DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. A certified copy of application CN202211084632.1 was filed on 12/05/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilscher et al. (US 20090031510 A1), hereinafter “Hilscher”.
Regarding claim 1, Hilscher discloses a consumable consumption control method, comprising:
when an apparatus that consumes a consumable moves to a preset range of a container for loading the consumable, establishing communication between the apparatus and the container so that the apparatus obtains consumable information of the consumable and an operation instruction of the container (para. [0006]; an application substance reservoir, e.g., a toothpaste bag, has a data carrier with a data memory which can be read and written to by a suitable toothbrush. A suitable toothbrush has a data receiver for reading the data stored in the data carrier and a data transmitter for writing to the data carrier; para. [0012], a writable data carrier is provided on the application substance reservoir. In particular, a transponder chip may be provided, which can communicate with a suitable data transceiver in the toothbrush. In some implementations, a so-called RFID chip, i.e., a radiofrequency identification chip, may be provided as the data carrier; the RFID chip communicates with the data transceiver of the toothbrush in the frequency range of approx. 13.56 MHz);
setting an operation mode of the apparatus according to the operation instruction (para. [0009]; The data carrier on the application substance reservoir may advantageously also contain control data preselected by the manufacturer on the basis of which the control unit of the toothbrush activates, controls or changes toothbrush functions.);
determining consumption setting of the consumable according to the consumable information (para. [0009]; an application substance-specific metered quantity may be stored in the data carrier, this quantity being used to trigger the conveyance device, so that the conveyance device dispenses the predetermined quantity of application substance); and
controlling the apparatus to operate according to the operation mode and consume the consumable according to the consumption setting (para. [0009], [0023]; data for controlling the drive mode of the toothbrush may also be stored in the data carrier; in particular, the control unit may also switch the toothbrush drive to a tooth-brushing mode on the basis of the data read out of the data carrier of the application substance reservoir, when the application substance reservoir contains a toothpaste, while the drive device is switched to a polishing mode when the application substance reservoir contains a polishing agent).
Regarding claim 2, Hilscher discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Hilscher further discloses the container is provided with an electronic tag, and the electronic tag stores the consumable information (para. [0021]; Fig. 3, transponder chip 13);
the apparatus is provided with an electronic tag controller (para. [0022]; control unit in the hand part 2), and
the electronic tag controller is configured to detect the electronic tag within the preset range and establish a communication connection between the apparatus and the container (para. [0024]; data is read on insertion or the toothpaste bag in the hand part).
Regarding claim 3, Hilscher discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Hilscher further discloses the electronic tag is a radio frequency identification tag, and the electronic tag controller is a radio frequency identification tag reader (para. [0012]; RFID chip); or,
the electronic tag is a near field communication tag, and the electronic tag controller is a near field communication tag reader (para. [0013]; other embodiments of the data carrier and the data transfer means are of course also possible. An electric, inductive and/or magnetic design of the data carrier and/or the data transfer means is also possible).
Regarding claim 7, Hilscher discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Hilscher further discloses before the establishing communication between the apparatus and the container, the method further comprises:
reading verification codes in the container for verification; if the verification is successful, establishing the communication; and/or, reading mask codes in the container for matching; if the match is successful, establishing the communication (para. [0023]; the control unit enables the operation of the toothbrush only when the "correct" code has been input by the data carrier 13 and/or 16 of the toothbrush bag 9 and/or the attachable brush 6).
Claims 11-13, 16-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Charraud et al. (US 20240032671 A1), hereinafter “Charraud”.
Regarding claim 11, Charraud discloses an apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and, a memory in communication with the at least one processor; wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the at least one processor; the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (para. [0045], [0050]; Fig. 2, apparatus 202, processor 206, memory 208), cause the at least one processor to perform:
when the apparatus moves to a range of a container for loading a consumable, establishing communication between the apparatus and the container so that the apparatus obtains consumable information of the consumable and an operation instruction of the container (para. [0047]-[0048], [0054], [0098]; when cartridge 110 is inserted RFID reader reads data on encryption chip. Data on chip includes formulation identification, a beginning formulation quantity, a formulation expiration date, or a formulation production date);
setting an operation mode of the apparatus according to the operation instruction (para. [0096]-[0097]; the button is configured to activate various features of the delivery device depending on the type of cartridge inserted in to the device. pressing button 426 while a formulation cartridge is inserted into the reusable handle 406 activates a formulation routine module stored in controller 412, thereby initiating a formulation routine while pressing button 426 while a cleaning cartridge is inserted into the reusable handle 406 activates a cleaning routine module stored in the controller 412, thereby initiating a cleaning routine);
determining consumption setting of the consumable according to the consumable information (para. [0056], [0099]; formulation routine module 226 stores a plurality of formulation routines for different formulations (e.g., haircare formulation routines), and causes the formulation dispensing assembly 214 to execute one or more formulation routines, based upon the formulation cartridge 224 authenticated by the cartridge authentication module 230); and
controlling the apparatus to operate according to the operation mode and consume the consumable according to the consumption setting (para. [0056]; the formulation delivery device 200 adjusts one or more device operating parameter based upon the specific formulation stored in the authenticated formulation cartridge 224 inserted into the formulation delivery device).
