DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US 2022/0407666).
Regarding claim 13, Lim teaches an external device that can be connected wirelessly to a portable information terminal, comprising: a first communication function and a second communication function that can be connected wirelessly to the portable information terminal (i.e., Referring to FIG. 1, the electronic device 101 in the network environment 100 may communicate with an electronic device 102 via a first network 198 (e.g., a short-range wireless communication network), or at least one of an electronic device 104 or a server 108 via a second network 199 (e.g., a long-range wireless communication network) [0039]), and a memory unit that stores first identification information used in the first communication function and second identification information used in the second communication function, wherein the first identification information is transmitted by the first communication function, and the second identification information is transmitted by the first identification in addition to the second communication function (i.e., the memory of the electronic device stores various [0042], The first device 201 may store the obtained information on the second device 202 in the memory (e.g., the memory 130 of FIG. 1) of the first device 201 [0104], The tracker information module 248 may operate when the first device 201 serves as the electronic device 400. For example, the tracker information module 248 may store and/or manage the device type (e.g., smart watch, earphone, headphone, or tablet), the communication type (e.g., whether to support BLE, whether to support Bluetooth, whether to support cellular network, or whether to support UWB communication), and/or identification information (e.g., device unique ID, network identification ID, or user-defined ID) of the second device 202 [0089]).
Regarding claim 14, Lim teaches wherein the first and second communication functions are Bluetooth and UWB communication functions, or UWB and Bluetooth communication functions, respectively (i.e., a lost device If the user’s device is close enough, it connects to the lost device using short-range wireless communication such as Bluetooth or NFC-like connectivity. It then asks the lost device to turn on UWB, which allows more precise direction and distance detection. The user’s device uses the UWB signal to figure out where the lost device is relative to the user ([0007]-[0010])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAITO et al. (US 2019/0090295) in view of KO et al. (US 2015/0215726).
Regarding claim 1, SAITO et al. (US 2019/0090295) a portable information terminal that can be connected wirelessly to an external device (referring to a smartphone as non-limiting example of the mobile device 1 that can be wirelessly to other communication devices via different means of communications [0031]-[0032]), comprising: a first communication function and a second communication function that can be connected wirelessly to the external device (i.e., The mobile device 1 is configured to establish a wireless link with a wireless enabled device, which is generally a device that can establish a wireless link with other devices [0031]-[0032]), a camera that captures video of a surrounding of the portable information terminal (i.e., The mobile device comprises an imaging unit 2 that acquires images of the surrounding of the mobile device 1 [0031]-[0032]), a video processing unit that processes the video captured by the camera (i.e., object detection unit, which is e.g. implemented as a processor, which detects wireless enabled devices within the surrounding. Detected wireless enabled devices are then identified on the display 3 showing the image acquired by the imaging unit 2, e.g. a live video of the surrounding seen by the optical camera [0031]-[0032]), a display that shows the video processed by the video processing unit (i.e., a display 3 that displays images acquired by the imaging unit 2 [0031]-[0032]), a memory unit that stores first identification information of the external device used in the first communication function and second identification information of the external device used in the second communication function (i.e., detection unit uses visible features of devices which are e.g. looked up in a database storing features of devices to identify the devices and to find out if a device has a wireless functionality. Preferably, additional parameters of a detected device, e.g. device type, storage space, parameters of the wireless functionality, etc. are detected, e.g. from the database, which additional parameters may also be indicated on the screen 4 [0034]-[0035], [0039], [0042]), and a control unit, wherein the video processing unit generates an overlaid video in which the first identification information is overlaid on the calculated relative position of the external device in the video and displays it on the display (i.e., a radio beacon would simply broadcast the device features/capabilities and thereby assist the mobile device in finding a specific target wireless enabled device. For instance, if the radio broadcast message contains the information of the type/model of the wireless enabled device it can be found/identified easier by the object detection unit 4 by using not only the (visible) information from the acquired image(s) but in addition using broadcast information about the respective wireless enabled device(s). Furthermore, if the broadcast beacon already indicates that a certain device has no storage capability left for a data transfer desired by the user such information can be presented to the user immediately. In case multiple wireless enabled devices in a room are present the user might see a list of possible wireless enabled devices (and how they look like) and their status (i.e. capacity available). Then the user can much easier ‘spot’ to the most convenient wireless enabled devices for the data transfer (i.e. home server, TV set, laptop, . [0042]-[0044], [0047]-[0048], indicator on the display can be mixture of text and pictogram [0048], a barcode overlays the enabled device within an image displayed on the screen [0051]-[0052]).
