Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts and Osawa(US 2005/0047082) and Tokita(US 2003/02281523).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Osawa discloses an energy-saving apparatus used in a communication device(Paragraph 42, computer, PDA), the communication device comprising an optical module(Figure 18, Light Receiving section 12) and an operating module(Figure 18, Communication control section 30), and the operating module being configured to operate according to an optical signal received by the optical module(Paragraph 52, The optical interface 102 performs controlling related to the communications, and includes a communication control-use IC, an optical transceiver, a light emitting device, a light receiving device, a connector), wherein the energy-saving apparatus comprises a power control unit(Paragraph 16, it is possible to supply the power to the first communication interface during only the period when, for example, the communication is carried out between the electronic device and the external device via the first communication interface); supply power to the power control unit and the optical module; a second power supply unit is configured to supply power to the operating module; and the power control unit is configured to: control, when the second power supply unit supplies power to the operating module, the second power supply unit to stop supplying power to the operating module in response to the optical module not receiving the optical signal within a preset period of time, and control, when the second power supply unit stops supplying power to the operating module, the second power supply unit to supply power to the operating module in response to the optical module receiving the optical signal(Paragraphs 117, 171, it is possible to supply the power to the first communication interface during only the period when, for example, the communication is carried out between the electronic device and the external device via the first communication interface. may be possible for the portable information terminal device 1d and the cradle 2d to suspend the light emission of the light emitting devices (light emitting section 11) in the optical interfaces 102 and 202, when the portable information terminal device 1d and the cradle 2d do not carry out any communication for a period of time not shorter than a predetermined period of time to which the user sets as setting time of the timer 106 and/or the timer 204).
Osawa does not specifically teach a first power supply that supplies power to the power control unit and the optical module. However, Osawa discloses supplying the power to the first communication interface during only the period when communication is carried out between the electronic device and the external device via the first communication interface(Paragraph 171) and only the light receiving device of the optical interface 102 in the portable information terminal device 1d may continue its operation(Paragraph 127). Tokita discloses optical transmission unit that has a first power supply unit(Figure 1, Power supply unit 83) supplying power to an operating module(Figure 1, signal processing circuit 5) and a second power supply unit(Power supply 81) supplying power to the optical module(Figure 1, optical light units 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Osawa and Tokita to have a first power supply that supplies power to the power control unit and the optical module and . The motivation to do so would be communicate wirelessly. The motivation to do so would be to supply power to components necessary to receive signals to start communication and activate rest of components when communication is necessary. Using separate power supplies for different components allows different sections to receive different appropriate powers and reduces noise and improves signal quality.
Regarding claim 2, Osawa and Tokita disclose energy-saving apparatus of claim 1, wherein the power control unit comprises a micro controller unit(Osawa: Paragraph 52, The optical interface 102 performs controlling related to the communications, and includes a communication control-use IC).
Regarding claim 3, Osawa and Tokita disclose energy-saving apparatus of claim 1, wherein an output terminal of the second power supply unit is connected to a power supply switch, and the power control unit controls the second power supply unit to supply power to the operating module or stop supplying power to the operating module by turning on or turning off the power supply switch(Osawa: Paragraph 118, a power switch is disclosed and would have been obvious to use a power switch to control the on and off of the second power supply as it would yield predictable results of controlling power).
Regarding claim 4, Osawa and Tokita disclose energy-saving apparatus of claim 1, wherein the preset period of time is in a range between 15 minutes and 30 minutes(Osawa: Paragraph 117, do not carry out any communication for a period of time, the period of time including between 15 and 30 minutes is an obvious design choice and yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 6, Osawa and Tokita disclose communication device of claim 5, wherein the optical module comprises an optical signal detection unit connected to the power control unit; the optical signal detection unit is configured to: send, when no optical signal is received via an optical interface of the optical module, a first level to the power control unit, and send, when the optical signal is received via the optical interface of the optical module, a second level to the power control unit; and the power control unit is configured to: control, when the second power supply unit supplies power to the operating module, the second power supply unit to stop supplying power to the operating module in response to reception of the first level lasting for the preset period of time, and control, when the second power supply unit stops supplying power to the operating module, the second power supply unit to supply power to the operating module in response to reception of the second level(Osawa: Paragraph 124: By stopping, and then resuming the power supply to the optical interface 102 in the portable information terminal device 1d, it is possible to start the light emission of the lighting element. In this case, it is assumed that the light emitting device (light emitting section 11) in the portable information terminal device 1d is arranged so that the starting of the power supply triggers the light emission of the light emitting device (light emitting section 11). Further, in the optical interface 102, (i) the power supply of the power to the light receiving device is resumed, and (ii) the light emitting device starts the light emission. As such, the operation of the optical interface 102 is resumed. Using different levels for a control signal to signify different states is an obvious method used in the art and would yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 7, Osawa and Tokita disclose communication device of claim 5, wherein the operating module comprises a main control processor for controlling operation of the communication device(Osawa: Paragraph 52, The optical interface 102 performs controlling related to the communications, and includes a communication control-use IC).
