DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 1/10/2025, 1/29/2026, and 4/20/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character 2030 in Fig. 2 has been used to designate both “lesion classifications” and “one or more sensors”. Similarly, reference character 7030 in Fig. 7 has been used to designate both “lesion classifications” and “one or more sensors”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 130 in ¶0066 and 22000 in ¶0246. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 2030 in Fig. 2 when referring to “one or more sensors”, 7030 in Fig. 7 when referring to “one or more sensors”, 14004 in Fig. 4, and 22070 in Fig. 22.
Regarding 2030 and 7030, the Examiner notes that while the specification makes reference to “lesion classifications (2030/7030)”, no reference appears to be made to “one or more sensors (2030/7030)” in the corresponding sections. Therefore, any update to the numbering should be accompanied by appropriately updated text in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 17, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, and 15 of copending Application No. 18/871,367. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1 of the copending application have similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application (18/871,449)
Claim 1
A medical system comprising: memory configured to store at least one computer vision model; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry being configured to: receive imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac catheterization procedure; and execute the at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion of the vasculature based on the received imaging data.
Copending Application (18/871,367)
Claim 1
A medical system comprising: memory configured to store at least one computer vision model and at least one machine learning model; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry being configured to: receive diagnostic imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac diagnostic procedure; execute the at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion in the vasculature based on the received diagnostic imaging data; and execute the at least one machine learning model to determine at least one treatment strategy based on the determined characteristic of the lesion, the at least one treatment strategy comprising at least one treatment technique and at least one medical instrument.
The claims differ in the wording used to describe the cardiac procedure where the instant application recites a “catheterization procedure” and the copending application recites a “diagnostic procedure”. However, ¶0006 of the specification of the instant application describes catheterization procedures as inclusive of diagnostic procedures (¶0006, For example, medical systems according to the present disclosure may be used to conduct one or more other medical procedures carried out in the Cath lab including diagnostic cardiac catheterization). Therefore, claim 1 of the instant application is patentably indistinct from the underline portions of claim 1 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 of the instant application and claim 12 of the copending application have similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application (18/871,449)
Claim 17
A method comprising: receiving, by processing circuitry, imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac catheterization procedure; and executing, by the processing circuitry, at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion in the vasculature based on the received imaging data.
Copending Application (18/871,367)
Claim 12
A method comprising: receiving, by processing circuitry, diagnostic imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac diagnostic procedure; executing, by the processing circuitry, at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion in the vasculature based on the received diagnostic imaging data; and executing, by the processing circuitry, at least one machine learning model to determine at least one treatment strategy based on the determined characteristic of the lesion, the at least one treatment strategy comprising at least one treatment technique and at least one medical instrument.
For the reasons described above regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claim 17 of the instant application is patentably indistinct from the underlined portions of claim 12 of the copending application.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 of the instant application and claim 15 of the copending application have similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application (18/871,449)
Claim 18
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which, when executed, cause processing circuitry to: receive imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac catheterization procedure; and execute at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion in the vasculature based on the received imaging data.
Copending Application (18/871,367)
Claim 15
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which, when executed, cause processing circuitry to: receive diagnostic imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac diagnostic procedure; execute at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion in the vasculature based on the received diagnostic imaging data; and execute at least one machine learning model to determine at least one treatment strategy based on the determined characteristic of the lesion, the at least one treatment strategy comprising at least one treatment technique and at least one medical instrument
For the reasons described above regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claim 18 of the instant application is patentably indistinct from the underlined portions of claim 15 of the copending application.
Claims 2 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/871,367 in view of Itu et al. (US 2021/0251577) (hereafter, “Itu”).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the instant application and claim 11 of the copending application have similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application (18/871,449)
Claim 2
The medical system of claim 1, wherein the computer vision model is trained on a plurality of lesions in past imaging data of a plurality of patients.
Copending Application (18/871,367)
Claim 11
The medical system of claim 1, wherein the computer vision model is trained on a plurality of lesions in past imaging data.
The feature of claim 2 of the instant application not present in claim 11 of the copending application is imaging data from a plurality of patients.
Itu teaches imaging data from a plurality of patients (¶0038, The retrained machine-learned model 16 is redeployed for use with other patients. As further examples or samples for different patients are provided, such as due to application of the machine-learned model and observation of complications from PCI, these further examples are used to update the training and corresponding machine-learned model).
Both Passerini and Itu are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed towards image processing methods for cardiac procedures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of patient data of Itu into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to be compatible to use with other patients, as suggested by Itu at ¶0038, The retrained machine-learned model 16 is redeployed for use with other patients.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 of the instant application and claim 11 of the copending application have similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application (18/871,449)
Claim 19
The method of claim 17, wherein the computer vision model is trained on a plurality of lesions in past imaging data of a plurality of patients.
Copending Application (18/871,367)
Claim 11
The medical system of claim 1, wherein the computer vision model is trained on a plurality of lesions in past imaging data.
The feature of claim 2 of the instant application not present in claim 11 of the copending application is imaging data from a plurality of patients.
