This office action is in response to the reply filed on 7/22/2026, wherein claims 1, 4-5, 7-9 and 15 were amended; and claims 2-3 and 6 were canceled. Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-21 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show specifics of the upper coupling device [claim 9] and the twist lock [claim 10] as described in the specification. The drawings do not properly show the upper coupling device in enough detail to understand how the upper coupling device matches together with and detachable couples with the lower coupling device. Furthermore, the drawings do not properly show the twist lock in enough detail to understand how the twist lock forms a locking engagement with the locking projection.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rendered indefinite by the limitation “a pull-out direction” in line 14, since it is unclear if the direction is the same as the “pull-out direction” previously defined in line 7, or a different direction. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets “a pull-out direction” in line 14 as “the pull-out direction”.
Claim 8 is rendered indefinite by the limitations “a front stop” and “a back stop” since it is unclear if the front stop and back stop are the same as the “front stop” and “back stop” defined in line 13 of claim 1, or different elements. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets a front stop” and “a back stop” in claim 8 as “the front stop” and “the back stop”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squiers et al. (US 2020/0165036) in view of Bar-Erez et al. (US 10,106,180).
Regarding claim 1, Squires discloses a storage bag (at 14 in Fig. 2), which has a bag body with a bag bottom (bottom portion of 14 in Fig. 2) and a bag circumferential wall (at 26 in Fig. 2) protruding in a vertical direction from the bag bottom, which together delimit a storage space (at 30 n Fig. 2) open at the a top of the bag (as shown in Fig. 2), and with a carrying handle (at 38 in Fig. 2) spanning the storage space and attached to the bag body in the region of the top of the bag, wherein the bag circumferential wall is fastened to the bag bottom (as shown in Fig. 2), and wherein the bag bottom has a base plate (at 22 in Fig. 2). Squires discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics of the storage device.
However, Bar-Erez teaches a storage device (shown in Fig. 2) comprising a shelf structure (shelf apparatus shown in Fig. 1, having wheels 12, vertical posts at 26 and shelf portions at 18) and a storage receptacle (at 20, 22 or 24 in Fig. 2), wherein the storage receptacle (e.g. 20 – also shown in Figs. 10A-10B) has a guide device (at 65 in Fig. 10A) on an outer side of a base plate (at 52), over which the storage receptacle can be pulled out from the shelf structure in a pulling-out direction (direction the storage receptacles are pulled from the front of the shelf structure – See Fig. 2 labeled below), for attachment to the shelf structure (shelf portions 18) of the storage device (as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the base plate has a rectangular contour, with a front face, a back face arranged opposite the front face and two side faces arranged opposite each other (See Fig. 10A labeled below), wherein the guide device has two guide units (at 65 on either side of 20) formed on the side faces of the base plate, and wherein the guide units each have a back stop (upstanding wall at 440 at the back side of 58 in Fig. 10A – See Fig. 10A below) and a front stop (upstanding wall at the front side of 58 in Fig. 10A – See Fig. 10A below) for attaching the storage receptacle in a defined rear position (as shown in Fig. 2) and when moved in the pulling-out direction, in a defined front position (when storage receptacle 20 is slid forward along shelf portions 18), for the purpose of securely coupling the storage receptacle to the shelf structure for convenient transport and storage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the storage bag of Squires with a guide device and shelf structure arrangement as taught by Bar-Erez in order to allow for convenient transport and storage.
Regarding claim 4, Squires-Bar-Erez teaches the guide units are formed in a single piece with a remainder of the base plate (as shown in Fig. 10A of Bar-Erez).
Regarding claim 5, Squiers-Bar-Erez discloses he base plate and the guide units consist of a plastic material (See [0120] of Squires).
Regarding claim 7, Bar-Erez teaches the guide units each have a recess (at 67 in Fig. 10A) for accommodating a guide bar formed on the shelf structure.
