DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I in the reply filed on 09/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/21/2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/871,856.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 8-9, the copending claims disclose a method comprising applying a coating composition on a paper wherein the coating composition comprising the same composition as presently claimed. It is noted that the product obtained by the copending claims would be the same as claimed in present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the polyolefin" in 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katzenstein et al. (US 2018/0363248).
Regarding claims 1, 3, Katzenstein discloses coated paper (title) comprising a coating composition (0001, 0008) comprises ethylene-co-octene copolymer, i.e. poly-C2-C3-olefin such as ethylene-1-octene copolymer (0021), ethylene bis(stearamide), i.e. C5-C26-alkyl primary fatty amide, (0022) and dispersant such as ethylene acrylic acid (0005, 0016) wherein the coating has a coat weight of 1 to 12 g/m2 (0008).
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Katzenstein discloses the article of claim 1, wherein the poly-C2-C3-olefin is in the range up to 85 weight percent (0021), the dispersant is in the range of 9 to 50 weight percent (0010) and the C5-C26-alkyl primary fatty amide is in the range of up to 5 weight percent (0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katzenstein et al. (US 2018/0363248) in view of Sung et al (KR 102006945).
Regarding claims 4-5, Katzenstein discloses the article of claim 3, wherein Katzenstein discloses ethylene-1-octene copolymer but fails to disclose specific primary fatty amide as presently claimed.
Sung discloses coated paper (title) comprising a coating containing 1 to 10 weight percent of behenic acid amide, i.e. C10-C24-alkyl primary fatty amide, to obtain smooth coating layer and improved flowability (0080). Given that Sung discloses the same behenic acid amide as disclosed in the present specification, it is clear that the behenic acid amide of Sung would inherently have the same melting point as presently claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the specific fatty amide of Sung in the coating of Katzenstein to obtain smooth coating layer and improved flowability.
Regarding claim 9, Katzenstein in view of Sung discloses the article of claim 4, wherein Katzenstein discloses the poly-C2-C3-olefin is in the range of up to 85 weight person (0021), the dispersant is in the range of 9 to 50 weight percent (0010) and Sung discloses 1 to 10 weight percent of C10-C24-alkyl primary fatty amide (0080).
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787