Itu teaches imaging data from a plurality of patients (¶0038, The retrained machine-learned model 16 is redeployed for use with other patients. As further examples or samples for different patients are provided, such as due to application of the machine-learned model and observation of complications from PCI, these further examples are used to update the training and corresponding machine-learned model).
Both Passerini and Itu are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed towards image processing methods for cardiac procedures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of patient data of Itu into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to be compatible to use with other patients, as suggested by Itu at ¶0038, The retrained machine-learned model 16 is redeployed for use with other patients.
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. copending Application No. 18/871,367 in view of Razon et al. (US 2024/0252234) (hereafter, “Razon”).
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of the instant application and claim 3 of the copending application have similar limitations as underlined below:
Instant application (18/871,449)
Claim 4
The medical system of claim 1, wherein the at least one computer vision model is trained on post ablation information in past imaging data from a plurality of patients and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the at least one computer vision model to determine a degree of success of an ablation of the lesion.
Copending Application (18/871,367)
Claim 3
The medical system of claim 1, wherein the at least one determined treatment strategy further comprises an indication of a predicted degree of success of a use of the at least one treatment technique and the at least one medical instrument.
The features of claim 4 of the instant application not present in claim 3 of the copending application is the post ablation information and determining the success of an “ablation” instead of the “treatment technique” as recited in claim 3 of the copending application.
Razon teaches post ablation information in past imaging data from a plurality of patients (¶0053, useful clinical information after the completion of ablation, to assess the success of ablation and the likelihood of a desired lesion being generated; ¶0162-0163, An SVM or other machine-learning algorithm may be trained to output, as its classification result, a numeric indicator of a likelihood that a lesion resulting from the (ongoing or monitored) ablation has a depth that reaches or exceeds the predetermined depth … graphical image of lesions that have reached or exceeded the predetermined depth; ¶0184, the training dataset may contain input data entries obtained using a first set of tissue examples and the validation dataset may contain input data entries obtained using a second set of tissue examples, where each set of tissue examples contains at least one unique tissue example (i.e. not found in the other set). This helps facilitate assessment of a more appropriate accuracy of the machine-learning method for different subjects. Different subjects indicates the training data contains a “plurality of subjects”) and to determine a degree of success of an ablation of the lesion (¶0053, to assess the success of ablation).
Both Passerini and Razon are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed towards analyzing medical images related to catheterization. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the success prediction of Razon into the model of Passerini. The suggestion or motivation for doing so would have been to improve safety, as suggested by Razon at ¶0004, enable better control of lesion formation to improve efficacy and safety.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 17, and 18, with claim 1 being exemplary, recite:
“memory configured to store at least one computer vision model; and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory, the processing circuitry being configured to: (a) receive imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac catheterization procedure; and (b) execute the at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion of the vasculature based on the received imaging data” [Emphasis added]
According to the USPTO guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that the independent claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea as shown below:
STEP 1: Do the claims fall within one of the statutory categories? YES. Independent claims 1, 17, and 18 are directed to a system, method, and non-transitory computer-readable medium, respectively.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea? YES. Independent claims 1, 17, and 18 are directed towards a mental process (i.e. an abstract idea).
Regarding claims 1, 17, and 18, limitation (b), in an emphasized claim 1 above, recites “determine characteristics of a lesion of the vasculature based on the received imaging data”. These are decisions that a doctor or medical practitioner would typically perform when examining a patient for cardiovascular issues. Therefore, these limitations can be performed by the human mind and amount to mental processes.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO. Independent claim 1, 17, and 18 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding claim 1, 17, and 18, limitation (a), in an emphasized claim 1 above, recites receiving medical images, which falls under insignificant extra-solution activity since it is merely data gathering (see MPEP §2106.05(g)). The claim further recites a memory, processing circuitry, a computer vision model, and a machine learning model, which amounts to no more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or are no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer (see MPEP §2106.05(f)). Since the claim merely recites the application of a machine learning technique, the combination of elements does not identify technological improvements to the functioning of a machine learning model.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? NO. Independent claims 1, 17, and 18 do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 1, 17, and 18, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because when considered separately and in combination, the above recited additional elements from claim 1 do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. Rather, the additional elements disclosed above perform well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP §2106.05(d).
Therefore, independent claim 1 is directed towards an abstract idea without a practical application or significantly more.
Regarding claims 2 and 19, with claim 2 being exemplary, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The limitation: wherein the computer vision model is trained on a plurality of lesions in past imaging data of a plurality of patients falls under selecting a data source/type (see MPEP §2106.05(g)).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, with claim 3 being exemplary, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The limitation: execute the at least one computer vision model to determine a medical instrument or type of a medical instrument used during the cardiac catheterization procedure falls under selecting a mental process as a clinician would be capable of determining a medical instrument from an image (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Regarding claim 4, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim recites: (a) wherein the at least one computer vision model is trained on post ablation information in past imaging data from a plurality of patients and (b) wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the at least one computer vision model to determine a degree of success of an ablation of the lesion [Emphasis added]. Limitation (a) falls under selecting a data source/type (see MPEP §2106.05(g)) and limitation (b) falls under selecting a mental process as a clinician would regularly determine the success of an operation (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Regarding claim 5, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim recites: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: (a) track motion of a medical instrument during the cardiac catheterization procedure; and (b) output for display a representation of motion of the medical instrument during the cardiac catheterization procedure based on the tracked motion and the imaging data [Emphasis added]. Limitation (a) falls under a mental process as a clinician may track whether a catheter is moving forward or backward (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)) and limitation (b) falls under data output (see MPEP §2106.05(g)).
