DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim1-4, 6, 7, 9-12, 15, 16, 18-22, 24, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite one or more bPAAGs, wherein the abbreviation is not spelled out before its first use. Therefore, the claims are indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9-12, 15, 16, 18-22, 24, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen (US Patent Pub. 2003/0065389) in view of Lopatin (US Patent 7,294,348).
Petersen et al. disclose a hydrogel for use as a prosthetic device for supplementing, augmenting or replacing cartilage in the intra-articular cavity of a joint and for treatment or prevention of arthritis. The hydrogel may be a polyacrylamide hydrogel (ABSTRACT). Petersen et al. disclose hyaluronate and hyaluronic acids for prosthetics and administered by injection into the intraarticular acidy of knees are prone to sheering due to mechanical stress and has faced resorption problems ([0009]).
Petersen et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose bPAAGs.
Lopatin discloses polyfunctional biocompatible hydrogel comprising poviargol, which meets the limitation of silver ions (ABSTRACT). Lopatin discloses the hydrogels formed from a copolymer of acrylamide and cross-linking agents create a three-dimensional network (column 4, lines 25-30). Lopatin discloses the hydrogel reduce the tissue response of the patient upon implantation of the hydrogel, provide for high stability during implantation by reducing the rate of resorption and shrinkage, and reduce the possibility of colonization and proliferation of microorganisms within the hydrogel, including those from the recipient’s body (column 4, lines 62-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the claimed bPAAGs as the hydrogel of Petersen motivated by the desire reduce the tissue response of the patient upon implantation of the hydrogel, provide for high stability during implantation by reducing the rate of resorption and shrinkage, and reduce the possibility of colonization and proliferation of microorganisms within the hydrogel, including those from the recipient’s body as taught by Lopatin.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612