Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/065712 (06/13/2023)
and claims foreign priority to EP 22178819.3 (06/14/2022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has the language “comprising the steps of: a) oxidizing feed comprising …” which is unclear as to whether there is a typo ( “oxidizing a feed comprising”) or if “oxidizing feed” is the claimed active step. Claim 1 also has unclear language with respect to whether the language of “comprising 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid in the presence of acetic acid and a catalyst” is a product of the oxidizing step or if it is a required component for oxidizing the feed. Claim 1 has the unclear language of “the alkoxy group comprises of from 1 to 3 carbon atoms” because it is unclear whether the claim intends for the alkoxy group to include more than 3 carbon atoms. Clarification/correction required.
Claim 5 has the language “further comprises modifying acid selected from …” which is unclear as to whether “modifying acid” is an active step or component in step a), and if a component, what part of a) – i.e., feed, gas, catalyst system, crude product, etc. In addition, claim 5 uses the “preferably” language which is unclear as to whether it limits the claim - see MPEP 2173.05(d).
Claim 6 has the language of “weight amount of solvent acid present” which lacks a clear antecedent basis.
Claims 7-8, and 10 use “preferably” language which is unclear as to whether it limits the claim - see MPEP 2173.05(d).
Thus, the claims and those that depend therefrom are rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US9321744) in view of Mazoyer et al. (US20160024039).
Hsu teaches a process for producing 2,5-fuandicarboxylic acid (“FDCA”) from a feed comprising a first compound and a second compound (5-methylfurfual (“MF”; Formula 4) and alkoxylmethylfurfural (Formula 3), and combinations thereof) using oxygen and a Co/Mn/Br catalyst at 150C in the presence of acetic acid (claims 1-16; Examples). Hsu teaches examples of forming FDCA from oxidation of individual starting compounds 5-methylfurfual (“MF”) (Formula 18, col 16):
and ethoxylmethylfurfural (Formula 15, col. 14):
.
Regarding claim 1, although Hsu teaches oxidation of combinations thereof where MF and ethoxymethylfurfual are the second starting compound, Hsu does not specifically teach an embodiment. Hsu teaches isolation of products as solids in preparation examples 1-3, but does not specifically teach FDCA isolated as a solid.
Mazoyer teaches preparation of FDCA from 5-methoxymethylfurfural via oxidation in acetic acid with a catalyst (Abstract, claim 1), including isolating FDCA as a solid via crystallization ([0030]).
One of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Hsu would have considered performing an oxidation reaction of MF and ethoxymethylfurfual to produce FDCA because Hsu teaches such combinations within the scope of Hsu’s claims. Hsu also provides examples of each of the oxidation reactions functioning individually, thus the combination would also be expected to be successful. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also considered the well-known technique of crystallization for isolation as taught by Mazoyer on the same product.
Regarding claim 2, Hsu teaches alkoxymethyfurfural in claim 1, Formula 3, and Mazoyer teaches methoxymethyfurfural such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the same reaction.
Regarding claim 3, Hsu teaches a range of ratio of compounds among the reactants (col 4, claim 16) which one of ordinary skill in the art routinely considers as a results effective variable in optimization to improve yield and purity.
Regarding claim 4 defining the feed with “consists of”, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation that combining two known oxidation reactions that were successful individually would also be successful together.
Regarding claim 5, Hsu teaches the use of the mono-carboxylic acid acetic acid.
Regarding claim 6, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered optimization of the ratio of components in the reaction to improve yield and purity in amounts similar to what was taught by Hsu and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Hsu teaches a washing step in related preparation examples as does Mazoyer ([0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu teaches a range of catalyst formulations (col 4) as does Mazoyer ([0026]) such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the same range as in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 9, Mazoyer teaches separation and recycling to the reactor (claim 25; [0030]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered optimization of a synthetic scheme as routine in the art as suggested by Hsu and would have been predictable. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”); MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US9321744) in view of Mazoyer et al. (US20160024039) as applied to claims 1-9 above and further in view of Shaikh et al. (US20130345451).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu and Mazoyer do not teach hydrogenation for purification.
Shaikh teaches purification of crude FDCA via hydrogenation of a solution of cFDCA (claims 1, 28; [0049]-[0050]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered combining the preparation process of Hsu, Mazoyer, and Shaikh for the same compound to optimize yield and purity and arrived at the claimed invention.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12281090 in view of Hsu et al. (US9321744), Mazoyer et al. (US20160024039) and Shaikh et al. (US20130345451). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a similar process for making the same FDCA which anticipates or renders obvious the instant claims as detailed in the above 35 USC 103 rejections supra.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 9643945 in view of Hsu et al. (US9321744), Mazoyer et al. (US20160024039) and Shaikh et al. (US20130345451). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a similar process for making the same FDCA which anticipates or renders obvious the instant claims as detailed in the above 35 USC 103 rejections supra.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 8865921 in view of Hsu et al. (US9321744), Mazoyer et al. (US20160024039) and Shaikh et al. (US20130345451). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims a similar process for making the same FDCA which anticipates or renders obvious the instant claims as detailed in the above 35 USC 103 rejections supra.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6 of copending Application No. 19110145 (reference application) in view of Hsu et al. (US9321744), Mazoyer et al. (US20160024039) and Shaikh et al. (US20130345451). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application claims a similar process for making the same FDCA which anticipates or renders obvious the instant claims as detailed in the above 35 USC 103 rejections supra.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ROBERT H HAVLIN/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1626