Regarding claim 6, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The limitation: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether at least a portion of the cardiac catheterization procedure is successful based on the tracked motion falls under a mental process as a clinician may determine success based on whether a catheter moves past an occlusion (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Regarding claim 7, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim recites: (a) wherein the memory is further configured to store at least one machine learning model and (b) wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: execute the at least one machine learning model to guide a clinician during the cardiac catheterization procedure. Limitation (a) falls under data storage (see MPEP §2106.05(g)) and limitation (b) falls under a mental process as a clinician may, for example, guide a junior clinician during a procedure (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)). Since the claim merely recites the application of a machine learning technique, the combination of elements does not identify technological improvements to the functioning of a machine learning model.
Regarding claim 8, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The limitation: wherein the processing circuitry further outputs guidance to the clinician during the cardiac catheterization procedure based on the characteristics of the lesion falls under a mental process as a clinician may, for example, guide a junior clinician during a procedure (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)). Since the claim merely recites the application of a machine learning technique, the combination of elements does not identify technological improvements to the functioning of a machine learning model.
Regarding claim 9, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The limitation: wherein the processing circuitry further outputs guidance to the clinician during the cardiac catheterization procedure based on an identity of the clinician falls under a mental process as a clinician may, for example, guide a junior clinician during a procedure (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)). Since the claim merely recites the application of a machine learning technique, the combination of elements does not identify technological improvements to the functioning of a machine learning model.
Regarding claim 10, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The limitation: predict an ability of a medical instrument to cross the lesion based at least in part on the characteristics of the lesion falls under a mental process as determining the likelihood of a successful operation is part of a clinician’s regular job activities (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Regarding claim 11, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The limitation: wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether a medical instrument crossed a lesion falls under a mental process as a clinician may determine success based on whether a catheter moves past an occlusion (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Regarding claim 12, the additional limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or add significantly more to the abstract idea. The limitation: wherein the at least one machine learning model is trained on data collected from past medical procedures comprising at least one of past imaging data, past tracked motion of medical instruments, past controller data, or past lesion classification falls under selecting a data source/type (see MPEP §2106.05(g)).
Positive Statement Regarding - 35 USC § 101
Regarding claims 13-16, the Examiner’s 35 U.S.C. 101 analysis recognizes that the claimed subject matter is directed to a practical application of a technical solution. The claimed elements, taken as a whole, recite specific steps to implement a computer-based algorithm (claims 13 and 14) or are directed towards a specific application of controlling a medical instrument (claims 15 and 16). Because the claims recite specific, claimed steps and structural elements that produce a tangible technical result, they are not directed to an abstract idea absent additional inventive concept limitations. Accordingly, the record supports a positive 101 determination for claims 13-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”).
Regarding claim 1, Passerini discloses a medical system comprising: memory (Fig. 13; ¶0098, memory 1310) configured to store at least one computer vision model (¶0056, features extracted from medical image data; ¶0059, vFFR is predicted at all measurement locations in the stenosis regions using a second trained regression model. The second trained regression model is a surrogate model that estimates vFFR values at each location. Examiner considers the feature extraction along with the surrogate model as the “computer vision model”); and processing circuitry communicatively coupled to the memory (¶0098, controlled by the processor 1304 executing the computer program instructions), the processing circuitry being configured to: receive imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac catheterization procedure (¶0040, therapy guidance for coronary artery disease (CAD) from medical images; ¶0050, Coronary CTA images ensure that the coronary vasculature is adequately imaged; ¶0098, if the decisions need to be taken while performing a medical procedure (e.g., during cathlab catheterization)); and execute the at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion of the vasculature based on the received imaging data (¶0003, CAD is typically caused by lesions, such as local narrowing, or stenosis; ¶0043, Another embodiment described herein utilizes a convolutional neural network (CNN) (FIG. 6) to compute the virtual FFR; ¶0044, machine-learning powered methods for the assessment of plaque vulnerability based on imaging data; ¶0046, Detection of lesions can be performed using a regressor trained with a recurrent neural network to estimate the stenosis severity based on the vessel radius Examiner considers vFFR the “characteristic”).
