DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the response / amendments filed on 18 May 2026 and the request for continued examination filed on 19 June 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claims 1, 13, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 11-12, 14, and 17-18 are cancelled.
Claims 2-10, 15-16, 20-21 are original / previously presented.
Claims 1-10, 13, 15-16, and 19-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments filed regarding the previous 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1-10, 13, 15-16, and 19-21 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “The pending claims do not recite the alleged abstract idea of a commercial interaction under the grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity as alleged in the Office Action, because the recited limitations do not fall within the identified subject matter grouping” and “None of the process steps of claim 1 pertaining to the management of delivery of a delivery to a property highlighted in the Office Action fall under the examples of the commercial or legal interactions sub-grouping of certain methods of organizing human activities” (Remarks pg. 9-10). Examiner disagrees. There are limitations in the independent claims that represent the sub-category of certain methods of organizing human activities: commercial interactions. These limitations include receiving a selection of a courier…, providing an option for enhanced delivery…, receiving confirmation that enhanced delivery is selected…, receiving delivery details…, receiving delivery instructions…, transmitting confirmation that delivery uses the enhanced delivery…, after deleting the first set of sensitive data transmitting to the user details of the delivery. A commercial interaction is an exchange between two or more parties regarding an element of commerce. Each of these limitations represent interactions between either a customer, shipper, and/or courier regarding delivery, which is commercial. For example, receiving a selection of a courier is part of a delivery transaction between a customer and a shipper; providing an option for enhanced delivery is an offering by a shipper to a customer for delivery; receiving confirmation that enhanced delivery is selected is a delivery communication between a shipper and a customer; receiving delivery details is a delivery communication between a shipper and a customer; receiving delivery instructions is a delivery communication between a customer and a shipper; transmitting confirmation that delivery uses the enhanced delivery is a delivery communication between a shipper and a courier; and after deleting the first set of sensitive data transmitting to the user details of the delivery is a delivery communication between the shipper and the customer. Hence, each of these limitations represent commercial interactions because they represent interactions between commercial entities. This argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims do not recite mental processes because “The BRI of the claimed features that is consistent with the specification requires the process steps to be performed by a computing device, rather than through the performance of any mental process. For example, the specification describes the methods as being implemented by a computer system in response to the execution of program instructions” (Remarks pg. 10-11). Examiner disagrees. First, the test in Step 2A Prong One is to determine whether or not there is a judicial exception that is recited in the claims. Per MPEP 2106.05(a) Examiners determine whether a claim recites an abstract idea by (1) identifying the specific limitations in the claim that recites an abstract idea, and (2) determining which limitations fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas. If the identified limitation(s) fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas, it is reasonable to conclude that the claim recites an abstract idea in Step 2A Prong One. Note that Step 2A Prong One is focused on the claims, not the specification. Second, here, it is identified that the individual limitations of the courier entity scheduling a delivery to the property; and determining that the location of the mobile device is within a predetermined distance of the property as drafted are processes that, under its/their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind (i.e. a mental process). Other than reciting at least one computer, one or more processors, at least one memory, at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, mobile device, nothing in the claim elements preclude these two steps from practically being performed in the mind, or in the mind with the assistance of pen and paper. For example, but for the generic / general purpose computer language, scheduling in the context of this claim encompasses a user manually judging a delivery to the property; and determining in the context of this claim encompasses a user manually observing / evaluating a distance between locations and judging it is within a predetermined distance. Accordingly, these are recited mental processes (observations, evaluations, judgments) that fall within the mental processes grouping in Step 2A Prong One, and the claims recite a judicial exception. This argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims are eligible in Step 2A Prong 2 because “at least because the claims, when viewed in whole, integrate any recited abstract idea into a practical application under Step 2A Prong 2” (Remarks pg. 11). Examiner disagrees. The additional elements are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computers / general computer components (e.g. at least one computer, one or more processors, at least one memory, at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, a mobile application) applied to a field of use / technology (remote computing); and adding high-level extra-solution and/or post-solution activities (e.g. data gathering). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. This argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims are eligible because they “when viewed in whole, realize improvements to the technology or technical field of securely receiving goods or services”, “The specific ordering of the steps plays an important role in deleting the most sensitive data (the delivery information) as soon as possible following delivery, while retaining other data just long enough to ensure that the user is notified of delivery”, and “When properly viewed as a whole, the combination of process steps, particularly the order of the deleting steps, allows a user to securely receive a delivery in a trustworthy manner resulting in an improvement to the technology or technical field of securely receiving goods or services” (Remarks pg. 11, pg. 12). Examiner disagrees. First, securely receiving goods or services is not a technical field per, se. and instead securely receiving goods or services represents a commercial / business / entrepreneurial process. Second, the technical elements claimed outside of the judicial exception provided in the claims amount to (1) applying the judicial exception by generic / general purpose computers and computer components (e.g. at least one computer, one or more processors, at least one memory, at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, a mobile application), (2) applying the judicial exception to a field of use (mobile computing), and (3) adding high level extra-solution activities (i.e. data gathering), each of which are claimed at such a high level of detail they are not sufficient to provide a practical application or significantly more per MPEP 2106.05(f), 2016.05(f) and 2106.05(h). Third, the order of deleting sensitive data in two steps instead of one (i.e. splitting the deletion of sensitive data into two steps with the step of transmitting user details of the delivery in-between them) does not represent a technical improvement to technology or an improvement to a technical field. The Applicant’s argued benefit of ‘deleting the most sensitive data (the delivery information) as soon as possible following delivery, while retaining other data just long enough to ensure that the user is notified of delivery’ at best only represents an improvement to an entrepreneurial / business process (i.e. the judicial exception) instead of an improvement to a technology or technical process (noting that the steps of deleting a first set of sensitive data, transmitting to the user