transmission and reception of acquisition related signaling, such as synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)
Liu et al. (US 2025/0192941 A1) discloses a method and apparatus of measurement and reporting for beam determination
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476