Detailed Action
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s reply received 2/24/26. Claims 1-14 are pending and considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, and 9 include “preferable” limitations. These preferable limitations are narrower than the preceding broad limitations. For example claim 1 and 9 use the phrase “of an animal, preferably a human”. Claim 3 has several narrower dose ranges for the vitamins. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 1-6 recite intended uses (e.g. “for the use”) of the composition without providing additional structural limitations to the combination. These include the following:
wherein said use comprises delivering the vitamin(s) to the large intestine (claim 1).
for use according to claim 1, wherein the vitamin is delivered to the large intestine by a delayed-release formulation (claim 2).
for use according to claim 1, wherein said use comprises administering to the animal a formulation comprising (claim 3).
for use according to claim 1, wherein the vitamin is co-administered with Bifidobacterium animalis ssp. lactis (claim 4).
for use according to claim 1, wherein the animal, including a human, is experiencing at least one condition selected from the group consisting of: irritable bowel syndrome, functional intestinal gas symptoms, diarrhea, constipation, abdominal pain and bloating, upper respiratory symptoms, airway infections, colonic inflammation, colon cancer, liver damage, loss of nutrients, and folate deficiency (claim 5).
for use according to claim 1, wherein the Bifidobacterium animalis ssp. lactis is Bifidobacterium animalis ssp. lactis BB-12 (claim 6).
These intended uses do not appear to recite any structural limitations to the claims and merely state the purpose of the invention. This makes it difficult to determine the metes and bounds of the claim and how they further limit their parent claims. Also, these limitations are not afforded significant patentable weight since the body of the claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the structural limitations of the invention (MPEP 2111.02 II). Therefore since compositions are defined by their components and not by their intended use any composition that contains the ingredients listed in claims will inherently meet the intended uses (MPEP 2112.01 II).
Claim Interpretation
Art reading on the structural limitations of the claims will also read on the intended uses and treating the various diseases recited in the claims. This follows the guidance in MPEP 2112.01 II where if the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties including its ability to treat the claimed diseases.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akin et al. (Mljekarstvo 2015).
Akin et al. teach a probiotic ice cream fortified with 0.025-0.1 % w/w ascorbic acid (vitamin C) and Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12 (see Abstract, Figure 2, pg. 123 col 1, top). Ice cream is considered an oral dosage form. then eating the ice cream will qualify as co-administering these compounds to the large intestine.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is anticipated by Akin et al.
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Penhasi et al. (WO 2012/077038).
Penhasi et al. at teach the following delayed release capsule in Figure 2:
Label #1 on this figure represents cores of probiotic bacteria and other excipients (page 12, lines 20-25). The other layers (Labels #2-4) are coatings to delay the release of the probiotic in the gastrointestinal system (pg. 12, lines 20-30, pg. 37 lines 19-30 and pg. 39 lines 5-10) when combined with food (pg. 11, lines 25-31). The probiotic cores comprise Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12 (pg. 13, line 20 and Example 1) with a stabilizer including the antioxidant ascorbic acid (Vitamin C) (pg. 15, lines 14-15) which is co-administered when consumed. They teach when consumed, probiotics will inhibit pathogenic bacteria and parasites to reduce diarrhea, incidence of colon cancer, and improve constipation (pg. 1, lines 10-25). While they do not expressly teach increasing the abundance of Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12, this is an inherent result of the active steps of administering this composition when used to treat diarrhea, colon cancer, and constipation.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is anticipated by Penhasi et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Akin et al. (Mljekarstvo 2015) in view of Penhasi et al. (WO 2012/077038).
Akin et al. teach a probiotic ice cream fortified with 0.025-0.1 % w/w ascorbic acid (vitamin C) and Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12 (Akin, see Abstract, Figure 2, pg. 123 col 1, top). They teach ice cream is an excellent vehicle to deliver probiotics to the subject (Akin, Introduction, 1st paragraph). Ice cream is considered an oral dosage form. then eating the ice cream will qualify as co-administering these compounds to the large intestine.
What Akin et al does not expressly teach is using their ice cream with Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12 and vitamin C to treat conditions including diarrhea. However this would be obvious in view of Penhasi et al. who teach probiotics out compete harmful organisms in the gastrointestinal tract to treat diarrhea, colon cancer, and constipation (Penhasi, pg. 1 lines 10-25). Since Akin et al. already teach ice cream is an excellent vehicle to delivery probiotics to the gastrointestinal tract, it would be obvious to use their ice cream to treat diarrhea, colon cancer, and constipation since Penhasi et al. teach these are common conditions treated by probiotics. While they do not expressly teach increasing the abundance of Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12, this is an inherent result of the active steps of administering this composition when used to treat diarrhea, colon cancer, and constipation.
One of ordinary skill would recognize this as simply applying a known composition whose active ingredients are already taught to treat the claim conditions.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/871908. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims teach a composition comprising vitamin C and Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12 to treat various aliments of the digestive system.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Additional References Cited
Chaikham et al. and Tapia et al. are cited as relevant prior art with teachings close in scope to the claims.
In response to this office action the applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure, including the claims (MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06).
CONTACT INFORMATION
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699