DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments of the abstract are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 19 are acknowledged by the Examiner.
Applicant’s amendment of the abstract have overcome the previous specification objection. Therefore, the previous specification objections are withdrawn.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current Application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Locke does not disclose a first film layer as claimed and instead discloses “a soft, pliable material suitable for providing a fluid seal with a tissue site, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Film is defined by the Merriam-Webster dictionary as “an exceedingly thin layer” (see https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/film). Therefore, by definition, the only requirement for a layer to be a film is for said layer to be exceedingly thin. Locke’s third layer is disclosed as having a thickness between about 200 microns (μm) and about 1000 microns (μm) (see [0056]; i.e. exceedingly thin) and thus is a first film layer as claimed.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Locke’s manifold (205) is not disposed in contact with a second side of the first film layer, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Locke explicitly discloses that structure 205 can be in contact with, and coupled to structure 250 of 215 in paragraph [0078] stating, “the first layer 205 may be coupled to the interior border 250 of the third layer 215 in any suitable manner, such as with a weld or an adhesive, for example”.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments of claim 1 are non-persuasive and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments of claims 2, 3, 16, and 17 rely on Applicant’s non-persuasive arguments of claim 1 and thus, are similarly non-persuasive.
Applicant’s argument of claim 19 relies on a similar argument that the manifold is not in contact with the first film layer and is non-persuasive in view of paragraph [0078] of Locke.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments of claims 2-3, 16-17, and 19-20 are non-persuasive and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Locke et al. (US 2018/0353337 A1) (hereinafter Locke).
In regards to claim 1, Locke discloses a dressing (104; see [0025]; see figure 2) configured to be positioned adjacent to a tissue site (see [0034]), comprising:
a first film layer (215; see [0043]; see figure 2) comprising a treatment region (230; see [0058]; see figure 7) and a sealing region (225; see [0058]; see figure 7) around the treatment region (see figure 7), a first plurality of perforations (235 of 230; see [0058]; see figure 7) formed through the treatment region (see figure 7), a second plurality of perforations (235 of 225; see [0058]; see figure 7) formed through the sealing region that are larger than the first plurality of perforations (see [0061]), and a sealing adhesive covering the sealing region on a first side of the first film layer (patient facing side of 215) configured to face the tissue site (215 may be coated with a soft silicone (see [0056]); 215 must be tacky to hold 104 in position (see [0080]; thus, the silicone coating is a sealing adhesive positioned on the patient facing side as claimed);
a manifold (205; see [0043]; see figure 2) disposed in contact with a second side of the first film layer (the first layer 205 may be coupled to the interior border 250 of the third layer 215 in any suitable manner, such as with a weld or an adhesive, for example; see [0078]; see figure 2 that this connection of 205 to 250 is on a second, non-patient facing side of 215), the second side opposite the first side; and
a cover layer (116; see [0025]; see figure 2) comprising a second film layer (116 is a second film layer; see [0035]) and a cover adhesive (255; see [0064]; see figure 2), the cover layer disposed over the manifold and coupled to the second side of the first film layer around the manifold (see figure 2), the cover adhesive disposed adjacent to the second plurality of perforations (255 is disposed adjacent 235 of 225 and is exposed therethrough; see [0075]).
In regards to claim 4, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the manifold comprises an open-cell foam (see [0046]) having a thickness of between about 5 millimeters and about 10 millimeters (see [0047]).
In regards to claim 5, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the second film layer (116) comprises a polyurethane film (see [0036]) having a thickness of between about 20 microns and about 35 microns (the cover 116 may comprise… a thickness of about 30 microns; see [0036]).
In regards to claim 6, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the cover adhesive (255) comprises an acrylic adhesive having a coating weight of between about 25 grams per square meter and about 65 grams per square meter (see [0037]).
In regards to claim 7, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the cover adhesive (255) is configured to extend through the second plurality of perforations from the second side of the first film layer to the first side of the first film layer (see [0082]).
In regards to claim 8, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the treatment region (230) is configured to contact the tissue site and the sealing region (225) is configured to contact epidermis around the tissue site (see [0080]).
In regards to claim 9, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the treatment region (230) is free of adhesive such that the first side of the first film layer in the treatment region is configured to be positioned in direct contact with the tissue site (230 is positioned to cover a tissue site (see [0080]); 255 extends through 235 about 225 of 215 (See [0081]) thus, 230 is free from adhesive to allow for the removal or repositioning of 104 without trauma to the tissue site (See [0080])).
In regards to claim 10, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the first plurality of perforations (235 of 230) comprises slits (235 may be slits; see [0059]) arranged in a pattern (see figure 7).
In regards to claim 11, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the second plurality of perforations (235 of 225) comprises circular openings arranged in a pattern (see figure 7).
