DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on12/04/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. A certified copy of application CN202210633776.1 was filed on 12/04/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: reference sign “54” in para. [0065] and para. [0066].
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 11, the step indicator “S4” is used for multiple steps. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter (EP 3135343 A1), in view of Sun (CN 201447283 U).
Regarding claim 1, Walter discloses a multifunctional transfer robot, comprising a traveling unit, wherein a support is arranged on the traveling unit (para. [0050]; Fig. 1, self-driving all-terrain vehicle 1, tubular support frame 17 on the travelling unit);
a base is arranged on the support (para. [0015]; fork carriage being supported on the frame is interpreted as a base), and
a lifting unit capable of driving the base to ascend and descend in a height direction is arranged between the support and the base (para. [0053], [0058]; Fig. 1, lifting unit 2, with telescopic lifting arms);
a bearing seat for bearing materials is arranged on the base (para. [0015]; bearing seat, fork tines 3); and
a winch is further arranged on the support (para. [0055]; Fig. 1, winch 5).
Walter does not disclose the winch arranged at one end of the support away from the bearing seat.
Sun discloses a foldable mobile lift with a winch arranged at one end of the support away from the bearing seat (para. [0015]; Fig. 1, winch 4 arranged at one end away from the bearing seat 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the winch mechanism of Walter relocate it at an end away from the load bearing seat as taught by Sun to improve the stability of the vehicle by providing a counterbalancing weight when a load is picked up by the forks. Walter already discusses the engine located at the rear providing a counterbracing weight (para. [0017]), thus relocating the winch towards the rear would allow the vehicle to be able to handle addition load in a safe manner.
Regarding claim 2, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Walter further discloses wherein a pulling rope is arranged on the winch, one end of the pulling rope is wound on the winch, a second end of the pulling rope is provided with a hoisting portion, the bearing seat is provided with a pivot, the pulling rope passes through or goes around the pivot to be connected to the hoisting portion, and a guide wheel is arranged on the pivot (para.[0028], [0071]; Fig. 7; Pulling rope 25 with one end on winch 5 and the other with a hoisting portion; guide wheel 24 on the bearing seat 14).
Regarding claim 3, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Walter further discloses wherein a water hose is arranged on the winch, one end of the water hose is wound on the winch, and a second end of the water hose is a free end (para. [0024], [0055]; winch 5 is a hose winding device and can also be used to manipulate a hoisting rope).
Regarding claim 4, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Walter further discloses wherein the traveling unit comprises a traveling mechanism and a power mechanism for driving the traveling mechanism to move, the power mechanism is a motor, a hydraulic motor or an internal combustion engine, and the traveling mechanism is a crawler type traveling chassis or a tire type traveling chassis (para. [0021], [0051]-[0052]; traveling mechanism is a crawler 18, and the drive system is either an internal combustion or an electric motor).
Regarding claim 5, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Walter further discloses wherein the lifting unit comprises guide rails arranged on the support (annotated Fig. 1, guide rails) and a lifting mechanism for driving the base to move up and down along the guide (See annotated Fig. 1, telescopic lifting mast) ; lifting and
the lifting mechanism comprises a hydraulic cylinder, a piston of the hydraulic cylinder is fixedly connected to the base, and a hydraulic cylinder mounting base is arranged on the support rails (para. [0053], [0058], hydraulic lifting mechanism).
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 6, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 5. Walter further discloses wherein two groups of the guide rails are respectively arranged on two sides of the support, and a guide piece embeddable in the guide rails is arranged on the base (Annotated Fig. 1, Guide rails on either side of the fork carriage).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter (EP 3135343 A1), in view of Sun (CN 201447283 U), and in further view of Ye (CN 205930809 U).
Regarding claim 7, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 6. Sun further discloses a foldable mast with upper (1) and lower (7) sections connected by a hinge (para. [0015]). However, Sun does not disclose a limiting piece for limiting when the second track is turned over to be docked with the first track is arranged between the first track and the second track, guide grooves are formed in the first track and the second track and the guide groove in the second track is docked with the guide groove in the first track when the second track is turned over to be docked with the first track.
Ye discloses wherein each of the guide rails is foldable and comprises a first track connected to the base and a second track hinged with the first track (para. [0032];Fig. 3, folding guide rails 20 with T-shaped tracks), a limiting piece for limiting when the second track is turned over to be docked with the first track is arranged between the first track and the second track, guide grooves are formed in the first track and the second track and the guide groove in the second track is docked with the guide groove in the first track when the second track is turned over to be docked with the first track (para. [0033],[0047],Fig. 3, limiting piece 222).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the telescoping lifting mast of Walter into a foldable structure with a limiting piece for limiting when the second track is turned over to be docked with the first track is arranged between the first track and the second track to provide a more compact robotic lifting vehicle by reducing the vertical height and further to include a limiting piece so when the upper rail is unfolded the limiting piece will ensure correct vertical orientation of the upper rail (Ye: para. [0047]). Sun already discloses the benefit of a foldable lifting rail to make the load handling vehicle compact to improve transport and storage (Sun: para. [0009]).
Claims 8-9, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walter (EP 3135343 A1), in view of Sun (CN 201447283 U), and in further view of Jin (CN 211056638 U).
