DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority based on PCT/CN2022/099202, filed June 16, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “150” has been used to designate both “ground interface connection” and “conductive trace” in para [0005].
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-12 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-12 and 14: “the ground element” should read “the conductive ground element”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a first conductive element coupled at one end to a first end to a conductive ground element on the antenna structure" in lines 4-5 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear which element this first end belongs to. For the purpose of examination, based on para [0011], [0064], Examiner interprets the claim as "a first conductive element coupled at one end to a first end of a conductive ground element on the antenna structure".
Claims 2-10 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 and are subsequently rejected.
Similar rejections would be applied to claims 11-20.
Claim 10 recites the limitation " wherein the signal connection interface is coupled to the center conductor of the coaxial cable assembly" in lines 11-12 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Similar rejection would be applied to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11-14 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al, US-20140266920-A1 (hereinafter Tran).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Tran discloses the following:
an antenna assembly comprising:
an antenna structure configured to operate in a first frequency range and a second frequency range that is different from the first frequency range (para [0038]-[0040]: multiband antenna structure 180);
a first conductive element (171, fig. 5, para [0032]) coupled at one end to a first end to a conductive ground element (166) on the antenna structure, the first conductive element extending outward in a direction perpendicular to the ground element (166) and away from the antenna structure (180); and
a second conductive element (172) coupled at one end to a second end of the ground element (166) on the antenna structure, the second conductive element extending outward in a direction perpendicular to the conductive ground element (166) away from the antenna structure, the second conductive element extending parallel to the first conductive element (fig. 5);
Although Tran does not explicitly disclose wherein the first conductive element and the second conductive element form a ground plane extension for the antenna structure that improves the performance of the antenna assembly in at least one of the first frequency range and the second frequency range of operation, Tran discloses the first conductive element 171 and the second conductive element 172 connect to the ground plane of the circuit board 150 (para [0032]) and the ground plane 140 (para [0036], [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the first and second conductive elements taught in Tran to form a ground plane extension for the antenna structure as claimed for the purpose of increasing the area of the ground plane of the antenna structure in order to improve the antennas’ performance.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.)
Regarding claim 2, Tran discloses wherein the ground element (166, fig. 5) on the antenna structure has a length equal to a distance between the first conductive element (171) and the second conductive element (172).
Regarding claim 3, although Tran does not explicitly wherein a distance between the first conductive element and the second conductive element is greater than 0.5 inches, Tran discloses the distance between the first conductive element and the second conductive element can be adjusted (para [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the first conductive element and the second conductive element of the antenna assembly taught in Tran to be greater than 0.5 inches as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired operating frequency depending on the requirements of the application (Tran, para [0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Tran discloses wherein the first conductive element is coupled at a second end to a ground element on a communication circuit assembly, and wherein the second conductive element is coupled at a second end to the ground element on the communication circuit assembly (para [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Tran discloses wherein the antenna assembly is a dual-band antenna (para [0041]).
Regarding claim 9, although Tran does not explicitly wherein the first frequency range of operation is 700 Megahertz (MHz) to 800 MHz and the second frequency range of operation is 2500 MHz to 2700 MHz, Tran discloses the antenna can operate in 824-894 MHz (para [0047]) and 2400-2500 MHz (para [0052]) and the frequency can be adjusted by adjusting the length and position of different components of the antenna structure (para [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the first and second frequency ranges of the antenna assembly taught in Tran to be 700 MHz to 800 MHz and 2500 MHz to 2700 MHz as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired operating frequency depending on the requirements of the application (Tran, para [0033]).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Tran discloses the following:
an apparatus comprising:
a circuit (para [0037]: radio circuitry elements comprising a processor) capable of at least one of processing a communication signal received wirelessly from a network and processing a communication signal for transmission wirelessly to the network (para [0048]: The controller/processor may then generate various types of signaling for transmission via the multiband antenna. Additionally, a transceiver data processor within the mobile device or operatively coupled thereto may generate signaling, which can be processed by a modulator and transmitted and/or received via the multiband antenna to a base station); and
an antenna assembly (180, fig. 5) coupled to the circuit, the antenna assembly comprising:
an antenna structure configured to operate in a first frequency range and a second frequency range that is different from the first frequency range (para [0038]-[0040]: multiband antenna structure 180);
a first conductive element (171, fig. 5, para [0032]) coupled at one end to a first end to a conductive ground element (166) on the antenna structure, the first conductive element extending outward in a direction perpendicular to the ground element (166) and away from the antenna structure (180); and
a second conductive element (172) coupled at one end to a second end of the ground element (166) on the antenna structure, the second conductive element extending outward in a direction perpendicular to the conductive ground element (166) away from the antenna structure, the second conductive element extending parallel to the first conductive element (fig. 5);
Although Tran does not explicitly disclose wherein the first conductive element and the second conductive element form a ground plane extension for the antenna structure that improves the performance of the antenna assembly in at least one of the first frequency range and the second frequency range of operation, Tran discloses the first conductive element 171 and the second conductive element 172 connect to the ground plane of the circuit board 150 (para [0032]) and the ground plane 140 (para [0036], [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the first and second conductive elements taught in Tran to form a ground plane extension for the antenna structure as claimed for the purpose of increasing the area of the ground plane of the antenna structure in order to improve the antennas’ performance.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “capable of” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
According to MPEP 2112.01 “when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.)
