DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “an articulated vehicle including a tractor and a trailer that is towed by the tractor”, and is supported by the specification, which states in [0009] “"Configuration of Articulated Vehicle" As illustrated in FIG. 1, an articulated vehicle 10 includes a tractor 20 and a trailer 30. The tractor 20 includes front wheels 22 and rear wheels 24. The front wheels 22 include two wheels, which are a right front wheel and a left front wheel, and the rear wheels 24 include two wheels, which are a right rear wheel and a left rear wheel. Also, FIG. I exemplifies an enclosed box trailer as the trailer 30. The trailer 30 includes wheels 32. The wheels 32 include two wheels, which are a right wheel and a left wheel.” in [0009]. The specification further states in [0010] that “The trailer 30 is connected to a rear portion of the tractor 20 via a ball joint”. This structural arrangement indicates to the examiner that the “tractor” and “trailer” as recited in the claims is not an actual tractor and trailer, commonly known as a semi-truck. Rather the “tractor” and “trailer” as recited in the claims, should be more accurately interpreted as a light truck towing a travel trailer on a ball type hitch, which is limited to from class 1, to commercial duty class, which is limited to around 20,000 lbs GVW, as opposed to a tractor and trailer, commonly known as a semi-truck, which has a tandem trailer connected via. a fifth-wheel type hitch, that is typically limited to 80,000 lbs GVW, due to federal regulations.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “vehicle speed of the articulated vehicle is restricted to a small side”. Here, the term “small side” as it relates to vehicle speed is interpreted to mean that the vehicle speed is limited to a small numerical value.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “the vehicle speed is restricted to the small side with the target virtual steering angle as input”. Here, the term “small side” as it relates to vehicle speed is interpreted to mean that the vehicle speed is limited to a small numerical value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase “vehicle speed of the articulated vehicle is restricted to a small side” and also recites the phrase “the vehicle speed is restricted to the small side with the target virtual steering angle as input”. However, vehicle speeds are a numerical value, and do not have a “side”. This being the case, claim 1 is considered to be indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 2-10 are further rejected for dependence upon a rejected claim.
Claims 2-4 and 7 recite “small side” or “smaller side” and are similarly rejected for substantially the same reasons as explained with claim 1 above.
Claims 11-12 similarly recite the terms “small side” and are similarly rejected for substantially the same reasons as explained with claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lavoie et al. (U.S. 20140218522).
In re claim 1, Lavoie teaches a control device of an articulated vehicle (as shown in fig. 1b) including a tractor (fig. 1b; vehicle 100; [0032]) and a trailer (fig. 1b; trailer 110; [0032]) that is towed by the tractor (as suggested in fig. 1b), wherein
the articulated vehicle includes an interface for a driver to instruct a target virtual steering angle (the steering wheel can also be used as an interface through which a desired trailer path curvature is inputted; [0029]; note: the target/desired virtual steering angle is the steering angle that is formed when the desired trailer path curvature is input via. the steering wheel (or other equivalent means)),
the target virtual steering angle is a target value of a virtual steering angle (kinematical information of a system defined by the vehicle and the trailer are used to calculate a relationship (i.e., kinematics) between the trailer's curvature and the steering angle of the vehicle for determining steering angle changes of the vehicle for achieving the specified trailer path. Steering commands corresponding to the steering angle changes are used for controlling a steering system of the vehicle (e.g., electric power assisted steering (EPAS) system) of the vehicle for implementing steering angle changes of steered wheels of the vehicle to achieve (e.g., to approximate) the specified path of travel of the trailer; [0029]),
the virtual steering angle is a variable indicating a direction of travel at a linking point (via a ball joint; [0010]) of the trailer and the tractor (as suggested above and in fig. 1b. fig. 3, fig. 5, and fig. 7),
the control device (fig. 1a; trailer backup assist system 105; [0030]) is configured to execute
target virtual steering angle acquisition processing (an operation 165 is performed for assessing an estimating path of travel of the vehicle-trailer combination 111 corresponding to the steering command; [0044]),
virtual steering angle control processing (an operation 166 is performed for implementing the steering command (e.g., enacting a steering angle change based on a trailer path curvature control command or allowing the current steering angle via the steering wheel to be maintained; [0044]), and
vehicle speed restricting processing (using the trailer back-up assist control module 120 to regulate speed of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110 can reduce the potential for unacceptable trailer back-up conditions. Examples of unacceptable trailer back-up conditions include, but are not limited to, a vehicle overspeed condition, trailer angle dynamic instability, a trailer jack-knife condition as defined by an angular displacement limit relative to the vehicle 100 and the trailer 110, and the like; [0037]),
the target virtual steering angle acquisition processing is
processing of acquiring the target virtual steering angle (as indicated above),
the virtual steering angle control processing includes
processing of operating a steering system of the articulated vehicle to control the virtual steering angle to the target virtual steering angle (as indicated above), and
the vehicle speed restricting processing includes
virtual-steering-angle-dependent processing that is processing in which
an absolute value of vehicle speed of the articulated vehicle is restricted to a small side (the trailer back-up assist control module 120 can provide vehicle braking information to the brake system control module 145 for allowing the trailer back-up assist control module 120 to control braking of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110. For example, using the trailer back-up assist control module 120 to regulate speed of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110 can reduce the potential for unacceptable trailer back-up conditions. Examples of unacceptable trailer back-up conditions include, but are not limited to, a vehicle overspeed condition; [0037]), and also in which
the absolute value of the vehicle speed is restricted to the small side with the target virtual steering angle as input (as explained above), during execution of the virtual steering angle control processing (as explained above).
