DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species b in the reply filed on 06/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 34-40 and 85-97 are pending. Claims 88-97 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38 and 85-87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the proximal ports" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 85 recites "the cannula member" in element (b). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. The claim previously recites "a distal cannula assembly," and it is unclear whether these are the same element.
Claim 85 recites "a biasing element" in element (c) and later "the one or more biasing elements." There is insufficient antecedent basis for "the one or more biasing elements," and it is unclear how many biasing elements are required.
Claim 87 recites "a withdrawn position," although claim 85 already recites "a withdrawn position." It is unclear whether a second withdrawn position is being introduced. For examination purposes, it is interpreted as "the withdrawn position."
Claim 86 is rejected as depending from rejected claim 85.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34-36 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen et al. (U.S. 2022/0096123 A1) in view of Kleyman et al. (U.S. 2011/0251466 A1) and Scheib (U.S. 8,152,829 B2).
Regarding claim 34, Cohen discloses a device for accessing a body cavity through a natural orifice (transvaginal access to the intraperitoneal space via the rectouterine pouch; Figs. 2A-3I), the device comprising:
a. a proximal base member (access device 1001 and/or cannula 1010 with flange 221; Figs. 10A-10B);
b. a passage for receiving a plurality of surgical tools for passage therethrough to the body cavity (cannula 1010 receives robotic arms 305 and tool 307 side-by-side; Fig. 3I and par. 0149), and a distally tapered dilator (dilator 607 / stepped dilator 1100 with distal tapering region 1121; Figs. 6A-6E, 11A-11E and par. 0155);
c. a puncturing needle (trocar needle 207) arranged to pass through an aperture at a distal tip of the device (distal port 216 in blunt tip 215; Fig. 3B and par, 0149).
However, Cohen et al. do not explicitly disclose (i) a plurality of conduits arranged to receive a corresponding plurality of surgical tools, distally beveled to form in combination a section of a dilator; (ii) the needle being biased to a withdrawn position by one or more biasing elements disposed outside the conduits; or (iii) an actuation member arranged to actuate the needle by overcoming the resistance of the biasing elements.
As to (i), Kleyman teaches an access assembly for accessing a body cavity, including through naturally occurring orifices such as the anus or vagina ([0019]). The assembly comprises a proximal member (compressible port 50 with upper rim 54) defining a plurality of longitudinal lumens 51 ([0021]-[0022]). The lumens receive a plurality of cannula assemblies 100 (conduits), each having a cannula sleeve 104 and a sealed cannula head 102 configured to receive a respective surgical instrument ([0023], [0027]-[0028]; Figs. 1-5). The cannula sleeves 104 have beveled distal ends 108 (Fig. 3) that may be aligned with one another at the distal face of the port (Figs. 4-5; [0031]). Kleyman teaches that separate flexible conduits allow each instrument to be individually sealed ([0027]-[0028]), permit a greater range of instrument motion, and reduce the "sword-fighting" of instruments in close proximity ([0031], [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to divide the tool passage of Cohen into a plurality of separate conduits, each receiving a respective tool, as taught by Kleyman. Doing so would individually seal each tool and reduce interference between side-by-side tools. It would further have been obvious to bevel the distal ends of the conduits so that, in combination, they form the tapered dilating section of Cohen. Kleyman already shows beveled distal ends 108 (Fig. 3). Cohen teaches that a single dilating element simplifies the procedure by reducing component exchanges. Integrating the dilating taper with the tool conduits eliminates a separate dilator exchange.
As to (ii) and (iii), Scheib teaches a dilator having a dilator body with a lumen, a handle, and a needle extending through the lumen. A control button (actuation member) moves the needle from a retracted position within the lumen to a protruding position beyond the distal end. The control button and needle are biased to the retracted position by a spring housed in a channel between the outside of the dilator body and the handle, such that actuation overcomes the spring (see col. 4, lines 49-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bias the needle of Cohen, as modified, to a withdrawn position with a spring disposed outside the tool conduits and actuated by an actuation member, as taught by Scheib. Cohen emphasizes limiting needle protrusion and retracting the needle to avoid injury to adjacent structures such as the rectum. An automatically returning needle achieves that result, and locating the spring and needle mechanism outside the tool conduits keeps the conduits clear for tool passage. This is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way.
Regarding claim 35, the combination teaches that when the actuation member is released, the needle returns to the withdrawn position under the spring bias. Cohen discloses retracting the needle before or during advancement of the dilator. The needle is thus configured for storage in the withdrawn position at least during use of the dilator to distally advance the device.
Regarding claim 36, the needle of the combination remains in the biased withdrawn position after puncture, including during passage of tools through the conduits. The recited timing is intended use, and the prior art device is capable of it.
Regarding claim 39, Cohen discloses a single trocar needle 207, and Scheib teaches a single control button ([claim 1]). The combination comprises exactly one needle and exactly one actuation member.
Regarding claim 40, Kleyman teaches beveled distal ends 108 formed on cannula sleeves 104 (Fig. 3; [0023]). In the combination, the distal tip formed by the beveled ends is integral with the plurality of conduits. MPEP 2144.04(V)(B).
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen in view of Kleyman and Scheib, as applied to claim 34, and further in view of Wing et al. (US 7,931,623 B2).
The combination does not teach an actuation-prevention mechanism preventing actuation of the needle without an initial action that does not cause actuation. Wing et al. teach a trocar in which a plunger controlling blade exposure cannot be operated until a lever is first deflected by fitting the obturator and cannula together, which unlocks the plunger (Figs. 29, 33-36, element 940). Fitting the parts together is an initial action that does not itself expose the blade.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include such an actuation-prevention mechanism in the combination, as taught by Wing et al., to prevent inadvertent needle protrusion until a deliberate preliminary step is taken.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 85-87 in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, an apparatus for accessing a body cavity through a natural orifice, as recited in claim 85, in which the actuation member is carried on the distal cannula assembly while the blocking element is carried on the proximal base member and is shaped to block an actuating movement of that actuation member when the distal cannula assembly and the proximal base member are joined, in combination with the remaining limitations of claim 85, including the distal cannula assembly being distally beveled to form a section of a dilator and the proximal base member comprising a plurality of conduits shaped to be seated within the distal cannula assembly.
Claims 86 and 87 have not been rejected using prior art for at least the reasons given with respect to claim 85, from which they depend.
Conclusion
/ELLEN C HAMMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773