DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed 12/04/2024. Claims 1 – 13 are pending and have
been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0011992, hereinafter “Zhao”).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao teaches
A server (see Zhao Paragraph [0025], server) comprising:
one or more processors (see Zhao Paragraph [0008], processor); and
one or more memories storing instructions that, when executed, configures the one or more processors (see Zhao Paragraph [0008], a device include a memory and a processor is provided. The memory may store instructions. The processor may be configured to execute the instructions to: obtain image data; analyze the image data to detect occurrence of events; generate a first signal indicating detection of a first event; and perform an operation upon detection of a first occurrence of a second event after generation of the first signal), to:
receive a series of images including at least one user captured by an image capture apparatus (see Zhao Paragraph [0008], a device include a memory and a processor is provided. The memory may store instructions. The processor may be configured to execute the instructions to: obtain image data, Paragraph [0026], Imaging device 110 may be a digital camera, a web camera, a smartphone, a tablet, a laptop, or a video gaming console equipped with a web camera. In operation, imaging device 110 may sense and monitor various types of information of an environment, such as a home, hospital, office building, parking lot, etc. For example, imaging device 110 may include an image sensor configured to capture images or videos (i.e., visual information) of the environment, Paragraph [0028], Consistent with the disclosed embodiments, a user may perform gesture commands to control imaging device 110. For example, the captured images and videos may be analyzed to determine whether a user (hereinafter referred to as “first user”) has performed certain predetermined gestures in front of imaging device 110, Paragraph [0036], Subsequently, the first user may perform the gesture, which is captured by image sensor 214 and detected by gesture detecting module 204, and Figure 7, in which image sensor captures image of user performing gesture);
provide a user interface that enables initiation of an online meeting in response to detecting, in the received series of images, that one of the at least one users has performed a predetermined gesture indicative of the user being physically present in a particular space (see Zhao Paragraph [0045], Referring to FIG. 5, imaging device 110 may be installed at Location 510, e.g., in a house, a classroom, a hospital room, etc., and configured to record images or videos representing scenes at Location 510. User 511 is also at Location 510 and may interact with and/or control imaging device 110 by gestures. Moreover, user device 150 may be a mobile terminal (e.g., a smart phone) carried by user 521. Both user 521 and user device 150 are at Location 520, remote from Location 510. In one example, user 511 may control imaging device 110 to stream video signals to server 130 by performing certain predetermined gesture. Such gesture also causes imaging device 110 to generate a notification and transmit the notification to user device 150 directly or via server 130. User 511 may initiate a video conference with user 521 by performing a predetermined gesture in front of imaging device 110. Upon detecting and recognizing the gesture, imaging device 110 may generate a notification inviting user 521 to have a video conference with user 511. User device 150 may receive and play the notification, such that user 521 may respond to the notification by operating user device 150 to establish a connection with imaging device 110. This way, imaging device 110 may stream videos representative of the scene at Location 510 to user device 150 directly or via server 130, Paragraph [0028], Consistent with the disclosed embodiments, a user may perform gesture commands to control imaging device 110. For example, the captured images and videos may be analyzed to determine whether a user (hereinafter referred to as “first user”) has performed certain predetermined gestures in front of imaging device 110. Depending on the gestures detected, imaging device 110 may perform various operations, such as generating a notification (or alert) and sending the notification to server 130, which may forward the notification to user device 150. In some embodiments, imaging device 110 may also send the notification to user device 150 directly, without involvement of server 130).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhao teaches
The server according to claim 1, wherein execution of the stored instructions further configures the one or more processors to:
determine if the received series of images includes a user performing the predetermined gesture (see Zhao Paragraph [0028], the captured images and videos may be analyzed to determine whether a user (hereinafter referred to as “first user”) has performed certain predetermined gestures in front of imaging device 110); and
notify a video processing application that the predetermined gesture is present in the received series of images (see Zhao Paragraph [0028], Depending on the gestures detected, imaging device 110 may perform various operations, such as generating a notification (or alert) and sending the notification to server 130, and Paragraph [0051], In step 806, imaging device 110 may determine whether the recognized gesture matches a preset gesture. For example, imaging device 110 may query a database storing features of a plurality of preset gestures. When the extracted features of the recognized gesture match those of a first preset gesture, imaging device 110 concludes the recognized gesture matches the first preset gesture).