In regards to claim 12, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein each of the first plurality of perforations comprises a first open area and each of the second plurality of perforations comprises a second open area (see figure 7 that both sets of 235 have open areas) that is larger than the first open area (the size and thus, the open area of 235 in 230 is smaller than the size/open area of 235 in 225; see [0061]).
In regards to claim 13, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the first plurality of perforations comprise a different shape than the second plurality of perforations (235 may have a combination of shapes (see [0059]) thereby disclosing 235 of 230 and 225 respectively may comprise different shapes).
In regards to claim 14, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the second plurality of perforations are larger than the first plurality of perforations in at least one dimension (see [0061]).
In regards to claim 15, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the first plurality of perforations are configured to increase in size when the tissue site is exposed to a pressure (235 of 230 may be slits (see [0059]); slits when subject to negative pressure expand (see [0053] in reference to the slits 220 expanding); thus, 235 of 230 when formed as slits expand when exposed to the negative pressure), wherein the second plurality of perforations do not change in size when exposed to the pressure (the circular openings of 235 of 225 do not expand when subject to negative pressure), and wherein the second plurality of perforations are larger in size than the first plurality of perforations when the tissue site is exposed to the pressure and when the tissue site is not exposed to the pressure (see figure 7).
In regards to claim 18, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses a system (100; see [0023]; see figure 1) for treating a tissue site with negative-pressure therapy (see [abstract]), comprising: the dressing according to claim 1 (see discussion above); and a negative-pressure source (102; see [0025]; see figure 1) configured to be fluidly coupled to the tissue site through the cover layer (see [0066]; see figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke in view of Merckel et al. (US 2022/0062059 A1) (hereinafter Merckel).
In regards to claim 2, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses the first film layer (215) can be formed from multiple different materials (see [0056-0057]). However, Locke does not disclose wherein the first film layer comprises a polyurethane film having a thickness of between about 20 microns and about 35 microns.
However, Merckel teaches an analogous wound dressing (10; see [0074]; see figure 1) comprising an analogous first film layer (13; see [0075]; see figure 2) comprising a treatment region (region under 15; see figure 2) and sealing region (region outside of 15; see figure 2) around the treatment region (see figure 1); wherein the first film layer (13) comprises a polyurethane film (13a; see [0075]; see figure 2; “The perforated sheet material (13a) of the wound contact layer (13) is made from a polyurethane film (see [0075])) having a thickness of between about 20 microns and about 35 microns (the perforated material has a preferred thickness of 5-50 microns; see [0054]) for the purpose of forming the first film layer from a medically acceptable material (see [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first film layer as disclosed by Locke and to have formed the first film layer from the polyurethane film as taught by Merckel in order to have provided an improved wound dressing that would add the benefit of forming the first film layer from a medically acceptable material (see [0054]).
The combination of Locke as now modified by Merckel discloses the range of the thickness of the first film layer is 5-50 microns which fully encompasses applicant’s claimed range of 20-35 microns. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thickness of the first film layer as disclosed by Locke as now modified by Merckel from 5-50 microns to 20-35 microns as applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (“In some example embodiments, the first film layer can include a polyurethane film having a thickness of between about 20 microns and about 35 microns” see Specification [0007]) and since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
In regards to claim 3, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke does not disclose wherein the sealing adhesive comprises a silicone adhesive having a coating weight of between about 100 grams per square meter and about 250 grams per square meter.
However, Merckel teaches an analogous wound dressing (10; see [0074]; see figure 1) comprising an analogous first film layer (13; see [0075]; see figure 2) comprising a treatment region (region under 15; see figure 2) and sealing region (region outside of 15; see figure 2) around the treatment region (see figure 1); wherein the sealing adhesive (13b; see [0075]; see figure 2) comprises a silicone adhesive (see [0075]) having a coating weight of between about 100 grams per square meter and about 250 grams per square meter (the total coating weight of the silicone is preferably 100 g/m2 to 200 g/m2; see [0051]) for the purpose of providing an adhesive layer which adheres to a user’s skin without losing adhesiveness, while also allow for removal of the adhesive layer without causing pain or irritation to the wound or surrounding skin (see [0052]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first film layer as disclosed by Locke and to have used the silicone adhesive layer of the first film layer as taught by Merckel in order to have provided an improved first film layer that would add the benefit of providing an adhesive layer which adheres to a user’s skin without losing adhesiveness, while also allow for removal of the adhesive layer without causing pain or irritation to the wound or surrounding skin (see [0052]).
Claim(s) 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Locke in view of Hu et al. (US 2010/0137775 A1) (hereinafter Hu).
