DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024 and 10/13/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 18, 20-22, 29, 36 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (2023/0022967), Chang967 hereinafter. Chang967 teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning that follows.
Re. claims 1 and 29, Chang967 teaches an indication method for failure recovery (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0005 - a method for radio link failure recovery is provided, including: user equipment (UE) detecting that a handover failure occurs, and when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration, or when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverting back to a configuration used in a source cell, the configuration used in the source cell including one or more of a physical layer dedicated configuration, a medium access control (MAC) layer configuration, or a semi-persistent SPS configuration. Fig. 2-4 & ¶0006 - In the radio link failure recovery method of the first aspect, when the UE does not have the stored CHO configuration or the CHO recovery is not enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell excluding the physical layer dedicated configuration, the MAC layer configuration and/or the SPS configuration. Also, see, steps 1-3 <¶0051-¶0055> in Fig. 3 & steps 1-3 <¶0058-¶0062> in Fig. 4), applied to a terminal device (Fig.1-2, UE/Fig. 5, UE 50), and a communication device (Fig.1-2, UE/Fig. 5, UE 50), comprising: a processor (Fig. 5, 501); and a memory (Fig. 5, 502) storing a computer program (Fig. 5, ¶0102), wherein the processor is configured to determine to perform failure recovery based on configuration information for mobility (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0005 - a method for radio link failure recovery is provided, including: user equipment (UE) detecting that a handover failure occurs, and when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration, or when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverting back to a configuration used in a source cell, the configuration used in the source cell including one or more of a physical layer dedicated configuration, a medium access control (MAC) layer configuration, or a semi-persistent SPS configuration. Fig. 2-4 & ¶0006 - In the radio link failure recovery method of the first aspect, when the UE does not have the stored CHO configuration or the CHO recovery is not enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell excluding the physical layer dedicated configuration, the MAC layer configuration and/or the SPS configuration. Also, see, steps 1-3 <¶0051-¶0055> in Fig. 3 & steps 1-3 <¶0058-¶0062> in Fig. 4).
Re. Claims 3 and 38, Chang967 teaches claims 1 and 29.
Chang967 further teaches wherein determining to perform failure recovery performed based on the configuration information for mobility comprises one of: determining, according to first information, to perform failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0052 - Step 2: If the UE has a stored CHO configuration, or the UE has a stored CHO configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, upon an HOF in step 1, the UE reverts back to a configuration used in the source cell. Specifically, when the CHO recovery is enabled by default in the UE, if the UE has a stored CHO configuration, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell when the HOF occurs. In addition, when the CHO recovery is not enabled by default in the UE, if the UE has the stored CHO configuration and the CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell when the HOF occurs. Further, the configuration used in the source cell includes one or more of physical layer dedicated configuration, MAC layer configuration, or SPS configuration. The CHO recovery being enabled means that the UE is configured with a CHO recovery enabled indication (for example, identified by an attemptCHO information element) in the received RRC message including the CHO configuration, or the CHO recovery enabled indication is set to “TRUE” or “1”. The CHO recovery enabled indication is used to allow the UE to recover a link by performing the CHO if the selected cell is a CHO candidate cell after a link failure occurs; Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed feature to mapped because of the presence of “one of” and “or” in the limitation ) ;or determining to perform failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility, depending on whether the configuration information for mobility is stored in the terminal device.
Re. Claim 4, Chang967 teaches claim 3.
