DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 14-18 in the reply filed on 8/31/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require different field of search (for example, searching different groups/subgroups or electronic resources, or employing different search queries). Further, the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda (JP11-216810, see machine translated version).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda teaches a laminate (paragraph [0006]) comprising a layer mainly composed of an acrylic resin (paragraphs [0006], [0007], [0025]); a layer mainly composed of a polyolefin resin (paragraphs [0006], [0009]); and an adhesive layer provided between the layer mainly composed of an acrylic resin and the layer mainly composed of a polyolefin resin (paragraphs [0006], [0007], [0009], [0025]), wherein the adhesive layer is formed from an adhesive component mainly composed of a hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer having two or more polymer blocks selected from the group consisting of a polymer block mainly composed of vinyl aromatic monomer units, a polymer block mainly composed of conjugated diene monomer units, and a polymer block having vinyl aromatic monomer units and conjugated diene monomer units, in which unsaturated bonds in conjugated diene monomer units are hydrogenated (paragraph [0007]), and the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies condition (i) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has polar groups (paragraphs [0007], [0013], [0017]); condition (ii) when a conjugated diene block copolymer before hydrogenation of the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer contains units (a) derived from 1,2-bond and/or 3,4-bond of a conjugated diene compound and units (b) derived from 1,4-bond, and a total content of the conjugated diene monomer units is 100%, a content of the units (a) derived from 1,2-bond and/or 3,4-bond is 50% or more (paragraph [0014]); and condition (iv) a content of vinyl aromatic monomer units in the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer is 10 to 80% by weight which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 25% by mass or more and 80% by mass or less (paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Ikeda teaches wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (i) (paragraphs [0007], [0013], [0017]); and the condition (ii) (paragraph [0014]), does not satisfy the condition (iv) and further satisfies the following condition (v) a content of vinyl aromatic monomer units in the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer is 10 to 80% by weight which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of less than 25% by mass (paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda teaches wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (i) and the polar groups that the hydrogenated diene block copolymer has are of at least one selected from the group consisting of an acid anhydride group and carboxyl group (paragraphs [0007], [0017]).
Regarding claim 7, Ikeda teaches wherein a hydrogenated ratio of the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer is 50% or more which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 90% or less (paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Ikeda teaches wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (iv) (paragraph [0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (JP11-216810, see machine translated version).
Ikeda is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 14, Ikeda teaches a laminate (paragraph [0006]) comprising a layer mainly composed of an acrylic resin (paragraphs [0006], [0007], [0025]); a layer containing a polyolefin resin and an adhesive component (paragraphs [0006], [0007], [0009], [0025]), the adhesive component is an adhesive component mainly composed of a hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer having two or more polymer blocks selected from the group consisting of a polymer block mainly composed of vinyl aromatic monomer units, a polymer block mainly composed of conjugated diene monomer units, and a polymer block having vinyl aromatic monomer units and conjugated diene monomer units, in which unsaturated bonds in conjugated diene monomer units are hydrogenated (paragraph [0007]), and the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies condition (i) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has polar groups (paragraphs [0007], [0013], [0017]); condition (ii) when a conjugated diene block copolymer before hydrogenation of the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer contains units (a) derived from 1,2-bond and/or 3,4-bond of a conjugated diene compound and units (b) derived from 1,4-bond, and a total content of the conjugated diene monomer units is 100%, a content of the units (a) derived from 1,2-bond and/or 3,4-bond is 50% or more (paragraph [0014]); and condition (iv) a content of vinyl aromatic monomer units in the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer is 10 to 80% by weight which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 25% by mass or more and 80% by mass or less (paragraph [0014]).
Ikeda does not disclose wherein amounts of the polyolefin resin and the adhesive component are polyolefin resin/adhesive component = 30/70 to 95/5 in mass ratio. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in mass ratio involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the polyolefin resin/adhesive component mass ratio of Ikeda in order to provide excellent heat sealability, rigidity, gas permeability resistance and interlayer adhesion (Ikeda, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 17, Ikeda teaches wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (i) (paragraphs [0007], [0013], [0017]); and the condition (ii) (paragraph [0014]), does not satisfy the condition (iv) and further satisfies the following condition (v) a content of vinyl aromatic monomer units in the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer is 10 to 80% by weight which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of less than 25% by mass (paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 18, Ikeda teaches wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (i) and the polar groups that the hydrogenated diene block copolymer has are of at least one selected from the group consisting of an acid anhydride group and carboxyl group (paragraphs [0007], [0017]).
Claims 2, 3, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (JP11-216810, see machine translated version) in view of Enomoto et al. (WO2019/198827, see machine translated version).
Ikeda is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda teaches wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (i) (paragraphs [0007], [0013], [0017]); and the condition (iv) (paragraph [0014]).
