DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response dated 6/16/2026. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. All pending claims therefore have an effective filing date of 6/24/2024.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see pages 9-11 of 31, filed 6/16/2026, with respect to claim objections and 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections and 112(b) rejections of record have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's first argument, see page 13 of 31, filed 6/16/2026, has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that Sheidler does not disclose "...the claimed arrangement in which the engine power and walking motor power are coupled and transmitted to wheels through a differential, while separate cotton-picker working motors are driven by electrical energy distributed from the battery through corresponding motor controllers..." however the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the first portion of this argument, Sheidler discloses a differential which transmits power from engine and walking motor to wheels (Sheidler Fig 2, [0029], [0033], [0045]; engine 24, M/G 78, transmission 106, wheels 22).
Regarding the second portion of this argument, the arguments are deemed moot since the amended claims have a new ground of rejection (detailed below) which do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheidler et al. (US-2022/0304240; hereinafter Sheidler; already of record) in view of Duncan et al. (US-2021/0402234; hereinafter Duncan; already of record) and Hunt (US-2024/0198784).
Applicant's second argument, see page 14 of 31, filed 6/16/2026, has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that Duncan does not disclose "...the claimed "series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker" in which "the coupling device couples the power of the engine and the walking motor, and then transmits the coupled power to wheels through the differential,"…” however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Similar to the response above, Sheidler discloses a differential which transmits power from engine, walking motor, and shaft to wheels (Sheidler Fig 2, [0029], [0033], [0045]; shaft 80, engine 24, M/G 78, transmission 106, wheels 22).
Applicant's third argument, see page 14 of 31, filed 6/16/2026, has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that Duncan does not disclose the amended limitations of claim 1, "...the claimed battery distribution architecture in which the battery is connected to multiple cotton-picker motor controllers that respectively control the picking motor, fan motor, packing motor, cotton collection motor, and conveyor/hydraulic pump motor…” however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments are deemed moot since the amended claims have a new ground of rejection (detailed below) which do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheidler et al. (US-2022/0304240; hereinafter Sheidler; already of record) in view of Duncan et al. (US-2021/0402234; hereinafter Duncan; already of record) and Hunt (US-2024/0198784).
Applicant's fourth argument, see page 14 of 31, filed 6/16/2026, has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that Carton does not disclose the amended limitations of claim 1, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above, claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheidler et al. (US-2022/0304240; hereinafter Sheidler; already of record) in view of Duncan et al. (US-2021/0402234; hereinafter Duncan; already of record) and Hunt (US-2024/0198784).
Applicant's fifth argument, see page 15 of 31, filed 6/16/2026, has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that Anderson does not disclose the amended limitations of claim 1, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed above, claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheidler et al. (US-2022/0304240; hereinafter Sheidler; already of record) in view of Duncan et al. (US-2021/0402234; hereinafter Duncan; already of record) and Hunt (US-2024/0198784).
Applicant's sixth argument, see page 15 of 31, filed 6/16/2026, has been fully considered and is persuasive. The prior art rejections applied to amended claim 16 have been withdrawn, however both a claim objection and a 112(b) indefiniteness rejection pertaining to claim 16 have been included below.
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 as currently presented states “…through a corresponding motor controller…” however the Examiner recommends updating this to instead state “…through [ [ a ] ] each corresponding motor controller…” or the like, so as to avoid potential misinterpretation, since there are multiple motor controllers detailed within the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and claim 16, the claims as currently presented state “…continuous changes in actual load…” however it is unclear to the Examiner if this referring to individual loads on each respective motor, or an overall load that the machine experiences, since the other operating conditions are all directed towards the overall machine. Page 19 of the instant specification merely states “…The vehicle speed and the output torque can be frequently adjusted to match the continuous changes in actual load. Therefore, it has the advantages of stepless speed variation, variable output torque, and high transmission efficiency…” which does not provide a distinction between the two alternative interpretations noted by the Examiner.
Claims 2-15 and 17-20 are also rejected since the claims are dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheidler et al. (US-2022/0304240; hereinafter Sheidler; already of record) in view of Duncan et al. (US-2021/0402234; hereinafter Duncan; already of record) and Hunt (US-2024/0198784).
