DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasai (US 4765038 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kasai discloses a zipper (watertight slide fastener), comprising:
a chain tooth mounting part (figure 1), comprising a first mounting belt (10, slide fastener stringer) and a second mounting belt (11, slide fastener stringer);
a plurality of first chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements) mounted on the first mounting belt (10, slide fastener stringer), each of the plurality of first chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements) comprising a first meshing part (30, coupling head) and a second meshing part (28, support portion), the first meshing part (30, coupling head) being located on an outer side of the second meshing part (28, support portion), and a first water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) being provided on two sides of a meshing end (27, coupling portion) of the first meshing part (30, coupling head); and
a plurality of second chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements) mounted on the second mounting belt (11, slide fastener stringer), each of the plurality of second chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements) comprising a third meshing part (30, coupling head) and a fourth meshing part (28, support portion), the fourth meshing part (28, support portion) being located on an outer side of the third meshing part (30, coupling head), and a second water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) being provided on two sides of a meshing end (27, coupling portion) of the third meshing part (30, coupling head);
wherein the plurality of first chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements) and the plurality of second chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements) have a meshing position (column 4, lines 5-9) and an avoidance position (column 1, line 65 - column 2, line 1), and when the plurality of first chain tooth parts and the plurality of second chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements) are in the meshing position, the plurality of first chain tooth parts and the plurality of second chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements) are meshed in a staggered manner (figure 1), and the first water-retaining convex flange and the second water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) corresponding to the first water-retaining convex flange (23, coupling elements) abut against each other (figure 1) in a thickness direction of the zipper.
Regarding claim 2, Kasai discloses that the first water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) and the first meshing part (30, coupling head) are integrally formed (figure 4), and the second water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) and the third meshing part (30) are integrally formed (figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Kasai discloses that the two sides of the meshing end (27, coupling portion) of the first meshing part (30, coupling head) protrude beyond two sides of a meshing end (27, coupling portion) of the second meshing part (28, support portion) to form the first water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) on the two sides of the first meshing part (30, coupling head).
Regarding claim 4, Kasai discloses that an outer peripheral contour (figure 4) of the meshing end (27, coupling portion) of the first meshing part (30, coupling head) protrudes beyond an outer peripheral contour (figure 4) of a meshing end (27, coupling portion) of a second meshing part (28, support portion) to form the first water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) on the two sides of the first meshing part (30, coupling head).
Regarding claim 5, Kasai discloses that the two sides of the meshing end (27, coupling portion) of the third meshing part (30, coupling head) protrude beyond two sides of a meshing end (27, coupling portion) of the fourth meshing part (28, support portion) to form the second water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) on the two sides of the third meshing part (30, coupling head).
Regarding claim 6, Kasai discloses that an outer peripheral contour (figure 4) of the meshing end (27, coupling portion) of the third meshing part (30, coupling head) protrudes beyond an outer peripheral contour (figure 4) of a meshing end (27, coupling portion) of the fourth meshing part (28, support portion), to form the second water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) on the two sides of the third meshing part (30, coupling head).
Regarding claim 7, Kasai discloses that any of the first (30, coupling head) and second meshing parts (28, support portion) comprises a body (figure 4) and a meshing end (27, coupling portion) provided on the body (26, leg portion), the meshing end (27, coupling portion) comprises a meshing convex part (figure 4) and two meshing concave parts (37, recesses), and the two meshing concave parts (37, recesses) are located on two sides of the meshing convex part (figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Kasai discloses that an edge of the first mounting belt (10, slide fastener stringer) is provided with a first belt rib (17, beaded edge), and the first belt rib (17, beaded edge) extends along a length direction (column 2, lines 55-57, and figure 4) of the first mounting belt (10, slide fastener stringer), and an edge of the second mounting belt (11, slide fastener stringer) is provided with a second belt rib (17, beaded edge), and the second belt rib (17, beaded edge) extends along a length direction (column 2, lines 55-57, and figure 4) of the second mounting belt (11, slide fastener stringer).
Regarding claim 9, Kasai discloses that the zipper (watertight slide fastener) further comprises a slider (column 3, lines 43-46), and the slider is movably mounted between the plurality of first chain tooth parts and the plurality of second chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements), and is configured to switch the plurality of first chain tooth parts and the plurality of second chain tooth parts (23, coupling elements) between the meshing position and the avoidance position (column 3, lines 40-46 and column 4, lines 5-14).
Regarding claim 10, Kasai discloses that the first water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) is a rib formed (figure 4) on the first meshing part (30, coupling head), and the second water-retaining convex flange (upper wings of 37, recess) is a rib (figure 4) formed on the third meshing part (30, coupling head).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lyu (US D979886 S) teaches a zipper tooth with protruding flanges.
Mikuma (WO 2014184851 A1) teaches a waterproof zipper with teeth having protruding flanges.
Fujii (TW 201402034 A) teaches a waterproof zipper with teeth having protruding flanges.
/K.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677