Detail Office Action
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Status: Please all the replies and correspondence should be addressed to Examiner’s art unit 2629. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted on 12-05-2024 under new application; which have been placed of record in the file. Claims 1-23 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. . 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12-05-2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,10-16, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHARRIER DOMINIQUE (EP 0562903 A1) hereinafter referenced as CHARRIER in view of ASHER JAMES CRAIG (EP 0056315 A1) hereinafter referenced as ASHER. Further, foreign document and English translation are provided in combination in IDS filed on December 12; 2024. Note that paragraph references refer to English translation and figure references refer to figures provided in foreign document).
Regarding Claim 01, CHARRIER discloses a joystick [fig. 1, disclosing structure of the Joystick, however, CHARRIER fails to recite explicitly Joystick] comprising: a lever [51] mounted to a base [5] by a pivot [53], the base having one or more position sensors [55, 56] for sensing a position of the lever relative to the base, the lever having a longitudinal length extending between the pivot and a distal end [52]; an input shaft [11] pivotally mounted to a support [3], the input shaft having a longitudinal length extending between a first end having an input portion [2] for receiving a user input and a second end [12], the second end [12] cooperating with the distal end [52] of the lever such that pivoting of the input shaft relative to the support [3] causes pivoting of the lever relative to the base).
However, in the applicant field of endeavor prior art of ASHER recite joystick (para. 6).
CHARRIER teaches a lever control device, also called a manipulator or combiner, in which a manual control lever is mounted to oscillate around a joint on a support block and is used to actuate contacts, each delivering a signal. The control device controls actuators such as those of lifting and handling equipment, according to the movements given by an operator to the control lever. An analog manipulator comprising a control piece capable of being moved, around a spherical joint, under the action of a control lever, and of acting on analog detectors which provide signals representative of the position of the control piece and the associated lever.
CHARRIER teaches an analog detection block including analog detectors and an excitation piece capable of oscillating, around a joint, in front of said analog detectors and that the manual control lever actuates on the one hand an intermediate lever mechanically connected to the excitation piece and on the other hand a control plate acting on the contacts
ASHER teaches upper and lower mating housing members for encasing the controller operating elements, including a substrate on which a plurality of game status dome switches and joystick control dome switches are mounted.
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, CHARRIER performs the same function as it does separately of managing process of a lever control device, also called a manipulator or combiner. An analog manipulator comprising a control piece capable of being moved, around a spherical joint, under the action of a control lever, and of acting on analog detectors which provide signals representative of the position of the control piece and the associated lever.
ASHER performs the same function as it does separately of teaches upper and lower mating housing members for encasing the controller operating elements, including a substrate on which a plurality of game status dome switches and joystick control dome switches are mounted.
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of CHARRIER to include teaching and reciting of a joystick, as disclosed by ASHER thereby to be able to. have a durable, rugged, low cost game control unit for a video game which embodies the capabilities of both a joystick type controller and a paddle type controller in a single unit as ASHER discusses at para. 5.
Regarding Claim 02, CHARRIER discloses arranged such that as the lever is biased from a rest to a displaced configuration the one or more position sensors sense a displaced position of the lever relative to the base through the biasing of the input shaft from a rest configuration to a displaced configuration (please see figs. 1, item paras. 19-25,39-40, disclosing the lever is biased from a rest to a displaced configuration the one or more position sensors sense a displaced position of the lever relative to the base through the biasing of the input shaft from a rest configuration to a displaced configuration).
Regarding Claim 03, CHARRIER discloses the longitudinal length of the input shaft is greater than the longitudinal length of the lever.
Regarding Claim 04, CHARRIER discloses the input shaft pivots relative to the support at a position vertically above the pivot about which the lever pivots relative to the base (fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 05, CHARRIER discloses the pivot enables pivoting in a pivot plane about multiple pivot axes (please see figs. 1-2, items 51, 53, paras. 18-19).
Regarding Claim 06, CHARRIER discloses one of the distal end and second end of the lever and input shaft respectively receives the other of the distal end and second end into a receiving zone therein (please see fig.1, the input shaft having a longitudinal length extending between a first end having an input portion [2] for receiving a user input and a second end [12], the second end [12] cooperating with the distal end [52] of the lever such that pivoting of the input shaft relative to the support [3] ).