Regarding claim 1, Sheidler discloses a series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker, comprising a series-parallel hybrid power system (see Sheidler at least Abs); wherein the series-parallel hybrid power system comprises an engine (see Sheidler at least [0024] engine 24), a gearbox (see Sheidler at least [0029] gearbox 76), a coupling device (see Sheidler at least [0029] shaft 80), a differential (see Sheidler at least [0033] transmission 106), a generator (see Sheidler at least [0029] motor/generator M/G 78), a battery (see Sheidler at least [0032] rechargeable battery pack 100), a main controller (see Sheidler at least [0034] controller architecture 16), a walking motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034] "The controller architecture 16 of the intelligent power allocation system 12 can assume any form suitable for performing the functions described throughout this document. The term “controller architecture,” as appearing herein, is utilized in a non-limiting sense to generally refer to the processing architecture of the intelligent power allocation system 12. The controller architecture 16 can encompass or may be associated with any practical number of processors, control computers, computer-readable memories, power supplies, storage devices, interface cards, and other standardized components. In this regard, and as noted briefly above, the controller architecture may be comprised of any number of individual processors and controllers onboard the hybrid combine 10, which may include an engine control unit in embodiments, as indicated by the signal communication line extending between the mechanical powertrain 26 and the controller architecture 16..." – MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”), a picking motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034] "The controller architecture 16 of the intelligent power allocation system 12 can assume any form suitable for performing the functions described throughout this document. The term “controller architecture,” as appearing herein, is utilized in a non-limiting sense to generally refer to the processing architecture of the intelligent power allocation system 12. The controller architecture 16 can encompass or may be associated with any practical number of processors, control computers, computer-readable memories, power supplies, storage devices, interface cards, and other standardized components. In this regard, and as noted briefly above, the controller architecture may be comprised of any number of individual processors and controllers onboard the hybrid combine 10, which may include an engine control unit in embodiments, as indicated by the signal communication line extending between the mechanical powertrain 26 and the controller architecture 16..." – MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”), a fan motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034] "The controller architecture 16 of the intelligent power allocation system 12 can assume any form suitable for performing the functions described throughout this document. The term “controller architecture,” as appearing herein, is utilized in a non-limiting sense to generally refer to the processing architecture of the intelligent power allocation system 12. The controller architecture 16 can encompass or may be associated with any practical number of processors, control computers, computer-readable memories, power supplies, storage devices, interface cards, and other standardized components. In this regard, and as noted briefly above, the controller architecture may be comprised of any number of individual processors and controllers onboard the hybrid combine 10, which may include an engine control unit in embodiments, as indicated by the signal communication line extending between the mechanical powertrain 26 and the controller architecture 16..." – MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”), a packing motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034] "The controller architecture 16 of the intelligent power allocation system 12 can assume any form suitable for performing the functions described throughout this document. The term “controller architecture,” as appearing herein, is utilized in a non-limiting sense to generally refer to the processing architecture of the intelligent power allocation system 12. The controller architecture 16 can encompass or may be associated with any practical number of processors, control computers, computer-readable memories, power supplies, storage devices, interface cards, and other standardized components. In this regard, and as noted briefly above, the controller architecture may be comprised of any number of individual processors and controllers onboard the hybrid combine 10, which may include an engine control unit in embodiments, as indicated by the signal communication line extending between the mechanical powertrain 26 and the controller architecture 16..." – MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”), a cotton collection motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034] "The controller architecture 16 of the intelligent power allocation system 12 can assume any form suitable for performing the functions described throughout this document. The term “controller architecture,” as appearing herein, is utilized in a non-limiting sense to generally refer to the processing architecture of the intelligent power allocation system 12. The controller architecture 16 can encompass or may be associated with any practical number of processors, control computers, computer-readable memories, power supplies, storage devices, interface cards, and other standardized components. In this regard, and as noted briefly above, the controller architecture may be comprised of any number of individual processors and controllers onboard the hybrid combine 10, which may include an engine control unit in embodiments, as indicated by the signal communication line extending between the mechanical powertrain 26 and the controller architecture 16..." – MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”), and a conveyor motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034] "The controller architecture 16 of the intelligent power allocation system 12 can assume any form suitable for performing the functions described throughout this document. The term “controller architecture,” as appearing herein, is utilized in a non-limiting sense to generally refer to the processing architecture of the intelligent power allocation system 12. The controller architecture 16 can encompass or may be associated with any practical number of processors, control computers, computer-readable memories, power supplies, storage devices, interface cards, and other standardized components. In this regard, and as noted