Regarding Claim 6, it is rejected similarly as Claim 1. The method can be found in Zhao (Abstract, method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0011992, hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0186685, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhao teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressively teach
The server according to claim 1, wherein execution of the stored instructions further configures the one or more processors to:
receive a request, from a client device, to initiate a presence detection processing;
initiate a countdown time for analyzing the received series of images;
in response to determining that a predetermined physical gesture has been performed prior to the countdown expiring, generate a message indicating physical presence is detected.
However, Zhang teaches
The server according to claim 1, wherein execution of the stored instructions further configures the one or more processors to:
receive a request, from a client device, to initiate a presence detection processing (see Zhang Paragraph [0031], The client device 302 has an associated video camera that captures a live video of a space in front of the client device 302. The camera is oriented to capture at least the head and a portion of the upper body of a user 312 standing at the client device 302. When the liveness detection routine is initiated, the client interface component 204 begins receiving live video data 306 obtained by the client device 302 (if the video data 306 is not already being received). The video captured by the client device 302 is also rendered on the display screen of the client device 302, providing visual feedback to the user 312 during the liveness detection process, Paragraph [0057], FIG. 10a illustrates a first part of an example methodology 1000a for verifying physical presence of a live person at a client device or information terminal. Initially, at 1002, a liveness detection test for verifying presence of a live person at a client device is initiated);
initiate a countdown time for analyzing the received series of images (see Zhang Paragraph [0036], the system 202 may place a time limit on this waiting stage such that, if the image of the user's head does not position itself within the box 406 prior to expiration of the time limit, the system 202 exits the liveness detection routine and renders a time-out notification on the client device 302 without verifying liveness. Alternatively, if the image analysis component 210 determines that the image of the user's head has moved inside the box 406—as shown in FIG. 5—prior to expiration of the waiting time limit, the system 202 enters a capturing stage during which a sequence of frames of the video are captured for analysis);
in response to determining that a predetermined physical gesture has been performed prior to the countdown expiring, generate a message indicating physical presence is detected (see Zhang Paragraph [0028], The image analysis component 210 can be configured to analyze the sequence of frames captured by the capture component 208 to verify that the head pose of the image of the user's face is consistent with the location of the box relative to the original location of the user's face within the frame of the video. The image analysis component 210 can also verify that levels of brightness—or changes in brightness—measured from the image of the face within the captured frames are consistent with the sequence of bright and dark flashes generated while the sequence of frames were being captured. The image analysis component 210 confirms that the image of the face within the video represents a live person currently present at the client device if these tests yield positive results. The output component 212 can be configured to generate an informational or instruction output that either verifies liveness of the person at the client device or indicates that liveness could not be confirmed, Paragraph [0036], the system 202 may place a time limit on this waiting stage such that, if the image of the user's head does not position itself within the box 406 prior to expiration of the time limit, the system 202 exits the liveness detection routine and renders a time-out notification on the client device 302 without verifying liveness. Alternatively, if the image analysis component 210 determines that the image of the user's head has moved inside the box 406—as shown in FIG. 5—prior to expiration of the waiting time limit, the system 202 enters a capturing stage during which a sequence of frames of the video are captured for analysis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a method that detects a user’s presence through a predefined gesture in a camera image stream and automatically enables the start of an online meeting (as taught in Zhao), with a device that starts a presence check, analyzes images, and confirms physical presence if a gesture is detected before a time limit (as taught in Zhang), the motivation being to verify the physical presence of a live person at a client device or terminal to prevent unauthorized or unintended access (see Zhang Paragraphs [0021] and [0022]).