Regarding claim 7, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Passerini discloses wherein the memory is further configured to store at least one machine learning model (¶0081, the machine learning model is stored on a storage device or memory of a computer) and wherein the processing circuitry (¶0098, controlled by the processor 1304 executing the computer program instructions) is further configured to: execute the at least one machine learning model to guide a clinician during the cardiac catheterization procedure (¶0082, guidance can be determined based on the predicted post-treatment values; ¶0087, To generate the candidate post-PCI scenarios, a dedicated machine learning algorithm (model) can be used that is trained for the purpose of generating variations of a given anatomical model including the presence of a stent; ¶0089, a treatment prediction is output and treatment guidance is provided to the user; ¶0090, providing interactive guidance for treating coronary artery lesions according to an embodiment of the present invention. The Examiner is interpreting user to refer to a “clinician”).
Regarding claim 8, in which claim 7 is incorporated, Passerini discloses wherein the processing circuitry further outputs guidance to the clinician during the cardiac catheterization procedure based on the characteristics of the lesion (¶0089, a treatment prediction is output and treatment guidance is provided to the user; ¶0090, providing interactive guidance for treating coronary artery lesions according to an embodiment of the present invention … that PCI scenario can be automatically generated as scored (by predicting the post-PCI vFFR and/or the post-PCI plaque vulnerability index. Examiner considers the vFFR as a characteristic of the lesion).
Regarding claim 12, in which claim 7 is incorporated, Passerini discloses wherein the at least one machine learning model is trained on data collected from past medical procedures (¶0050, a contrast agent that is injected into the patient. Examiner considers injecting the contrast agent a “past medical procedure”) comprising at least one of past imaging data (¶0044, machine-learning powered methods for the assessment of plaque vulnerability based on imaging data; ¶0046, Detection of lesions can be performed using a regressor trained with a recurrent neural network to estimate the stenosis severity based on the vessel radius … lesion and scoring in a medical image. The RNN is trained to classify medical images, so its training data must be “past” medical images. Since the limitation is recited in the alternative, Examiner considers this citation to fully disclose the limitation), past tracked motion of medical instruments, past controller data, or past lesion classification.
Regarding claim 17, Passerini discloses a method comprising: receiving, by processing circuitry (¶0098, controlled by the processor 1304 executing the computer program instructions), imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac catheterization procedure (¶0040, therapy guidance for coronary artery disease (CAD) from medical images; ¶0050, Coronary CTA images ensure that the coronary vasculature is adequately imaged; ¶0098, if the decisions need to be taken while performing a medical procedure (e.g., during cathlab catheterization)); and executing, by the processing circuitry (¶0098, controlled by the processor 1304 executing the computer program instructions), at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion in the vasculature based on the received imaging data (¶0003, CAD is typically caused by lesions, such as local narrowing, or stenosis; ¶0043, Another embodiment described herein utilizes a convolutional neural network (CNN) (FIG. 6) to compute the virtual FFR; ¶0044, machine-learning powered methods for the assessment of plaque vulnerability based on imaging data; ¶0046, Detection of lesions can be performed using a regressor trained with a recurrent neural network to estimate the stenosis severity based on the vessel radius Examiner considers vFFR the “characteristic”).
Regarding claim 18, Passerini discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (¶0025, a non-transitory computer readable medium stores computer program instructions) storing instructions, which, when executed, cause processing circuitry (¶0098, controlled by the processor 1304 executing the computer program instructions) to: receive imaging data of at least a portion of a vasculature of a patient generated during a cardiac catheterization procedure (¶0040, therapy guidance for coronary artery disease (CAD) from medical images; ¶0050, Coronary CTA images ensure that the coronary vasculature is adequately imaged; ¶0098, if the decisions need to be taken while performing a medical procedure (e.g., during cathlab catheterization)); and execute at least one computer vision model to determine characteristics of a lesion in the vasculature based on the received imaging data (¶0003, CAD is typically caused by lesions, such as local narrowing, or stenosis; ¶0043, Another embodiment described herein utilizes a convolutional neural network (CNN) (FIG. 6) to compute the virtual FFR; ¶0044, machine-learning powered methods for the assessment of plaque vulnerability based on imaging data; ¶0046, Detection of lesions can be performed using a regressor trained with a recurrent neural network to estimate the stenosis severity based on the vessel radius Examiner considers vFFR the “characteristic”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of Itu et al. (US 2021/0251577) (IDS) (hereafter, “Itu”).
Regarding claim 2, in which claim 1 is incorporated, Passerini discloses wherein the computer vision model is trained on a plurality of lesions in past imaging data (¶0044, machine-learning powered methods for the assessment of plaque vulnerability based on imaging data; ¶0046, Detection of lesions can be performed using a regressor trained with a recurrent neural network to estimate the stenosis severity based on the vessel radius … lesion and scoring in a medical image. The RNN is trained to classify medical images, so its training data must be “past” medical images) of [a plurality of patients].
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of patients.
Itu teaches a plurality of patients (¶0038, The retrained machine-learned model 16 is redeployed for use with other patients. As further examples or samples for different patients are provided, such as due to application of the machine-learned model and observation of complications from PCI, these further examples are used to update the training and corresponding machine-learned model).