details of the delivery, deleting a second set of sensitive data are certain methods of organizing human activities: managing personal behavior or interactions between people, following rules or instructions). See MPEP 2106.05(a) citing Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981) “It is important to note the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements”. However, the additional elements amount to implement the judicial exception on generic / general purpose computers, generally linking use of the judicial exception to a technology (i.e. mobile), and adding high-level extra-solution activities (e.g. data gathering), which are not enough to provide a practical application or significantly more, and thus do not provide a technical improvement. This argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims are eligible in Step 2B because “Claim 1 includes specific process steps involving multiple communications, the detection of a location, a determination that the location is within a predetermined distance of a property, the deletion of delivery information and the deletion of an [identity] of the user or a location of the property. These process steps, when viewed as a whole, are neither routine nor conventional” (Remarks pg. 13). Examiner disagrees. First, additional elements are analyzed whether or not they are routine, well-understood, conventional in Step 2B, not the judicial exception. The argued activities regarding communication (e.g. receiving, transmitting), determining a location, deletion of delivery information, and deletion of an identity of the user are part of the judicial exception in Step 2A Prong One. The additional elements (e.g. computer, processor, memory, non-transitory computer readable medium; mobile application / device; detecting using a mobile application a location of a mobile device of a second user) are routine, well-understood, or conventional, as outlined in the rejection in Step 2B. For example, regarding the computer elements, see Applicant’s specification pg. 2 ln 6-19 describing the additional element of implementation on a computer readable medium / computer system with a memory and processor at such a high level that indicates these additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Regarding mobile, see the Applicant’s specification Fig 5-7, pg. 5 ln 20, pg. 11 ln 16-20 describing the additional element of a mobile application, and using mobile device geo-location services at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Regarding the detecting steps they represent computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec); and the Applicant’s specification Fig 5-7, pg. 5 ln 20, pg. 11 ln 16-20 describing the additional element of a mobile application, and using mobile device geo-location services at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Second, the combination of the additional elements does not provide an unconventional architecture (e.g. computer, mobile application) beyond implementing a judicial exception with general / generic computers and a general linkage to mobile technology (which is conventional: see Applicant’s specification Fig 5-7, pg. 5 ln 20, pg. 11 ln 16-20 describing the additional element of a mobile application, and using mobile device geo-location services at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a)), Also, the combination of additional elements does not solve a technical problem, since the claims are more directed towards solving a business / entrepreneurial problem (i.e. how to deliver based on a customer’s request with sensitive information related to the property, tangentially associated with technology components (e.g. computers, remote / mobile computing). This argument is not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1-10, 13, 15-16, and 19-21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection (Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews). However, note the following:
Applicant argues that neither Kelly nor Andrews disclose the specific ordering of the steps as now explicitly recited in claim 1:… after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting from the at least one computer a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the second set of sensitive data includes an identify of the first user or a location of the property” (Remarks pg. 14-15). Examiner disagrees, this limitation is taught by the combination of Hanlon and Andrews. Hanlon, as shown in ¶[0028], ¶[0053], ¶[0067] details delivery information is provided to the recipient after the item is safely delivered and scanning a computer readable code (i.e. transmitting user details of the delivery), but does not explicitly state after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting from the at least one computer a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the second set of sensitive data includes an identity of the first user or a location of the property. However, Andrews teaches this limitation by notifying the user of attempted usage of a user information code used with a delivery order (i.e. transmitting user details of delivery, per Hanlon), and limiting the use and deleting any recipient personal, private and/or sensitive stored information (e.g. recipient addresses and PII data stored in association for parcel deliveries) for a specific delivery / time period (amount of time holding the data, e.g. expiring in one week of time, noting Andrews ¶[0134] the final address information may not be received until the day of delivery) / revokable period during delivery / use in an access condition, so that it is later unable to be accessed by a fulfiller that accessed the address information of the user (Andrews ¶[0029-31], ¶[0047], ¶[0049], ¶[0115-117]). Hence, Andrews teaches deleting from the computer a second set of sensitive data that includes the location of the property in one week time after scan of the user information code (transmitting user details of the delivery). This argument is not persuasive.
Priority
This application 18/872,003 filed on 5 December 2024 is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2023/065238 filed on 7 June 2023, which claims priority from United Kingdom of Great Britan and Northern Ireland application GB2208346.3 filed on 7 June 2022 and application GB2301826.0 filed on 9 February 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 5 December 2024 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10, 13, 15-16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-10, 13, 15-16, and 19-21:
Step 1:
Claims 1-10, 15-16 recite a method; claim 13 recites a system; and claims 19-21 recite a non-transitory computer readable storage device. Since the claims recite either a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, the claims satisfy Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Framework in MPEP 2106 and the 2019 Patent Examination Guidelines (PEG). Analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong One.
Step 2A – Prong One:
Claims 1-10, 13, 15-16, and 19-21 recite an abstract idea. Independent claims 1, 13, and 19 recites as part of a transaction, receiving from a first user a selection of a courier entity; the courier entity scheduling a delivery to the property; providing the first user with an option for using an enhanced delivery mode; receiving confirmation from a first user that the enhanced delivery mode is selected; receiving from the courier entity delivery details; receiving delivery instructions from the first user; transmitting to the courier entity confirmation that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode; determining that the location of the [courier] is within a predetermined distance of the property; receiving from the [courier] confirmation once the delivery to the property has been made according to the delivery instructions; after receiving the confirmation, deleting a first set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the first set of sensitive data includes the delivery instructions; after deleting the first set of sensitive data, transmitting to the user details of the delivery; and after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting from the at least one computer a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the second set of sensitive data includes an identity of the first user or a location of the property. The claims as a whole recite methods of organizing human activities, and individual limitations also recite mental processes.
