DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed August 31, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The new elements of amended claim 1 are not taught by Pittaro or Leonardo; therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pronin et al. US 12046866.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pittaro et al. US 6222860 in view of Leonardo et al. US 2007/0248436 and Pronin et al. US 12046866.
Regarding claim 1, Pittaro teaches a gas sensor (fig. 3a; abstract “The laser system can be employed in a gas monitoring system”) comprising: one gain medium (#50); a resonator (#90) which can vary its optical length by varying the physical length of the resonator (col. 4 ln. 57-63) in order to vary the laser wavelength (col. 4 ln. 40-45; varying the optical mode includes wavelength which is a component of the spatial mode); a light-receiving device detecting the of laser beams (col. 2 ln. 16-19; optical sensor), wherein the of laser beam is caused to interfere with a determination-target gas inside the resonator (col. 2 ln. 12-14).
Pittaro fails to teach having a plurality of resonators which simultaneously generate a plurality of laser beams and wherein the gain medium is shared by each of the plurality of resonators; however, Pittaro does teach that their apparatus is supported in multi-mode gas analyzers (col. 2 ln. 49-56).
Leonardo teaches a laser apparatus (fig. 1a-1e and 6a-6b) which comprises a gain medium (#102, 602; claim 24) which provides a master optical signal (#103, 603) to a plurality of wavelength-converting optical heads (#107, 607) which provide simultaneous laser beams of varying wavelengths (para. 0044-0049, 0051; “high degree of overlap” which can be adjusted is understood to include simultaneous signals) for the purpose of reducing cost and better power scalability (para. 0078).
Pronin teaches a plurality of resonators (fig. 3 #11, 12, 13) having a shared gain medium (21) for the purpose of reducing cost.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of resonators which simultaneously generate a plurality of laser beams and wherein the gain medium is shared by each of the plurality of resonators as taught by Leonardo and Pronin in the gas sensor of Pittaro for the purpose of reducing cost and better power scalability.
Regarding claim 2, Pittaro teaches the detector detecting an absorption of the plurality of laser beams by the determination-target gas based on an output of the light-receiving device to determine type of the determination-target gas (col. 1 ln. 8-col. 2 ln. 48 in particular col. 2 ln. 12-18).
Regarding claim 3, Pittaro teaches a storage storing reference data (abstract; implicit in gas analyzing system), wherein the detector compares a result of detection by the light-receiving device to the reference data to determine type or concentration of the determination-target gas (col. 2 ln. 12-18; entire purpose of probing an unknown gas).
Regarding claim 4, Pittaro fails to teach an optical waveguide causing light emitted from the gain medium to branch into a plurality of light beams, and a lens serving to convert the plurality of light beams into collimated parallel light beams, and providing the collimated light beams to the plurality of resonators respectively.
Leonardo teaches an optical waveguide (#104, 604) causing light emitted from the gain medium (#103, 603) to branch into a plurality of light beams (#105, 605), and a lens (fig. 4 #414) serving to convert the plurality of light beams into collimated parallel light beams (para. 0067-0070), and providing the collimated light beams to the plurality of resonators respectively (para. 0067-0070) for the purpose of reducing cost and better power scalability (para. 0078).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an optical waveguide causing light emitted from the gain medium to branch into a plurality of light beams, and a lens serving to convert the plurality of light beams into collimated parallel light beams, and providing the collimated light beams to the plurality of resonators respectively as taught by Leonardo in the gas sensor of Pittaro for the purpose of reducing cost and better power scalability.
Regarding claim 5, Pittaro fails to teach a light switch sequentially causing laser beams coming out of the plurality of resonators to be incident on the light-receiving device.
Leonardo teaches a light switch sequentially causing laser beams coming out of the plurality of resonators to be incident on the light-receiving device (para. 0049; “The coupling optics…may include optical shutters that allow a user to selectively block all or some of output”) for the purpose of allowing a user to selectively block all or some of output (para. 0049).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a light switch sequentially causing laser beams coming out of the plurality of resonators to be incident on the light-receiving device as taught by Leonardo in the gas sensor of Pittaro for the purpose of allowing a user to selectively block all or some of output.
Regarding claim 6, Pittaro teaches varying the refractive index the resonator changes the optical length of the signal (col. 4 ln. 57-58).
Leonardo teaches a plurality of delay units (para. 0051 “The amount of overlap can be adjusted, e.g., by compensating for differences in optical path differences between the beam splitter 104 and the power amplifiers 108.” Ie. Adjusting a delay) for the purpose of making the output signals substantially synchronous (para. 0051).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of delay units provided in the plurality of resonators respectively and having different refractive indices as taught by Leonardo in the gas sensor of Pittaro for the purpose of making the output signals substantially synchronous.
Regarding claim 7, Pittaro in view of Leonardo teaches one mirror being shared (Pittaro #30 and Leonardo #102), but Pittaro in view of Leonardo does not specifically disclose the plurality of semi-transmissive mirrors (Pittaro #330) are integral. However, the fact that the parts are integral is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected result (MPEP 2144). Also, making the parts integral would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because reducing number of parts would decrease the cost of the device and reduce the manufacturing cost and process.
Regarding claim 8, Pittaro teaches a temperature adjustment unit adjusting temperature of the gain medium (col. 4 ln. 46-55), and a position adjustment unit adjusting positions of mirrors of the plurality of resonators (col. 4 ln. 56-63).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884