Both Passerini and Itu are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed towards image processing methods for cardiac procedures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of patient data of Itu into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to be compatible to use with other patients, as suggested by Itu at ¶0038, The retrained machine-learned model 16 is redeployed for use with other patients.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Itu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Itu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, in which claim 17 is incorporated, Passerini discloses wherein the computer vision model is trained on a plurality of lesions in past imaging data (¶0044, machine-learning powered methods for the assessment of plaque vulnerability based on imaging data; ¶0046, Detection of lesions can be performed using a regressor trained with a recurrent neural network to estimate the stenosis severity based on the vessel radius … lesion and scoring in a medical image. The RNN is trained to classify medical images, so its training data must be “past” medical images) of [a plurality of patients].
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of patients.
Itu teaches a plurality of patients (¶0038, The retrained machine-learned model 16 is redeployed for use with other patients. As further examples or samples for different patients are provided, such as due to application of the machine-learned model and observation of complications from PCI, these further examples are used to update the training and corresponding machine-learned model).
Both Passerini and Itu are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed towards image processing methods for cardiac procedures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of patient data of Itu into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to be compatible to use with other patients, as suggested by Itu at ¶0038, The retrained machine-learned model 16 is redeployed for use with other patients.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Itu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Itu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19.
Claims 3, 5, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of van Walsum et al. (US 2020/0222018) (IDS) (hereafter, “Walsum”).
Regarding claim 3, Passerini discloses the medical system of claim 1.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: execute the at least one computer vision model to determine a medical instrument or type of a medical instrument used during the cardiac catheterization procedure.
Walsum teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: execute the at least one computer vision model to determine a medical instrument (¶0120, the device location (e.g. catheter tip location) in the acquired X-ray fluoroscopic image data is tracked using image processing techniques and in a preferred embodiment using the proposed deep learning based Bayesian filtering method. Examiner considers identifying the catheter tip as “determining a medical instrument” and the deep learning based Bayesian filtering as a “computer vision model”. Since the limitation is recited in the alternative, the Examiner considers this to fully disclose the limitation) or type of a medical instrument used during the cardiac catheterization procedure.
Both Passerini and Walsum are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed towards image processing methods for cardiac procedures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate catheter tip detection of Walsum into the model of Passerini. The suggestion or motivation for doing so would have been to improve surgery guidance by compensating for motion artifacts, as suggested by Walsum at ¶0106, to compensate for respiratory motion using guiding catheter tracking in live X-ray fluoroscopic or angiographic image stream of the patient.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Walsum.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Walsum to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Passerini discloses the medical system of claim 1.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: track motion of a medical instrument during the cardiac catheterization procedure; and output for display a representation of motion of the medical instrument during the cardiac catheterization procedure based on the tracked motion and the imaging data.
Walsum teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: track motion of a medical instrument during the cardiac catheterization procedure (¶0158, The overall catheter tip tracking uses a deep learning based Bayesian filtering method and is summarized in FIG. 13. The method models the likelihood term of Bayesian filtering with a convolutional neural network, and integrates it with particle filtering in a comprehensive manner, leading to more robust tracking. Examiner considers tracking the tip the same as tracking the entire catheter as it is determining how near the occlusion the catheter has reached); and output for display a representation of motion of the medical instrument during the cardiac catheterization procedure based on the tracked motion and the imaging data (Fig. 36, 37; ¶0116; create a dynamic roadmap based on tracking the position of a device; ¶0211, The tracking results of the 4 proposed methods on example image frames from the 4 X-ray fluoroscopic sequences are illustrated in FIG. 36, in which the (blue) dots indicates the predicted catheter tip location; ¶0212, FIG. 37 illustrates how the proposed tracking method by step 107 of FIG. 1 works on the same 4 frames in FIG. 36. FIG. 37 shows the high probability as a bright color in the detection map, samples or particles are presented as green dots. The blue point indicates the predicted catheter tip location. Examiner considers the dynamic road map, when the frames are displayed temporally, to display the “tracked motion”).
Both Passerini and Walsum are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed towards image processing methods for cardiac procedures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate catheter tip tracking of Walsum into the model of Passerini. The suggestion or motivation for doing so would have been to improve surgery guidance by compensating for motion artifacts, as suggested by Walsum at ¶0106, to compensate for respiratory motion using guiding catheter tracking in live X-ray fluoroscopic or angiographic image stream of the patient.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Walsum.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Walsum to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, Passerini discloses the method of claim 17.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose further comprising executing the at least one computer vision model to determine a medical instrument or type of a medical instrument used during the cardiac catheterization procedure.
Walsum teaches further comprising executing the at least one computer vision model to determine a medical instrument (¶0120, the device location (e.g. catheter tip location) in the acquired X-ray fluoroscopic image data is tracked using image processing techniques and in a preferred embodiment using the proposed deep learning based Bayesian filtering method. Examiner considers identifying the catheter tip as “determining a medical instrument” and the deep learning based Bayesian filtering as a “computer vision model”. Since the limitation is recited in the alternative, the Examiner considers this to fully disclose the limitation) or type of a medical instrument used during the cardiac catheterization procedure.