First, the limitations of as part of a transaction, receiving from a first user a selection of a courier entity; the courier entity scheduling a delivery to the property; providing the first user with an option for using an enhanced delivery mode; receiving confirmation from a first user that the enhanced delivery mode is selected; receiving from the courier entity delivery details; receiving delivery instructions from the first user; transmitting to the courier entity confirmation that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode; determining that the location of the [courier] is within a predetermined distance of the property; receiving from the [courier] confirmation once the delivery to the property has been made according to the delivery instructions; after receiving the confirmation, deleting a first set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the first set of sensitive data includes the delivery instructions; after deleting the first set of sensitive data, transmitting to the user details of the delivery; and after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting from the at least one computer a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the second set of sensitive data includes an identity of the first user or a location of the property are certain methods of organizing human activities. For instance, these limitations represent the sub-groupings of mitigating risks, commercial interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions. For example, mitigating risks includes after receiving confirmation deleting a first set of sensitive data…, transmitting to the user details of the delivery, after transmitting the user details of the delivery deleting a second set of sensitive data…; commercial interactions includes receiving a selection of a courier…, providing an option for enhanced delivery…, receiving confirmation that enhanced delivery is selected…, receiving delivery details…, receiving delivery instructions…, transmitting confirmation that delivery uses the enhanced delivery…, after deleting the first set of sensitive data transmitting details of the delivery…; managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people includes receiving selection of a courier…, scheduling a delivery to the property…, providing an option for enhanced delivery…, receiving confirmation that enhanced delivery is selected…, receiving delivery details…, receiving delivery instructions…, transmitting confirmation that delivery uses the enhanced delivery…, determining the location is within a predetermined distance…, receiving confirmation once the delivery has been made…, after receiving confirmation deleting a first set of sensitive data…, after deleting the first set of sensitive data transmitting details of the delivery…, after transmitting the user details of the delivery deleting a second set of sensitive data…; and following rules or instructions includes receiving a selection of a courier…, scheduling a delivery to the property…, providing an option for enhanced delivery…, receiving confirmation that enhanced delivery is selected…, receiving delivery details…, receiving delivery instructions…, transmitting confirmation that delivery uses the enhanced delivery…, determining the location is within a predetermined distance…, receiving confirmation once the delivery to the property has been made according to the delivery instructions, after receiving confirmation deleting a first set of sensitive data…, after deleting the first set of sensitive data transmitting details of the delivery…, after transmitting the user details of the delivery deleting a second set of sensitive data. The presence of generic computer components such as at least one computer, one or more processors, at least one memory, at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, a mobile application does not preclude the steps from reciting certain methods of organizing human activities, since the number of people involved in the activities is not dispositive as to whether a claim limitation falls within this grouping and instead it is based on whether an activity itself falls within one of the sub-groupings. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (e.g. mitigating risks, commercial interactions, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, following rules or instructions) regardless of the recitation of generic computer components or other machinery in its ordinary capacity, then it falls within the ‘Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity’ grouping of abstract ideas.
Second, the limitations of the courier entity scheduling a delivery to the property; and determining that the location of the mobile device is within a predetermined distance of the property as drafted are processes that, under its/their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind (i.e. mental processes) but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting at least one computer, one or more processors, at least one memory, at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, a mobile application, nothing in the claim elements preclude these steps from practically being performed in the mind, or in the mind with the assistance of pen and paper. For example, but for the generic / general purpose computer language, scheduling in the context of this claim encompasses a user manually judging a delivery to the property; and determining in the context of this claim encompasses a user manually observing / evaluating a distance between locations and judging it is within a predetermined distance. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (e.g. an observation, evaluation, judgment) but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the ‘Mental Processes’ grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea. Analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong Two.
Step 2A – Prong Two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. First, claims 1, 13, and 19 as a whole merely describes how to generally ‘apply’ the concept of certain methods of organizing human activities in a computer environment. The claimed computer components (i.e. at least one computer, one or more processors, at least one memory, at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, a mobile application) are recited at a high-level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform manual processes. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic / general purpose computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2016.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Next, the additional element of mobile in the limitations (e.g. detecting, using a mobile application, a location of a mobile device of a second user; determining that the location of the mobile device is within a predetermined distance of the property; receiving from the mobile application confirmation once the delivery to the property has been made according to the delivery instructions) does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. remote / mobile computing), and as such does not provide integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(h). Hence, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Next, the additional element of detecting and its steps of detecting, using a mobile application, a location of a mobile device of a second user are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for subsequent determining), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity and not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(g). Furthermore, the mobile application, mobile device (general computer component, general computer) is only being used as a tool in the detecting, which is also not indicative of integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f). Also, reciting a mobile application and mobile device does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. remote / mobile computing), and as such does not provide integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(h). Note that there are no particular technical steps regarding detecting more than using computers as a tool to perform an otherwise manual process (i.e. observing location). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Also, while identified above as an organizing human activity in Step 2A Prong One, note that the steps of receiving (e.g. receiving from a first user a selection of a courier entity; receiving confirmation from a first user that the enhanced delivery mode is selected; receiving from the courier entity delivery details; receiving delivery instructions from the first user; receiving from the mobile application confirmation once the delivery to the property has been made according to the delivery instructions) are each recited at a high level of generality and also amount to mere data gathering or transmitting data, which are forms of insignificant extra-solution activity and not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(g). Furthermore, the computer / processor, mobile application (generic computer, general computer component) are only being used as a tool in the receiving, which is also not indicative of integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f). Note that there are no particular technical steps regarding receiving more than using computers as a tool to perform otherwise manual processes (i.e. obtaining information). Accordingly, this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Also, while identified above as an organizing human activity in Step 2A Prong One, note that the steps of deleting (e.g. after receiving the confirmation, deleting a first set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the first set of sensitive data includes the delivery instructions; after receiving the confirmation, deleting a first set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery including the delivery instructions; after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the second set of sensitive data includes an identity of the first user or a location of the property; after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery including an identity of the first user or a location of the property) are each recited at a high level of generality (as a general means of maintaining data for the scheduled delivery) and also amount to mere data storage / record keeping, which are forms of insignificant extra-solution activity and not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(g). Furthermore, the computer / processor (generic computer, general computer component) are only being used as a tool in the receiving, which is also not indicative of integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f). Note that there are no particular technical steps regarding deleting more than using computers as a tool to perform otherwise manual processes (i.e. removing information). Accordingly, this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Also, while identified above as an organizing human activity in Step 2A Prong One, note that the steps of transmitting (e.g. transmitting to the courier entity confirmation that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode; after deleting the first set of sensitive data, transmitting to the user details of the delivery) are each recited at a high level of generality (as a general means of sending data associated with scheduling and confirmation), and also amount to mere transmitting data, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity and not a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(g). Furthermore, the computer / processor (generic computer) is only being used as a tool in the transmitting, which is also not indicative of integration into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f). Note that there are no particular technical steps regarding transmitting more than using computers as a tool to perform otherwise manual processes (i.e. sharing / communicating information). Accordingly, this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computers / general computer components (at least one computer, one or more processors, at least one memory, at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, a mobile application) applied to a field of use / technology (remote computing); and adding high-level extra-solution and/or post-solution activities (data gathering). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. Hence, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Analysis proceeds to Step 2B.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using at least one computer, one or more processors, at least one memory, at least one non-transitory computer readable medium, a mobile application to perform receiving selection of a courier…, scheduling a delivery to the property…, providing an option for enhanced delivery…, receiving confirmation that enhanced delivery is selected…, receiving delivery details…, receiving delivery instructions…, transmitting confirmation that delivery uses the enhanced delivery…, determining the location is within a predetermined distance…, receiving confirmation once the delivery has been made…, after receiving confirmation deleting a first set of sensitive data…, after deleting the first set of sensitive data transmitting details of the delivery…, after transmitting the user details of the delivery deleting a second set of sensitive data amounts to no more than mere instructions to ‘apply’ the exception using generic computers. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e. mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, see Applicant’s specification pg. 2 ln 6-19 describing the additional element of implementation on a computer readable medium / computer system with a memory and processor at such a high level that indicates these additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
As discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element regarding mobile does no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. remote / mobile computing). The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e. generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use does not provide integration into a practical application in Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Furthermore, see the Applicant’s specification Fig 5-7, pg. 5 ln 20, pg. 11 ln 16-20 describing the additional element of a mobile application, and using mobile device geo-location services at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
As discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements regarding the detecting are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data for subsequent determining), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e. adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception does not provide integration into a practical application in Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The use of the computer (i.e. mobile application, mobile device ) in these steps merely represents using a generic / general purpose computer as a tool, and a general linkage to a field of use / technology (i.e. remote computing) and is not indicative of an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f), MPEP 2106.05(h). Furthermore, these detecting steps are also claimed at a high level of generality, and/or as insignificant extra-solution activities (e.g. data gathering) representing computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec). See the Applicant’s specification Fig 5-7, pg. 5 ln 20, pg. 11 ln 16-20 describing the additional element of a mobile application, and using mobile device geo-location services at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
Also, as discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the Step 2A Prong One organizing human activity elements regarding the receiving are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of gathering data), and also amounts to the extra-solution activity of data gathering, which is not a practical application or an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The use of the computer (i.e. computer / processor, mobile application) in these steps merely represents using a generic / general purpose computer as a tool, and generally linking use of the judicial exception to a field of use (remote computing) and is not indicative of an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.05(h). Furthermore, these receiving steps are also claimed at a high level of generality, and/or as insignificant extra-solution activities (e.g. data gathering) representing computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), sending messages over a network (OIP Techs), a computer receives and sends information over a network (buySAFE), recording a customer’s order (Apple), presenting offers and gathering statistics (OIP Techs). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
As discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements regarding the deleting are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of maintaining data for the scheduled delivery), and amount to mere electronic record keeping. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e. adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception does not provide integration into a practical application in Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The use of the computer (i.e. computer / processor) in these steps merely represents using a generic / general purpose computer as a tool, and is not indicative of an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
Also, as discussed above in Step 2A Prong Two with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the Step 2A Prong One organizing human activity elements regarding the transmitting are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of transmitting data for the confirmation / scheduled delivery), and also amounts to the extra-solution activity of transmitting data, which is not a practical application or an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The use of the computer (i.e. computer / processor, mobile application) in these steps merely represents using a generic / general purpose computer as a tool. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Furthermore, these deleting steps are also claimed at a high level of generality, and/or as insignificant extra-solution activities (e.g. data storage) representing computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular electronic record keeping (Alice). See the Applicant’s specification pg. 6 ln 9-20, pg. 12 ln 10-13, pg. 13 ln 1-9 describing the element of deleting sensitive information at such a high level that indicates this element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more.