In regards to claim 16, Locke discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke does not disclose further comprising a carrier layer releasably coupled to a side of the cover layer opposite the cover adhesive.
However, Hu teaches an analogous wound dressing (1800; see [0104]; see figure 20) to be utilized during negative pressure treatments (see [abstract]) comprising an analogous cover layer (1803; see [0104]; see figure 18c); further comprising a carrier layer (1802; see [0104]; see figure 20) releasably coupled (see [0106]) to a side of the cover layer opposite the cover adhesive (see figure 18d) for the purpose of providing an increased stiffness and support to the dressing during application to a treatment site (see [0104]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover layer as disclosed by Locke and to have included the carrier layer as taught by Hu in order to have provided an improved wound dressing that would add the benefit of providing a carrier layer which provides an increased stiffness and support to the dressing during application to a treatment site (see [0104]).
In regards to claim 17, Locke as now modified by Hu discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke as now modified by Hu further discloses wherein the carrier layer (1802 of Hu) comprises a coated paper or a polymeric film (see Hu [0098]).
In regards to claim 19, Locke discloses a system (100; see [0023]; see figure 1) for treating a tissue site with negative-pressure therapy (see [abstract]), comprising:
a dressing (104; see [0025]; see figure 2) configured to be positioned adjacent to a tissue site (see [0034]), comprising:
a first film layer (215; see [0043]; see figure 2) comprising a treatment region (230; see [0058]; see figure 7) and a sealing region (225; see [0058]; see figure 7) around the treatment region (see figure 7), a plurality of slits (235 of 230; see [0058]; see figure 7; 235 can be formed as slits (see [0059])) formed through the treatment region (see figure 7), a plurality of holes (235 of 225; see [0058]; see figure 7) and including a larger open area than the plurality of slits (the size and thus, the open area of 235 in 230 is smaller than the size/open area of 235 in 225; see [0061]), and a sealing adhesive covering the sealing region on a first side of the first film layer (patient facing side of 215) configured to face the tissue site (215 may be coated with a soft silicone (see [0056]); 215 must be tacky to hold 104 in position (see [0080]; thus, the silicone coating is a sealing adhesive positioned on the patient facing side as claimed),
a manifold (205; see [0043]; see figure 2), and
a second film layer (116; see [0025]; see figure 2) comprising an aperture (275; see [0066]; see figure 2), the second film layer coated with a pressure-sensitive adhesive (255; see [0064]; see figure 2) on a side of the second film layer configured to face the tissue site (see figure 2);
wherein the first film layer (215), the manifold (205), and the second film layer (116) are assembled in a stacked relationship with the first film layer and the second film layer enclosing the manifold (see figure 2), the manifold is aligned and positioned in contact with the treatment region of the first film layer (see figure 2 that 205 is aligned with the treatment region of 215; “the first layer 205 may be coupled to the interior border 250 of the third layer 215 in any suitable manner, such as with a weld or an adhesive, for example” (see [0078])), the pressure-sensitive adhesive and the sealing adhesive are configured to face the tissue site (255 is disposed adjacent 235 of 225 and is exposed to the tissue site therethrough (see [0075]); the silicone coating is configured to face the tissue site to hold 104 in position as discussed in [0080]), at least some of the pressure-sensitive adhesive is exposed through the plurality of holes (see [0075]); and
wherein a negative-pressure source (102; see [0025]; see figure 1) is configured to be fluidly coupled to the tissue site through the aperture, the manifold, and the plurality of slits (see [0066]).
Locke does not disclose a carrier layer; wherein the carrier layer is part of the stacked relationship of the dressing, and the carrier layer is laminated to the second film layer on a side of the second film layer opposite the pressure- sensitive adhesive.
However, Hu teaches an analogous wound dressing (1800; see [0104]; see figure 20) to be utilized during negative pressure treatments (see [abstract]) comprising an analogous cover layer (1803; see [0104]; see figure 18c); further comprising a carrier layer (1802; see [0104]; see figure 20); wherein the carrier layer is part of the stacked relationship of the dressing, and the carrier layer is laminated to the second film layer on a side of the second film layer opposite the pressure- sensitive adhesive (see figures 18c-d) for the purpose of providing an increased stiffness and support to the dressing during application to a treatment site (see [0104]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover layer as disclosed by Locke and to have included the carrier layer as taught by Hu in order to have provided an improved wound dressing that would add the benefit of providing a carrier layer which provides an increased stiffness and support to the dressing during application to a treatment site (see [0104]).
In regards to claim 20, Locke as now modified by Hu discloses the invention as discussed above.
Locke further discloses wherein the sealing adhesive is not disposed on the treatment region (230 is free from adhesive to allow for the removal or repositioning of 104 without trauma to the tissue site; see [0080]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL A MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786