Chang967 further teaches wherein the first information is stored by the terminal device and contained in a variable of the terminal device that is the same as (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0052 - Step 2: If the UE has a stored CHO configuration, or the UE has a stored CHO configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, upon an HOF in step 1, the UE reverts back to a configuration used in the source cell. Specifically, when the CHO recovery is enabled by default in the UE, if the UE has a stored CHO configuration, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell when the HOF occurs. In addition, when the CHO recovery is not enabled by default in the UE, if the UE has the stored CHO configuration and the CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell when the HOF occurs. Further, the configuration used in the source cell includes one or more of physical layer dedicated configuration, MAC layer configuration, or SPS configuration. The CHO recovery being enabled means that the UE is configured with a CHO recovery enabled indication (for example, identified by an attemptCHO information element) in the received RRC message including the CHO configuration, or the CHO recovery enabled indication is set to “TRUE” or “1”. The CHO recovery enabled indication is used to allow the UE to recover a link by performing the CHO if the selected cell is a CHO candidate cell after a link failure occurs; Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed feature to mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation), or different from a variable storing the configuration information for mobility .
Re. Claims 5 and 39, Chang967 teaches claims 3 and 38.
Chang967 further teaches wherein the first information is indication information; and wherein determining, according to the first information, to perform failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility comprises at least one of: in response to a presence of the indication information, determining to perform failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0052 - Step 2: If the UE has a stored CHO configuration, or the UE has a stored CHO configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, upon an HOF in step 1, the UE reverts back to a configuration used in the source cell. Specifically, when the CHO recovery is enabled by default in the UE, if the UE has a stored CHO configuration, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell when the HOF occurs. In addition, when the CHO recovery is not enabled by default in the UE, if the UE has the stored CHO configuration and the CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell when the HOF occurs. Further, the configuration used in the source cell includes one or more of physical layer dedicated configuration, MAC layer configuration, or SPS configuration. The CHO recovery being enabled means that the UE is configured with a CHO recovery enabled indication (for example, identified by an attemptCHO information element) in the received RRC message including the CHO configuration, or the CHO recovery enabled indication is set to “TRUE” or “1”. The CHO recovery enabled indication is used to allow the UE to recover a link by performing the CHO if the selected cell is a CHO candidate cell after a link failure occurs; Fig. 1-4 & ¶0053 - when a handover failure occurs, if the UE has a stored CHO configuration, or the UE has the stored CHO configuration and the CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell; Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed feature to mapped because of the presence of “at least one of:” and “or” in the limitation ), or in response to an absence of the indication information, disabling the configuration information for mobility to be used for performing failure recovery.
Re. Claims 9 and 40, Chang967 teaches claims 5 and 39.
Chang967 further teaches further comprising one of: in response to performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility, setting the indication information to be used for indicating that the configuration information for mobility is not allowed to be used for performing failure recovery again; in response to a successful failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility, or a successful access of the terminal device to a cell group, setting the indication information to be used for indicating that the configuration information for mobility is allowed to be used for performing failure recovery again; or in response to a failure of performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility, disabling the configuration information for mobility is not allowed to be used for performing failure recovery (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0006 - In the radio link failure recovery method of the first aspect, when the UE does not have the stored CHO configuration or the CHO recovery is not enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell excluding the physical layer dedicated configuration, the MAC layer configuration and/or the SPS configuration. Fig. 2-4 & ¶0053 - …. otherwise, if the UE does not have the stored CHO configuration or the CHO recovery is not enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell excluding the physical layer dedicated configuration, MAC layer configuration, and/or SPS configuration. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to mapped because of the presence of “one of:” and “or” in the limitation).
Re. Claims 18 and 41, Chang967 teaches claims 3 and 38.
Chang967 further teaches wherein determining to perform failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility, depending on whether the configuration information for mobility is stored in the terminal device, comprises: in response to the configuration information for mobility being stored in the terminal device, determining to perform failure recovery is allowed to be performed based on the configuration information for mobility (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0052 - Step 2: If the UE has a stored CHO configuration, or the UE has a stored CHO configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, upon an HOF in step 1, the UE reverts back to a configuration used in the source cell. Specifically, when the CHO recovery is enabled by default in the UE, if the UE has a stored CHO configuration, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell when the HOF occurs. …. The CHO recovery being enabled means that the UE is configured with a CHO recovery enabled indication (for example, identified by an attemptCHO information element) in the received RRC message including the CHO configuration, or the CHO recovery enabled indication is set to “TRUE” or “1”. The CHO recovery enabled indication is used to allow the UE to recover a link by performing the CHO if the selected cell is a CHO candidate cell after a link failure occurs; Fig. 2-4 & ¶0053 - when a handover failure occurs, if the UE has a stored CHO configuration, or the UE has the stored CHO configuration and the CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell; Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed feature to mapped because of the presence of “or” in the limitation), or in response to the configuration information for mobility not being stored in the terminal device, disabling the configuration information for mobility to be used for performing.