In re claim 2, Lavoie teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle according to claim 1, wherein
the target virtual steering angle indicates an angle formed between the direction of travel with respect to a direction of advance of the trailer (as suggested in fig. 3), and
the virtual-steering-angle-dependent processing includes
change-rate-dependent processing that restricts the absolute value of the vehicle speed to the small side in accordance with the target virtual steering angle, so as to satisfy a condition that the absolute value of the vehicle speed in a case in which the absolute value of the angle formed between the direction of travel with respect to the direction of advance is great, is no greater than the absolute value of the vehicle speed in a case in which the absolute value of the angle that is formed is small (A speed control strategy can include a combination of throttle deactivation or limiting and automatic friction or transmission braking may be used to reduce the speed of the vehicle to reduce collision probability when prescribed collision avoidance criteria (e.g., a respective collision avoidance threshold) corresponding to avoiding collision with the object have been satisfied. A steering control strategy can include steering rates, steering angles limits, relative road wheel angles and speeds and transitional control inputs being reduced or limited in order to satisfy to prescribed collision avoidance criteria corresponding to avoiding collision with the object. A trailer curvature control strategy can include a trailer curvature control target (i.e., commanded value) being reduced in the trailer back-up assist system utilizing, for example, automated steering or HMI guidance, based on mappings using vehicle speed, acceleration, steering rate and/or transitional steering wheel angle behavior to reduce the potential for collision with the object. [0049]; note: the collision in question is between the vehicle and the trailer, as suggested in [0056], which states “the trailer back-up assist system 105 or other system of the vehicle 100 has predicted a collision on the present path of travel of the trailer 110, the trailer back-up system 105 has restricted a commanded curvature of a trailer's path of travel (e.g. due to excessive speed or acceleration of the vehicle 100)”).
In re claim 7, Lavoie teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle according to claim 1, wherein
the control device is configured to
execute vehicle speed control processing (as explained above),
the vehicle speed control processing is
processing of operating a drive system of the tractor to control the vehicle speed (as explained above), and
the vehicle speed restricting processing is
processing of restricting the absolute value of the vehicle speed controlled by the vehicle speed control processing to the small side (as explained above).
In re claim 8, Lavoie teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle according to claim 7, wherein
the control device is configured to
execute accepting processing (as explained above),
the accepting processing is
processing of accepting an instruction of the absolute value of the vehicle speed from the driver (as explained above),
the vehicle speed restricting processing is
processing of calculating an upper limit value of the absolute value of the vehicle speed (as suggested above), and
the vehicle speed control processing includes
processing of controlling an absolute value of an actual vehicle speed of the articulated vehicle so as to near the absolute value of the vehicle speed instructed by the driver, on condition that the absolute value of the actual vehicle speed is no greater than the upper limit value (powertrain control module 150 interacts with the trailer back-up assist control module 120 for regulating speed and acceleration of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110. As mentioned above, regulation of the speed of the vehicle 100 is necessary to limit the potential for unacceptable trailer back-up conditions; [0039]).
In re claim 9, Lavoie teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle according to claim 8, wherein
the vehicle speed control processing includes
target vehicle speed setting processing and operating processing (as explained above),
the target vehicle speed setting processing is
processing of setting a smallest value from among
the absolute value of the vehicle speed that is instructed (as explained above),
the upper limit value, and
an absolute value of a default vehicle speed,
as an absolute value of a target vehicle speed, and
the operating processing is processing of operating a drive system of the articulated vehicle such that the absolute value of the vehicle speed nears the absolute value of the target vehicle speed (as explained above).
In re claim 10, Lavoie teaches the control device for the articulated vehicle according to claim 1, wherein
the control device is configured to
execute the virtual steering angle control processing when performing reverse control of the articulated vehicle (as explained above).