The claims do not improve another technology or technical field. Instead the claims represent a generic implementation of organizing human activities ‘applied’ by generic / general purpose computers, generally ‘applied’ to a field of use, and using general computer components in extra-solution capacities such as data gathering. The claims do not provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the user of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. At best, the claims are more directed towards solving a commercial / entrepreneurial problem (i.e. how to deliver based on a customer’s request with sensitive information related to the property), that is tangentially associated with a technology element (e.g. remote computing), rather than solving a technology based problem. See MPEP 2106.05(a). The claims do not improve the functioning of a computer itself. The claims are more directed towards improving a commercial / entrepreneurial process rather than improving a computer outside of a business use, i.e. using computers a tool. The claims do not apply the judicial exception with or by use of a particular machine. The claims do not effect a transformation or reduction to a particular article to a different state or thing. The claims do not add a specific limitation other than what is well understood, routine, and conventional in a way that confines the claim to a particular useful application.
Viewing the claim limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at each of the claim limitations individually, both with respect to the independent claims 1, 13, 19, and further considering the addition of dependent claims 2-12, 15-18, and 20-21. Note that the combination of limitations and claim elements add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately, simply reciting implementation as performed by using generic computers / general computer components, see Alice (2014), and does not provide a non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of various computer components to achieve a technical improvement, see BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC (2016). Hence, the ordered combination of elements does not provide significantly more. With respect to the dependent claims:
Dependent claim 2: The limitation wherein the delivery details are received from the courier entity using an application programming interface (API) represents an additional element that is not indicative of a practical application or significantly more, as extra-solution data gathering / data transmission and a general linkage to technology (i.e. API). Note that there are no particular technical details regarding API. Furthermore, this receiving step here is claimed at a high level of detail, and represents computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. Furthermore, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), sending messages over a network (OIP Techs). See the Applicant’s specification pg. 9 ln 24-33, pg. 10 ln 22-27, pg. 11 ln 23-25 describing receiving and communicating details via API at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more. For the reasons described above with respect to the independent claims, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 3 and 15: The limitation wherein the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an application programming interface (API) represents an additional element that is not indicative of a practical application or significantly more, as extra-solution data transmission and a general linkage to technology (i.e. API). Note that there are no particular technical details regarding API. Furthermore, this transmitting step here is claimed at a high level of detail, and represents computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. Furthermore, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), sending messages over a network (OIP Techs). See the Applicant’s specification pg. 9 ln 24-33, pg. 10 ln 22-27, pg. 11 ln 23-25 describing receiving and communicating details via API at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more. For the reasons described above with respect to the independent claims, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 4 and 16: The limitation wherein the delivery instructions received from the first user include data describing how to gain access to the property merely narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For the reasons described above with respect to the independent claims, these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than an abstract idea.
Dependent claim 5: The limitation wherein the data describing how to gain access to the property include any one or more of: a PIN code for a door lock; a location of a key; and or a one-time code merely narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For the reasons described above with respect to the independent claims, these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than an abstract idea.
Dependent claim 6: The limitation transmitting to the mobile device of the second user the delivery instructions in response to determining that the location of the mobile device is within a predetermined distance of the property is further directed to a method of organizing human activity (managing personal behavior or interaction between people, following rules or instructions) described in the independent claims. The recitation of the mobile device is a computer component recited at a high level of generality and amounts to ‘applying’ the abstract idea on a generic computer and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a technology / field of use (remote computing / mobile). Furthermore, note that the activity of transmitting here is claimed at a high level of detail, and also represents computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. Furthermore, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), sending messages over a network (OIP Techs). Similar to the independent claims, this recitation does not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea in a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 7: The limitation wherein the delivery instructions are transmitted in response to the current time being within a delivery window is further directed to a method of organizing human activity (managing personal behavior or interaction between people, following rules or instructions) described in the independent claims. Furthermore, note that the activity of transmitting here is claimed at a high level of detail, and also represents computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. Furthermore, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), sending messages over a network (OIP Techs). Similar to the independent claims, this recitation does not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea in a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 8: The limitation wherein the delivery window is defined as part of the courier entity scheduling the delivery to the property merely narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For the reasons described above with respect to the independent claims, these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than an abstract idea.
Dependent claim 9: The limitation wherein providing the first user with an option for using an enhanced delivery mode is sent using email or short message service (SMS) represents an additional element that is not indicative of a practical application or significantly more, as extra-solution data transmission and a general linkage to technology (i.e. Internet, SMS). Note that there are no particular technical details regarding SMS or email transmission. Furthermore, this sending step here is claimed at a high level of detail, and represents computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. Furthermore, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), sending messages over a network (OIP Techs). See the Applicant’s specification Fig 5, pg. 8 ln 29-30 describing sending an SMS offering the AnyLock upgrade; and Fig 13 ln 15-26 describing using SMS / email with the AnyLock service that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more. For the reasons described above with respect to the independent claims, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 10: The limitation wherein the email or SMS includes a universal resource locator (URL) represents an additional element that is not indicative of a practical application or significantly more, further limiting the extra-solution data transmission with a general linkage to technology (i.e. Internet). Note that there are no particular technical details regarding the URL. Furthermore, see the Applicant’s specification Fig 5, pg. 9 ln 20-22 describing the use of a web module URL sent to the customer that this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Hence, these features do not provide an inventive concept / significantly more. For the reasons described above with respect to the independent claims, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, and is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 20: The limitations the delivery details are received from the courier entity using an application programming interface (API); and the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an API represent additional elements that are not indicative of a practical application or significantly more, as extra-solution data gathering / data transmission and a general linkage to technology (i.e. API). Note that there are no particular technical details regarding API. Furthermore, these receiving / transmitting steps here are claimed at a high level of detail, and represents computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. Furthermore, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), sending messages over a network (OIP Techs). See the Applicant’s specification pg. 9 ln 24-33, pg. 10 ln 22-27, pg. 11 ln 23-25 describing receiving and communicating details via API at such a high level that indicates this additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the technical particulars to satisfy 35 USC 112(a). Similar to the independent claims, these recitations do not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea in a practical application, and are not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 21: First, the limitation wherein: the delivery instructions include property include any one or more of: a PIN code for a door lock; a location of a key; and or a one-time code merely narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Second, the limitations of the instructions further cause the one or more processors to transmit to the mobile device of the second user the delivery instructions in response to determining that the location of the mobile device is within a predetermined distance of the property; and the delivery instructions are transmitted in response to the current time being within a delivery window are further directed to a method of organizing human activity (managing personal behavior or interaction between people, following rules or instructions) described in the independent claims. The recitation of the processors and mobile device are computer components recited at a high level of generality and amounts to ‘applying’ the abstract idea on a generic computer and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a technology / field of use (remote computing / mobile). Furthermore, note that the transmitting here is claimed at a high level of detail, and also represents computer functions that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions that do not present an inventive concept. Furthermore, see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) in particular receiving or transmitting data over a network (Symantec), sending messages over a network (OIP Techs). Similar to the independent claims, these recitations do not meaningfully integrate the abstract idea in a practical application, and are not significantly more than the abstract idea.