Saito teaches Each wireless enabled device might send/issue a specific beacon signal (also called information signal) to help the mobile device to find itself and to obtain specific information (i.e. radio transmission features supported by the wireless enabled device, storage capability available at the wireless enabled device, etc.) ([0041]). Saito does not specifically teach calculating a relative position of the external device to the portable information terminal using the second communication function.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Ko teaches a plurality of wireless communication functions. obtaining an actual location range within a field of vision of the user terminal; receiving identification information and location information of a plurality of neighboring devices that can wirelessly communicate with the user terminal, from the neighboring devices; using the actual location range within the field of vision of the user terminal and the location information and identification information of the neighboring devices to extract the identification information of one of the neighboring devices, the selected neighboring device being in the actual location range within the field of vision of the user terminal; and using the extracted identification information to request the neighboring device located within the field of vision of the user terminal to perform wireless communication with the user terminal. The obtaining the actual location range within the field of vision of the user terminal may include: obtaining the location information of the user terminal ([0011]-[0015]). a method of identifying the location by using a GPS satellite, and a method of combining the location identifying technology based on a base station and the location identifying technology using the GPS satellite ([0034]-[0035]). The user terminal can perform camera function to obtain location information ([0036]-[0037]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of KO within the system of SAITO in order to allow the user terminal to automatically link visual media with precise location data. It helps users capture an object, calculate its distance or range, and tag its exact geographic location without needing extra tools.
Regarding claim 2, Saito in view of Ko teaches all the limitations above. Ko further teaches control unit can also obtain the first identification information using the second communication function, or the second identification information using the first communication function (i.e., the user terminal 100 can also obtain identification information of other devices belonging to the user of a neighboring device, through wireless communication with the neighboring device. In this case, the user terminal 100 can request the other devices to perform short-distance wireless communication by using the identification information of the other devices of the user of the neighboring device [0036]-[0038], [0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Saito in view of Ko teaches all the limitations above. Saito
further teaches wherein the memory unit stores the first identification information and the second identification information correspondingly for each external device (devices identification are stored in a database [0034], [0042], [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Saito in view of Ko teaches all the limitations above. KO
further teaches wherein the control unit extracts an outline of the external device that exists at the relative position of the external device from the video captured by the camera, and the video processing unit performs video processing that enables the extracted external device to be discriminated (i.e., The user can photograph the view seen through the viewfinder or LCD by using the user terminal 100, thereby generating a media signal. If the neighboring devices 140 and 150 that can perform wireless communication with the user terminal 100 are within the field of vision of the user terminal 100, the user terminal 100 can extract the identification information of the neighboring devices 140 and 150 within the field of vision of the user terminal 100 [0032], [0043], [0050]).
Regarding claim 5, Saito in view of Ko teaches all the limitations above. In combination with the device name for identification information taught by Saito ([0057], Ko further teaches wherein the first communication function is a Bluetooth communication function and the second communication function is a UWB communication function, and the first identification information is a device name of the external device ([0040]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Saito in view of Ko teaches all the limitations above. Saito
further teaches wherein the video processing unit changes the display of the overlaid video according to an accuracy of the calculated relative position of the external device ([0032], [0043], [0048]).
Regarding claim 7, Saito in view of Ko teaches all the limitations above. KO
further teaches wherein the video processing unit changes the display of the overlaid video according to an extraction accuracy of the extracted external device outline (i.e., The user can photograph the view seen through the viewfinder or LCD by using the user terminal 100, thereby generating a media signal. If the neighboring devices 140 and 150 that can perform wireless communication with the user terminal 100 are within the field of vision of the user terminal 100, the user terminal 100 can extract the identification information of the neighboring devices 140 and 150 within the field of vision of the user terminal 100 [0032], [0043], [0050]).
Regarding claim 8, Saito in view of Ko teaches all the limitations above. KO
further teaches wherein when there are multiple calculated relative positions of the external device within a certain area, the video processing unit changes the display of the overlaid video so that the multiple external devices can be distinguished ([0032], [0043], [0048]).
Regarding claim 11, Saito in view of Ko teaches all the limitations above. Saito
further teaches wherein when the video processing unit receives a connection request from the external device, the video processing unit generates an overlaid video in which the first identification information and the information indicating that the connection request was received are overlaid on the relative position of the external device (i.e., For instance, if the radio broadcast message contains the information of the type/model of the wireless enabled device it can be found/identified easier by the object detection unit 4 by using not only the (visible) information from the acquired image(s) but in addition using broadcast information about the respective wireless enabled device(s). ... In case multiple wireless enabled devices in a room are present the user might see a list of possible wireless enabled devices (and how they look like) and their status (i.e. capacity available). Then the user can much easier ‘spot’ to the most convenient wireless enabled devices for the data transfer (i.e. home server, TV set, laptop, . [0042]-[0044], [0047]-[0048], indicator on the display can be mixture of text and pictogram [0048], a barcode overlays the enabled device within an image displayed on the screen [0051]-[0052]).
Regarding claim 12, Saito in view of Ko teaches all the limitations above. Saito
further teaches a selection unit that selects the external device, wherein the selection unit is capable of handling two selection methods: a first method of selecting the overlaid first identification information, and a second method of selecting by displaying a list of external devices that can be connected wirelessly, and if the control unit can calculate relative position of the external device selected by the second selection method, the control unit switches to the first selection method ([0021], [0040], [0042]).