Regarding Claim 7, it is rejected similarly as Claim 2. The method can be found in Zhao (Abstract, method).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhao in view of Zhang teaches
The method according to claim 7, further comprising:
determine if the received series of images includes a user performing the predetermined gesture (see Zhao Paragraph [0028], the captured images and videos may be analyzed to determine whether a user (hereinafter referred to as “first user”) has performed certain predetermined gestures in front of imaging device 110); and
notify a video processing application that the predetermined gesture is present in the received series of images (see Zhao Paragraph [0028], Depending on the gestures detected, imaging device 110 may perform various operations, such as generating a notification (or alert) and sending the notification to server 130, and Paragraph [0051], In step 806, imaging device 110 may determine whether the recognized gesture matches a preset gesture. For example, imaging device 110 may query a database storing features of a plurality of preset gestures. When the extracted features of the recognized gesture match those of a first preset gesture, imaging device 110 concludes the recognized gesture matches the first preset gesture).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0011992, hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of Jain (U.S. Patent No. 10,218,695).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhao teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressively teach
The server according to claim 1, wherein execution of the stored instructions further configures the one or more processors to:
obtain, in response to determining that the predetermined gesture has been performed, a meeting specific access code; and
provide the obtained meeting specific access to a client device in communication with the server.
However, Jain teaches
The server according to claim 1, wherein execution of the stored instructions further configures the one or more processors to:
obtain, in response to determining that the predetermined gesture has been performed, a meeting specific access code (see Jain Column 4, lines 39 – 44, The system may then require authentication of the user's identity. Upon receiving an indication that the user has been authenticated, the system may generate an access code associated with an account of the user and transmit data representing the access code to the application running on the user's device, and Column 24, lines 17 – 21, web server 110 may receive a username and an attempted access code from input device 104 via network 106 and may send the username and an attempted access code to authentication device 120 via local network 116); and
provide the obtained meeting specific access to a client device in communication with the server (see Jain Column 4, lines 39 – 44, The system may then require authentication of the user's identity. Upon receiving an indication that the user has been authenticated, the system may generate an access code associated with an account of the user and transmit data representing the access code to the application running on the user's device, and Column 24, lines 17 – 21, web server 110 may receive a username and an attempted access code from input device 104 via network 106 and may send the username and an attempted access code to authentication device 120 via local network 116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a method that detects a user’s presence through a predefined gesture in a camera image stream and automatically enables the start of an online meeting (as taught in Zhao), with a system that upon user authentication, obtains an access code and sends it to a client device connected to a server (as taught in Jain), the motivation being to allow for improved security of user data (see Jain Column 3, line 6).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhao in view of Jain teaches
The server according to claim 4, wherein execution of the stored instructions further configures the one or more processors to:
automatically redirect the client device to a meeting room user interface that enables control of an online meeting (see Zhao Paragraph [0045], Such gesture also causes imaging device 110 to generate a notification and transmit the notification to user device 150 directly or via server 130. The notification may prompt user 521 to play the streamed video. In another example, user 511 may initiate a video conference with user 521 by performing a predetermined gesture in front of imaging device 110. Upon detecting and recognizing the gesture, imaging device 110 may generate a notification inviting user 521 to have a video conference with user 511. User device 150 may receive and play the notification, such that user 521 may respond to the notification by operating user device 150 to establish a connection with imaging device 110. This way, imaging device 110 may stream videos representative of the scene at Location 510 to user device 150 directly or via server 130, Paragraph [0027], Imaging device 110 may treat the captured media information in various ways. For example, imaging device 110 may locally display the captured images and/or videos in real time to a user of imaging device 110. As another example, imaging device 110 may live stream the images and/or videos to display devices located elsewhere).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0011992, hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0186685, hereinafter “Zhang”) and Jain (U.S. Patent No. 10,218,695).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhao in view of Zhang teaches all the limitations of claim 7, but does not expressively teach
The method according to claim 7, further comprising:
obtaining, in response to determining that the predetermined gesture has been performed, a meeting specific access code; and
providing the obtained meeting specific access to a client device in communication with the server.