Therefore claims 1, 13, 19, and the dependent claims 2-10, 15-16, and 20-21 and all limitations taken both individually and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, nor do they include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Accordingly, claims 1-10, 13, 15-16, and 19-21 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 13, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication 2021/0366217 A1 to Hanlon in view of US patent application publication 2018/0351941 A1 to Chhabra in view of US patent application publication 2022/0253791 A1 to Andrews et al.
Claim 1:
Hanlon, as shown, teaches the following:
A method implemented by at least one computer for managing a secure delivery to a property, the method comprising:
as part of a transaction, receiving from a first user a selection of a courier entity (Hanlon Fig 3, ¶[0027], ¶[0039] details the customer ordering an item from an online retailer requesting smart home delivery, and providing a code for the carrier to access a smart home / smart lock as part of the carrier delivery);
the courier entity scheduling a delivery to the property (Hanlon Fig 4, ¶[0027], ¶[0052] details providing the delivery information to the delivery network / USPS, and associating the item with a route which a carrier is assigned along which the delivery point is located);
providing the first user with an option for using an enhanced delivery mode (Hanlon ¶[0027], ¶[0040-41] details the user selects a delivery method which may include smart home delivery);
receiving confirmation from a first user that the enhanced delivery mode is selected (Hanlon Fig 3, ¶[0041], ¶[0045] details recognizing whether smart home delivery was requested by the user and if it was then appending / updating / generating a new recipient identifier, and the user can create or provide an access code in response to the request when home delivery is selected, i.e. a received confirmation);
receiving from the courier entity delivery details (Hanlon ¶[0040] details the delivery options are provided by a distribution network such as the USPS; also ¶[0053] details the carrier scans the identifier to determine the item has a record for smart home delivery and obtains any other information encoded in the readable code, e.g. identifier, delivery point, recipient, service class, i.e. the carrier entity receives from their identifier the delivery details);
receiving delivery instructions from the first user (Hanlon ¶[0027], ¶[0040], ¶[0057] details the customer user provides delivery instructions and authorizations e.g. a code / permission for the delivery agent to access the smart home / smart lock to deliver the item);
transmitting to the courier entity confirmation that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode (Hanlon ¶[0041], ¶[0049], ¶[0053] details appending an encoded identifier on the package that indicates smart home delivery, the courier scans the identifier to determine the item has a record for smart home delivery);
detecting, using a mobile application, a location of a mobile device of a second user (Hanlon ¶[0049], ¶[0054], ¶[0071] details determining the carrier mobile delivery device determining its location by its geolocation circuit / GPS and software);
determining that the location of the mobile device is within a predetermined distance of the property (Hanlon ¶[0049], ¶[0054-55] details determining the mobile delivery device is within a geofence or at a particular location in proximity to the smart lock);
receiving from the mobile application confirmation once the delivery to the property has been made according to the delivery instructions (Hanlon ¶[0067], ¶[0070] details the carrier using the mobile device to scan the item after placing it in the house for delivery confirmation, and the device uses software);
With respect to the following:
after receiving the confirmation, deleting a first set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the first set of sensitive data includes the delivery instructions;
Hanlon, as shown in ¶[0027], ¶[0040], ¶[0045] details the delivery instructions include a one-time permission code / access code used by the delivery personal for entry / unlocking a smart home (sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the first set of sensitive data includes the delivery instructions); but does not explicitly state after receiving the confirmation, deleting the first set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery. However, Chhabra teaches this limitation, with the delivery agent (an unmanned vehicle) gaining access to a physical space at a drop-off location by unlocking a door / opening a gate to deliver a package using access policies (i.e. delivery instructions), after access and the package is delivered and delivery is confirmed, and then upon completion of the all deliveries (which may include one or more packages) the access policies may be removed from the device / deleted (Chhabra ¶[0039], ¶[0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include after receiving the confirmation, deleting a first set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the first set of sensitive data includes the delivery instructions as taught by Chhabra with the teachings of Hanlon, with the motivation that “information that may be sensitive to customers may not be properly accessed” (Chhabra ¶[0039]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include after receiving the confirmation, deleting a first set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the first set of sensitive data includes the delivery instructions as taught by Chhabra in the system of Hanlon, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Hanlon (in view of Chhabra, applying that the first set of sensitive data is deleted at delivery completion, per Chhabra above) also teaches the following:
after deleting the first set of sensitive data, transmitting to the user details of the delivery (Hanlon ¶[0028], ¶[0067] details delivery information is provided to the recipient after the item is safely delivered and scanned, i.e. delivery completed (which is when first delivery instructions are deleted, per Chhabra above); the delivery confirmation can also be provided to the user that includes video or image of the carrier leaving the door from a smart doorbell); and
With respect to the following:
after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting from the at least one computer a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the second set of sensitive data includes an identity of the first user or a location of the property.