Both Passerini and Walsum are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed towards image processing methods for cardiac procedures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate catheter tip detection of Walsum into the model of Passerini. The suggestion or motivation for doing so would have been to improve surgery guidance by compensating for motion artifacts, as suggested by Walsum at ¶0106, to compensate for respiratory motion using guiding catheter tracking in live X-ray fluoroscopic or angiographic image stream of the patient.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Walsum.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Walsum to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of Razon et al. (US 2024/0252234) (hereafter, “Razon”).
Regarding claim 4, Passerini discloses the medical system of claim 1.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one computer vision model is trained on post ablation information in past imaging data from a plurality of patients and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the at least one computer vision model to determine a degree of success of an ablation of the lesion.
Razon teaches wherein the at least one computer vision model is trained on post ablation information in past imaging data from a plurality of patients (¶0053, useful clinical information after the completion of ablation, to assess the success of ablation and the likelihood of a desired lesion being generated; ¶0162-0163, An SVM or other machine-learning algorithm may be trained to output, as its classification result, a numeric indicator of a likelihood that a lesion resulting from the (ongoing or monitored) ablation has a depth that reaches or exceeds the predetermined depth … graphical image of lesions that have reached or exceeded the predetermined depth; ¶0184, the training dataset may contain input data entries obtained using a first set of tissue examples and the validation dataset may contain input data entries obtained using a second set of tissue examples, where each set of tissue examples contains at least one unique tissue example (i.e. not found in the other set). This helps facilitate assessment of a more appropriate accuracy of the machine-learning method for different subjects. Different subjects indicates the training data contains a “plurality of subjects”) and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to execute the at least one computer vision model to determine a degree of success of an ablation of the lesion (¶0053, to assess the success of ablation; ¶164, The SVM may be trained to output, as the classification result, a (e.g. real-time) indication of lesion state classified to: “Not Reached/Exceeded Predetermined Depth”; “Near Reaching/Exceeding Predetermined Depth”; or “Reached/Exceeded Predetermined Depth”).
Both Passerini and Razon are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed towards analyzing medical images related to catheterization. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the success prediction of Razon into the model of Passerini. The suggestion or motivation for doing so would have been to improve safety, as suggested by Razon at ¶0004, enable better control of lesion formation to improve efficacy and safety.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Razon.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Razon to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of van Walsum et al. (US 2020/0222018) (IDS) (hereafter, “Walsum”) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Buch et al. (US 2021/0307841) (hereafter, “Buch”).
Regarding claim 6, in which claim 5 is incorporated, Passerini discloses [wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether at least a portion of the] cardiac catheterization (¶0104, cardiac motion by selecting a roadmap of the same cardiac phase; ¶0106, guiding catheter tracking) [procedure is successful based on the tracked motion].
However, neither Passerini nor Walsum, whether considered individually or in combination, explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether at least a portion of the procedure is successful based on the tracked motion.
Buch teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether at least a portion of the procedure is successful based on the tracked motion (¶0028, At the next level, movement of the anatomical and surgical objects is tracked … an intraoperative prediction of success of a surgical procedure).
Passerini, Walsum, and Buch are analogous to the claimed invention because Passerini and Walsum are both directed towards image processing methods for cardiac procedures and Buch is directed at predicting surgical outcomes. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the motion based prediction of Buch into catheter tip detection of Walsum and the model of Passerini. The suggestion or motivation for doing so would have been to provide real-time assistance, as suggested by Buch at ¶0015, The subject matter described herein includes a technology that can assist surgeons in real-time to recognize objects in their operative environment, notify them of situations that may require additional caution prior to executing an action, and assist surgeons in crucial decision-making situations.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Walsum.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Walsum to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of Esterberg et al. (US 2022/0084668) (hereafter, “Esterberg”).
Regarding claim 9, Passerini discloses wherein the processing circuitry further outputs guidance to the clinician during the cardiac catheterization procedure (¶0082, guidance can be determined based on the predicted post-treatment values; ¶0087, To generate the candidate post-PCI scenarios, a dedicated machine learning algorithm (model) can be used that is trained for the purpose of generating variations of a given anatomical model including the presence of a stent; ¶0089, a treatment prediction is output and treatment guidance is provided to the user; ¶0090, providing interactive guidance for treating coronary artery lesions according to an embodiment of the present invention. The Examiner is interpreting user to refer to a “clinician”) [based on an identity of the clinician]
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose based on an identity of the clinician.
Esterberg teaches based on an identity of the clinician (¶0018, Examples of the situational rules may include a nurse having a top-priority to clean up instruments at an end of the surgical procedure; the surgeon may have a top-priority function at the occurrence of an adverse event during the surgical procedure).
Both Passerini and Esterberg are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed towards providing guidance during medical procedures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the user specific guidance of Esterberg into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve efficiency of a surgery, as suggested by Esterberg at ¶0004, anesthesiologists may use a white board to track patients being treated, but such type of records may be difficult to access or maintain during a surgical procedure … Such activities may delay the surgical procedure and may increase risks of adverse effects.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Esterberg.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Esterberg to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of Meyer et al. (US 2014/0369465) (hereafter, “Meyer”).