briefly above, the controller architecture may be comprised of any number of individual processors and controllers onboard the hybrid combine 10, which may include an engine control unit in embodiments, as indicated by the signal communication line extending between the mechanical powertrain 26 and the controller architecture 16..." – MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”); the engine and the battery are used for outputting power (see Sheidler at least [0033]-[0035] "...Accordingly, in embodiments, the battery pack 100 may be utilized to power the electric ground traction motor 98, when so commanded by the controller architecture 16, with a rotary output of the electric ground traction motor 98 mechanically coupled to a rotary input of a transmission 106 through one or more shafts 108... Such control interfaces are conventionally deployed onboard modern combine harvesters, often with hydrostatic drives or transmissions providing a continuously or infinitely variable transmission converting mechanical output from an internal combustion engine, such as the combine engine 24, to a desired wheel or track speed..."); the generator is used to convert mechanical energy of the engine into electrical energy to charge the battery (see Sheidler at least [0041] "...Such an approach or control scheme also allows the potential for back-driving the M/G 78 through the gearbox 76 to recharge the battery pack 100 and to slow the output shaft speed of the combine engine 24 under light load conditions…"); the battery is connected to the walking motor controller, and the battery distributes the electrical energy to the walking motor controller to control a walking motor to drive a walking device to move (see Sheidler at least [0033] "...Accordingly, in embodiments, the battery pack 100 may be utilized to power the electric ground traction motor 98, when so commanded by the controller architecture 16, with a rotary output of the electric ground traction motor 98 mechanically coupled to a rotary input of a transmission 106 through one or more shafts 108..." and [0044] “...Generally, when the intelligent power allocation system 12 operates in the battery powered transport mode, the controller architecture 16 controls the electric drive subsystem 74 and, specifically, the electric ground traction motor 98 to power (mechanically drive) the movable components of the ground traction undercarriage 20 of the hybrid combine 10 in accordance with operator commands...”); the battery is connected to the picking motor controller to distribute the electrical energy to the picking motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034]; controller architecture 16; MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”) … the battery is connected to the fan motor controller to distribute the electrical energy to the fan motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034]; controller architecture 16; MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”) … the battery is connected to the packing motor controller and distributes the electrical energy to the packing motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034]; controller architecture 16; MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”) … the battery is connected to the cotton collection motor controller, and the battery distributes the electrical energy to the cotton collection motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034]; controller architecture 16; MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”) … the battery is connected to the conveyor motor controller, and distributes the electrical energy to the conveyor motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0034]; controller architecture 16; MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”) … the engine is connected to the gearbox (see Sheidler at least Fig 2 and [0029]; engine 24; gearbox 76), and the gearbox is connected to the coupling device (see Sheidler at least Fig 2 and [0029]; gearbox 76; shaft 80); the coupling device is connected to the walking motor (see Sheidler at least Fig 2, [0029], and [0045]; shaft 80 of M/G 78; M/G 78 generates electrical power and applies power to motor 98), and the engine can transmit power to the coupling device through the gearbox (see Sheidler at least Fig 2 and [0029]; engine 24, shaft 80, gearbox 76); the coupling device couples the power of the engine and the walking motor (see Sheidler at least Fig 2, [0029], and [0045]), and then transmits the coupled power to wheels through the differential (see Sheidler at least Fig 2 and [0033]; transmission 106, wheels 22); wherein …
the main controller is respectively connected to the battery, the walking motor controller, the picking motor controller, the fan motor controller, the packing motor controller, the cotton collection motor controller, and the conveyor motor controller (see Sheidler at least Fig 2 and [0034] "The controller architecture 16 of the intelligent power allocation system 12 can assume any form suitable for performing the functions described throughout this document. The term “controller architecture,” as appearing herein, is utilized in a non-limiting sense to generally refer to the processing architecture of the intelligent power allocation system 12. The controller architecture 16 can encompass or may be associated with any practical number of processors, control computers, computer-readable memories, power supplies, storage devices, interface cards, and other standardized components. In this regard, and as noted briefly above, the controller architecture may be comprised of any number of individual processors and controllers onboard the hybrid combine 10, which may include an engine control unit in embodiments, as indicated by the signal communication line extending between the mechanical powertrain 26 and the controller architecture 16..." – MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”); wherein the main controller is configured to independently and in real-time adjust operating parameters of each motor controller based on operating conditions including continuous changes in actual load during operation (see Sheidler at least [0017] "...For example, in embodiments of the intelligent power allocation system, the controller architecture may utilize persistent sensor data to monitor a current separator load placed on the hybrid combine when driving rotation of the separator rotor (or driving movement of a different separator device) during active harvesting..." and [0019] "...Additionally, in at least some implementations, the controller architecture may control the power output of the M/G to as a function of separator load under such heavy load conditions to reduce pronounced variations in combine engine loading (referred to as “combine engine load leveling”)...").