Regarding claim 8, Bar-Erez teaches the front stop and the back stop are arranged below the recess (as shown in Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 9, Squiers discloses in addition to the storage bag, at least one storage container (at 18 in Fig. 1 – shown in detail in Fig. 5) having a container casing (at 114 in Fig. 5), wherein a lower coupling device (at 78) is arranged on the base plate of the storage bag and an upper coupling device (at 158) is arranged in the region of a top side of the container casing of the storage container, wherein these two coupling devices are matched together such that the storage bag stacked on the storage container in a vertical direction (as shown in Fig. 1) is capable of being detachably coupled together in an inseparable manner by interaction of the upper coupling device of the storage container with the lower coupling device of the storage bag (as shown in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Squiers discloses the lower coupling device on the base plate of the holding bag has a locking projection (at 94) arranged on the front face of the base plate and the upper coupling device on the container casing has a twist lock (element at 142 is a lock element that prevents twisting of the structures relative to one another), which can be moved relative to the storage container for locking in locking engagement with the locking projection.
Claims 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squiers et al. (US 2020/0165036) in view of Bar-Erez et al. (US 10,106,180) as applied to claim 9 above, in view of Hassler (US 2015/0367504).
Regarding claim 11, as described above, Squires-Bar-Erez discloses the claimed invention except for the specifics of the connection between the base plate and the bag body. However, Hassler teaches a storage device (at 20 in Figs. 1 and 3) comprising a bag body (at 22) and a base plate (at 24) positioned at the bottom of the bag body, wherein the device has a clamping element (at 60) attached on the upper side of the base plate, wherein a fastening flap arrangement (at 46) in a bending flexible material protruding inwards on the bag wall is fixedly clamped between the base plate and the clamping element (as shown in Fig. 3), for the purpose of allowing the base plate to be removable for removably holding a kneeling pad (23) beneath the bag body for use by the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Squires-Bar-Erez with clamping elements/flap arrangement as taught by Hassler in order to facilitate storage of a kneeling cushion for use by the user, if desired.
Regarding claim 13, Hassler teaches the fastening flaps arrangement has several a plurality of fastening flaps (46) formed separately from each other.
Regarding claim 14, Hassler teaches the clamping element is formed as a clamping plate.
Regarding claim 15, Hassler teaches the bag bottom has a fastening device (at 44/42) for reciprocal tensioning of the base plate with the clamping element.
Regarding claim 16, Squires discloses the bag circumferential wall forms a rectangular contour and is formed from two side walls arranged opposite each other, a front wall and a back wall (as shown in Fig 2).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squiers et al. (US 2020/0165036) in view of Bar-Erez et al. (US 10,106,180) as applied to claim 9 above, in view of Godshaw et al. (US 7,780,051).
Regarding claim 12, as described above, Squires-Bar-Erez discloses the claimed invention except for the specific material of the bag circumferential wall. However, Godshaw teaches it is well known in the art to form walls of a tool storage container from a canvas material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bag walls of Squires-Bar-Erez to be formed from a canvas material as taught by Godshaw in order to have increased durability. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squiers et al. (US 2020/0165036) in view of Bar-Erez et al. (US 10,106,180) and Hassler (US 2015/0367504), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Crawford et al. (US 2011/0147428).
Regarding claims 17-20, as described above, Squires-Bar-Erez-Hassler discloses the claimed invention except for the holding elements. However, Crawford teaches a tool storage device (See Fig. 1) comprising a storage bag (at 106 in Fig. 1) including a plurality of holding elements (at 102/104) provided on an inner surface of the storage bag, wherein the holding elements has holding sections in the form of pockets (as shown in Fig. 1), wherein the holding elements each has a plate-shaped base section (at 108 in Fig. 1) for detachably fastening by a reversible quick-release joining device (Velcro) to the inner surface of the bag, for the purpose of allowing for flexible tool retainers for holding tools for various jobs by the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the storage bag of Squires-Bar-Erez-Hassler with a plurality of holding elements as taught by Crawford in order to allow for various tools to be conveniently held.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Squiers et al. (US 2020/0165036) in view of Bar-Erez et al. (US 10,106,180), Hassler (US 2015/0367504) and Crawford et al. (US 2011/0147428), as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Brouard (US 2004/0065573).
Regarding claim 21, as described above, Squires-Bar-Erez-Hassler-Crawford discloses the claimed invention except for the carrying strap. However, Brouard teaches a storage bag (See Fig. 1) comprising a carrying handle (at 40) and a carrying strap (shoulder strap at 82) fastened to the bag circumferential wall for the purpose of allowing the storage bag to be carried by a user’s shoulder. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the storage bag of Squires-Bar-Erez-Hassler-Crawford with a carrying strap as taught by Brouard in order to allow for the bag to be conveniently carried by the shoulder of a user.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735