DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on December 4, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-19 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 13 recites the broad recitation “a securing means”, and the claim also recites “in particular a screw” AND “in the form of a latch” which are two independent and narrower statements of the securing means range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-14, 16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated KRABUS (EP 3567703 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KRABUS teaches:
A stator device for an electric machine[abstract], having:
a stator (Fig 6; 10) (3), having a stator core with a longitudinal axis(Fig 6; 50), a first end face and a second end face which is situated axially opposite the first end face with respect to the longitudinal axis(these properties are innate of annular stator), and having a stator winding (Fig 6; 11)which forms a winding head (Fig 6; 12)on the first end face and has a plurality of connection portions (Fig 6; 15, 16, 17)extending beyond the winding head(Fig 6; 12); and
a connection device (Fig 5; 30) which has an isolating body (Fig 5; 40) which has a plate shaped base portion (Fig 5; 40b)with a first side remote (upper relative to axial 50)from the winding head (Fig 5; 12)and a second side (lower relative to axial 50) facing the winding head (Fig 5; 12)and is designed to connect the connection portions(Fig 6; 30) to an electrical conductor(Fig 6;15, 16, 17)[0051-0052];
wherein the isolating body (Fig 5; 40) has a plurality of holding elements (Fig 5; 45), which protrude from the base portion (Fig 5; 40b) on the second side and are designed to hold the isolating body radially on the winding head (Fig 5; 12).
Regarding claim 2, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 1:
the holding elements(Fig 5; 45) comprise holding elements of a first type (Fig 5; 45) which are elastically deformable (typical insulating material (resins or plastics) are elastically deformable) at least in sections such that they exert a restoring force for holding the isolating body(Fig 5; 40) on the winding head(Fig 5; 12).
Regarding claim 6, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 1:
wherein a plurality of legs(Fig 9; L) which rest on the stator core (Fig 9; 10)and position the base portion (Fig 9; 40b) at a distance from the stator (Fig 9; 10)are arranged on the second side(downward of 50) of the base portion(Fig 9; 50b).
Regarding claim 8, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 1:
wherein the connection device (Fig 8; 30)has a star point conductor and the isolating body (Fig 8; 40) has guide elements (Fig 8; 42) by way of which a movement of the star point conductor along the longitudinal direction thereof and/or transversely to the longitudinal direction thereof is able to be impeded(guide 42 increase the creepage distance by protrusion thus transverse movement is impeded).
Regarding claim 9, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 1:
wherein the connection device (Fig 5; 30) also has:
an electrically isolating second isolating body (Fig 5; 40a)which has a plate-shaped base portion with a first side and a second side which is situated opposite the first side and facing the first side of the base portion of the first isolating body(Fig 5; 40b), and
an electrically conductive connection element (Fig 5; 20) which has a securing means (Fig 2-4; 23) for electrically conductive and mechanical connection to the electrical conductor (Fig 5; 30)and is arranged on the first side of the second isolating body(Fig 5; 40a).
Regarding claim 10, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 9:
wherein the connection element (Fig 5; 20)has two limb portions (Fig 2-4; 22) and a connecting portion (Fig 2-4; 23d) which connects the two limb portions (Fig 2-4; 22) at least in sections, wherein two connection portions (Fig 6;15, 16, 17)of the stator winding (Fig 6; 11)are electrically conductively and mechanically connected to each of the limb portions(Fig 2-4; 22) of one of the connection elements (Fig 5; 20)in order to form an electrically conductive connection of the connection portions(Fig 6;15, 16, 17) to the electrical conductor via the connection element(Fig 5; 20)[0035-0036].
Regarding claim 11, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 10:
wherein the base portion of the second isolating body (Fig 5; 40a)has a recess (Fig 5; 41)in which the two connection portions (Fig 6;15, 16, 17)are arranged.
Regarding claim 12, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 9:
wherein the first isolating body has a plurality of securing portions (Fig 5; S)which protrude from the base portion (Fig 5; 40b)of the first isolating body in the direction facing the first isolating body and are designed to secure the second(Fig 5; 40a) isolating body to the first isolating body(Fig 5; 40b)(the clips secure the first 40b and second 40a isolating bodies shown in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 13, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 12:
at least some of the securing portions (Fig 5; S)are in the form of a latching element (shown in Fig 5)which penetrates a passage opening of the base portion of the second isolating body(Fig 5; 40a) and engages behind the base portion of the second isolating body(Fig 5; 40a) in order to secure same on the first side thereof
Regarding claim 14, KRABUS teaches:
An electric drive for a vehicle[0009], having:
a stator device(Fig 6; 10) as claimed in claim 1,
a rotor mounted so as to be able to rotate with respect to the stator device such that the stator device and the rotor form an electric machine [0006],
a converter for the electrical power supply of the stator winding [0006]and
the electrical conductor via which the converter is electrically conductively connected to the connection portion[0007].