However, Sheidler does not explicitly disclose the following:
…the picking motor controller controls a picking motor to drive a picking device for picking… the fan motor controller controls a fan motor to drive a pneumatic conveying device for air supply… control a packing motor for driving a packing device for packing… control a motor for driving a striking roller to feed cotton into a cotton collection box… control a hydraulic pump motor for driving a wing plate of a cotton support frame… the picking motor, the fan motor, the packing motor, the motor for driving the striking roller, and the hydraulic pump motor are independent systems from the engine and are driven by electrical energy distributed from the battery through the picking motor controller, the fan motor controller, the packing motor controller, the cotton collection motor controller, and the conveyor motor controller, respectively, without receiving mechanical transmission from the engine through the gearbox, the coupling device, or the differential…
Duncan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the picking motor controller controls a picking motor to drive a picking device for picking (see Duncan at least Fig 1 and [0111]; motor-driven crosswise augers 122)… the fan motor controller controls a fan motor to drive a pneumatic conveying device for air supply (see Duncan at least [0115]; motor-driven mechanical fan 132)… control a packing motor for driving a packing device for packing (see Duncan at least [0176]-[0178] “…One or more of the rollers can be driven by one or more hydraulic motors…”)… control a motor for driving a striking roller to feed cotton into a cotton collection box (see Duncan at least Fig 2, [0125], and [0130]; motor-driven mechanical fan 152; accumulator chamber 32)… control a hydraulic pump motor for driving a wing plate of a cotton support frame (see Duncan at least [0069] “…The hydraulic pumps can be part of a conventional hydraulic drive system for driving various hydraulic actuators (e.g., hydraulic motors and hydraulic cylinders) that are configured to drive respective components of the harvester 10..." and [0179]; unloader 36)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by Sheidler with various motors such as taught by Duncan with a reasonable expectation of success so as to drive the various components of the system (see Duncan at least [0069]).
