DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“On-vheicle” (page 2 line 12) should be –On-vehicle--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 32: “a anti-torsion stiffening arm” should be --an anti-torsion stiffening arm--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “suitable to be fixed stably” in line 7. The examiner is unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of “suitable to be fixed stably”. It is unclear what is considered “suitable”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “being designed to allow mutual angular regulation…” in line 12. The examiner is unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of “being designed to allow”. It is unclear what is required by “being designed to allow”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the vehicle" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the motion" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the vehicle engine" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the vehicle wheel" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said flange" in lines 10 and 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the central rotation axis" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “designed to allow…” in line 2. The examiner is unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of “designed to allow”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the central rotation axis" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "said flange" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “in correspondence of at least one between said flange and said end of said load shaft” in lines 2-3. The examiner is unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of “in correspondence of”. It is unclear as to what structural feature this would require from the end plunge joint.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "said flange" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "said flange" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "said flange" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "said flange" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "said chassis" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "said connecting shaft" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "said flange" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "said inclination planes" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "said maximum inclination angle" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "said inclination planes" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “designed to interfere” in line 2. The examiner is unable to ascertain the metes and bounds of “designed to interfere” and it is unclear what structural features are required for something to be “designed to interfere”.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "said front support plate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "said connection shaft" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "said maximum inclination angle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the movement" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 23 and 29 are rejected based on their dependency to claims 21 and 25, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-21 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arseneau (US 8,505,374) in view of Breton (US 12,298,200).
Regarding Claim 17, Arseneau teaches a portable on-vehicle dynamometer, comprising: a containment chassis 64; a drum 54 rotatably housed in said containment chassis 64 to rotate around a load shaft 16 (Fig. 1); mechanical transmission means (Fig. 9) adapted to connect said load shaft 16 to the hub of a wheel of the vehicle being measured to transfer the motion of the vehicle engine to said drum 54 (col. 4 lines 50-60); wherein said mechanical transmission means comprise a connection flange 18 provided with a central axis of rotation and suitable to be fixed stably but removably to the hub of the vehicle wheel (col. 2 lines 20-34); in that said mechanical transmission means comprise joint having adapted to connect said flange 18 with one end of said load shaft 54 (col. 4 lines 50-60), said joint being designed to allow mutual angular regulation between said load shaft and the central rotation axis of said flange (col. 4 lines 50-60)
Arseneau remains silent as to characterized in that said mechanical transmission means comprise a constant velocity joint having an axially extendable structure and adapted to connect said flange with one end of said load shaft, said constant velocity joint being designed to allow mutual angular regulation between said load shaft and the central rotation axis of said flange.
Breton teaches an automobile wheel hub adapter system for use in testing a vehicle wherein said mechanical transmission means comprise a constant velocity joint (col. 3 lines 55-67 and col. 4 lines 1-27) having an axially extendable structure (telescoping) and adapted to connect said flange with one end of said load shaft (col. 3 lines 55-67), said constant velocity joint being designed to allow mutual angular regulation between said load shaft and the central rotation axis of said flange (col. 4 lines 4-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable dynamometer of Arseneau to include the CVJ of Breton in order to compensate for the dynamic changes in distance between the connection point at the vehicle hub end and the dynamometer as the steering angle changes, as taught by Breton (col. 4 lines 4-20).
Regarding Claim 18, Arseneau as modified by Breton teaches the portable dynamometer according to claim 17, characterized in that said constant velocity joint is designed to allow reciprocal angulation between said load shaft and the central rotation axis of said flange with respect to at least two mutually perpendicular planes of inclination (Breton, col. 3 lines 60-67 and col. 4 lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 19, Arseneau as modified by Breton teaches the portable dynamometer according to claim 17, characterized in that said constant velocity joint comprises an end plunge joint 23 with axial freedom in correspondence of at least one between said flange 19 and said end of said load shaft 37 (Breton, Fig. 1E).
Regarding Claim 20, Arseneau as modified by Breton teaches the portable dynamometer according to claim 17, characterized in that said constant velocity joint is provided with end plunge joints 23 with axial freedom at both said flange 19 and said end of said load shaft 37 (Breton, Fig. 1E).
Regarding Claim 21, Arseneau as modified by Breton teaches the portable dynamometer according to claim 17, characterized in that said constant velocity joint is connected at one end to an articulated bearing 47 adapted to connect said constant velocity joint with said flange in an adjustable manner (Breton, Fig. 1E).
Regarding Claim 32, Arseneau as modified by Breton teaches the portable dynamometer according to claim 17, characterized in that said containment chassis 64 is provided with a anti-torsion stiffening arm 36 (Arseneau, Fig. 3).
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/A.V.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2852