Regarding claim 12, Charraud discloses a consumable consumption control system, comprising: a container, and an apparatus including: at least one processor and a memory in communication with the at least one processor; wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the at least one processor; the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (para. [0045], [0050]; Fig. 1, container 224, apparatus 202, processor 206, memory 208), cause the at least one processor to perform:
when the apparatus moves to a preset range of a container for loading a consumable, establishing communication between the apparatus and the container so that the apparatus obtains consumable information of the consumable and an operation instruction of the container (para. [0047]-[0048], [0054], [0098]; when cartridge 110 is inserted RFID reader reads data on encryption chip. Data on chip includes formulation identification, a beginning formulation quantity, a formulation expiration date, or a formulation production date. Operational instructions are determined from consumable information);
setting an operation mode of the apparatus according to the operation instruction (para. [0096]-[0097]; the button is configured to activate various features of the delivery device depending on the type of cartridge inserted in to the device. pressing button 426 while a formulation cartridge is inserted into the reusable handle 406 activates a formulation routine module stored in controller 412, thereby initiating a formulation routine while pressing button 426 while a cleaning cartridge is inserted into the reusable handle 406 activates a cleaning routine module stored in the controller 412, thereby initiating a cleaning routine);
determining consumption setting of the consumable according to the consumable information (para. [0056], [0099]; formulation routine module 226 stores a plurality of formulation routines for different formulations (e.g., haircare formulation routines), and causes the formulation dispensing assembly 214 to execute one or more formulation routines, based upon the formulation cartridge 224 authenticated by the cartridge authentication module 230); and
controlling the apparatus to operate according to the operation mode and consume the consumable according to the consumption setting (para. [0056]; the formulation delivery device 200 adjusts one or more device operating parameter based upon the specific formulation stored in the authenticated formulation cartridge 224 inserted into the formulation delivery device);
wherein the container is configured to be compatible with and load consumables of several different types and sizes (para. [0043]; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Charraud discloses all the limitations of claim 12. Charraud further discloses the container is provided with an electronic tag, and the apparatus is provided with an electronic tag controller (para. [0048]; container is provided with RFID chip , and apparatus includes controller 204).
Regarding claim 16, Charraud discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Charraud further discloses the apparatus is provided with an electronic tag controller, and the electronic tag controller is configured to detect an electronic tag on the container within the preset range and establish a communication connection between the apparatus and the container (para. [0048], [0098]; controller 412 detects RFID chip on container upon insertion into the apparatus).
Regarding claim 17, Charraud discloses all the limitations of claim 16. Charraud further discloses the electronic tag controller is a radio frequency identification tag reader; or, the electronic tag controller is a near field communication tag reader (para. [0048]; Cartridge authentication interface 210 is an RFID reader, a nearfield reader).
Regarding claim 18, Charraud discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Charraud further discloses the container and the apparatus use Bluetooth or infrared transmission to achieve wireless communication (para. [0051];controller 204 includes a communications interface having circuits configured to enable communication using IFI®, WIMAX®, BLUETOOTH®, ZIGBEE®, Cellular, Infrared, Nearfield, etc.) .
Regarding claim 20, Charraud discloses all the limitations of claim 13. Charraud further discloses the electronic tag is a radio frequency identification tag, and the electronic tag controller is a radio frequency identification tag reader; or, the electronic tag is a near field communication tag, and the electronic tag controller is a near field communication tag reader (para. [0048]; container is provided with RFID chip, and apparatus includes controller 204).
Regarding claim 21, Charraud discloses all the limitations of claim 12. Charraud further discloses before the establishing communication between the apparatus and the container, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform: reading verification codes in the container for verification; if the verification is successful, establishing the communication; and/or, reading mask codes in the container for matching; if the match is successful, establishing the communication (para. [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilscher (US 20090031510 A1), in view of Wu et al. (US 20110076090 A1), hereinafter “Wu”.