However, neither Sheidler nor Duncan explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the picking motor, the fan motor, the packing motor, the motor for driving the striking roller, and the hydraulic pump motor are independent systems from the engine and are driven by electrical energy distributed from the battery through the picking motor controller, the fan motor controller, the packing motor controller, the cotton collection motor controller, and the conveyor motor controller, respectively, without receiving mechanical transmission from the engine through the gearbox, the coupling device, or the differential…
Hunt, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the picking motor, the fan motor, the packing motor, the motor for driving the striking roller, and the hydraulic pump motor are independent systems from the engine and are driven by electrical energy distributed from the battery through the picking motor controller, the fan motor controller, the packing motor controller, the cotton collection motor controller, and the conveyor motor controller, respectively, without receiving mechanical transmission from the engine through the gearbox, the coupling device, or the differential (see Hunt at least [0019] "...In some embodiments, the vehicle 10 includes one or more attached implements and/or trailed implements such as a front mounted mower, a rear mounted mower, a trailed mower, a tedder, a rake, a baler, a plough, a cultivator, a rotavator, a tiller, a harvester, and/or another type of attached implement or trailed implement." [0024] "The PTO system 60 provides a rotational mechanical energy output to facilitate driving an attached implement and/or a trailed implement of the vehicle 10. The PTO system 60 includes a driver, shown as electric motor 62. The electric motor 62 includes an output shaft or PTO shaft, shown as PTO 64, that the electric motor 62 drives to provide the rotational mechanical energy output. The PTO 64 may be configured to be selectively coupled to the attached implement or trailed implement. By way of example, the PTO 64 may have a keyway that is configured to engage a corresponding key of the implement to transfer the rotational mechanical energy." [0025] "...In other embodiments, the PTO system 60 utilizes a different type of driver (e.g., a hydraulic motor, a pneumatic motor, an internal combustion engine, etc.) to drive the PTO 64.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric energy distribution as taught by Sheidler in view of Duncan with a battery independent from other power sources such as taught by Hunt with a reasonable expectation of success simply as an alternative means of powering motors on a machine (see Hunt at least [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 1, wherein the walking motor controller comprises a front axle motor controller and a rear axle motor controller (see Sheidler at least [0032]-[0033] "...So too may the electric drive subsystem 74 include any number and type of additional components 104, such as M/G or motor control units; sensors for monitoring characteristics pertaining to the electric drive subsystem 74, such as current battery SoC, the rotational speed of the e-machines 78, 98, and parameters indicative of battery health; thermal regulation devices for maintaining the battery pack 100 within optimal temperature ranges during combine operation and during charging periods; and other such components commonly integrated into modern high capacity battery modules and electric drive subsystems, generally... Accordingly, in embodiments, the battery pack 100 may be utilized to power the electric ground traction motor 98, when so commanded by the controller architecture 16, with a rotary output of the electric ground traction motor 98 mechanically coupled to a rotary input of a transmission 106 through one or more shafts 108. A rotary output of the transmission 106 is, in turn, mechanically linked to the driven wheels 22 and/or the tracks 62 via one or more shafts 110 and any number of additional axles, gears, sprockets, and other such mechanical components commonly utilized within combine ground traction undercarriages."); the walking motor includes a front axle motor and a rear axle motor (see Sheidler at least [0033] motor 98; controller 16; wheels 22; shafts/axles 110 – MPEP 2144.04 “Duplication of Parts”);
the front axle motor controller is used to control the front axle motor to drive front wheels to move (see Sheidler at least [0032]-[0033]);
the rear axle motor controller is used to control the rear axle motor to drive rear wheels to move (see Sheidler at least [0032]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 1, wherein the picking device comprises a picking drum and a cotton removal drum (see Sheidler at least [0025] "…Within the hybrid combine 10, the crop plants are engaged by a rotating drum conveyor or “beater” 38, which directs the crop plants in a generally upward direction into a rotary threshing and separating section 40. The rotary threshing and separating section 40 can include various components for performing the desired functions of separating the grain and chaff from other plant material. The illustrated rotary threshing and separating section 40, for example, includes a crop processing drum or rotor 42 having grain separating features and rotatably mounted in a case or rotor housing 44…"); the picking motor is connected to a picking transmission shaft, and the picking transmission shaft is connected to the picking drum and the cotton removal drum through a transmission gear set (see Sheidler at least [0025] "...In the illustrated example, the hybrid combine 10 contains a single, axially-elongated separator rotor 42; however, alternative embodiments of the hybrid combine 10 may contain any practical number of separator rotors, noting that twin rotor architectures (in which two separator rotors are arranged in a side-by-side relationship) are also common... In further embodiments, another type of separator device or mechanism may be substituted for the separator rotor 42, such as tangentially-fed rotors or other movable components of the type commonly included in a CTS, TTS, or cylinder-walker separator system." and [0029] "...In the illustrated embodiment, the intelligent power allocation system 12 includes an electric drive subsystem 74, which is mechanically linked to the separator rotor 42 through a gearbox 76... The rotary I/O of the M/G 78 is mechanically coupled to a corresponding rotary I/O of the gearbox 76 by at least one shaft 80 (e.g., the shaft of M/G 78) and, perhaps, any additional number and type of additional driveline components suitable for transmitting rotary motion between the M/G 78 and the gearbox 76..."); the picking motor drives the picking transmission shaft, and then transmits the power to the picking drum and the cotton removal drum through the transmission gear set (see Sheidler at least [0025] "...In the illustrated example, the hybrid combine 10 contains a single, axially-elongated separator rotor 42; however, alternative embodiments of the hybrid combine 10 may contain any practical number of separator rotors, noting that twin rotor architectures (in which two separator rotors are arranged in a side-by-side relationship) are also common... In further embodiments, another type of separator device or mechanism may be substituted for the separator rotor 42, such as tangentially-fed rotors or other movable components of the type commonly included in a CTS, TTS, or cylinder-walker separator system." and [0029] "...In the illustrated embodiment, the intelligent power allocation system 12 includes an electric drive subsystem 74, which is mechanically linked to the separator rotor 42 through a gearbox 76... The rotary I/O of the M/G 78 is mechanically coupled to a corresponding rotary I/O of the gearbox 76 by at least one shaft 80 (e.g., the shaft of M/G 78) and, perhaps, any additional number and type of additional driveline components suitable for transmitting rotary motion between the M/G 78 and the gearbox 76...").
