Election/Restrictions
Claims 10 and 11 (accidentally labeled as claim 12 in the response filed 12/04/2026 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/08/2026.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 12 on page 8 of the claims filed 12/04/2026 page 14 been renumbered 11 as is hereby withdrawn however Applicant should renumber the withdrawn claim properly to overcome this objection.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 7 and 13 recite a first incision step and a first pressing step as well as second incision step and second pressing step. The published specification of the present application in ONE of many embodiments indicates in [0034] that the incision and pressing occur incision steps and pressing steps may be considered to occur simultaneously with the pressing occurring due to the incision being formed on the opposite glass surface as depicted in Fig 20B or one after the other from Fig 20A to Fig 20B. The claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification however the specification is not brought into the claims.
As present claims 7 and 13 are written the incision and pressing may occur one after the other or simultaneously and there is no indication of how or where the pressing occurs in the claim language thus any force on the incision in considered pressing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nonaka et al. (US 20180038152).
Regarding claims 1, Nonaka discloses a method for manufacturing a glass panel unit (8) (title), the method comprising:
an arrangement step including arranging a first glass substrate (1) and a second glass substrate (1) [0047] to make the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate face each other with a seal member (3 comprising 31 and 32) interposed between the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate [0053]-[0056] Fig 3-4 ;
a bonding step including bonding the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate via the seal member [0063]-[0065];
a cutting step including cutting off the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate along an identical line as viewed in a direction in which the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate bonded together face each other and along the seal member (Fig. 5) [[078],
the cutting step being a step of forming multiple pieces of the first and second glass substrates into (81) to be a temporary assembled unit (8) and unnecessary part (82), these are formed by cutting off the first and second glass substrates along a plane (900) where the seal member (32) remains along respective sides of cross sections of the first and second glass substrates (Fig. 5).
the cutting step including: a first cutting step including cutting off the first glass substrate (1) from a surface of the first glass substrate [0083]-[0084]; and a second cutting step including cutting off the second glass substrate from a surface of the second glass substrate (2) with the cutting wheel (9) [0085] using the cutting wheel on both sides along cutting plane (9) as suggested by Nona yields pressing as suggested in [0081]-[0082].
Nonaka discloses cutting to form multiple sets of the first and second glass substrates [0098]-[0100] at least.
Regarding claim 2, the cutting step includes cutting off the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate along a virtual cutting plane (900) that passes through the first glass substrate, the second glass substrate, and the seal member (32) with a cutting on the first substrate (as described in regards to claim 1 above [0078]-[0085].
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings of Nona suggest seal member (32) includes a plurality of facing portions, see overall bonded body a gap (4 comprising 41/42) left between the plurality of facing portions and the cutting step includes cutting off the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate along a line (900) aligned with the gap as viewed in the direction in which the first and second glass substrates bonded together face each other Fig. 5
Further regarding claims 7 and 13, Nona discloses cutting step comprising 16. (New) The method of claim 3, wherein the first cutting step [0078] includes
a first incision forming step including forming a first incision or scribe on the first glass substrate (1) from a surface of the first glass substrate (12); and [0080]-[0081]
the second cutting step includes:
a second incision forming step including forming a second incision on the second glass substrate from a surface of the second glass substrate [0085]; and
The two cutting devices scribing each first and second glass substrate necessarily yields some pressing force against the incision on the other side thus yielding the claimed first and second pressing steps given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 5, Nona depicts gap (4 comprising 41/42). The seal member (3 comprising 31 and 32) having the plurality of facing portions face each other with the gap (4 comprising 41/42) left between the plurality of facing portions themselves in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the first and second glass substrates bonded together face each other See at least Nona Fig 5.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, the seal member includes a frame member [0053] formed in a frame shape, and the bonding step creates an internal space surrounded with the frame member between the first and second glass substrates bonded together via the frame member see spaces as depicted by Nona in Fig 5.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, Nona discloses a processing step including either exhausting air from the internal space [0069], [0042].
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamagishi et al. (US 20110104975).
Regarding claim 1, Yamagishi discloses a method for manufacturing a glass panel unit (title), the method comprising:
an arrangement step including arranging a first glass substrate (20) and a second glass substrate (10) to make the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate face each other with a seal member (15, 15a) interposed between the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate [0046], [0051], [0055]-[0059];
a bonding step including bonding the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate via the seal member [0059];
a cutting step including cutting off the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate along an identical line as viewed in a direction in which the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate bonded together face each other and along the seal member,
the cutting step being a step of forming multiple sets of the first and second glass substrates divided, or a plurality of LCD panels Fig 1 30a), these are formed by cutting off the first and second glass substrates along a plane where the seal member remains along respective sides of cross sections of the first and second glass substrates.
the cutting step including: a first cutting step including cutting off the first glass substrate (20) from a surface of the first glass substrate; and a second cutting step including cutting off the second glass substrate from a surface of the second glass substrate by rolling a hard metal wheel and forming a crack [0061] Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 2, the cutting step includes cutting off the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate along a virtual cutting plane that passes through the first glass substrate, the second glass substrate, and the seal member with a cutting on the first substrate (20) and second substrate (10) through seal (15) Fig. 5 [0061], [0066].