Re. Claim 20, Chang967 teaches claim 1.
Chang967 further teaches wherein the configuration information for mobility comprises at least one of: configuration information for selective activation of cell groups, or configuration information for mobility based on conditions (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0005 - a method for radio link failure recovery is provided, including: user equipment (UE) detecting that a handover failure occurs, and when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration, or when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverting back to a configuration used in a source cell, the configuration used in the source cell including one or more of a physical layer dedicated configuration, a medium access control (MAC) layer configuration, or a semi-persistent SPS configuration. Fig. 2-4 & ¶0006 - In the radio link failure recovery method of the first aspect, when the UE does not have the stored CHO configuration or the CHO recovery is not enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell excluding the physical layer dedicated configuration, the MAC layer configuration and/or the SPS configuration. Also, see, steps 1-3 <¶0051-¶0055> in Fig. 3 & steps 1-3 <¶0058-¶0062> in Fig. 4. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to mapped because of the presence of “at least one of:” and “or” in the limitation).
Re. Claim 21, Chang967 teaches claim 1.
Chang967 further teaches wherein, in performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility, a cell for failure recovery is selected by at least one of: performing cell selection during a re-establishment procedure to obtain the cell for failure recovery; selecting, according to a network configuration, the cell for failure recovery from the configuration information for mobility (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0005 - a method for radio link failure recovery is provided, including: user equipment (UE) detecting that a handover failure occurs, and when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration, or when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverting back to a configuration used in a source cell, the configuration used in the source cell including one or more of a physical layer dedicated configuration, a medium access control (MAC) layer configuration, or a semi-persistent SPS configuration. Fig. 2-4 & ¶0006 - In the radio link failure recovery method of the first aspect, when the UE does not have the stored CHO configuration or the CHO recovery is not enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell excluding the physical layer dedicated configuration, the MAC layer configuration and/or the SPS configuration. Also, see, steps 1-3 <¶0051-¶0055> in Fig. 3 & steps 1-3 <¶0058-¶0062> in Fig. 4. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to mapped because of the presence of “at least one of:” and “or” in the limitation); selecting, according to a protocol specification, the cell for failure recovery from the configuration information for mobility; or selecting, according to a terminal device's implementation, the cell for failure recovery from the configuration information for mobility.