Regarding claim 4, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 1, wherein a fan in the pneumatic conveying device is connected to the fan motor and driven separately by the fan motor (see Duncan at least [0115] "In the first embodiment, the lower end of the at least one separation duct or chamber 22 is connected to the outlet(s) of the crosswise auger mechanism 120 for receiving the plant material and any associated materials from the crosswise auger mechanism. An upper end of the separation 28 chamber is open to a lower end of the upstream duct 24 for supplying at least ripe cotton bolls thereto. Referring to FIG. 2, at least one hydraulic motor-driven mechanical fan 132 (e.g., “upstream conveying fan”) can be in at least indirect fluid communication with one or more of the separator 22 and upstream duct 24 for at least partially forming an upstream portion of the harvester's material flow path (e.g., for at least partially forming an upstream forced-air flow path portion of the harvester's material flow path)...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system as disclosed by Sheidler with a fan and a fan motor such as taught by Duncan with a reasonable expectation of success so as to move harvested plant material into the machine (see Duncan at least [0018]).
Regarding claim 5, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 1, wherein the striking roller of a conveying and feeding system in the cotton collection box is connected to the motor and driven separately by the motor (see Duncan at least [0125] "…A hydraulic motor-driven mechanical fan 152 (e.g., “downstream conveying fan”) can at least partially form an intermediate portion of the harvester's material flow path (e.g., at least partially form a downstream forced-air flow path portion of the harvester's material flow path)..." and [0130] "In the example of FIG. 2, the downstream forced-air flow path portion of the harvester's material flow path extends from the outlet of the cleaner 28, through the downstream duct 30, and into an opening to the interior of the accumulator chamber (e.g., the chamber of the accumulator 32)...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system as disclosed by Sheidler with a fan, a fan motor, and a collection box such as taught by Duncan with a reasonable expectation of success so as to move harvested plant material into the machine for sorting and processing (see Duncan at least [0018]).
Regarding claim 6, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 1, wherein a film feeding roller and a transmission belt of a film covering device in the packing device share the packing motor (see Duncan at least [0176] "...One or more of the rollers can be driven by one or more hydraulic motors, or other suitable mechanisms, so that the baler belts 332 are driven about a central area of the interior of the baler chamber."); the film feeding roller is connected to the packing motor and directly driven by the packing motor (see Duncan at least [0176] "...One or more of the rollers can be driven by one or more hydraulic motors, or other suitable mechanisms, so that the baler belts 332 are driven about a central area of the interior of the baler chamber."); the transmission belt is connected to the packing motor through a belt and driven by the packing motor through the belt (see Duncan at least [0176] "...One or more of the rollers can be driven by one or more hydraulic motors, or other suitable mechanisms, so that the baler belts 332 are driven about a central area of the interior of the baler chamber.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system as disclosed by Sheidler with various components such as taught by Duncan with a reasonable expectation of success so as to move harvested plant material into the machine for sorting and processing (see Duncan at least [0018]).
