DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed December 04, 2024. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pawan et al. (Nanomaterials 2019, 9(2), 243 in view of Shikinaka et al. (JP 2021-017582) and Banerjee et al. (US 2017/0247493)
Pawan teaches self-assembly of lignin comprising bond linkages between the cellulose microfibrils wherein the bonds are beta linkages (see pg. 1, last para) and in some cases the bonds are designated as alpha, beta and gamma bonds (see pg. 2, 1st para) and has the property of self-aggregation (i.e., self-assembly as interpreted by the Examiner, see same) with a low molecular weight (see 2nd para pg. 60) as hollow nanoparticles (as required by instant claim 3).
However Pawan fails to teach that the assembly body is a lignin-saccharide complex, nonetheless, teaches carbohydrate polymers which can represent a polysaccharide. Although Pawan did not per-se teach the exact molecular weight, it is reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would use a low molecular weight in the recited range because MPEP 2143 states "when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." Therefore the skilled artisan would have had reason to try use a low molecular weight with the reasonable expectation that at least one would be successful.
Shikinaka teaches hollow spherical particles that is self-assembled body lignin comprising of beta-O-4 ether structure with a nanoparticle size of 30-40 nm which is less than 200 nm (see example 1 as required by instant claim 5) and therefore the negative zeta potential and if greater positive zeta (as required by instant claim 4).
With regards to instant claim 1, Banerjee teaches a hollow spherical particle (see 0052) that is self-assembled (see 0045) with bonds elf-aggregation and the complex formation with other carbohydrate polymers (cellulose, hemicelluloses, and pectin), which leads to the formation of lignin carbohydrates complexes (see introduction) and does teach with regards to instant claim 8, wherein the hollow spherical particle pharmaceutically important drugs (see 0059-0061) for drug delivery would have been obvious (see 0002) and therefore comprises an active agent 9as required by instant claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the cited prior art to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation because they One would have been motivated to combine these references and make the modification because they are drawn to same technical fields (constituted with same ingredients and share common utilities, and pertinent to the problem which applicant concerns about. MPEP 2141.01(a)
And With regards to instant claim 2, the ratio is within the purview of the skilled artisan to determine based on the lignin-polysaccharide and the size of the active drug and therefore"[A] person of ordinary skill in the art has goodreason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to theanticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill andcommon sense." KSR Intemational Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1390.
Claims 10-14 are rejected Again, it should be noted that “a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone”. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 - 18 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/853885. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The reasons are as follows:
· Both sets of claims refer to a hollow spherical particle that is a self-assembled body of a lignin. Both sets recite an ether bond between the lignin and polysaccharide with an overlapping molecular weight and particle size, same wavelength and active ingredients.
The compositions recited in the claims are obvious variation of each other.
· Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the cop ending application in practicing the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of the foregoing, the copending application claims and the current application claims are obvious variations.
No claims are allowed.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 9/2/26