DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
WO 2018077930 (“Klaus”).
Regarding Claim 16, Klaus discloses and arrangement for ejecting a movable furniture part, comprising:
two devices (6) for ejecting the movable furniture part, each device including a trigger (50) movable between a blocking position and a release position, wherein a displacement of the each of the triggers (50) into the release position releases the respective device from a retracted position, at least one of the triggers (50) including at least one transmission counter-element; and
a synchronizing shaft (see e.g. 115, Fig. 21C) coupling the triggers (50) of the two devices (6) to one another, the synchronizing shaft including:
a first synchronizing element (90, first side);
a second synchronizing element (90, second side);
wherein at least one of the synchronizing elements includes at least one transmission element (91), and engagement of the at least one transmission element (91) with the at least one transmission counter-element translates a displacement of at least one of the triggers (50) into a rotation of the synchronizing shaft; and
wherein the first synchronizing element (90) and the second synchronizing element (80) are, indirectly or directly, releasably and rotationally fixedly connected to each other by a connection of at least one coupling portion (via shaft portion) to at least one coupling section (81).
Claim 16 and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 113558409 (“DU”)
Regarding Claims 16 and 30-33, DU discloses Claim 16- an arrangement for ejecting a movable furniture part, comprising:
two devices (100) for ejecting the movable furniture part, each device including a trigger (1-6) movable between a blocking position and a release position, wherein a displacement of the each of the triggers (1-6) into the release position releases the respective device from a retracted position, at least one of the triggers (1-6) including at least one transmission counter-element (1-6-3); and
a synchronizing shaft (400) coupling the triggers (1-6) of the two devices (100) to one another, the synchronizing shaft (400) including:
a first synchronizing element (1-16);
a second synchronizing element (1-16);
wherein at least one of the synchronizing elements includes at least one transmission element (1-16-1), and engagement of the at least one transmission element (1-16-1) with the at least one transmission counter-element (1-6-3) translates a displacement of at least one of the triggers (1-6) into a rotation of the synchronizing shaft (400); and
wherein the first synchronizing element (1-16) and the second synchronizing element (1-16) are, indirectly or directly, releasably and rotationally fixedly connected to each other by a connection of at least one coupling portion (connecting 400 to 1-16-2) to at least one coupling section (1-16-2); Claim 30-wherein: each of the two devices (100) includes a housing including a shaft opening; and each of the first and second synchronizing elements (1-16) is at least partially receivable in a respective one of the shaft openings; Claim 31- wherein: the shaft opening of at least one of the two devices (100) includes a cutout providing a connection to an interior space of the housing of the device in a direction perpendicular to a central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (400) , the cutout exposing at least part of the coupling section of at least one synchronizing element accommodated in the shaft opening; claim 32-wherein: the shaft opening of at least one of the two devices (100) (1, 2) includes a neck; and at least one of the synchronizing elements includes an abutment portion formed as a shaft shoulder, the abutment portion bearing at least partially against the neck of the shaft opening; Claim 33- wherein: at least one of the synchronizing elements(1-16) further includes a retaining section formed as another shaft shoulder; and the shaft opening of at least one of the two devices (100) includes a retaining shoulder; wherein the at least one synchronizing element is held within its respective housing (19) in both directions along a central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (400) with the abutment portion on the neck and with the retaining portion on the retaining shoulder.
Claims 16-22, 24-27, 29 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20120038255 (“NETZER et al.”).