Regarding claim 16, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 2:
wherein a plurality of legs(Fig 9; L) which rest on the stator core (Fig 9; 10)and position the base portion (Fig 9; 40b) at a distance from the stator (Fig 9; 10)are arranged on the second side(downward of 50) of the base portion(Fig 9; 50b).
Regarding claim 18, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 2:
wherein the connection device (Fig 8; 30)has a star point conductor and the isolating body (Fig 8; 40) has guide elements (Fig 8; 42) by way of which a movement of the star point conductor along the longitudinal direction thereof and/or transversely to the longitudinal direction thereof is able to be impeded(guide 42 increase the creepage distance by protrusion thus transverse movement is impeded).
Regarding claim 19, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 2:
wherein the connection device (Fig 5; 30) also has:
an electrically isolating second isolating body (Fig 5; 40a)which has a plate-shaped base portion with a first side and a second side which is situated opposite the first side and facing the first side of the base portion of the first isolating body(Fig 5; 40b), and
an electrically conductive connection element (Fig 5; 20) which has a securing means (Fig 2-4; 23) for electrically conductive and mechanical connection to the electrical conductor (Fig 5; 30)and is arranged on the first side of the second isolating body(Fig 5; 40a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRABUS (EP 3567703 A1) in view of YAMAGUCHI (US 20150188376 A1).
In regards to claim 3, KRABUS teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 2.
KRABUS does not teach:
the holding elements comprise holding elements of a second type which are designed to absorb a counterforce of the restoring force.
YAMAGUCHI teaches:
the holding elements (Fig 9; 232)comprise holding elements of a first type (Fig 9; 264)
the holding elements (Fig 9; 232) comprise holding elements of a second type (Fig 9; 264’)which are designed to absorb a counterforce of the restoring force(the two prongs squeeze around the winding head as shown in Fig 9, making the force and counterforce innate to the structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KRABUS by using the busbar retaining elements taught by YAMAGUCHI, specifically the holding element of a second type in order to improve the reliability of the motor by providing the bus bar and retaining the bus bar with a resin member[0004 YAMAGUCHI].
In regards to claim 4, KRABUS in view of YUMAGUCHI, teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 3.
KRABUS does not teach:
the holding elements of the first and second type are arranged on opposite radial sides of the winding head.
YAMAGUCHI teaches:
the holding elements of the first(Fig 9; 264) and second (Fig 9; 264’)type are arranged on opposite radial sides of the winding head (shown in Fig 9).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KRABUS (EP 3567703 A1) in view of WITTSTADT (US 20210036570 A1).
In regards to claim 7, KRABUS, teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 1.
KRABUS does not teach:
wherein the base portion has a plurality of passage openings through which the connection portions are passed.
WITTSTADT teaches:
wherein the base portion (Fig 1; 2) has a plurality of passage openings(Fig 1; 3) through which the connection portions are passed(Fig 2; 55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KRABUS by modifying the base portion to include passage holes as taught by WITTSTADT, in order to which facilitates handling and results in a better, more uniform transmission of assembly forces to the circumferential surface[0019 WITTSTADT].
In regards to claim 17, KRABUS, teaches the stator device as claimed in claim 2.
KRABUS does not teach:
wherein the base portion has a plurality of passage openings through which the connection portions are passed.
WITTSTADT teaches:
wherein the base portion (Fig 1; 2) has a plurality of passage openings(Fig 1; 3) through which the connection portions are passed(Fig 2; 55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KRABUS by modifying the base portion to include passage holes as taught by WITTSTADT, in order to which facilitates handling and results in a better, more uniform transmission of assembly forces to the circumferential surface[0019 WITTSTADT].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art teaches:
the holding elements of the first type
However, the prior art does not teach:
the first type each have a frame and elastically deformable tabs formed within the frame which are mounted on the frame and exert the restoring force on the winding head. (The underlined is allowable subject matter.)
Claim 5 and 15 are objected to, and not rejected, because the limitation of the frame which are mounted on the frame and exert the restoring force on the winding head is too specific which makes it novel.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/N.L.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834