Regarding claim 4, the seal member (15) includes a plurality of facing portions, see overall bonded body (30) in Fig 3-5 facing each other with a gap (25) or the gaps between individual sealant portions (15) in overall substrate (30) left between the plurality of facing portions depicted in labeled Figures below. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation the gap of claim 4 does not need to be absent of all/any material or air or at a negative pressure.
and the cutting step includes cutting off the first glass substrate and the second glass substrate along a line aligned with the gap as viewed in the direction in which the first and second glass substrates bonded together face each other as described and cited in claim 2 above.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, both the sealant frames around the display regions “D” in overall substrate (30 Fig. 3 meet the claim limitation of “the plurality of facing portions face each other with the gap left between the plurality of facing portions themselves in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the first and second glass substrates bonded together face each other” as well as the portions between each sealant “D” frame in overall substrate 30 of Fig.3-5 as labeled below.
Further regarding claims 7 and 13, the first cutting step includes:
a first incision forming step including forming a first incision or Crack (C) on the first glass substrate (20) from a surface of the first glass substrate (Fig. 5) and a first pressing step including applying pressing force along the first incision from the second glass substrate toward the first glass substrate to cut off the first glass substrate wherein the wheel (H) yielding the first incision is done with pressing. Nothing in the claim prohibits the incision forming step and pressing from happing simultaneously given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
the second cutting step includes:
Yamagishi discloses a second incision forming step in the same manner as the first incision step discussed above, thus including forming a second incision on the second glass substrate from a surface of the second glass substrate and including applying pressing force along the second incision from the first glass substrate toward the second glass substrate to cut off the second glass substrate [0061], [0066] and Fig 7 and [0067] the pieces are pressed inward to break the sections. Nothing in the claim language prohibits the additional pressing step of Yamagishi in [0067] to fully separate the first and second substrate and sealant within.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, the seal member includes a frame member (15) formed in a frame shape Fig 3-4, and the bonding step creates an internal space surrounded with the frame member between the first and second glass substrates bonded together via the frame member see spaces labeled D in between frames (15) in Fig 3-4 and depicted by (25) in Fig 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 12, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nonaka et al. (US 20180038152).
Regarding claims 3, 6, and 12, It would be obvious to optimize the width of the seal member in Nona before cutting as motivated for it to be double the amount of the seal width as motivated for it to be half the desired in the final set of first and second glass substrates.
Regarding claim 16, Nona discloses cutting step comprising 16. (New) The method of claim 3, wherein the first cutting step [0078] includes
a first incision forming step including forming a first incision or scribe on the first glass substrate (1) from a surface of the first glass substrate (12); and [0080]-[0081]
the second cutting step includes:
a second incision forming step including forming a second incision on the second glass substrate from a surface of the second glass substrate [0085]; and
The two cutting devices scribing each first and second glass substrate necessarily yields some pressing force against the incision on the other side thus yielding the claimed first and second pressing steps given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 17, the seal member includes a frame member [0053] formed in a frame shape, and the bonding step creates an internal space surrounded with the frame member between the first and second glass substrates bonded together via the frame member see spaces as depicted by Nona in Fig 5.
Regarding claim 18, Nona discloses a processing step including either exhausting air from the internal space [0069], [0042].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In an analogous art of forming a laminated first glass substrate (20) and second glass substrate (10) bonded by a sealant (15) Yamagishi discloses manufacturing a bonded body of multiple framed sealant substrates and cutting along the sealant such that the sealant is provided to be shared by adjoining bonded substrates and dead space, or unnecessary parts are reduced and the number of bonded glass units manufactured from a mother bonded unit can be increased [0024]-[0025].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the bonding step of Nona with the step of Yamagishi of bonding a series of glass panel units (see Fig 3-4 of Yamagishi) such that unnecessary portions can be shared amongst units as well as sealing areas thus reducing unnecessary portions. Furthermore, a more efficient method by bonding a series of glass panel units at once instead of bonding each unit individually. An example of the motivated modification of Nona to reduce wasted portions and increase efficiency of multiple sets sharing a sealant portion or vacuum area depicted below:
JP 2009288369 indicates sealant double the width
JP 2008026416 final seal 2mm thus double overlapping claimed range [0011]
US 20160018686 optimize seal
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741