Regarding claim 8, Osawa and Tokita disclose communication device communication device of claim 5, comprising at least one of: an active antenna unit or a remote radio unit((Osawa: Paragraph 43: the present invention is not limited to this case, for example, it is also possible to adopt another communication technique. Using an antenna for communication is well known and commonly used in the art for communication and would have been obvious to use for secondary communication purposes).
Regarding claim 9, Osawa and Tokita disclose communication device of claim 8, wherein the operating module comprises at least one of: a digital processing unit or a radio frequency unit(Osawa: Paragraph 52, The optical interface 102 performs controlling related to the communications, and includes a communication control-use IC).
Regarding claim 10, Osawa and Tokita disclose operation method for a communication device, the communication device being the communication device of any one of claim 5, and the method comprising: when the second power supply unit supplies power to the operating module, in response to the optical module not receiving the optical signal within the preset period of time, controlling, by the power control unit, the second power supply unit to stop supplying power to the operating module; and when the second power supply unit stops supplying power to the operating module, in response to the optical module receiving the optical signal, controlling, by the power control unit, the second power supply unit to supply power to the operating module(Paragraphs 117, 171, it is possible to supply the power to the first communication interface during only the period when, for example, the communication is carried out between the electronic device and the external device via the first communication interface. may be possible for the portable information terminal device 1d and the cradle 2d to suspend the light emission of the light emitting devices (light emitting section 11) in the optical interfaces 102 and 202, when the portable information terminal device 1d and the cradle 2d do not carry out any communication for a period of time not shorter than a predetermined period of time to which the user sets as setting time of the timer 106 and/or the timer 204).
Regarding claim 11, Osawa and Tokita disclose operation method of claim 10, wherein the optical module comprises an optical signal detection unit connected to the power control unit, and the method further comprises: sending, by the optical signal detection unit when no optical signal is received via an optical interface of the optical module, a first level to the power control unit, and sending, by the optical signal detection unit when the optical signal is received via the optical interface of the optical module, a second level to the power control unit(Osawa: Paragraph 124: By stopping, and then resuming the power supply to the optical interface 102 in the portable information terminal device 1d, it is possible to start the light emission of the lighting element. In this case, it is assumed that the light emitting device (light emitting section 11) in the portable information terminal device 1d is arranged so that the starting of the power supply triggers the light emission of the light emitting device (light emitting section 11). Further, in the optical interface 102, (i) the power supply of the power to the light receiving device is resumed, and (ii) the light emitting device starts the light emission. As such, the operation of the optical interface 102 is resumed. Using different levels for a control signal to signify different states is an obvious method used in the art and would yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 12, Osawa and Tokita disclose operation method of claim 11, wherein controlling, by the power control unit, the second power supply unit to stop supplying power to the operating module comprises: controlling, by the power control unit, the second power supply unit to stop supplying power to the operating module in response to reception of the first level lasting for the preset period of time, controlling, by the power control unit, the second power supply unit to supply power to the operating module comprises: controlling, by the power control unit, the second power supply unit to supply power to the operating module in response to reception of the second level(Osawa: Paragraph 124: By stopping, and then resuming the power supply to the optical interface 102 in the portable information terminal device 1d, it is possible to start the light emission of the lighting element. In this case, it is assumed that the light emitting device (light emitting section 11) in the portable information terminal device 1d is arranged so that the starting of the power supply triggers the light emission of the light emitting device (light emitting section 11). Further, in the optical interface 102, (i) the power supply of the power to the light receiving device is resumed, and (ii) the light emitting device starts the light emission. As such, the operation of the optical interface 102 is resumed. Using different levels for a control signal to signify different states is an obvious method used in the art and would yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 13, Osawa and Tokita disclose operation method of claim 10, wherein an output terminal of the second power supply unit is connected to a power supply switch, and controlling, by the power control unit, the second power supply unit to stop supplying power to the operating module comprises: turning off, by the power control unit, the power supply switch, controlling, by the power control unit, the second power supply unit to supply power to the operating module comprises: turning on, by the power control unit, the power supply switch(Osawa: Paragraph 118, a power switch is disclosed and would have been obvious to use a power switch to control the on and off of the second power supply as it would yield predictable results of controlling power).
Conclusion
/NIMESH G PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2185