In re claim 11, Lavoie teaches a control method for an articulated vehicle (as shown in fig. 1b) including a tractor (fig. 1b; vehicle 100; [0032]) and a trailer (fig. 1b; trailer 110; [0032]) that is towed by the tractor (as suggested in fig. 1b), wherein
the articulated vehicle includes
an interface for a driver to instruct a target virtual steering angle (the steering wheel can also be used as an interface through which a desired trailer path curvature is inputted; [0029]; note: the target/desired virtual steering angle is the steering angle that is formed when the desired trailer path curvature is input via. the steering wheel (or other equivalent means)),
the target virtual steering angle is
a target value of a virtual steering angle (kinematical information of a system defined by the vehicle and the trailer are used to calculate a relationship (i.e., kinematics) between the trailer's curvature and the steering angle of the vehicle for determining steering angle changes of the vehicle for achieving the specified trailer path. Steering commands corresponding to the steering angle changes are used for controlling a steering system of the vehicle (e.g., electric power assisted steering (EPAS) system) of the vehicle for implementing steering angle changes of steered wheels of the vehicle to achieve (e.g., to approximate) the specified path of travel of the trailer; [0029]),
the virtual steering angle is
a variable indicating a direction of travel at a linking point (via a ball joint; [0010]) of the trailer and the tractor (as suggested above and in fig. 1b. fig. 3, fig. 5, and fig. 7),
the control method includes steps of
executing target virtual steering angle acquisition processing (an operation 165 is performed for assessing an estimating path of travel of the vehicle-trailer combination 111 corresponding to the steering command; [0044]),
virtual steering angle control processing (an operation 166 is performed for implementing the steering command (e.g., enacting a steering angle change based on a trailer path curvature control command or allowing the current steering angle via the steering wheel to be maintained; [0044]), and
vehicle speed restricting processing (using the trailer back-up assist control module 120 to regulate speed of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110 can reduce the potential for unacceptable trailer back-up conditions. Examples of unacceptable trailer back-up conditions include, but are not limited to, a vehicle overspeed condition, trailer angle dynamic instability, a trailer jack-knife condition as defined by an angular displacement limit relative to the vehicle 100 and the trailer 110, and the like; [0037]),
the target virtual steering angle acquisition processing is
processing of acquiring the target virtual steering angle (as indicated above),
the virtual steering angle control processing includes
processing of operating a steering system of the articulated vehicle to control the virtual steering angle to the target virtual steering angle (as indicated above), and
the vehicle speed restricting processing includes
virtual-steering-angle-dependent processing that is processing in which an absolute value of vehicle speed of the articulated vehicle is restricted to a small side (the trailer back-up assist control module 120 can provide vehicle braking information to the brake system control module 145 for allowing the trailer back-up assist control module 120 to control braking of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110. For example, using the trailer back-up assist control module 120 to regulate speed of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110 can reduce the potential for unacceptable trailer back-up conditions. Examples of unacceptable trailer back-up conditions include, but are not limited to, a vehicle overspeed condition; [0037]), and also in which
the absolute value of the vehicle speed is restricted to the small side with the target virtual steering angle as input (as explained above), during execution of the virtual steering angle control processing (as explained above).
In re claim 12, Lavoie teaches a control program for an articulated vehicle (as shown in fig. 1b) including a tractor (fig. 1b; vehicle 100; [0032]) and a trailer (fig. 1b; trailer 110; [0032]) that is towed by the tractor (as suggested in fig. 1b), wherein
the articulated vehicle includes an interface for a driver to instruct a target virtual steering angle (the steering wheel can also be used as an interface through which a desired trailer path curvature is inputted; [0029]; note: the target/desired virtual steering angle is the steering angle that is formed when the desired trailer path curvature is input via. the steering wheel (or other equivalent means)),
the target virtual steering angle is a target value of a virtual steering angle (kinematical information of a system defined by the vehicle and the trailer are used to calculate a relationship (i.e., kinematics) between the trailer's curvature and the steering angle of the vehicle for determining steering angle changes of the vehicle for achieving the specified trailer path. Steering commands corresponding to the steering angle changes are used for controlling a steering system of the vehicle (e.g., electric power assisted steering (EPAS) system) of the vehicle for implementing steering angle changes of steered wheels of the vehicle to achieve (e.g., to approximate) the specified path of travel of the trailer; [0029]),
the virtual steering angle is a variable indicating a direction of travel at a linking point (via a ball joint; [0010]) of the trailer and the tractor (as suggested above and in fig. 1b. fig. 3, fig. 5, and fig. 7),
the control program includes commands causing a computer to execute
target virtual steering angle acquisition processing (an operation 165 is performed for assessing an estimating path of travel of the vehicle-trailer combination 111 corresponding to the steering command; [0044]),