Regarding Claim 10, CHARRIER discloses the one or more position sensors are configured to measure an analogue output (fig. 1, item. 55-56, para. 22)
Regarding Claim 11, ASHER discloses a plurality of switches arranged such that as the input shaft is biased from a rest position to a displaced position, the input shaft engages with at least one of the plurality of switches to effect activation of at least one of the plurality of switches (paras, 22-23 figs, 6A, 6B)
Regarding Claim 12, ASHER discloses the input shaft comprises a flange projecting transversely from the longitudinal length for activation of the plurality of switches (paras, 22-23 figs, 6A, 6B).
Regarding Claim 13, ASHER discloses the plurality of switches are each disposed around the input shaft (paras, 22-23 figs, 6A, 6B).
Regarding Claim 14, ASHER discloses there is vertical activation of the switches by the flange (paras, 22-23 figs, 6A, 6B).
Regarding Claim 15, ASHER discloses the plurality of switches are each disposed intermediate the support and the input shaft (paras, 22-23 figs, 6A, 6B).
Regarding Claim 16, CHARRIER discloses the input shaft extends through the support ((please see figs. 1-2, items 51)
Regarding Claim 18, CHARRIER discloses the one or more position sensors sense displacement of the lever relative to the base from a rest position to a displaced position (paras. 24, 39, fig. 1-2), the joystick further comprising a biasing arrangement for biasing the input shaft toward a position for retaining the lever in the rest position (fig. 1, items 1, 11, 12, 51, 52 , item 16, paras. 19, 25, )
Regarding Claim 19, CHARRIER discloses the biasing arrangement is arranged to bias the input shaft toward a position whereby the input shaft and lever are axially aligned (fig. 1, items 1, 11, 12, 16, 51, 52).
Regarding Claim 20, CHARRIER discloses the biasing arrangement comprises a conical spring (fig. 1, item 16).
Regarding Claim 21, CHARRIER discloses a diameter of the conical spring increases in a first direction from the second end towards the first end (fig. 1, item 16).
Claim(s) 7-9, 17 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHARRIER DOMINIQUE (EP 0562903 A1) hereinafter referenced as CHARRIER in view of ASHER JAMES CRAIG (EP 0056315 A1) hereinafter referenced as ASHER as applied to claims 1-6,10-16, and 18-21 above and further in view of Paquereau Philippe et al. hereinafter referenced as Paquereau et al.
Regarding Claim 07, CHARRIER in view of ASHER fails to disclose the receiving zone projects lengthwise into the input shaft or lever, and the distal end or second end is moveable longitudinally through the receiving zone
However, prior art of Paquereau et al. discloses the receiving zone projects lengthwise into the input shaft or lever, and the distal end or second end is moveable longitudinally through the receiving zone (figs. 9, 10 Col. 5, Line 57 to Col. 6, Line7).
CHARRIER teaches a lever control device, also called a manipulator or combiner, in which a manual control lever is mounted to oscillate around a joint on a support block and is used to actuate contacts, each delivering a signal. The control device controls actuators such as those of lifting and handling equipment, according to the movements given by an operator to the control lever. An analog manipulator comprising a control piece capable of being moved, around a spherical joint, under the action of a control lever, and of acting on analog detectors which provide signals representative of the position of the control piece and the associated lever.
CHARRIER teaches an analog detection block including analog detectors and an excitation piece capable of oscillating, around a joint, in front of said analog detectors and that the manual control lever actuates on the one hand an intermediate lever mechanically connected to the excitation piece and on the other hand a control plate acting on the contacts
Paquereau et al. teaches the receiving zone projects lengthwise into the input shaft or lever, and the distal end or second end is moveable longitudinally through the receiving zone
Hence the prior art includes each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference.
In combination, CHARRIER performs the same function as it does separately of managing process of a lever control device, also called a manipulator or combiner. An analog manipulator comprising a control piece capable of being moved, around a spherical joint, under the action of a control lever, and of acting on analog detectors which provide signals representative of the position of the control piece and the associated lever.