However, Jain teaches
The method according to claim 7, further comprising:
obtaining, in response to determining that the predetermined gesture has been performed, a meeting specific access code (see Jain Column 4, lines 39 – 44, The system may then require authentication of the user's identity. Upon receiving an indication that the user has been authenticated, the system may generate an access code associated with an account of the user and transmit data representing the access code to the application running on the user's device, and Column 24, lines 17 – 21, web server 110 may receive a username and an attempted access code from input device 104 via network 106 and may send the username and an attempted access code to authentication device 120 via local network 116); and
providing the obtained meeting specific access to a client device in communication with the server (see Jain Column 4, lines 39 – 44, The system may then require authentication of the user's identity. Upon receiving an indication that the user has been authenticated, the system may generate an access code associated with an account of the user and transmit data representing the access code to the application running on the user's device, and Column 24, lines 17 – 21, web server 110 may receive a username and an attempted access code from input device 104 via network 106 and may send the username and an attempted access code to authentication device 120 via local network 116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a method that detects a user’s presence through a predefined gesture in a camera image stream and automatically enables the start of an online meeting (as taught in Zhao in view of Zhang), with a system that upon user authentication, obtains an access code and sends it to a client device connected to a server (as taught in Jain), the motivation being to allow for improved security of user data (see Jain Column 3, line 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhao in view of Zhang and Jain teaches
The method according to claim 9, further comprising:
automatically redirecting the client device to a meeting room user interface that enables control of an online meeting (see Zhao Paragraph [0045], Such gesture also causes imaging device 110 to generate a notification and transmit the notification to user device 150 directly or via server 130. The notification may prompt user 521 to play the streamed video. In another example, user 511 may initiate a video conference with user 521 by performing a predetermined gesture in front of imaging device 110. Upon detecting and recognizing the gesture, imaging device 110 may generate a notification inviting user 521 to have a video conference with user 511. User device 150 may receive and play the notification, such that user 521 may respond to the notification by operating user device 150 to establish a connection with imaging device 110. This way, imaging device 110 may stream videos representative of the scene at Location 510 to user device 150 directly or via server 130, Paragraph [0027], Imaging device 110 may treat the captured media information in various ways. For example, imaging device 110 may locally display the captured images and/or videos in real time to a user of imaging device 110. As another example, imaging device 110 may live stream the images and/or videos to display devices located elsewhere).
Claims 11 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0011992, hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of Ittelson et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0385857, hereinafter “Ittelson”).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhao teaches
A client device that is configured to communicate with a server configured to control an online meeting between users present in a physical space and at least one remote user (see Zhao Paragraph [0025], FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary user-machine interaction system 100. Referring to FIG. 1, a system 100 may include an imaging device 110, a server 130, and a user device 150. The components of system 100 may communicate via network 170, and Paragraph [0045], FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram illustrating an implementation of user-machine interaction system 100, according to an exemplary embodiment. Referring to FIG. 5, imaging device 110 may be installed at Location 510, e.g., in a house, a classroom, a hospital room, etc., and configured to record images or videos representing scenes at Location 510. User 511 is also at Location 510 and may interact with and/or control imaging device 110 by gestures. Moreover, user device 150 may be a mobile terminal (e.g., a smart phone) carried by user 521. Both user 521 and user device 150 are at Location 520, remote from Location 510), the client device comprising:
a display (see Zhao Paragraph [0042], display);
one or more memories storing instructions (see Zhao Paragraph [0040], Memory 304 is configured to store one or more computer programs to be executed by processor 302 to perform exemplary functions disclosed, and Paragraph [0008], a device include a memory and a processor is provided. The memory may store instructions); and
one or more processors that, upon execution of the stored instructions (see Zhao Paragraph [0008], The processor may be configured to execute the instructions to: obtain image data; analyze the image data to detect occurrence of events; generate a first signal indicating detection of a first event; and perform an operation upon detection of a first occurrence of a second event after generation of the first signal), are configured to:
automatically redirect the client device to the server controlling an online meeting when the server determines that the user in the physical space and who initiated the online meeting has performed a predetermined physical gesture (see Zhao Paragraph [0045], Referring to FIG. 5, imaging device 110 may be installed at Location 510, e.g., in a house, a classroom, a hospital room, etc., and configured to record images or videos representing scenes at Location 510. User 511 is also at Location 510 and may interact with and/or control imaging device 110 by gestures. Moreover, user device 150 may be a mobile terminal (e.g., a smart phone) carried by user 521. Both user 521 and user device 150 are at Location 520, remote from Location 510. In one example, user 511 may control imaging device 110 to stream video signals to server 130 by performing certain predetermined gesture. Such gesture also causes imaging device 110 to generate a notification and transmit the notification to user device 150 directly or via server 130. The notification may prompt user 521 to play the streamed video. In another example, user 511 may initiate a video conference with user 521 by performing a predetermined gesture in front of imaging device 110. Upon detecting and recognizing the gesture, imaging device 110 may generate a notification inviting user 521 to have a video conference with user 511. User device 150 may receive and play the notification, such that user 521 may respond to the notification by operating user device 150 to establish a connection with imaging device 110. This way, imaging device 110 may stream videos representative of the scene at Location 510 to user device 150 directly or via server 130, Paragraph [0027], Imaging device 110 may treat the captured media information in various ways. For example, imaging device 110 may locally display the captured images and/or videos in real time to a user of imaging device 110. As another example, imaging device 110 may live stream the images and/or videos to display devices located elsewhere).
