DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Office Action addressing U.S. Application No. 18/871,870. Based upon a review of the instant application, the actual filing date of the instant application is December 5, 2024. Since the instant application was filed after September 16, 2012, the statutory provisions of the America Invents Act ("AIA ") will govern this proceeding.
The instant application is a national stage entry of PCT/IB2023/055835 filed June 6, 2023. The instant application also claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/349,627 filed June 7, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,8,9, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0007117 hereinafter “Park”) in view of Mueck et al. (WO 2017/065852 hereinafter “Mueck”).
Referring to independent claims 1, 17, and 18, Park teaches a controlling node comprising a processor and memory that stores a computer program product comprising instructions that when performed by a controlling node execute a method, the method comprising:
receiving interference information from one of one or more network nodes (see item 645 in figure 6);
determining an interference coordination area (ICA) based on the received interference information, the ICA covering two or more network nodes that are impacted by interference with each other (see item 220 in figure 2); and
determining a coexistence configuration, for the two or more network nodes comprised in the ICA (see item 650 in figure 6 and ¶ 100).
Park fails to teach receiving interference information from one or more operators of one or more network nodes.
Mueck teaches, in an analogous system, the above limitations (See ¶ 73, note the PAL or GAA CBSDs may indicate or signal interference to the SAS).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Park with the above teachings of Mueck. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide for more enhanced interference mitigation as suggested by Mueck (See Abstract).
Referring to claims 2 and 19, the combination of Park and Mueck teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), and Park further teaches wherein receiving the interference information comprises receiving a geographical area where the one or more network nodes or one or more operators experience interference (See ¶ 51).
Referring to claims 3 and 20, the combination of Park and Mueck teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), and Park further teaches receiving the interference information comprises receiving signal measurements (See ¶ 19).
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Park and Mueck teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), and while Park fails to explicitly disclose the ICA is a GAA Coordination Area (GCA), Mueck teaches the above limitation (See ¶ 73).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teachings of Park with the above teachings of Mueck. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide for more enhanced interference mitigation as suggested by Mueck (See Abstract).
Referring to claim 8, the combination of Park and Mueck teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), and Mueck further teaches determining the coexistence configuration further comprises determining a Time Division Duplexing (TDD) configuration (see ¶ 63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the teachings of Park with the above teachings of Mueck in order to further the interference mitigation as suggested by Mueck (see ¶ 59).
Referring to claim 9, the combination of Park and Mueck teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), and Mueck teaches determining the coexistence configuration comprises determining a channel plan for the two or more network nodes (see ¶ 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to further modify the teachings of Park with the above teachings of Mueck in order to ensure interference is as low as possible as suggested by Mueck (see ¶ 54).
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Mueck as applied to claims 1,17, and 18 above, and further in view of Srikanteswara et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0318470 hereinafter “Srikanteswara”).
Referring to claim 5, the combination of Park and Mueck teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), however the combination fails to explicitly disclose the wherein the ICA is a geographical area.
Srikanteswara teaches in an analogous system, the above limitation (see figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the combination of Park and Mueck with the above teachings of Srikanteswara because Srikanteswara suggest such zones be finite, closed areas such as polygons or circles (See ¶ 66).
Referring to claim 16, the combination of Park, Mueck, and Srikanteswara teaches the method of claim 15 (as shown above), and Srikanteswara further teaches the ICA is a polygon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the combination of Park and Mueck with the above teachings of Srikanteswara for the same reasons as mentioned above.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Mueck as applied to claims 1,17, and 18 above, and further in view of Balachandran et al. (WO 2017/195152 hereinafter “Balachandran”).
Referring to claim 13, the combination of Park and Mueck teaches the method of claim 1 (as shown above), however the combination fails to teach determining the coexistence configuration comprises indicating to the one or more operators of the two or more network nodes comprised in the ICA to negotiate a coexistence configuration for the two or more network nodes.
Balachandran teaches, in an analogous system, indicating to the one or more operators of the two or more network nodes comprised in the ICA to negotiate a coexistence configuration for the two or more network nodes (See 18:20-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the combination of Park and Mueck with the above teachings of Balachandran. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make such modification in order to simplify the interference protection as suggest by Balachandran (See 5:25-31).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7,10-12, and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are cited to further show the state of the art as it pertains to the Applicant’s invention:
U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0187098 to Dhillon et al. teaches a system wherein an operator sends interference information to a controlling node.
“Interference Management with Beamforming Utilizing Spectrum Database for Micro Operators,” by Taniguchi et al. is cited as background information.
Signed:
/ERON J SORRELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992