DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “photoelectric conversion unit”, “first electric charge holding unit”, “reset unit”, “counting unit”, “analog-digital conversion unit”, “signal processing unit”, “second electric charge holding unit” in claims.
Because these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funaki (US 2009/0244346) in view of Senda (US 2012/0049078).
Regarding claim 1, Funaki discloses, in at least figures 1 – 3, a solid-state imaging element (CMOS) comprising: a photoelectric conversion unit (PD) that generates electric charges according to an amount of received light (¶54); a first electric charge holding unit (FD) that is connected to the photoelectric conversion unit via a first node (N1) (¶55); a comparator (CMP) that outputs a first signal when a potential of the first node and a predetermined potential (Vref) coincide with each other (¶58); a reset unit (Trst) that sets the first node to a reset potential (Vdd) according to the first signal (¶62); and a counting unit (CNT) that counts and outputs the first signal (¶63). Funaki fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in a first mode, the reset potential applied to the first node changes in time series.
In a similar field of endeavor, Senda teaches a configuration of an imaging device wherein at the time of acquiring initial data Dorg and measurement data Dm to be described later, this voltage generation section 12 changes the value of the reset voltage Vrst stepwise within a voltage range that the storage node N may have during imaging (for example, in a range of 0 volt to the power source voltage SVDD); and by measuring the output voltage Vout (the signal voltage Vsig) from the source follower circuit while thus changing the reset voltage Vrst stepwise, the input-output characteristic of the source follower circuit is acquired (fig. 1, 3, 8; ¶38-44, 66). In light of the teaching of Senda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use Senda’s teaching in Funaki’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in the ability to accurately measure/monitor dark current.
Regarding claim 2, Funaki in view of Senda disclose the limitations of claim 1. Funaki also teaches wherein, in a second mode, the reset potential having a fixed value is applied (¶62: Vdd is fixed).
Regarding claim 3, Funaki in view of Senda disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination also teaches wherein the reset unit includes a reset transistor (Trst) connected between the first node and a power supply unit (Funaki fig. 1), the comparator maintains an output of the first signal in a case where the potential of the first node exceeds the predetermined potential to a low potential side (Funaki ¶65: when potential of N1 is lower than Vref, CMP outputs a low-level potential), the reset unit causes the reset transistor to be in a conductive state during the output of the first signal (Funaki ¶65: as a result, Trst enters a conductive state), and, in the first mode, the potential of the power supply unit is so raised as to exceed the predetermined potential from the low potential side relative to the predetermined potential (Senda fig. 1, 3, 8; ¶38-44, 66: when measurement data is acquired, the value of the reset voltage is changed stepwise w/in a possible voltage range).
Regarding claim 4, Funaki in view of Senda disclose the limitations of claim 3. Senda also teaches further comprising: a readout circuit that reads out the potential of the first node (fig. 3; ¶38:transistor 23 and 24).
Claim(s) 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funaki (US 2009/0244346) in view of Senda (US 2012/0049078) in view of Miyauchi (US 2021/0099659).
Regarding claim 3, Funaki in view of Senda disclose the limitations of claim 1. The combination fails to explicitly disclose an optical system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Funaki with the teachings of Miyauchi. Miyauchi discloses a CMOS image sensor in an electronic apparatus that includes an optical system 220 (fig. 20; ¶182). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of using a lens/optical system, as taught by Miyauchi, with the invention of Funaki would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system that allows for redirecting incident light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639