Regarding claim 10, Passerini discloses the medical system of claim 7.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: predict an ability of a medical instrument to cross the lesion based at least in part on the characteristics of the lesion.
Meyer teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: predict an ability of a medical instrument to cross the lesion based at least in part on the characteristics of the lesion (¶0022, a J-CTO score is determined as a further parameter. For example, the J-CTO score is known from the article "Predicting successful guide wire" crossing through chronic total occlusion of native coronary lesions within 30 minutes: the J-CTO score as a difficulty trading and time assessment tool," Morino et al., JACC Cardiovascular Interventions (2011), Vol. 4, Issue 2, pp. 213-221. Via the J-CTO score, a user can receive information regarding the degree of difficulty of the procedure to open the occlusion; ¶0045, the "J-CTO Score", which supplies a statement regarding the degree of difficulty with regard to opening the occlusion--can be determined, either automatically. Examiner considers the J-CTO score to be “predictive” of crossing a lesion).
Both Passerini and Meyer are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed to aid clinicians in operations involving occlusions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the outcome prediction of Meyer into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve patient safety, as suggested by Meyer at ¶0012, leads to particularly good and safe care of the patient.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Meyer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Meyer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of Ben Oren et al. (US 2020/0397312) (hereafter, “Ben Oren”).
Regarding claim 11, Passerini discloses the medical system of claim 7.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether a medical instrument crossed a lesion.
Ben Oren teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether a medical instrument crossed a lesion (¶0115, to identify tissue types being ablated based on the received acoustic signals; and/or to identify the location of the catheter in the blood vessel based on the received acoustic signals; ¶0154, indicate the extend of the treatment, such as the catheter is only partially through the lesion or the catheter has successfully passed through the lesion).
Both Passerini and Ben Oren are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed towards catheterizations. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the lesion crossing determination of Ben Oren into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve surgery outcomes, as suggested by Ben Oren at ¶0146, increased procedural success rates.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Ben Oren.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Ben Oren to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of Borsic (US 2024/0058062).
Regarding claim 13, Passerini discloses the medical system of claim 1.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive controller data from a device; process the controller data to generate a representation of ablated tissue; and output for display the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue.
Borsic teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive controller data from a device (¶0051, Ablation controller 144 may provide information to adequacy evaluation component 132 indicating the status of the tissues, this information may consist of, for example and without limitation, the temperature of the tissues as read from sensors on the probe, or on the impedance of the tissues (in RFA), or in the reflection coefficient at the probe (in MWA). This information may be used by the numerical models present in adequacy evaluation component 132 to better estimate the volume of the ablation); process the controller data to generate a representation of ablated tissue (¶0058, determination of an ablation footprint and/or volume of the ablation probe 148 at the ablation site, may include determination of a necrotic area of the ablation site as a function of the ablation probe 148 ablation energy and/or a representation thereof. Examiner considers the ablation footprint as “a representation of ablated tissue”); and output for display the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue (Fig. 6, 7; ¶0109, computational component generates a display of the ablation footprint and the predetermined ablation chart, where the display supports switching between the determined ablation footprint and the predetermined ablation chart).
Both Passerini and Borsic are analogous to the claimed invention because Passerini is directed towards interactive guidance systems for medical procedures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate ablation information output of Borsic into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve outcomes as suggested by Borsic at ¶0030, which may result in the complete treatment of the target tissues; complications may be minimized by accurate planning as well.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Borsic.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Borsic to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of Borsic (US 2024/0058062) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Shelton et al. (US 2022/0233119) (hereafter, “Shelton”).
Regarding claim 14, Passerini in view of Borsic discloses the medical system of claim 13.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to, prior to outputting for display the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue, apply one or more timestamps to the imaging data and apply one or more timestamps to at least one of the controller data or the representation of the ablated tissue, wherein as part of outputting for display the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue, the processing circuitry is configured to: register the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue using the one or more timestamps applied to the imaging data and the one or more timestamps applied to at least one of the controller data or the representation of the ablated tissue; and overlay the representation of the ablated tissue on the imaging data.
Borsic teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to, [prior to outputting for display] the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue (¶0058, determination of an ablation footprint and/or volume of the ablation probe 148 at the ablation site, may include determination of a necrotic area of the ablation site as a function of the ablation probe 148 ablation energy and/or a representation thereof. Examiner considers the ablation footprint as “a representation of ablated tissue”), [apply one or more timestamps] to the imaging data and [apply one or more timestamps] to at least one of the controller data (¶0051, Ablation controller 144 may provide information) or the representation of the ablated tissue (¶0058, determination of an ablation footprint and/or volume of the ablation probe 148 at the ablation site, may include determination of a necrotic area of the ablation site as a function of the ablation probe 148 ablation energy and/or a representation thereof. Examiner considers the ablation footprint as “a representation of ablated tissue”), wherein as part of outputting for display the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue (Fig. 6, 7; ¶0109, computational component generates a display of the ablation footprint and the predetermined ablation chart, where the display supports switching between the determined ablation footprint and the predetermined ablation chart), the processing circuitry is configured to: [register the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue using the one or more timestamps applied] to the imaging data and [the one or more timestamps applied] to at least one of the controller data (¶0051, Ablation controller 144 may provide information) or the representation of the ablated tissue; and overlay the representation of the ablated tissue on the imaging data (Fig. 6, 7. Figs. 6 and 7 illustrate the representation overlayed on imaging data).