Regarding claim 4, Hilscher discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Hilscher does not disclose the apparatus is provided with a plurality of buttons; the setting an operation mode of the apparatus, comprises: setting operation modes corresponding to the buttons according to the consumable information; and selecting the operation mode of the apparatus through the buttons.
Wu discloses an oral care implement with a user activated switch such as a dial with multiple settings that allows a user to select appropriate settings related to the type of active agent in a cartridge inserted in to the oral care implement (para. [0039],[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the consumable consumption device of Hilscher and incorporate the teachings in Wu where apparatus is provided with a user activated dial with multiple settings; the setting an operation mode of the apparatus, comprises: setting operation modes corresponding to the multiple settings of the dial according to the consumable information; and selecting the operation mode of the apparatus through the user activated dial to provide additional customization options to control the device so the appropriate operation mode can be used for a given consumable (para. [0046]). The choice of using a plurality of buttons instead of a user activated switch such as a dial with multiple settings would amount to mere substitution of one known element for another to obtain a predictable result.
Regarding claim 5, Hilscher discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Hilscher further discloses a pump as a conveyance device to dispense the toothpaste stored in the toothpaste bag by motor drive is provided in the hand part (para. [0020]). However, Hilscher does not disclose the consumption setting at least comprises a push amount, push duration and/or push number of the consumable; the apparatus is further provided with a micro pump; the consuming the consumable according to the consumption setting, comprises: controlling the push amount, push duration and/or push number of the consumable through the micro pump.
Wu discloses an oral care implement including a delivery system for a fluid where the consumption setting at least comprises a push amount, push duration and/or push number of the consumable (para. [0022]; the pump 18 to operate for a period of time which, in turn, causes a predetermined amount of the medium containing the active agent to be pumped from the reservoir 15 and through the outlets 50);
the apparatus is further provided with a micro pump (para. [0020]; a micro piezoelectric pump 18);
the consuming the consumable according to the consumption setting, comprises: controlling the push amount, push duration and/or push number of the consumable through the micro pump (para. [0022]; the pump 18 to operate for a period of time which, in turn, causes a predetermined amount of the medium containing the active agent to be pumped from the reservoir 15 and through the outlets 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the consumable consumption control method of Hilscher and incorporate the teachings in Wu where the consumption setting at least comprises a push amount, push duration and/or push number of the consumable; the apparatus is further provided with a micro pump; the consuming the consumable according to the consumption setting, comprises: controlling the push amount, push duration and/or push number of the consumable through the pump to improve the accuracy dispensing so consumable can delivered in a dose appropriate for its intended purpose (para. [0027]).
Claims 6, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilscher (US 20090031510 A1), and in view of Laurent et al. (US 10682673 B1), hereinafter “Laurent”.
Regarding claim 6, Hilscher discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Hilscher further discloses the consumable information contains type of substance in the container (Abstract).
However, Hilscher does not disclose the consumable information at least comprises brand, manufacturer, model, date, batch, raw material and/or viscosity of the consumable.
Laurent discloses a cartridge for an oral care appliance including an RFID tag with consumable information including at least comprises brand, manufacturer, model, date, batch, raw material and/or viscosity of the consumable (col. 7, lines 27-44; type, viscosity, flavour, colour, composition, concentration, recommended dosage, function, mixing parameters, or expiry date of the oral care agent 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the consumable consumption control method of Hilscher and incorporate the teachings in Laurent of where consumable information at least comprises brand, manufacturer, model, date, batch, raw material and/or viscosity of the consumable to provide additional data about the consumable that can be applied to allow in the adjustment of the operations of the oral care appliance in relation to the specific information (Laurent: col. 1, line 60 to col. 2, line 3).
Regarding claim 8, Hilscher discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Laurent further discloses what Hilscher lacks, specifically, outputting, by the apparatus, visual and/or audible information, according to the operation mode and/or an action performed by the apparatus; wherein if the apparatus fails to detect the container within a preset time, the apparatus outputs alarm-type visual and/or audible information (col. 10, lines 18-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the consumable consumption control method of Hilscher and incorporate the teachings in Laurent of outputting, by the apparatus, visual and/or audible information, according to the operation mode and/or an action performed by the apparatus; wherein if the apparatus fails to detect the container within a preset time, the apparatus outputs alarm-type visual and/or audible information to alert the user and prevent the use of a counterfeit consumable, that doesn’t have a detectable RFID chip, which would endanger the health of the user or cause inefficient operation of the device (Laurent: col. 10, lines 9-17).
Regarding claim 15, Hilscher discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Hilscher does not disclose container and the apparatus use Bluetooth or infrared transmission to achieve wireless communication.