Paquereau et al. performs the same function as it does separately of an analogue manipulator for generating electrical control signals in response to various orientations in space imparted to an operating element of said manipulator, such as a lever. Lever or manipulator comprises the receiving zone projects lengthwise into the input shaft or lever, and the distal end or second end is moveable longitudinally through the receiving zone
Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
The results of the combination would have been predictable and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of CHARRIER to include teaching of the receiving zone projects lengthwise into the input shaft or lever, and the distal end or second end is moveable longitudinally through the receiving zone, as disclosed by Paquereau et al. thereby to be able to. have an analogue manipulator having a reaction anisotropy to the operator depending upon the orientation engaged, with the manipulator dimensions are as small as possible and the manipulator are reliable as well as inexpensive as Paquereau et al. discusses at Col. 1, Lines 44-50
Regarding Claim 08, Paquereau et al. discloses either the distal end or second end comprises at least a partial sphere (figs. 9, 10 Col. 5, Line 57 to Col. 6, Line7)
Regarding Claim 09, Paquereau et al. discloses the receiving zone comprises a width arranged to receive the sphere such that the sphere contacts opposite sides of the receiving zone (figs. 9, 10 Col. 5, Line 57 to Col. 6, Line7)
Regarding Claim 17, Paquereau et al. discloses the input shaft and support cooperate by a ball and socket joint. (please see figs. 9, 10 ,17 Col. 6, Lines 24-31).
Please also see prior art of CHARRIER disclosure, fig.1, para. 17).
Regarding Claim 22, Paquereau et al. discloses the biasing arrangement comprises an elastomeric bushing (fig, 17 items 79, 75, Col. 7, Lines 20-45)
Regarding Claim 23, Paquereau et al. discloses the joystick comprises a first and second housing portion, where the first and second housing portion are releasably mountable to one another and cooperate to define a receiving zone for the biasing arrangement (please see figs. 1-2, 7-10, 17, Col. 5, Line 63 to Col. 6, Line 43, Col. 7, Lines 20-45 disclosing the joystick comprises a first and second housing portion, where the first and second housing portion are releasably mountable to one another and cooperate to define a receiving zone for the biasing arrangement).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant is requested to review the prior art cited on USTO 892’s.
The prior art of Gai Marcella (US 20210291951 A1) disclosure, paras. 67-80, discloses, A lever control member, also known as joystick, for generating command signals that control the movement of boats, watercrafts or the like includes a base, a stick, a shaft for supporting the stick, a joint mechanically coupled to the shaft and positioned in a supporting housing included in the base, one or more sensors, one or more electronic circuits, and one or more control mechanisms, for example, one or more buttons. A subset of those control mechanisms possibly may be positioned on the stick and may be used to manage the swaying of one or more outboard motors around a horizontal axis parallel to the transom, known as "trim." The joystick may be provided with an ergonomically shaped control mechanism and/or a rotating member, which may be activated by an operator. With reference to the above figures, FIG. 1 shows an overall view of a possible embodiment of the lever control member also known under the name of joystick, comprising a series of members among which it can be identified the base 1 which can be mechanically anchored to a horizontal or oblique plane and acting, among other things, as a support for the stick 2, which stick is provided with two or more degrees of freedom manually activated by the operator using the same; the joystick in this example includes, among other things, manually operated control buttons 8 and 8′ which are available to the operator according to the control requirements of the boat, and an operative unit located on top of the shaft 9 able to perform sway movements around an axis substantially parallel to the shaft and provided with a recess 91 ergonomically shaped for accommodating the operator's thumb.Control mechanisms comprise two buttons 8, 8′ disposed on the base 1 or on the stick 2 in the portion of the surface closest to the base 1, which buttons are positioned in the front area A of said member with reference to the grip condition of the stick 2 or in the position most distant from the body of the user gripping the stick 2 with one hand and possibly gripping the base 1 with the other hand. In this way, the buttons can be pushed without moving the hand away from the grip position and the operator can control the boat by moving the lever and simultaneously activate the buttons 8, 8′ with a slight movement of one or two fingers of the hand without reducing the control of the joystick lever. Preferably, the two buttons are used for controlling the trimming position of the thrusters to respectively control the increase or decrease of the angular inclination of the same with respect to the horizontal axis parallel to the transom.