Both Passerini and Borsic are analogous to the claimed invention because they are directed towards interactive guidance systems for medical procedures. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate ablation information output of Borsic into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve outcomes as suggested by Borsic at ¶0030, which may result in the complete treatment of the target tissues; complications may be minimized by accurate planning as well.
However, neither Passerini nor Borsic, whether considered individually or in combination, explicitly disclose applying a timestamp to the imaging and controller data and register the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue using the one or more timestamps applied to the imaging and controller data.
Shelton teaches applying a timestamp to the imaging and controller data (¶2386, A synchronizer may be used to attach a unified timing code; ¶2387, Overlay timestamp match may use timestamp intervals. Timestamp intervals of several dataflows with different sampling rates may be grouped. Timestamp intervals of several dataflows with different sampling rates may be grouped in case of an interval overlay; ¶2388, The timestamp may allow mixing of sensor signals of different data rates. Since the timestamps of Shelton may be applied to multiple sensors/data sources, the combination with Borsic would yield timestamps applied to image data and controller data) and register the imaging data and the representation of the ablated tissue using the one or more timestamps applied to the imaging and controller data (¶2387, Tolerant timestamp match may be used for synchronization. Tolerant timestamp match may be used for synchronization based on a tolerance interval. Examiner considers synchronizing data as “registering data”).
Passerini, Borsic, and Shelton are analogous to the claimed invention because Passerini and Borsic are directed towards interactive guidance systems for medical procedures and Shelton is directed at surgical computing systems. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the timestamps of Shelton into ablation information output of Borsic and the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to identify dropped data as suggested by Shelton at ¶2386, Dropped frames and/or data points may be detected based on the unified timing code.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Borsic and Shelton.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Borsic and Shelton to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of Kumar et al. (US 2014/0074078) (hereafter, “Kumar”).
Regarding claim 15, Passerini discloses the medical system of claim 1.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to control an energy generation device to stop delivering energy based on controller data.
Kumar teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to control an energy generation device to stop delivering energy based on controller data (¶0061, The computer provides feedback to the ablation controller to start or stop laser energy delivery; ¶0064, The controller 12 is connected to the output of the thermal sensors 2 and provides the temperature measurements to the computer 11. In addition, controller 12 takes inputs from the computer 11 to start or stop the activation of laser source. Since the stop signal is “feedback”, Examiner considers it to be based on the data provided by the controller).
Both Passerini and Kumar are analogous to the claimed invention because they are both directed toward surgical computation systems. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the ablation control of Kumar into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to maintain safety, as suggested by Kumar at ¶0054, ensuring that the safety zone is continually maintained.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Kumar.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Kumar to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Passerini et al. (US 2021/0085397) (IDS) (hereafter, “Passerini”) in view of Speidel et al. (US 2021/0307712) (hereafter, “Speidel”).
Regarding claim 16, Passerini discloses the medical system of claim 1.
However, Passerini fails to explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to control an automated contrast delivery device to modulate a contrast delivery rate of contrast to a patient based on at least one of a quality of the imaging data or in response to a tolerance of the patient to the contrast.
Speidel teaches the processing circuitry is further configured to control an automated contrast delivery device to modulate a contrast delivery rate of contrast to a patient based on at least one of a quality of the imaging data (¶0058, the contrast medium injection rate during a bolus and contrast medium volume per bolus is selected or adjusted to achieve a balance between image signal size, bolus deliver, and any desired integrity of native blood flow dynamics. Examiner considers image signal size to represent “quality of image data”) or in response to a tolerance of the patient to the contrast.
Both Passerini and Speidel are analogous to the claimed invention because Passerini is directed towards surgery guidance systems and Speidel is directed towards surgery control systems. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the contrast medium adjustment of Speidel into the model of Passerini. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to acquire multiple images, as suggested by Speidel at ¶0058, so that multiple images are acquired per injection period.
This method of improving Passerini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Speidel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Passerini with the teachings of Speidel to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stapelfeldt et al. (US 2012/0239420) discloses a personalized clinical support system (¶0053, The guidance for a given active encounter can include global guidance as well as personal guidance that is customized for an individual user).
Maguire et al. (US 2023/0119680) discloses machine learning methods for determining the success of an ablation (¶0011, Such scans and data can be merged to provide an opportunity for machine learning and predictive modeling of the ablation target location, and subsequently predict the success of the ablation).
Doron et al. (US 2022/0079499) discloses a method for predicting the success of an ablation (¶0054, generating procedure expected outcomes for the mapping and ablation procedures based on the data, generating success predictions for a current ablation procedure).
/XIAOMAO DING/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/Henok Shiferaw/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2676