Re. Claim 22, Chang967 teaches an indication method for failure recovery (Fig.2-4 & ¶0005 - a method for radio link failure recovery is provided, including: user equipment (UE) detecting that a handover failure occurs, and when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration, or when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverting back to a configuration used in a source cell, the configuration used in the source cell including one or more of a physical layer dedicated configuration, a medium access control (MAC) layer configuration, or a semi-persistent SPS configuration. Fig. 2-4 & ¶0006 - In the radio link failure recovery method of the first aspect, when the UE does not have the stored CHO configuration or the CHO recovery is not enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell excluding the physical layer dedicated configuration, the MAC layer configuration and/or the SPS configuration. Also, see, steps 1-3 <¶0051-¶0055> in Fig. 3 & steps 1-3 <¶0058-¶0062> in Fig. 4), applied to a network device (Fig.2, Source Cell), the method comprising: sending a terminal device information for the terminal device to determine to perform whether failure recovery is allowed to be performed based on configuration information for mobility (Fig.2-4 & ¶0005 - a method for radio link failure recovery is provided, including: user equipment (UE) detecting that a handover failure occurs, and when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration, or when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverting back to a configuration used in a source cell, the configuration used in the source cell including one or more of a physical layer dedicated configuration, a medium access control (MAC) layer configuration, or a semi-persistent SPS configuration. Fig. 1-4 & ¶0052 - Step 2: If the UE has a stored CHO configuration, or the UE has a stored CHO configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, upon an HOF in step 1, the UE reverts back to a configuration used in the source cell. Specifically, when the CHO recovery is enabled by default in the UE, if the UE has a stored CHO configuration, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell when the HOF occurs. In addition, when the CHO recovery is not enabled by default in the UE, if the UE has the stored CHO configuration and the CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell when the HOF occurs. Further, the configuration used in the source cell includes one or more of physical layer dedicated configuration, MAC layer configuration, or SPS configuration. The CHO recovery being enabled means that the UE is configured with a CHO recovery enabled indication (for example, identified by an attemptCHO information element) in the received RRC message including the CHO configuration, or the CHO recovery enabled indication is set to “TRUE” or “1”. The CHO recovery enabled indication is used to allow the UE to recover a link by performing the CHO if the selected cell is a CHO candidate cell after a link failure occurs).
Re. Claim 33, Chang967 teaches claim 1.
Chang967 further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 5, 502) storing an instruction that, when the instruction (Fig. 5, ¶0102) is being executed by a processor (Fig. 5, 501), causes the processor to perform the method (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0005-¶0006/¶0051-¶0055/¶0058-¶0062) according to claim 1.
Re. Claim 36, Chang967 teaches claim 22.
Chang967 further teaches wherein the configuration information for mobility comprises at least one of: configuration information for selective activation of cell groups, or configuration information for mobility based on conditions (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0005 - a method for radio link failure recovery is provided, including: user equipment (UE) detecting that a handover failure occurs, and when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration, or when the UE has a stored conditional handover (CHO) configuration and CHO recovery is enabled, the UE reverting back to a configuration used in a source cell, the configuration used in the source cell including one or more of a physical layer dedicated configuration, a medium access control (MAC) layer configuration, or a semi-persistent SPS configuration. Fig. 2-4 & ¶0006 - In the radio link failure recovery method of the first aspect, when the UE does not have the stored CHO configuration or the CHO recovery is not enabled, the UE reverts back to the configuration used in the source cell excluding the physical layer dedicated configuration, the MAC layer configuration and/or the SPS configuration. Also, see, steps 1-3 <¶0051-¶0055> in Fig. 3 & steps 1-3 <¶0058-¶0062> in Fig. 4. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to mapped because of the presence of “at least one of:” and “or” in the limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 19, 25, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang967, in view of Chang et al. (2023/0180330), Chang330 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 19, Chang967 teaches claim 18.
Yet, Chang967 does not expressly teach in response to a failure of performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility, releasing the configuration information for mobility.
However, in the analogous art, Chang330 explicitly discloses in response to a failure of performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility, releasing the configuration information for mobility. (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0005 - a method performed in user equipment (UE), including: when a radio link failure (RLF) of a master cell group (MCG) occurs at the UE, initiating, by the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection re-establishment procedure to recover a connection to a network side; in the RRC connection re-establishment procedure, if the UE is configured with a Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) bearer, performing, by the UE, a change operation from a dual active protocol stack to a single active protocol stack, and releasing a protocol stack and a configuration associated with a source base station. Also, see ¶0029-¶0033 along with Fig.1-4.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chang967’s invention of a system and a method for radio link failure recovery in a new radio (NR)/LTE <Long Term Evolution> wireless communication system to include Chang330’s invention of a system and a method for link failure recovery during a handover in a new radio (NR)/LTE <Long Term Evolution> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing handover interruption time in implementing Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) mechanism when a target cell link radio link failure (RLF) occurs after a DAPS handover is successfully performed to access a target cell in the LTE/NR wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Chang330)
Re. Claim 25, Chang967 teaches claim 22.