Hanlon, as shown in ¶[0028], ¶[0053], ¶[0067] details delivery information is provided to the recipient after the item is safely delivered and scanning a computer readable code (i.e. transmitting user details of the delivery), but does not explicitly state after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting from the at least one computer a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the second set of sensitive data includes an identity of the first user or a location of the property. However, Andrews teaches this limitation by notifying the user of attempted usage of a user information code used with a delivery order (i.e. transmitting user details of delivery, per Hanlon), and limiting the use and deleting any recipient personal, private and/or sensitive stored information (e.g. recipient addresses and PII data stored in association for parcel deliveries) for a specific delivery / time period (amount of time holding the data, e.g. expiring in one week of time, noting Andrews ¶[0134] the final address information may not be received until the day of delivery) / revokable period during delivery / use in an access condition, so that it is later unable to be accessed by a fulfiller that accessed the address information of the user (Andrews ¶[0029-31], ¶[0047], ¶[0049], ¶[0115-117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting from the at least one computer a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the second set of sensitive data includes an identity of the first user or a location of the property as taught by Andrews with the teachings of Hanlon in view of Chhabra, with the motivation of “enhanced personal privacy protection for recipients” and “managed control over user information” (Andrews ¶[0030]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include after transmitting the user details of the delivery, deleting a second set of sensitive data related to the property or the delivery, wherein the second set of sensitive data includes an identity of the first user or a location of the property as taught by Andrews in the system of Hanlon in view of Chhabra, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 4:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 1. Hanlon also teaches the following:
wherein the delivery instructions received from the first user include data describing how to gain access to the property (Hanlon ¶[0040], ¶[0045-46] details the user providing delivery instructions and delivery information, which includes an access code provided how to access the smart home / lock).
Claim 5:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 4. Hanlon also teaches the following:
wherein the data describing how to gain access to the property include any one or more of: a PIN code for a door lock; a location of a key; and or a one-time code (Hanlon ¶[0033], ¶[0047] details the code for the smart home / smart lock can be entered on a keypad, and is a one-time code).
Claim 6:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 1. Hanlon also teaches the following:
transmitting to the mobile device of the second user the delivery instructions in response to determining that the location of the mobile device is within a predetermined distance of the property (Hanlon ¶[0049], ¶[0054] details only communicating the access code to the carrier device when the device us within a geofence or at a particular location in proximity to the smart lock of the delivery location).
Claim 7:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 6. Hanlon also teaches the following:
wherein the delivery instructions are transmitted in response to the current time being within a delivery window (Hanlon ¶[0054], ¶[0056] details the geofence confirmation rule (i.e. only send the access code when within the proximity of a geofence of the delivery location / smart home / smart lock) is also limited to during normal business hours or when the carrier would be expected to be traversing the delivery route).
Claim 8:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 7. Hanlon also teaches the following:
wherein the delivery window is defined as part of the courier entity scheduling the delivery to the property (Hanlon ¶[0054], ¶[0056] details the geofence confirmation rule (i.e. only send the access code when within the proximity of a geofence of the delivery location / smart home / smart lock) is also limited to during normal business hours or when the carrier would be expected to be traversing the delivery route).
Claim 13:
Claim 13 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 1 and therefore claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning presented above for claim 1.
Claim 19:
Claim 19 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 1 and therefore claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale and reasoning presented above for claim 1.
Claim 21:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 19. Hanlon also teaches the following:
the data describing how to gain access to the property include any one or more of: a PIN code for a door lock; a location of a key; and or a one-time code (Hanlon ¶[0033], ¶[0047] details the code for the smart home / smart lock can be entered on a keypad, and is a one-time code);
the instructions further cause the one or more processors to transmit to the mobile device of the second user the delivery instructions in response to determining that the location of the mobile device is within a predetermined distance of the property (Hanlon ¶[0049], ¶[0054] details only communicating the access code to the carrier device when the device us within a geofence or at a particular location in proximity to the smart lock of the delivery location); and
the delivery instructions are transmitted in response to the current time being within a delivery window (Hanlon ¶[0054], ¶[0056] details the geofence confirmation rule (i.e. only send the access code when within the proximity of a geofence of the delivery location / smart home / smart lock) is also limited to during normal business hours or when the carrier would be expected to be traversing the delivery route).
Claims 2-3, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication 2021/0366217 A1 to Hanlon in view of US patent application publication 2018/0351941 A1 to Chhabra in view of US patent application publication 2022/0253791 A1 to Andrews et al., as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of US patent application publication 2020/0027295 A1 to Bigert et al.
Claim 2:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 1. Hanlon does not explicitly state, but Bigert teaches the following:
wherein the delivery details are received from the courier entity using an application programming interface (API) (Bigert ¶[0086-90], ¶[0115] details the delivery company using REST API to look up the order ID from the tracking ID, create a delivery from the order, and schedule the delivery, and details delivery companies are granted access to digital locks through an API).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the delivery details are received from the courier entity using an application programming interface (API) as taught by Bigert with the teachings of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, with the motivation to “enable access to a property by a delivery courier without compromising security” (Bigert ¶[0001]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the delivery details are received from the courier entity using an application programming interface (API) as taught by Bigert in the system of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 3:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 1. Hanlon does not explicitly state, but Bigert teaches the following:
wherein the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an application programming interface (API) (Bigert ¶[0083-85], ¶[0117-119] details customer places an order on the site, confirms in the app that the delivery will be accepted in their home and confirmation that the lock that it is accepted using the API GlueFederation, and the site calls REST API to add a delivery tracking ID to the order).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an application programming interface (API) as taught by Bigert with the teachings of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, with the motivation to “enable access to a property by a delivery courier without compromising security” (Bigert ¶[0001]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an application programming interface (API) as taught by Bigert in the system of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 15:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews in view of Bigert, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 2. Bigert also teaches the following:
wherein the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an API (Bigert ¶[0083-85], ¶[0117-119] details customer places an order on the site, confirms in the app that the delivery will be accepted in their home and confirmation that the lock that it is accepted using the API GlueFederation, and the site calls REST API to add a delivery tracking ID to the order).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an application programming interface (API) as taught by Bigert with the teachings of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews (in view of Bigert), with the motivation to “enable access to a property by a delivery courier without compromising security” (Bigert ¶[0001]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an application programming interface (API) as taught by Bigert in the system of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews (in view of Bigert), since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 16:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews in view of Bigert, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 2. Hanlon also teaches the following:
wherein the delivery instructions received from the first user include data describing how to gain access to the property (Hanlon ¶[0040], ¶[0045-46] details the user providing delivery instructions and delivery information, which includes an access code provided how to access the smart home / lock).