Regarding claim 12, Tran discloses wherein the ground element (166, fig. 5) on the antenna structure has a length equal to a distance between the first conductive element (171) and the second conductive element (172).
Regarding claim 13, although Tran does not explicitly wherein a distance between the first conductive element and the second conductive element is greater than 0.5 inches, Tran discloses the distance between the first conductive element and the second conductive element can be adjusted (para [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the distance between the first conductive element and the second conductive element of the antenna assembly taught in Tran to be greater than 0.5 inches as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired operating frequency depending on the requirements of the application (Tran, para [0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Tran discloses wherein the circuit is included as part of a communication circuit assembly (para [0037]), and wherein the first conductive element is coupled at a second end to a ground element for the circuit, and wherein the second conductive element is coupled at a second end to the ground element for the circuit (para [0032]).
Regarding claim 18, Tran discloses wherein the antenna assembly is a dual-band antenna (para [0041]).
Regarding claim 19, although Tran does not explicitly wherein the first frequency range of operation is 700 MHz to 800 MHz and the second frequency range of operation is 2500 MHz to 2700 MHz, Tran discloses the antenna can operate in 824-894 MHz (para [0047]) and 2400-2500 MHz (para [0052]) and the frequency can be adjusted by adjusting the length and position of different components of the antenna structure (para [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the first and second frequency ranges of the antenna assembly taught in Tran to be 700 MHz to 800 MHz and 2500 MHz to 2700 MHz as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The motivation stems from the need to achieve the desired operating frequency depending on the requirements of the application (Tran, para [0033]).
Claims 5-6, 10, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran as applied to claims 1, 4, 11 and 14 above, and in view of Hobson et al, US-20080316116-A1 (hereinafter Hobson).
Regarding claim 5, Tran does not disclose wherein the antenna structure is coupled to the communication circuit assembly using a coaxial cable assembly having a center conductor and an outer conductive ground shield.
Hobson suggests wherein the antenna structure (120, fig. 12) is coupled to the communication circuit assembly (52b, fig. 3) using a coaxial cable assembly (56B) having a center conductor (82-1, 82-2, para [0115], fig. 10) and an outer conductive ground shield (para [0115], [0157]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the coaxial cable assembly as suggested in Hobson to couple the antenna structure to the communication circuit taught in Tran as claimed for the purpose of minimizing signal loss and interference, enhancing signal strength, reducing weight and simplifying the wiring process due to its flexibility.
Regarding claim 6, Tran does not disclose wherein one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element is at least a portion of the outer conductive ground shield of the coaxial cable assembly.
Hobson suggests wherein one of the first conductive element (130, fig. 12) and the second conductive element is at least a portion of the outer conductive ground shield of the coaxial cable assembly (para [0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a portion of the outer conductive ground shield of the coaxial cable assembly as suggested in Hobson as one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element taught in Tran as claimed for the purpose of providing good grounding to the coaxial cable in order to improve the antenna’s performance (Hobson, para [0157]).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Tran discloses wherein the antenna structure includes:
a first driven antenna element (fig. 5 below) coupled at one end to a signal connection interface (185), the first driven antenna element extending outward in length from the signal connection interface (fig. 5), the first driven antenna element configured to at least one of transmit and receive a communication signal wirelessly in the first frequency range of operation; and
a second driven antenna element (fig. 5 below) coupled at one end to the signal connection interface (185), the second driven antenna element extending outward in a direction opposite the direction of the first driven antenna element (fig. 5), the second driven antenna element configured to at least one of transmit and receive the communication signal wirelessly in the second frequency range of operation.