Yet, Chang967 does not expressly teach sending indication information to the terminal device for indicating the terminal device to delete the configuration information for mobility after a failure of performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility.
However, in the analogous art, Chang330 explicitly discloses sending indication information to the terminal device for indicating the terminal device to delete the configuration information for mobility after a failure of performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility. (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0005 - a method performed in user equipment (UE), including: when a radio link failure (RLF) of a master cell group (MCG) occurs at the UE, initiating, by the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection re-establishment procedure to recover a connection to a network side; in the RRC connection re-establishment procedure, if the UE is configured with a Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) bearer, performing, by the UE, a change operation from a dual active protocol stack to a single active protocol stack, and releasing a protocol stack and a configuration associated with a source base station. Also, see ¶0029-¶0033 along with Fig.1-4.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chang967’s invention of a system and a method for radio link failure recovery in a new radio (NR)/LTE <Long Term Evolution> wireless communication system to include Chang330’s invention of a system and a method for link failure recovery during a handover in a new radio (NR)/LTE <Long Term Evolution> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing handover interruption time in implementing Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) mechanism when a target cell link radio link failure (RLF) occurs after a DAPS handover is successfully performed to access a target cell in the LTE/NR wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Chang330)
Re. Claims 35 and 37, Chang967 teaches claims 20 and 36.
Yet, Chang967 does not expressly wherein the selective activation of cell groups is a mobility process comprising at least one of: the terminal device applying a corresponding configuration based on signaling sent by the network; or corresponding partial or full configuration information not being deleted or released after performing a mobility process.
However, in the analogous art, Chang330 explicitly discloses expressly wherein the selective activation of cell groups is a mobility process comprising at least one of: the terminal device applying a corresponding configuration based on signaling sent by the network (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0005 - a method performed in user equipment (UE), including: when a radio link failure (RLF) of a master cell group (MCG) occurs at the UE, initiating, by the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection re-establishment procedure to recover a connection to a network side; in the RRC connection re-establishment procedure, if the UE is configured with a Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) bearer, performing, by the UE, a change operation from a dual active protocol stack to a single active protocol stack, and releasing a protocol stack and a configuration associated with a source base station. Fig. 1-4 & ¶0029 - radio link failure recovery method of the first aspect, when the UE detects that the RLF has occurred on the link of the source base station, the UE performs one or a plurality of the following operations: Fig. 1-4 & ¶0030 - operation 1: reset the MAC for the source base station, or release the MAC configuration of the source base station; Fig. 1-4 & ¶0032 - operation 3: for each SRB, release the PDCP entity of the source base station, and release the RLC entity or entities and the associated logical channel or channels of the source base station; Fig. 1-4 & ¶0033 - operation 4: release the physical channel configuration of the source base station; Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to mapped because of the presence of “at least one of:” and “or” in the limitation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chang967’s invention of a system and a method for radio link failure recovery in a new radio (NR)/LTE <Long Term Evolution> wireless communication system to include Chang330’s invention of a system and a method for link failure recovery during a handover in a new radio (NR)/LTE <Long Term Evolution> wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing handover interruption time in implementing Dual Active Protocol Stack (DAPS) mechanism when a target cell link radio link failure (RLF) occurs after a DAPS handover is successfully performed to access a target cell in the LTE/NR wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Chang330)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ISHII; Atsushi; (2024/0381213); See ¶0140-¶0405 along with Fig.1-71.
3GPP TSG-RAN WG2#109bis e-meeting; R2-2003609; Source: Sharp; Title: UE configuration release in RRC reestablishment; Electronic, 20 April – 30 April 2020. See §1-§5.
3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #107bis; R2-1913484; Source: ZTE Corporation, Sanechips; Title: Discussion on fast RLF recovery when applying CHO and fast MCG recovery ; Chongqing, China, 14th - 18th October 2019. See §1-§3.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467