Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Election 1- Apparatus Claims and Election 3- Coupler Medium in the reply filed on 09/01/2026 is acknowledged. In regard to Election 2, which is directed to where the ultrasound is focused, the Examiner agrees that, since apparatus claims were elected and the claims of Group II are generic, there is not a serious examination burden and Election 2 is therefore withdrawn. Claims 17-19, 22, and 25-17 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The IDS received on 12/04/2024 had a mis-typed US PGPub reference- Yamauchi et al. The correct reference is US 2002/0031903, which is consistent with the International Search Report cited in the same IDS. The correct reference has been considered, and no action needs to be taken at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 17-19, 22, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites “using an ultrasound” in line 1. It is unclear whether this is referring to ultrasonic energy or a structural ultrasonic welder or similar physical ultrasonic device. Further, since this is part of the preamble, if meant as a structural ultrasonic device it becomes unclear what structure, if any, is claimed as the rest of claim 17 seems to direct “the ultrasound” as ultrasonic energy, not a physical structure. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret line 1 as “using ultrasound”, and elsewhere as “ultrasound” instead of “the ultrasound”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 17-19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liebler (WO 2010163605; included in Applicant’s IDS filed 05/27/2026).
Regarding claim 17, Liebler teaches of an apparatus for assembling components using ultrasound comprising an ultrasound transducer (ultrasound generator- 2) configured for focusing ultrasound energy to a region of an assembly to heat and bond said assembly (Claim 1).
The assembly and related components are not structural parts of the apparatus and are “Material(s) or Article(s) Worked Upon by Apparatus”. MPEP 2115 addresses these limitations by stating “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).” Since the ultrasound transducer of ??? is capable of heating a region by focusing ultrasound, it is capable of all the functional limitations of claim 17 and therefore anticipates claim 17. Hereafter a reference to “Materials Worked Upon” refers the MPEP citation in this paragraph.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is entirely directed to “Material Worked Upon”, and therefore does not differentiate over the prior art of Liebler.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is entirely directed to “Material Worked Upon”, and therefore does not differentiate over the prior art of Liebler.
Regarding claim 22, Liebler teaches of a coupler (waveguide- 3) configured for acoustically coupling the ultrasound transducer to the assembly that can be a fluid coupler (claim 4; [0030]) or a solid coupler (claim 3; [0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liebler as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Mateo Martinez (US 2006/0287836; hereafter Mateo).
Regarding claim 25, Liebler teaches that the apparatus comprises a controller, particularly through electrical control ([0005]). Liebler does not teach instructions for said controller. Mateo teaches a process for determining a return echo of ultrasound and then based on the return echo determining whether bonding the first part of an assembly to a second part of an assembly is complete ([0028]-[0032]). The data is collected from any known ultrasound transducer ([0033]), which establishes compatibility with Liebler. This process is carried out and controlled by a computer connected to the ultrasound transducer ([0072]), which means that this process is executable instructions from a non-transitory computer-readable medium and is a controller. The advantage of Mateo’s controller and instructions is that reparable defects can be repaired ([0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the proposed invention to use Mateo’s controller and instructions in the apparatus of Liebler for the advantage of being able to be aware of and repair reparable defects in produced products.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 26-27 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 26, in applying Mateo as in claim 25, Mateo’s method is to detect, determine, and prevent defects (Mateo- [0004]). It would be contrary to the methodology of Mateo to debond after a bonding instruction as that would be expanding a defect, and therefore a debonding instruction is not taught or rendered obvious by the combined references and the prior art.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER S WRIGHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745