17. (Original) A portable information terminal that can be connected wirelessly to an external device, comprising: a Bluetooth communication function that enables wireless connection to the external device, a camera that captures video of a surrounding of the portable information terminal, a video processing unit that processes the video captured by the camera, a display that shows the video processed by the video processing unit, a memory unit that stores a device name of the external device used in the Bluetooth communication function, and a control unit, wherein the control unit calculates a relative position of the external device to the portable information terminal using the Bluetooth communication function, and the video processing unit generates an overlaid video in which the device name is overlaid on the calculated relative position of the external device in the video and displays it on the display.
Regarding claim 1, SAITO et al. (US 2019/0090295) a portable information terminal that can be connected wirelessly to an external device (referring to a smartphone as non-limiting example of the mobile device 1 that can be wirelessly to other communication devices via different means of communications [0031]-[0032]), comprising: a Bluetooth communication function that enables wirelessly connection to the external device (i.e., The mobile device 1 is configured to establish a wireless link with a wireless enabled device, which is generally a device that can establish a wireless link with other devices [0031]-[0032]. Bluetooth operates in the unlicensed 2.4 GHz Industrial, Scientific, and Medical (ISM) band, specifically spanning from 2.402 GHz to 2.480 GHz [0041]), a camera that captures video of a surrounding of the portable information terminal (i.e., The mobile device comprises an imaging unit 2 that acquires images of the surrounding of the mobile device 1 [0031]-[0032]), a video processing unit that processes the video captured by the camera (i.e., object detection unit, which is e.g. implemented as a processor, which detects wireless enabled devices within the surrounding. Detected wireless enabled devices are then identified on the display 3 showing the image acquired by the imaging unit 2, e.g. a live video of the surrounding seen by the optical camera [0031]-[0032]), a display that shows the video processed by the video processing unit (i.e., a display 3 that displays images acquired by the imaging unit 2 [0031]-[0032]), a memory unit that stores a device name of the external device used in the Bluetooth communication function (i.e., detection unit uses visible features of devices which are e.g. looked up in a database storing features of devices to identify the devices and to find out if a device has a wireless functionality. Preferably, additional parameters of a detected device, e.g. device type, storage space, parameters of the wireless functionality, etc. are detected, e.g. from the database, which additional parameters may also be indicated on the screen 4 [0034]-[0035], [0039], [0042]), and a control unit, wherein the video processing unit generates an overlaid video in which the first identification information is overlaid on the calculated relative position of the external device in the video and displays it on the display (i.e., a radio beacon would simply broadcast the device features/capabilities and thereby assist the mobile device in finding a specific target wireless enabled device. For instance, if the radio broadcast message contains the information of the type/model of the wireless enabled device it can be found/identified easier by the object detection unit 4 by using not only the (visible) information from the acquired image(s) but in addition using broadcast information about the respective wireless enabled device(s). Furthermore, if the broadcast beacon already indicates that a certain device has no storage capability left for a data transfer desired by the user such information can be presented to the user immediately. In case multiple wireless enabled devices in a room are present the user might see a list of possible wireless enabled devices (and how they look like) and their status (i.e. capacity available). Then the user can much easier ‘spot’ to the most convenient wireless enabled devices for the data transfer (i.e. home server, TV set, laptop, . [0042]-[0044], [0047]-[0048], indicator on the display can be mixture of text and pictogram [0048], a barcode overlays the enabled device within an image displayed on the screen [0051]-[0052]).
Saito teaches Each wireless enabled device might send/issue a specific beacon signal (also called information signal) to help the mobile device to find itself and to obtain specific information (i.e. radio transmission features supported by the wireless enabled device, storage capability available at the wireless enabled device, etc.) ([0041]). Saito does not specifically teach calculating a relative position of the external device to the portable information terminal using the second communication function.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Ko teaches a plurality of wireless communication functions. obtaining an actual location range within a field of vision of the user terminal; receiving identification information and location information of a plurality of neighboring devices that can wirelessly communicate with the user terminal, from the neighboring devices; using the actual location range within the field of vision of the user terminal and the location information and identification information of the neighboring devices to extract the identification information of one of the neighboring devices, the selected neighboring device being in the actual location range within the field of vision of the user terminal; and using the extracted identification information to request the neighboring device located within the field of vision of the user terminal to perform wireless communication with the user terminal. The obtaining the actual location range within the field of vision of the user terminal may include: obtaining the location information of the user terminal ([0011]-[0015]). a method of identifying the location by using a GPS satellite, and a method of combining the location identifying technology based on a base station and the location identifying technology using the GPS satellite ([0034]-[0035]). The user terminal can perform camera function to obtain location information ([0036]-[0037]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of KO within the system of SAITO in order to allow the user terminal to automatically link visual media with precise location data. It helps users capture an object, calculate its distance or range, and tag its exact geographic location without needing extra tools.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643