Laurent discloses a cartridge for an oral care appliance where the container and the apparatus use Bluetooth or infrared transmission to achieve wireless communication (col. 11, lines 38-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the consumable consumption control method of Hilscher and incorporate the teachings in Laurent where the container and the apparatus use Bluetooth or infrared transmission to achieve wireless communication to improve the data transmission rate between container and apparatus. The choice of using Bluetooth instead of RFID communication would amount to mere substitution of one known communication method for another to obtain a predictable result.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilscher (US 20090031510 A1), and in view of Shu et al. (CN 109953835 A) hereinafter “Shu”.
Regarding claim 9, Hilscher discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Hilscher does not disclose controlling the apparatus to start up and load firmware information; wherein if the apparatus does not detect the container within a preset time, the apparatus operates in a default mode, or enters a standby state or a low-power state.
Shu discloses an oral care device with automatic recognition function including controlling the apparatus to start up and load firmware information; wherein if the apparatus does not detect the container within a preset time, the apparatus operates in a default mode, or enters a standby state or a low-power state (para. [0010]; If the tag is not successfully recognized, neither the recognition success indicator light nor the mode indicator light will light up, and the electric toothbrush will continue to work in normal mode. After 10 seconds, the continuous scanning of the label reading module will be turned off to save energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the consumable consumption control method of Hilscher and incorporate the teachings in Shu of including controlling the apparatus to start up and load firmware information; wherein if the apparatus does not detect the container within a preset time, the apparatus operates in a default mode, or enters a standby state or a low-power state in order to provide an alternate method of use in situations where the cartridge is not detected and to conserve energy by limiting the duration of continuous scanning (para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 10, Hilscher in view of Shu discloses all limitations of claim 9, Hilscher after the establishing communication between the apparatus and the container, the method further comprises: if a firmware version of the apparatus is inconsistent with a firmware version of the container and a firmware version recorded in the container is a newer version than the firmware version of the apparatus, controlling the apparatus to upgrade the firmware according to firmware binary codes of the container (para. [0027]; control updates for supplementing or modifying the control functions of the hand part 2 are provided by data carrier 13 on the container. Checking firmware version of an apparatus before updating device is a routine practice in electronic device updating).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charraud (US 20240032671 A1), in view of Wu (US 20110076090 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Charraud discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Charraud further discloses the consumption setting at least comprises a push amount, push duration and/or push number of the consumable (para. [0056]; formulations from the reciprocating nozzle assembly 222, for a particular dispensation time, at a particular liquid flow rate of the pump, nozzle reciprocating frequency and/or reciprocating amplitude of the reciprocating nozzle assembly 222, and/or other device operating parameter specified by the formulation routine stored in the formulation routine module 226);
the apparatus is further provided with a pump (para. [0059]; pump 220);
when consuming the consumable according to the consumption setting, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform: controlling the push amount, push duration and/or push number of the consumable through the micro pump (para. [0056]; formulations from the reciprocating nozzle assembly 222, for a particular dispensation time, at a particular liquid flow rate of the pump, nozzle reciprocating frequency and/or reciprocating amplitude of the reciprocating nozzle assembly 222, and/or other device operating parameter specified by the formulation routine stored in the formulation routine module 226).
Charraud does not disclose a micro pump.
Wu discloses an oral care implement provided with a micro pump (para. [0020]; a micro piezoelectric pump 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the consumable consumption control method of Charraud and incorporate the teachings in Wu of using a micro pump to reduce the overall size of the apparatus by using a more compact pumping arrangement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ALZAHRANI (US 20170116665 A1) discloses an oral hygiene system includes the oral hygiene fluid cartridge that further includes an RFID or near field communication (NFC) tag that is programmed to automatically identify the type and content of the hygiene fluid cartridge when the hygiene fluid cartridge is within the oral hygiene system. ALZAHRAN further discloses multiple buttons (paras. [0006], [0070]-[0071], Figs. 3A, 7).
CHEN et al. (CN 111067244 A) discloses an oral care device with a controller that controls a micro-pump to dispense toothpaste to the brush (Fig. 2).
KOSECOFF (FR 3119084 A1) discloses a scalp treatment device that includes a product identification label reader configured to read the product identification RFID label on a cartridge and to process the signals encoded into instructions for the operation and control of the device on the basis of the particular formulation. The information on the RFID label include product identification label, formulation expiration date, and/or device settings corresponding to the particular formulation (paras. [0040]-[0041], [0089], [0096], [0098]; Fig. 1 )
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655