Regarding Claim 16, Netzer et al. discloses an arrangement for ejecting a movable furniture part, comprising:
two devices (1, 2) for ejecting the movable furniture part, each device including a trigger (17) movable between a blocking position and a release position, wherein a displacement of the each of the triggers (17) into the release position releases the respective device from a retracted position, at least one of the triggers (17)including at least one transmission counter-element (8a); and
a synchronizing shaft (6) coupling the triggers (17) of the two devices (1, 2) to one another, the synchronizing shaft (6) including:
a first synchronizing element (29, 9a; first side);
a second synchronizing element (29, 9a; second side);
wherein at least one of the synchronizing elements (29, 9a) includes at least one transmission element (9a), and engagement of the at least one transmission element (9a) with the at least one transmission counter-element (8a) translates a displacement of at least one of the triggers (17) into a rotation of the synchronizing shaft (6); and
wherein the first synchronizing element (29, 9a) and the second synchronizing element (29, 9a) are, indirectly or directly, releasably and rotationally fixedly connected to each other by a connection of at least one coupling portion (26) to at least one coupling section (29); Claim 17- at least one of the triggers (17) is at least predominantly linearly movable between the blocking position and the release position relative to a housing (19) of the respective device; Claim 18- wherein: the connection of the at least one coupling portion (26) to the at least one coupling section (29) is a positive polygonal connection in a circumferential direction with respect to a central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (6); Claim 19-wherein: the connection of the at least one coupling portion (26) to the at least one coupling section (29) is releasable in a direction perpendicular to the central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (6); Claim 20- wherein: the connection of the at least one coupling portion (26 ) to the at least one coupling section (29) is releasable in a direction parallel to the central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (6); Claim 21-wherein:the at least one coupling portion (26 ) includes a coupling receptacle open in a radial direction with respect to a central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (6), the coupling receptacle being configured to at least partially receive the at least one coupling section (29); Claim 22- wherein: the at least one coupling section (29) includes a polygonal cross-section perpendicular to a central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (6), the polygonal cross-section including at least two surface areas parallel to the central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (6) and parallel to each other; and the at least one coupling portion (26 ) includes a coupling receptacle configured at least partially complementary to the polygonal cross-section of the at least one coupling section (29), such that the coupling receptacle is configured to at least partially receive the at least one coupling section (29); Claim 24-, wherein: the synchronizing shaft (6) includes a connecting part connected between the first synchronizing element (29, 9a) and the second synchronizing element (29, 9a), the connecting part including first and second ends, each end including a counter profile section configured as a recess (at each side of shaft 6); Claim 25- wherein: at least one of the synchronizing elements (29, 9a) includes at an end of the synchronizing element a profile section configured to be received in one of the counter profile sections of the connecting part in a rotationally fixed releasable connection; Claim 26-, wherein: the rotationally fixed releasable connection between the profile section and the counter profile section is a friction-locking connection releasable in a direction parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (6); Claim 27- wherein: the profile section and the counter profile section are I-shaped; Claim 29-wherein: the synchronizing shaft (6) includes an adapter (26), having the at least one coupling portion (26) formed on one end of the adapter (26), the adapter (26) including a profile section on another end of the adapter (26) opposite the at least one coupling portion (26), the profile section configured to be received in one of the counter profile sections of the connecting part in a rotationally fixed releasable connection; Claim 34 wherein: the at least one transmission element (9a) is configured as a projection extending at least partially parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft (6) and projecting radially; and the at least one transmission counter-element (8a) is configured as a recess receiving the at least one transmission element (9a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Netzer et al. as applied to claims 22 and 25 above, in view of US 20140060991 (“BOHLE”).
As to claims 23 and 28, Netzer et al. does not disclose the synchronizing element or the coupling section with a latching element.
Regarding Claims 23 and 28, BOHLE discloses synchronizing device with a shaft (20) that coupled to a coupling section (10) via a coupling portion (50) that has a latching element (2, 4, 11, 21; best seen in Fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the coupling section or synchronizing element with a at least one latching element similar to the manner taught by BOHLE, so the components remain securely fastening together during rotational movement. As modified, the at least one coupling section includes at least one latching element; and the coupling receptacle includes at least one counter latching element configured to latch to the at least one latching element. As modified, wherein: the at least one of the synchronizing elements includes at least one latching element adjacent the profile section, the at least one latching element being elastically tensionable in a direction towards a central longitudinal axis of the synchronizing shaft.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637