Claim 20:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 19. Hanlon does not explicitly state, but Bigert teaches the following:
the delivery details are received from the courier entity using an application programming interface (API) (Bigert ¶[0086-90], ¶[0115] details the delivery company using REST API to look up the order ID from the tracking ID, create a delivery from the order, and schedule the delivery, and details delivery companies are granted access to digital locks through an API); and
the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an API (Bigert ¶[0083-85], ¶[0117-119] details customer places an order on the site, confirms in the app that the delivery will be accepted in their home and confirmation that the lock that it is accepted using the API GlueFederation, and the site calls REST API to add a delivery tracking ID to the order).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the delivery details are received from the courier entity using an application programming interface (API); and the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an API as taught by Bigert with the teachings of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, with the motivation to “enable access to a property by a delivery courier without compromising security” (Bigert ¶[0001]). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the delivery details are received from the courier entity using an application programming interface (API); and the confirmation to the courier entity that the delivery uses the enhanced delivery mode is transmitted using an API as taught by Bigert in the system of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication 2021/0366217 A1 to Hanlon in view of US patent application publication 2018/0351941 A1 to Chhabra in view of US patent application publication 2022/0253791 A1 to Andrews et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “Easter 2019: SMS Marketing Inspiration For Driving Sales To Your Shopify Store” <https://ecommercefastlane.com/easter-2019-sms-marketing-inspiration-for-driving-sales-to-your-shopify-store/> (<https://web.archive.org/web/20210928225808/https://ecommercefastlane.com/easter-2019-sms-marketing-inspiration-for-driving-sales-to-your-shopify-store/> captured on 28 September 2021 using the Wayback Machine) to Hutt.
Claim 9:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 1. With respect to the following:
wherein providing the first user with an option for using an enhanced delivery mode is sent using email or short message service (SMS).
Hanlon, as shown in ¶[0040] details providing delivery methods for a user to select, one of which includes smart home delivery (i.e. an enhanced delivery mode), but does not explicitly state that providing the first user with an option for using an enhanced delivery mode is sent using email or short message service SMS. However, Hutt teaches this limitation, providing user an option for a free shipping (i.e. an enhanced delivery mode) through an SMS message that includes a hyperlink URL (Hutt ‘5 Easter SMS Shopping Cart Recovery Copy / Paste Automations’ section text “Still need some time, {FirstName}? That’s okay, that’s why we have an extended Free Shipping offer just for you until April 24: https://brand.smsb/xXX”, ‘5 Easter SMS Customer Reactivation Copy / Paste Automations’ section text “Haven’t seen you in a while, {First Name}! Thought you might like our new arrivals, get them with the Easter Free Shipping promo on our website here: https://brand.smb.co/xXX”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein providing the first user with an option for using an enhanced delivery mode is sent using email or short message service (SMS) as taught by Hutt with the teachings of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, with the motivation of “Speed and convenience in communication” (Hutt ‘Here’s the thing though…’ section beginning “85% of customers prefer texting over email or phone…”). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein providing the first user with an option for using an enhanced delivery mode is sent using email or short message service (SMS) as taught by Hutt in the system of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 10:
Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews in view of Hutt, as shown above, teach the limitations of claim 9. Hutt also teaches the following:
wherein the email or SMS includes a universal resource locator (URL) (Hutt ‘5 Easter SMS Shopping Cart Recovery Copy / Paste Automations’ section text “Still need some time, {FirstName}? That’s okay, that’s why we have an extended Free Shipping offer just for you until April 24: https://brand.smsb/xXX”, ‘5 Easter SMS Customer Reactivation Copy / Paste Automations’ section text “Haven’t seen you in a while, {First Name}! Thought you might like our new arrivals, get them with the Easter Free Shipping promo on our website here: https://brand.smb.co/xXX” details providing user an option for a free shipping (i.e. an enhanced delivery) through an SMS message that includes a hyperlink URL).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the email or SMS includes a universal resource locator (URL) as taught by Hutt with the teachings of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews (in view of Hutt), with the motivation of “Speed and convenience in communication” (Hutt ‘Here’s the thing though…’ section beginning “85% of customers prefer texting over email or phone…”). In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the email or SMS includes a universal resource locator (URL) as taught by Hutt in the system of Hanlon in view of Chhabra in view of Andrews (in view of Hutt), since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. See MPEP 2141 citing KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US patent application publication 2025/0158979 A1 to Bendell et al. details selectively granting access to permitted portions of data; and after confirming success of private delivery the customer confirms they have received the package, then the address information stored by the system may be deleted and made unavailable (Bendell Fig 17, ¶[0130]).
Conclusion
BRIAN TALLMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/BRIAN A TALLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3628
/MICHAEL P HARRINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628