Zhao does not expressively teach
display, on the display, a user interface enabling a user of the client device to initiate an online meeting controlled by the server;
However, Ittelson teaches
display, on the display, a user interface enabling a user of the client device to initiate an online meeting controlled by the server (see Ittelson Paragraph [0018], To create a meeting, a person (referred to as the “host” or “meeting host”) accesses the videoconferencing system, schedules a new meeting, and identifies one or more other people to invite to the meeting. In response to the host creating the meeting, the videoconference system establishes the meeting by creating a meeting identifier and, if desired, a passcode or other access control information. The host can then send the meeting identifier (and access control information) to each of the invitees, such as by email. Once the meeting is started, the invitees can then access and join the meeting using the meeting identifier and any provided access control information. The initial, or main host can, in some systems, make another participant a co-host. For purposes of the discussion herein, the term “host” encompasses hosts and co-hosts. Hosts can manage and control the videoconferencing session, Paragraph [0044], the video conference provider 210 employs multiple different servers (or groups of servers) to provide different aspects of video conference functionality, thereby enabling the various client devices to create and participate in video conference meetings, and Paragraph [0068], These graphical user interfaces can be displayed, as examples, on client devices 140-170 of FIG. 1 or client devices 220, 230, or 250 of FIG. 2);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a method that detects a user’s presence through a predefined gesture in a camera image stream and automatically enables the start of an online meeting (as taught in Zhao), with displaying on a client device a user interface enabling the client device to initiate an online meeting controlled by a server (as taught in Ittelson), the motivation being to provide user control and accessibility in an online meeting by allowing users to manually start a meeting through the interface (see Ittelson Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhao in view of Ittelson teaches
The client device according to claim 11, wherein execution of the stored instructions further configures the one or more processors to:
generate a user interface displayed on the display including a meeting identifier specific to the meeting initiated in the physical space (see Ittelson Paragraph [0018], To create a meeting, a person (referred to as the “host” or “meeting host”) accesses the videoconferencing system, schedules a new meeting, and identifies one or more other people to invite to the meeting. In response to the host creating the meeting, the videoconference system establishes the meeting by creating a meeting identifier and, if desired, a passcode or other access control information. The host can then send the meeting identifier (and access control information) to each of the invitees, such as by email. Once the meeting is started, the invitees can then access and join the meeting using the meeting identifier and any provided access control information. The initial, or main host can, in some systems, make another participant a co-host. For purposes of the discussion herein, the term “host” encompasses hosts and co-hosts. Hosts can manage and control the videoconferencing session); and
enable the user of the client device to provide the meeting identifier to one or more remote users allowing the one or more remote users to join the online meeting (see Ittelson Paragraph [0018], To create a meeting, a person (referred to as the “host” or “meeting host”) accesses the videoconferencing system, schedules a new meeting, and identifies one or more other people to invite to the meeting. In response to the host creating the meeting, the videoconference system establishes the meeting by creating a meeting identifier and, if desired, a passcode or other access control information. The host can then send the meeting identifier (and access control information) to each of the invitees, such as by email. Once the meeting is started, the invitees can then access and join the meeting using the meeting identifier and any provided access control information. The initial, or main host can, in some systems, make another participant a co-host. For purposes of the discussion herein, the term “host” encompasses hosts and co-hosts. Hosts can manage and control the videoconferencing session).
Regarding Claim 13, it is rejected similarly as Claim 11. The method can be found in Zhao (Abstract, method).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/CARISSA A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691