Tran does not disclose wherein the signal connection interface is coupled to the center conductor of the coaxial cable assembly.
Hobson suggests wherein the signal connection interface (124, fig. 12) is coupled to the center conductor of the coaxial cable assembly (56B, para [0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use center conductor of the coaxial cable assembly as suggested in Hobson to couple to the signal connection interface taught in Tran as claimed for the purpose of minimizing signal loss and interference, enhancing signal strength, reducing weight and simplifying the wiring process due to its flexibility.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.)
Regarding claim 15, Tran does not disclose wherein the antenna structure is coupled to the circuit using a coaxial cable assembly having a center conductor and an outer conductive ground shield.
Hobson suggests wherein the antenna structure (120, fig. 12) is coupled to the circuit (52b, fig. 3) using a coaxial cable assembly (56B) having a center conductor (82-1, 82-2, para [0115], fig. 10) and an outer conductive ground shield (para [0115], [0157]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the coaxial cable assembly as suggested in Hobson to couple the antenna structure to the circuit taught in Tran as claimed for the purpose of minimizing signal loss and interference, enhancing signal strength, reducing weight and simplifying the wiring process due to its flexibility.
Regarding claim 16, Tran does not disclose wherein one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element is at least a portion of the outer conductive ground shield of the coaxial cable assembly.
Hobson suggests wherein one of the first conductive element (130, fig. 12) and the second conductive element is at least a portion of the outer conductive ground shield of the coaxial cable assembly (para [0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a portion of the outer conductive ground shield of the coaxial cable assembly as suggested in Hobson as one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element taught in Tran as claimed for the purpose of providing good grounding to the coaxial cable in order to improve the antenna’s performance (Hobson, para [0157]).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, Tran discloses wherein the antenna structure includes:
a first driven antenna element (fig. 5 below) coupled at one end to a signal connection interface (185), the first driven antenna element extending outward in length from the signal connection interface (fig. 5), the first driven antenna element configured to at least one of transmit and receive the communication signal over the network in the first frequency range of operation; and
a second driven antenna element (fig. 5 below) coupled at one end to the signal connection interface (185), the second driven antenna element extending outward in a direction opposite the direction of the first driven antenna element (fig. 5), the second driven antenna element configured to at least one of transmit and receive the communication signal over the network in the second frequency range of operation.
Tran does not disclose wherein the signal connection interface is coupled to the center conductor of the coaxial cable assembly.
Hobson suggests wherein the signal connection interface (124, fig. 12) is coupled to the center conductor of the coaxial cable assembly (56B, para [0122]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use center conductor of the coaxial cable assembly as suggested in Hobson to couple to the signal connection interface taught in Tran as claimed for the purpose of minimizing signal loss and interference, enhancing signal strength, reducing weight and simplifying the wiring process due to its flexibility.
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.)
Claim 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and in view of Murphy, US-20150200445-A1.
Regarding claim 7, although Tran does not disclose wherein at least one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element is an electrical wire, Tran discloses the material of the first and second conductive elements can be any suitable conducting material, flexible, rigid or some combination thereof (para [0039]).
Murphy suggests wherein at least one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element is an electrical wire ([para [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use electrical wire as suggested in Murphy as one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element taught in Tran as claimed for the purpose of reducing the manufacturing cost and improving the flexibility of the wiring.
Regarding claim 17, although Tran does not disclose wherein at least one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element is an electrical wire, Tran discloses the material of the first and second conductive elements can be any suitable conducting material, flexible, rigid or some combination thereof (para [0039]).
Murphy suggests wherein at least one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element is an electrical wire ([para [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use electrical wire as suggested in Murphy as one of the first conductive element and the second conductive element taught in Tran as claimed for the purpose of reducing the manufacturing cost and improving the flexibility of the wiring.
Citation of Pertinent Art
Lee et al, US-20190372215-A1, fig. 2 could read on claim 1
Jenwatanavet et al, US-20070120748-A1, fig. 4B could read on claim 1
Angura et al, US-20200259252-A1, fig. 1B could read on claim 1
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845