virtual steering angle control processing (an operation 166 is performed for implementing the steering command (e.g., enacting a steering angle change based on a trailer path curvature control command or allowing the current steering angle via the steering wheel to be maintained; [0044]), and
vehicle speed restricting processing (using the trailer back-up assist control module 120 to regulate speed of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110 can reduce the potential for unacceptable trailer back-up conditions. Examples of unacceptable trailer back-up conditions include, but are not limited to, a vehicle overspeed condition, trailer angle dynamic instability, a trailer jack-knife condition as defined by an angular displacement limit relative to the vehicle 100 and the trailer 110, and the like; [0037]),
the target virtual steering angle acquisition processing is
processing of acquiring the target virtual steering angle (as indicated above),
the virtual steering angle control processing includes
processing of operating a steering system of the articulated vehicle to control the virtual steering angle to the target virtual steering angle (as indicated above), and
the vehicle speed restricting processing includes
virtual-steering-angle-dependent processing that is processing in which
an absolute value of vehicle speed of the articulated vehicle is restricted to a small side (the trailer back-up assist control module 120 can provide vehicle braking information to the brake system control module 145 for allowing the trailer back-up assist control module 120 to control braking of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110. For example, using the trailer back-up assist control module 120 to regulate speed of the vehicle 100 during backing of the trailer 110 can reduce the potential for unacceptable trailer back-up conditions. Examples of unacceptable trailer back-up conditions include, but are not limited to, a vehicle overspeed condition; [0037]), and also in which
the absolute value of the vehicle speed is restricted to the small side with the target virtual steering angle as input (as explained above), during execution of the virtual steering angle control processing (as explained above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
The prior art of record fails to show or reasonably teach in combination a trailer control device having the recited elements, as required by claim 3, including
change-rate-dependent processing that restricts a magnitude of the absolute value of the vehicle speed to the small side in accordance with an absolute value of a change rate while satisfying a condition that the absolute value of the vehicle speed in a case in which the absolute value of the change rate of the target virtual steering angle is great is no greater than the absolute value of the vehicle speed in a case in which the absolute value of the change rate is small;
or a trailer control device having the recited elements, as required by claim 4, including
the feedback processing is
processing of bringing the virtual steering angle near to the target virtual steering angle by feedback control, and
the vehicle speed restricting processing includes
deviation-dependent processing that
restricts a magnitude of the absolute value of the vehicle speed to a smaller side in accordance with an absolute value of difference between the virtual steering angle and the target virtual steering angle,
while satisfying a condition that the absolute value of the vehicle speed in a case in which the absolute value of the difference is great, is no greater than the absolute value of the vehicle speed in a case in which the absolute value of the difference is small;
or a trailer control device having the recited elements, as required by claim 6, including
the vehicle speed restricting processing includes
hitch-angle-dependent processing of restricting the absolute value of the vehicle speed in accordance with the hitch angle, while satisfying a condition that the absolute value of the vehicle speed
in a case in which
an absolute value of difference between the hitch angle and a jackknife hitch angle is small is no greater than the absolute value of the vehicle speed
in a case in which
the absolute value of difference between the hitch angle and the jackknife hitch angle is great, and
the jackknife hitch angle is the hitch angle at which jackknifing occurs.
Conclusion
The prior art of Lavoie (U.S. 20140309887) teaches a system for determining target plausibility is comprised of an imaging device for imaging a scene and generating image data, sensors for generating hitch angle measurements, steering angle measurements, and vehicle speed measurements. A controller in communication with the imaging device and the sensors, wherein when a driving condition is satisfied, the controller calculates a hitch angle and selects a plausible target from the imaged scene based on the image data and the calculated hitch angle.
Lavoie ‘887 further teaches that satisfaction of the driving condition can be determined based on a comparison of the filtered or unfiltered hitch angle rate, steering angle rate, and vehicle speed measurements to associated threshold values, irrespective of whether the vehicle 12 is moving forward or backward. For example, the driving condition can be satisfied when the absolute value of the hitch angle rate is below a hitch angle rate threshold (e.g. 0.3 degrees/second), the absolute value of the steering angle rate is below a steering angle rate threshold (e.g. 0.3 degrees/second), and the absolute value of the vehicle speed is above a vehicle speed threshold (e.g. 5 km/hour).
However, Lavoie et al. (U.S. 20140218522) alone, or in combination with Lavoie (U.S. 20140309887) fail to arrive at the invention as claimed above in claims 3-4 and 6.
/JOHN D BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747