Regarding claim 8, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 1, wherein a clutch is in front of the generator, and the generator switches the power input to the generator through the clutch (see Sheidler at least Fig 5 and [0050] "...Additionally or alternatively, the intelligent power allocation system 12 may cause the combine engine 24 to both drive rotation of the separator rotor 42 and to concurrently back-drive the M/G 78 under certain operation conditions, such as under moderate to light separator load conditions. In this latter regard, the controller architecture 16 may selectively enable back-driving of the M/G 78 when the separator load decreases below a lower load threshold, with this power flow indicated by an arrow 157... Finally, as indicated in FIG. 5 by arrows 158, the electric ground traction motor 98 may be utilized to power the propulsive functions of the hybrid combine 10 through the transmission 106, as needed, during operation in the example separator single drive mode." – clutch engaged at 154).
Regarding claim 10, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 1, wherein the series-parallel hybrid power system comprises a parking mode, an electric vehicle (EV) pure electric drive mode, a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) hybrid drive mode, a braking mode, and a plug-in mode (see Sheidler at least [0020]-[0021]; various interchangeable modes described), and different modes can be switched according to different needs (see Sheidler at least [0034] "...While generically illustrated as a single block, the memory 112 can encompass any number and type of storage media suitable for storing computer-readable code or instructions, as well as other data utilized to support the operation of the intelligent power allocation system 12; e.g., the below-described threshold values utilized by the controller architecture 16 in identifying the appropriate junctures to switch between different power allocation modes and perform other actions.").
Regarding claim 11, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 10, wherein in the EV pure electric drive mode, the power is only provided to the walking motor through the battery (see Sheidler at least [0044] "If determining the current battery SoC to be above the minimum SoC threshold during STEP 128, the controller architecture 16 operates (that is, initially places or continues to operate) the intelligent power allocation system 12 in a battery powered transport mode (STEP 136) before progressing to STEP 138 and determining whether the current iteration of the intelligent power allocation method 116 should terminate in the manner previously described...").
Regarding claim 12, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 10, wherein in the HEV hybrid drive mode, when pure electric drive cannot meet target power, the battery and the engine work simultaneously (see Sheidler at least [0045] "If, during STEP 128, it is instead determined that current battery SoC is equal to or less than the minimum SoC threshold, the controller architecture 16 advances to STEP 134 and operates the intelligent power allocation system 12 in an engine powered transport mode. In the context of this power allocation mode (the engine powered transport mode), the combine engine 24 is utilized to exclusively or at least predominately power movement of the ground traction undercarriage 20 without reliance on (or with a highly reduced reliance on) the battery pack 100, while noting that the combine engine 24 may drive the undercarriage 20 through the electric drive subsystem 74 in at least some embodiments..."); the power of the engine and the power of the walking motor driven by the battery are coupled through the coupling device and used to drive the wheels to walk through the differential (see Sheidler at least Fig 2, Fig 8, [0033], and [0053] "...As indicated by arrows 178, the combine engine 24 may drive the ground traction undercarriage 20 through the electric drive subsystem 74 by, for example, back-driving the M/G 78 to generate electrical power..."); the clutch cuts off the power entering the generator and stops charging the battery (see Sheidler at least [0053] "...Additionally or alternatively, the controller architecture 16 may transition the intelligent power allocation system 12 to operation in the engine powered transport mode when the current SoC of the battery pack 100 falls below a minimum SoC threshold. As shown in FIG. 8 and indicated by symbols 174, 176, the clutches 84, 88 may placed in disengaged and engaged states, respectively. As indicated by arrows 178, the combine engine 24 may drive the ground traction undercarriage 20 through the electric drive subsystem 74 by, for example, back-driving the M/G 78 to generate electrical power. The electrical power may then be applied to the electric ground traction motor 98 (e.g., potentially bypassing the battery pack 100) to turn the output shaft 108 and drive the ground traction undercarriage 20, as further denoted by arrows 180...").
Regarding claim 13, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 12, wherein in the HEV hybrid drive mode, when pure electric drive can meet the target power, the engine is connected to the generator to charge the battery (see Sheidler at least [0053] "Although not shown in FIG. 7, the combine engine 24 may be utilized to selectively back-drive the M/G 78 and recharge the battery pack 100 if the SoC of the battery pack 100 becomes undesirably low and recharging is warranted…").
