DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2016/0216690) in view of Lee et al (A Camera pose estimation method for rectangle feature based visual SLAM)
As to claim 1, Kim et al teaches the method for determining an aspect of ratio of a region in an image, the method comprising:
obtaining, from an image, a two-dimensional projection of a region having a predetermined shape(generates a sliced two-dimensional (2D) section by slicing a hologram while performing translation in an optical axis direction,101, figure 1; operation 102, the 3D hologram distortion correcting apparatus obtains a sharp sliced image of the hologram from a sequence of images of generated sliced 2D sections using a focusing function of a camera.) located in three dimensions, the predetermined shaped region being geometrically distorted (the 3D hologram distortion correcting apparatus generates a sliced section of a designed 2D pattern while translating the 2D pattern in the optical axis direction, paragraph [0045]);
determining a first set of points in the image that identifies a boundary of the predetermined shaped region; ( circular points present in each sliced image of the calculated sequence of the sliced 2D images I.sub.1′, I.sub.2′, . . . , I.sub.N′. Here, the circular points may be two-dimensionally projected spherical points. The 3D hologram distortion correcting apparatus may measure the distortion occurring due to the optical system of the display based on the circular points. The 3D hologram distortion correcting apparatus may estimate a distortion model of the planar grid structure through the optical distortion model fitting used to estimate the distortion occurring due to the optical system of the camera 423., paragraph [0074]). While Kim et al teaches the limitations above. Kim fails to teach “estimating an aspect ratio of the predetermined shaped region located in three dimensions based on the determined first set of points indicative of the boundary of the predetermined shaped region in the two-dimensional projection and rendering, on a display device, a corrected predetermined shape region that corrects the geometric projection distortions using the estimated aspect ratio. “
However, Lee teaches a warped rectangle feature as a quadrilateral in the image by the perspective transformation is reconstructed by the Coupled Line Camera algorithm. In order to fully reconstruct a rectangle in the real-world coordinate, the distance between the features and the camera is needed. The distance in the real-world coordinate can be measured by using a stereo camera. Using properties of the line camera, the physical size of the rectangle feature can be induced from the distance. The correspondence between the quadrilateral in the image and the rectangle in the real-world coordinate can restore the relative pose between the camera and the feature through obtaining the homography. In order to evaluate the performance, we analyzed the result of proposed method with its reference pose in Gazebo robot simulator ( abstract).Lee et al teaches a rectangle can be uniquely determined by the distance from the center to each vertex and the aspect ratio .In the line segment camera pair algorithm the distance between the center to each vertex is assumed to be 1 and the relative pose with the camera and the aspect ratio of the rectangle are obtained ( section 3.2) .Additionally, lee teaches restoring a rectangle using a line segment camera pair algorithm that can restore the shape of the original rectangle using the properties of the extracted quadrilateral (section 3.3 and figure 4).It is obvious before filing of the claimed invention to use the aspect ratio as taught by Lee et al in order to create accurate map by fusing geometric features and improve points lines segments and planes” . Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As to claim 2, Lee et al teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining, a second set of points surrounding the first set of points; and estimating the aspect ratio using both the first set of determined points and second set of determined points ( the segment camera pair restores the shape of the original rectangle by extracting a quadrilateral that satisfies the geometric condition, section3.1, 3.2) .
As to claim 3, Lee et al teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first set of points are determined by receiving input via a user interface that identifies each point in the first set of points ( see figure 2) .
As to claim 4, Lee et al teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first set of points are determined by automatically identifying points at which two lines of the predetermined region intersect ( intersection of lines see figure 1 and table 1).
As to claim 5, Lee et al teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising determining, from the image including the predetermined shaped region, a focal length of image capture apparatus that captured the image; and calculating one or more pose angles of the predetermined shaped region representing a rotation of the predetermined shaped region in the image relative to the image capture apparatus (section 4.2 teaches the pose estimation using the visual SLAM using rectangular features; figure 8) .
As to claim 6, Lee et al teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined shaped region substantially rectangular where at least two sides are not parallel, and the rendered corrected shaped region corrects the geometric distortion causing the at least two sides to be substantially parallel using the estimated aspect ratio(section 4.2 teaches the pose estimation using the visual SLAM using rectangular features; figure 8).
As to claim 7, Lee et al teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined shape region is a planar rectangular region, and the determined first set of points identify respective corners of the planar rectangular region in the two-dimensional projection( the camera pose is estimated using the reconstructed rectangle as input so the performance of pose estimation; section 4.2) .
As to claim 8, Lee et al teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein rendering the corrected predetermined shaped region rendered is a rendered rectangular form of the two-dimensional projection of the planar rectangular region located in three dimensions corrected for geometric projection distortions in a rectangular form.( to separate the dependency on the rectangle extraction algorithm the rectangle was extracted as quadrilateral projected onto the camera using the ground truth positions of the rectangle center provided by the pinhole camera model and the simulator, section 4.1)
The limitation of claims 9-16 has been addressed above.
Contact Information
NANCY . BITAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2664
/NANCY BITAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664