Ikeda fails to teach wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (iii). However, Enomoto et al. teach a multilayer film (paragraph [0010]) comprising a base and an adhesive layer (paragraph [0010]), wherein the adhesive layer is formed from an adhesive component mainly composed of a hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer having two or more polymer blocks selected from the group consisting of a polymer block mainly composed of vinyl aromatic monomer units, a polymer block mainly composed of conjugated diene monomer units (paragraphs [0010], [0016]) and the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies condition (i) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has polar groups (paragraphs [0012], [0016], [0027]) and the condition (iii) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has at least one polymer block (c) (paragraphs [0010], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer block (c) of Enomoto et al. in the laminate of Ikeda in order to improve heat resistance and weather resistance (Enomoto et al., paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Ikeda teaches wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (ii) (paragraph [0014]) and the condition (iv) (paragraph [0014]).
Ikeda fails to teach wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (iii). However, Enomoto et al. teach a multilayer film (paragraph [0010]) comprising a base and an adhesive layer (paragraph [0010]), wherein the adhesive layer is formed from an adhesive component mainly composed of a hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer having two or more polymer blocks selected from the group consisting of a polymer block mainly composed of vinyl aromatic monomer units, a polymer block mainly composed of conjugated diene monomer units (paragraphs [0010], [0016]) and the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies condition (i) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has polar groups (paragraphs [0012], [0016], [0027]) and the condition (iii) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has at least one polymer block (c) (paragraphs [0010], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer block (c) of Enomoto et al. in the laminate of Ikeda in order to improve heat resistance and weather resistance (Enomoto et al., paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Ikeda teaches wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (i) (paragraphs [0007], [0013], [0017]); and the condition (iv) (paragraph [0014]).
Ikeda fails to teach wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (iii). However, Enomoto et al. teach a multilayer film (paragraph [0010]) comprising a base and an adhesive layer (paragraph [0010]), wherein the adhesive layer is formed from an adhesive component mainly composed of a hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer having two or more polymer blocks selected from the group consisting of a polymer block mainly composed of vinyl aromatic monomer units, a polymer block mainly composed of conjugated diene monomer units (paragraphs [0010], [0016]) and the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies condition (i) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has polar groups (paragraphs [0012], [0016], [0027]) and the condition (iii) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has at least one polymer block (c) (paragraphs [0010], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer block (c) of Enomoto et al. in the laminate of Ikeda in order to improve heat resistance and weather resistance (Enomoto et al., paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 16, Ikeda teaches wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (ii) (paragraph [0014]) and the condition (iv) (paragraph [0014]).
Ikeda fails to teach wherein the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies the condition (iii). However, Enomoto et al. teach a multilayer film (paragraph [0010]) comprising a base and an adhesive layer (paragraph [0010]), wherein the adhesive layer is formed from an adhesive component mainly composed of a hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer having two or more polymer blocks selected from the group consisting of a polymer block mainly composed of vinyl aromatic monomer units, a polymer block mainly composed of conjugated diene monomer units (paragraphs [0010], [0016]) and the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer satisfies condition (i) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has polar groups (paragraphs [0012], [0016], [0027]) and the condition (iii) the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has at least one polymer block (c) (paragraphs [0010], [0016]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer block (c) of Enomoto et al. in the laminate of Ikeda in order to improve heat resistance and weather resistance (Enomoto et al., paragraph [0023]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (JP11-216810, see machine translated version) in view of Sukegawa et al. (JP2021-181561, see machine translated version).
Ikeda is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda fails to teach wherein the polar groups that the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer has are amino groups. However, Sukegawa et al. teach a multilayer article (paragraph [0001]) comprising a modified conjugated diene polymer comprising a block copolymer of vinyl aromatic monomer units (paragraph [0009]), the conjugated diene block copolymer has polar groups, wherein the polar groups are amino groups (paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the amino groups of Sukegawa et al. in the hydrogenated conjugated diene block copolymer of Ikeda in order to provide thermal adhesion to polar resins (Sukegawa et al., paragraph [0010]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (JP11-216810, see machine translated version) in view of Nakano et al. (US Patent Application No. 2019/0136092).
Ikeda is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 8, Ikeda fails to teach wherein the layer (I) mainly composed of an acrylic resin has a thickness of 1.5 mm or less. However, Nakano et al. teach a layered product (page 1, paragraph [0016]) comprising a layer (I) mainly composed of an acrylic resin (page 1, paragraphs [0017], [0019]) and an adhesive layer formed from an adhesive component mainly composed of a conjugated diene block copolymer (page 1, paragraph [0018], page 2, paragraph [0020]), wherein the layer (I) mainly composed of an acrylic resin has a thickness of 10 to 500 µm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 1.5 mm or less (page 15, paragraph [0220]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of layer (I) of Ikeda to that of Nakano et al. in order to provide adequate laminating property, handling property, cutting property and punching processability (Nakano et al., page 15, paragraph [0220]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 11/3/2026