The prior art of Grome Donald C et al. (US 6580418 B1) disclosure, Col. 5, Line 31 to Col. 17, Line 28, disclosing Input signals are produced by the joystick for controlling computer software programs and hardware devices in response to a pivotal displacement of a joystick control handle about a center point relative to two orthogonal axes that pass through the center point referred to as the "X" and "Y" axes. Preferably, the device further provides a third input axis (the "Z" axis), about which rotation of a joystick control handle produces an input signal. The rotation about each axis is measured by separate position sensors that each produce a proportional output signal indicative of angular displacement of the control handle about a different one of these three axes. Springs that resists displacement of the joystick about each of the X, Y, and Z axes are also provided such that the joystick is automatically returned to a center position for each axis when input force on the joystick handle is removed. The joystick includes a shaft extending from the control handle that is coupled to an end cap defining a spherical surface. In addition, a hemispherical-shaped member comprising a spherical exterior surface is coupled to the shaft adjacent towards a middle portion of the shaft. Preferably, the hemispherical-shaped member comprises a substantially hemispherical shell having four arcuate reliefs defined in respective quadrants of the shell. The shaft extends into an opening formed in a top portion of the housing. A bearing surface adapted to slidingly engage the spherical exterior surface of the hemispherical-shaped member as the joystick is pivoted is provided in the housing. A bottom portion of the housing, which is coupled to the top portion, includes a receiver adapted to slidingly engage the spherical surface of the end cap. Preferably, the spherical exterior surface of the hemispherical-shaped member and the spherical surface of the end cap are configured such that each of these surfaces share a common center point. Accordingly, movement by a user of the joystick control handle causes the control handle to be pivotally displaced about this common center point. Preferably, the direction and magnitude of such a pivotal displacement can be determined by measuring a corresponding rotation about two orthogonal axes (the X and Y axes) that pass through the center point. Thus, a first position sensor and a second position sensor are operatively coupled to the control handle shaft so as to produce a signal that is proportional to an angular rotation of the joystick about the X and Y axes. The first and second position sensors preferably comprise potentiometers, so that a direction and a magnitude of the pivotal displacement of the joystick control handle can be readily determined as a function of output voltage signals produced by the potentiometers. The potentiometers are operatively coupled to the shaft through gimbals. An upper gimbal is pivotally mounted to the housing and comprises a yoke connected at opposing ends to support shafts having a common centerline coincident with the X axis and a slot defined therein, parallel to the first axis through which the control handle shaft extends. The slot is also adapted to slidingly engage the control handle shaft such that the control handle shaft can freely rotate about the Y axis without causing the gimbal to rotate about the X axis. Preferably, the yoke includes a substantially hemispherical shell that is nested below the hemispherical member connected to the shaft of the joystick control handle. A substantially similar lower gimbal, having a substantially hemispherical yoke and an axis of rotation corresponding to the Y axis, is likewise pivotally mounted to the housing. The configuration of the upper and lower gimbals is such that the yoke of the lower gimbal is nested just below the upper gimbal and the gimbals rotate about orthogonal axes that share a common crossing point, preferably coincident with the center point discussed above. The yoke of the lower gimbal also has a slot defined therein, extending parallel to the Y axis through which the shaft of the joystick control handle extends and is adapted to slidingly engage this shaft, enabling the shaft to be rotated freely about the X axis without causing rotation of the lower gimbal about the Y axis. Each of the upper and lower gimbals is operatively coupled to a spring that develops a bias force applied against the joystick control handle when the control handle is pivotally displaced away from the center position about the X and Y axes. Preferably, each of the springs comprises a torsion spring including a looped portion having a pair of tangs extending therefrom. The torsion spring is disposed in a holder and coupled to a support shaft on one of the gimbals. The holder and housing are configured such that when the joystick is in a centered position with respect to one of the X and Y axes, the tangs of the torsion spring corresponding to that one axis engage the housing and the holder in a manner that exerts no torque on the holder (and thus, no torque on the respective gimbal). However, rotation of the joystick in either direction about an axis of the gimbal causes a distance between the tangs to change such that one of the tangs exerts a force against the housing while the other tang exerts a force against the holder, thereby generating a torque opposite the direction of the rotation of the control handle about the gimbal axis. As a result, a bias force is produced that is exerted upon the control handle opposite the direction of its displacement. The joystick is configured so as to enable a full range of motion to be traversed about one of the X and Y axes, while simultaneously enabling a user to maintain a maximal displacement about the other axis. Rotation of the control handle about a third ("Z") axis, i.e., a longitudinal axis of the shaft by a user, produces a third input signal. Preferably, the shaft of the joystick control handle is prevented from rotating about this longitudinal axis by a flat formed on the shaft that engages the slots in at least one of the gimbals. A position sensor, preferably a potentiometer, produces a signal indicative of the angular position of the control handle as the control handle is rotated about its longitudinal axis. Preferably, the third axis also includes a spring configured in a manner substantially similar to the springs used for the X and Y axes, to provide a bias force to return the control handle to a center position about the Z axis when the joystick handle is rotated away from its center position. A force is exerted on the control handle by the spring to oppose rotation of the control handle by a user.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria VA 22313-1450
/Prabodh M Dharia/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2629
07-02-2026