Regarding claim 14, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 10, wherein in the braking mode, the wheels charge the battery in reverse through the walking motor (see Hunt at least [0037] “…Additionally or alternatively, the electric motor 104 may apply perform regenerative braking to charge the wheel batteries 106 and brake the wheel assembly 100.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a specific operation mode as disclosed by Sheidler with regenerative braking capabilities such as taught by Hunt with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide alternative means of charging the machine’s battery (see Hunt at least [0025] and [0037]).
Regarding claim 15, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 10, wherein in the plug-in mode, an external power source charges the battery of the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker (see Hunt at least [0025] “…The PTO system 60 further includes a charging interface, shown as electrical connector 68, that is configured to engage an external source of electrical energy (e.g., a generator, a power grid, a solar panel, etc.). The electrical connector 68 may transfer the electrical energy to the battery pack 66 to charge the battery pack 66…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a specific operation mode as disclosed by Sheidler with external charging capabilities such as taught by Hunt with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide alternative means of charging the machine’s battery (see Hunt at least [0025]).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt, and further in view of Carton (US-2024/0018744; already of record).
Regarding claim 7, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 1, wherein the battery is connected to the main controller (see Sheidler at least Fig 2) …
However, neither Sheidler nor Duncan nor Hunt explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the battery is connected to the main controller through a step-down direct current to direct current (DC/DC) converter; the battery supplies power to the main controller after being stepped down by the step-down DC/DC converter…
Carton, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the battery is connected to the main controller through a step-down direct current to direct current (DC/DC) converter (see Carton at least [0037] "To a lower voltage (e.g., 12 V), the DC-DC converter 66 steps down the high-voltage (e.g., 300 V) DC voltage supplied from the battery unit 53 via the junction box 65. Like the output from the lead battery 54, the voltage output from the DC-DC converter 66 is supplied to the system controller 67, the driver of the fan 92, etc. Note that the DC-DC converter 66 may be located within the PDU 64."); the battery supplies power to the main controller after being stepped down by the step-down DC/DC converter (see Carton at least [0037] "To a lower voltage (e.g., 12 V), the DC-DC converter 66 steps down the high-voltage (e.g., 300 V) DC voltage supplied from the battery unit 53 via the junction box 65. Like the output from the lead battery 54, the voltage output from the DC-DC converter 66 is supplied to the system controller 67, the driver of the fan 92, etc. Note that the DC-DC converter 66 may be located within the PDU 64.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cotton picker as disclosed by Sheidler with a converter such as taught by Carton with a reasonable expectation of success so as to allow for access to low voltage supplied indirectly from the machine (see Carton at least [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Sheidler in view of Duncan and Hunt teach the series-parallel hybrid power cotton picker according to claim 1. However, while Sheidler discloses a motor/generator and a battery, neither Sheidler nor Duncan nor Hunt explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…an inverter is provided between the generator and the battery.
Carton, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…an inverter is provided between the generator and the battery (see Carton at least [0033] "The electric motor 61 is driven by electric power supplied from the battery unit 53 via the junction box 65 and the inverter 63. The electric motor 61 is constituted of a permanent magnet motor or an induction motor. On the swivel frame 42, the electric motor 61 is supported by a motor support portion 100 (see FIG. 3, etc.).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cotton picker as disclosed by Sheidler with an inverter such as taught by Carton with a reasonable expectation of success so as to allow for access to usable current supplied from the machine (see Carton at least [0037]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Specifically, Sheidler discloses a machine with variety of motor controllers and a walking motor, of which the speed can be adjusted; Duncan and Hunt both teach a variety of motors, corresponding to the motors as claimed, however speed control of the various motors is not detailed in either reference. One of ordinary skill would recognize the importance of speed control in motors of a system as detailed as the claims present, however the references do not indicate such controls.
While the aforementioned references teach elements of the invention, the references do not fully capture the structure and interplay of the elements as recited in the claims. Therefore, upon review of the evidence at hand, it is hereby concluded that the evidence obtained and made of record, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious all the features of applicant's invention as the features amount to more than a predictable use of elements in the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Clark et al. (US-2023/0320271) teaches a harvesting machine and specific controls within a system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663