Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Wang does not disclose and wherein based on a number of the at least one input picture being equal to 1, a value of a picture filtering flag for a corresponding input picture is inferred to be equal to 1.
Examiner disagrees Wang teaches While Wang is silent about the following, it would be obvious given Wang teaches and wherein based on a number of the at least one input picture being equal to 1, a value of a picture filtering flag for a corresponding input picture is inferred to be equal to 1 (0298-0301 with focus on how the variables are derived in 0301 the first if/else statement has if num input =1 the num output =1 else it goes through a loop using nnpfc_input_pic_output_flag for each input pic and increases the num output for each flag triggered, so by num output = 1 when there is only 1 input which would cause a flag trigger it is effectively inferring that the flag would have been triggered (i.e. equal to 1))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to have the result that the flag would have signalled without having to go through more process steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15, 18-19, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 2025/0342613
Wang discloses:
14. A method for decoding an image (0314) comprising: obtaining a neural-network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, wherein the NNPFC SEI message includes one or more picture filtering flags corresponding to at least one input picture and purpose information indicating a purpose of a post-filter (0290-0301); and determining whether a corresponding output picture for each input picture is generated by the post-filter based on a picture filtering flag corresponding to the input picture included in the one or more picture filtering flags, wherein a value of the picture filtering flag equal to 1 indicates that the post-filter generates the corresponding output picture for the input picture, and the value equal to 0 indicates that the post-filter does not generate the corresponding output picture for the input picture (0298-9); and obtaining an output picture generated by the post-filter corresponding to one of the at least one input picture based on the determination, wherein at least one of the one or more picture filtering flags has a value of 1 based on there being more than one input picture and the purpose information not being related to picture rate upsampling (0281; 0290-0301)
While Wang is silent about the following, it would be obvious given Wang teaches and wherein based on a number of the at least one input picture being equal to 1, a value of a picture filtering flag for a corresponding input picture is inferred to be equal to 1 (0298-0301 with focus on how the variables are derived in 0301 the first if/else statement has if num input =1 the num output =1 else it goes through a loop using nnpfc_input_pic_output_flag for each input pic and increases the num output for each flag triggered, so by num output = 1 when there is only 1 input which would cause a flag trigger it is effectively inferring that the flag would have been triggered (i.e. equal to 1))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to have the result that the flag would have signalled without having to go through more process steps.
15. and 19. The method of claim 14, wherein a number of the at least one input picture and a number of the one or more picture filtering flags are determined based on number information included in the NNPFC SEI message (0290-0301).
23. and under similar rationale 18. A method of transmitting a bitstream, wherein the method comprising: obtaining the bitstream, wherein the bitstream is generated based on generating a neural- network post-filter characteristics (NNPFC) supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message, and encoding image information including the NNPFC SEI message (Fig. 5; table 20 by 0274; 0281; 0290-0301); and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the NNPFC SEI message includes one or more picture filtering flags corresponding to at least one input picture and purpose information indicating a purpose of a post- filter, wherein a picture filtering flag is for determining whether a corresponding output picture for each input picture is generated by the post-filter, wherein a value of the picture filtering flag equal to 1 indicates that the post-filter generates the corresponding output picture for the input picture, and the value equal to 0 indicates that the post-filter does not generate the corresponding output picture for the input pictures, wherein at least one of the one or more picture filtering flags has a value of 1 based on there being more than one input picture and the purpose information not being related to picture rate upsampling, (Fig. 5; tables 20 by 0274 and 0292 value 1 shows visual quality improvement without upsampling and 2-4 show without picture rate upsampling; 0281; 0290-0301)
While Wang is silent about the following, it would be obvious given Wang teaches and wherein based on a number of the at least one input picture being equal to 1, a value of a picture filtering flag for a corresponding input picture is inferred to be equal to 1 (0298-0301 with focus on how the variables are derived in 0301 the first if/else statement has if num input =1 the num output =1 else it goes through a loop using nnpfc_input_pic_output_flag for each input pic and increases the num output for each flag triggered, so by num output = 1 when there is only 1 input which would cause a flag trigger it is effectively inferring that the flag would have been triggered (i.e. equal to 1))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to have the result that the flag would have signalled without having to go through more process steps.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2483