DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the “clamping surface…is parallel to the second clamping wall”. However, the clamping surface is serrated with varying heights of serration so it cannot be precisely determined what surfaces are required to be parallel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10, 12-14, 16, 18, 20, 22 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shawcross, U.S. Patent 8,112,847.
Regarding Claim 1, Shawcross teaches:
an elongate clamp body (25) having opposite ends;
a clamping surface (see below) on the clamp body; and
a sliding surface (see below) on the clamp body, wherein the clamping surface is substantially parallel to the sliding surface.
Regarding Claim 2, Shawcross teaches:
The planes defined by the sliding surface and the clamping surface are substantially flat (see below).
Regarding Claim 4, Shawcross teaches:
The opposite ends are leading and trailing ends, wherein the clamp body is shaped such that a leading end of the clamp body leads a leading edge of the clamping surface of the clamp body (see below).
Regarding Claim 5, Shawcross teaches:
The clamp body further comprises an inwardly tapering portion (see below), separate from the substantially parallel sliding surface and clamping surface, and wherein the inwardly tapering portion extends from the leading edge of the clamping surface to the leading end of the clamp body (see below).
Regarding Claim 6, Shawcross teaches:
The inwardly tapering portion extends from a first serration defining the leading edge of the clamping surface, to the leading end of the clamp body (see above, see Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 7, Shawcross teaches:
An internal angle between the inwardly tapering portion of the clamp and a plane defined by the clamping surface of the clamp, measured at the leading edge of the clamping surface, is an obtuse angle (see below).
Regarding Claim 8, Shawcross teaches:
The clamping surface of the clamp is serrated (see element 37).
Regarding Claim 10, Shawcross teaches:
Depths of the serrations vary along the clamping surface (see elements 37, Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 12, Shawcross teaches:
A housing (20) comprising apertures (23, 24) to allow the elongate article to extend through a passage within a space in the housing of the clamping device; and the clamp as claimed in claim 1 (see rejection of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Shawcross teaches:
The housing of the clamping device comprises a first clamping formation (22) against which the clamp is configured to clamp the elongate article, wherein the clamp is movable in the housing to a clamping position in which the clamp wedges the elongate article against the first clamping formation of the housing of the clamping device, at an angle in which the clamping surface of the clamp body is at an oblique angle relative to the first clamping formation of the housing (Figs. 2, 11-12).
Regarding Claim 14, Shawcross teaches:
the first clamping formation is a first clamping wall (22), wherein the housing of the clamping device comprises a second clamping wall (see below) for configured to apply a clamping force to the clamp, so that the clamp and the elongate article are clamped between the first and second clamping walls, wherein the first and second clamping walls converge towards each other, and wherein the first and second clamping walls provide a narrowing gap therebetween.
Regarding Claim 16, Shawcross teaches:
The sliding surface of the clamp body is parallel to the second clamping wall, and wherein the sliding surface of the clamp body is configured to slide along the second clamping wall (see various drawing selection above which show this limitation).
Regarding Claim 18, Shawcross teaches:
A spring (26) for configured to urge the clamp into clamping engagement with the elongate article.
Regarding Claim 20, Shawcross teaches:
The apertures of the housing of the clamping device are opposite apertures (see Fig. 4, elements 23, 24).
Regarding Claim 22, Shawcross teaches:
The housing comprises separate apertures to allow a different elongate article or another portion of the elongate article to extend through a second passage within a second space in the housing of the clamping device, to be clamped by a second one of the clamp, wherein the housing comprises a further first clamping formation against which the second clamp is configured to clamp the different elongate article or different portion of the elongate article, wherein the second clamp is movable in the housing to a clamping position in which the second clamp wedges the different elongate article or different portion of the elongate article against the further first clamping formation of the housing of the clamping device, at an angle in which the clamping surface of the clamp body of the second clamp is at an oblique angle relative to the further first clamping formation of the housing (see Figs. 2, 4 and note that all structures are duplicated across clamping wall 22).
Regarding Claim 25, Shawcross teaches:
A housing (20) comprising apertures (23, 24) to allow an elongate article to extend
through a passage within a space in the housing of the clamping device; and
a clamp comprising an elongate clamp body (25) having opposite ends, and a clamping surface (see drawing selection for rejection of Claim 1) on the clamp body, wherein the housing of the clamping device comprises a first clamping formation (22) against which the clamp is configured to clamp the elongate article, wherein the clamp is movable in the housing to a clamping position in which the clamp wedges the elongate article against the first clamping formation of the housing of the clamping device, at an angle in which the clamping surface of the clamp body is at an oblique angle relative to the first clamping formation of the housing (Figs 2, 11-12).
Regarding Claim 26, Shawcross teaches:
the clamping surface of the clamping body is serrated (37), wherein apexes of the serrations define a plane which is substantially parallel to a plane of the sliding surface (Fig. 2), wherein the clamp further comprises an inwardly tapering portion on the clamp body (see drawing selection in rejection of Claims 4-5), separate from the substantially parallel sliding surface and clamping surface, and wherein the inwardly tapering portion comprises a tapering surface connected to a leading edge of the clamping surface (see drawing selection in rejection of Claims 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shawcross ‘847.
Regarding Claim 11, Shawcross is silent with regard to:
The elongate article is barbed wire and the clamping surface is slidable into a trough defining a minor diameter of the barbed wire.
The “elongate article” is only recited in the preamble of Claim 1 and the trough is a structure of the “elongate article”. As such, these limitations are given no patentable weight because they are not drawn to positively recited structures of the “clamp”, as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the clamp of Shawcross as meeting the required limitations of this claim because the device is clearly broadly capable of the functions claimed (“slidable”) and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation such that Shawcross could mee the non-limiting recitations directed to the “trough”. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5].
Regarding Claim 15, insofar as the claim is understood, Shawcross does not teach the clamping surface being parallel to the clamping wall. However, the clamping wall of Shawcross appears to be nearly as parallel as that of the Applicant’s device and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Shawcross with a parallel clamping wall and clamping surface because the parallel surface would allow for the varying height serrations to increase their friction/interference against the elongate element from the leading edge to the trailing edge.
Regarding Claim 17, Shawcross is silent with regard to the specific angle disclosed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Shawcross with the claimed angle because that would be an appropriate approach angle for the serrations to impinge on the elongated member and it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5].
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677