Regarding claim 8, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 1. Jin discloses what Walter and sun lack, a forklift wherein the bearing seat comprises a bearing rod arranged on the base, one end of the bearing rod is fixedly connected to the base, and a second end of the bearing rod is provided with an electromagnet (para. [0016]; Fig. 1, telescopic fork sleeves 2, electromagnet 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load bearing seat of Walter to include an electromagnet on the bearing seat as taught by Jin to securely hold ferromagnetic rescue materials supported on the bearing seat during transport.
Regarding claim 9, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 8. Jin discloses what Walter and sun lack, a multi-stage telescopic mechanism is arranged on the bearing rod (2), the multi-stage telescopic mechanism comprises a telescopic rod (4) arranged on the bearing rod away from the one end of the bearing rod fixedly connected to the base (telescopic rod 4 arranged away from the end 1 fixedly connected to the case), the telescopic rod is capable of extending forward or retracting backward in an extending direction of the bearing rod, and the multi-stage telescopic mechanism further comprises a telescopic power module arranged on the bearing rod (para. [0019]; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the load bearing seat of Walter to include a telescopic rod capable of extending forward or retracting backward in an extending direction of the bearing rod, and the multi-stage telescopic mechanism further comprises a telescopic power module arranged on the bearing rod to allow the robot to reach a load or unloading position without moving the entire tracked chassis.
Regarding claim 14, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 2. Jin discloses what Walter and sun lack, a forklift wherein the bearing seat comprises a bearing rod arranged on the base, one end of the bearing rod is fixedly connected to the base, and a second end of the bearing rod is provided with an electromagnet (para. [0016]; Fig. 1, telescopic fork sleeves 2, electromagnet 5).
See obviousness rational provided for claim 8.
Regarding claim 15, Walter, Sun, and Jin disclose all the limitations of claim 14. Jin discloses what Walter and sun lack, a multi-stage telescopic mechanism is arranged on the bearing rod (2), the multi-stage telescopic mechanism comprises a telescopic rod (4) arranged on the bearing rod away from the one end of the bearing rod fixedly connected to the base (telescopic rod 4 arranged away from the end 1 fixedly connected to the case), the telescopic rod is capable of extending forward or retracting backward in an extending direction of the bearing rod, and the multi-stage telescopic mechanism further comprises a telescopic power module arranged on the bearing rod (para. [0019]; Fig. 1).
See obviousness rational for claim 9.
Regarding claim 17, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 3. Jin discloses what Walter and sun lack, a forklift wherein the bearing seat comprises a bearing rod arranged on the base, one end of the bearing rod is fixedly connected to the base, and a second end of the bearing rod is provided with an electromagnet (para. [0016]; Fig. 1, telescopic fork sleeves 2, electromagnet 5).
See obviousness rational provided for claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, Walter, Sun, and Jin disclose all the limitations of claim 17. Jin discloses what Walter and sun lack, a multi-stage telescopic mechanism is arranged on the bearing rod (2), the multi-stage telescopic mechanism comprises a telescopic rod (4) arranged on the bearing rod away from the one end of the bearing rod fixedly connected to the base (telescopic rod 4 arranged away from the end 1 fixedly connected to the case), the telescopic rod is capable of extending forward or retracting backward in an extending direction of the bearing rod, and the multi-stage telescopic mechanism further comprises a telescopic power module arranged on the bearing rod (para. [0019]; Fig. 1).
See obviousness rational for claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, Walter and Sun disclose all the limitations of claim 4. Jin discloses what Walter and sun lack, a forklift wherein the bearing seat comprises a bearing rod arranged on the base, one end of the bearing rod is fixedly connected to the base, and a second end of the bearing rod is provided with an electromagnet (para. [0016]; Fig. 1, telescopic fork sleeves 2, electromagnet 5).
See obviousness rational provided for claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11-13 are allowed.
Claims 10, 16, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ZHANG et al. (CN 101659210 A) discloses a remote controlled tracked vehicle with front and rear gantry frames supported on the chassis of the vehicle with a load bearing component, and a lifting unit capable of driving the gantry frame in a height direction. Zhang further discloses a winch installed in the front of the vehicle.
Shinoda et al. (US4657471) discloses a counter balanced lift truck having upright masts, lift cylinders and a fork carriage arranged to improve stability and minimize the loas-center distance. It also discloses lift-truck attachments including forks and a fork equipped with a winch.
McCabe et al. (US2015/0274260) discloses a segmented tether having mechanically connected lifting and connecting segments, a winch engagement portion and a distal load engagement portion. It further discloses a segmented pulling rope and a winch-bases deployment and recovery operations. It does not disclose complete separation of the lifting tether from the winch.
Wang et al. (CN 110356757) discloses a remotely controlled crawler-type loading and unloading robot having a chassis, support structure and a hydraulically operated folding gantry platform.
Li (CN 207943826) discloses a forklift carrying a hydraulic winch, a fork mounted extension arm, and a pulley positioned at the distal end of the extension arm, with a wire rope passing around the pulley to a load hook.
Decker (7909112) discloses a compact, self-propelled emergency vehicle having load bearing forks movable vertically within a fork track, with the forks supporting secured equipment or rescue basket. The vehicle also carries a hose wound on the vehicle mounted reel at an end opposite the lifting arms.
Cheng (CN206485851U) discloses a stacker with a load lifting mechanism having telescopic forks and an electromagnetic chuck on the fork to firmly secure a load on the telescopic fork.
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655