DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 16, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaufman et al. (U.S. Patent 6,896,160, hereinafter Kaufman).
In regard to claim 1, the Kaufman reference discloses a fluid dispenser assembly comprising: a base 21 comprising a floor wall 27 (see Figures 2 and 3) having a fluid channel 26 passing therethrough, the base further comprising a sidewall (having upper edge 30, see Figure 2) attached to the floor wall, the side wall comprising a base rotation mechanism 24; and
a lever 2 comprising an actuation area 6 and a lever rotation mechanism 8, wherein the base rotation mechanism and the lever rotation mechanism are configured to engage so that the lever can at least partially rotate within the base; and
wherein the lever 2 further comprises a lever support 5 configured to seat on the floor wall 27 of the base (as seen in Figure 3).
In regard to claim 5, the base rotation mechanism 24, is a recess or hole in the side wall configured to receive the lever rotation mechanism 8.
In regard to claim 6, the lever rotation mechanism is a protrusion 8 configured to be received by the base rotation mechanism 24.
In regard to claim 7, the lever 2 comprises an opening (at the end of channel 10) configured to dispense a fluid.
In regard to claim 8, the lever 2 has an outer diameter configured to seat within an inner diameter of the side wall.
In regard to claim 9, the lever 2 comprises a width that is less than an inner diameter of the side wall and a length that approximates an inner diameter of the side wall.
In regard to claims 16 and 19, the Kaufman reference discloses a method forming (i.e., via molding, see column 5, lines 10-21) a fluid dispenser wherein the fluid dispenser includes a base, lever and rotation mechanism as claimed (as discussed above in detail).
In regard to claim 21, the actuation area 6 is arranged on a top surface of the lever 2 and the lever further comprises a dispenser opening (at the end of channel 10) arranged on a front surface of the lever.
In regard to claim 22, the lever 2 comprises a dispenser opening (at the end of channel 10), a fluid channel passage 10 (more specifically, the fluid passage is further defined by the vertical wall depending from a portion of lever 2, and lies adjacent opening 26, as seen in Figures 2-4) and a fluid channel interface 46 arranged in a passage between fluid channel passage and the dispenser opening, i.e., the interface 46 is arranged in a passage between at least a portion of the fluid passage 10 and the dispenser opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10-15, 17, 18 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman in view of Pagen et al. (US 2012/0181302, as cited by the Applicant, hereinafter Pagen).
In regard to claim 2, although the Kaufman reference does not disclose the base and lever are comprised of a sustainable material, attention is directed to the Pagen reference, which discloses another fluid dispenser assembly comprising a base 3 and lever 4 wherein these elements are formed from a sustainable material (see paragraphs 0040 and 0041, i.e., the closure is defined as the base and lever as disclosed in paragraph 0018) ) in order to render the closure environmentally sound. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the base and lever in the Kaufman device can be made from a sustainable material in order to render the closure environmentally sound. Further, although the Pagen reference does not specifically disclose the base and lever are formed from the same sustainable material, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the base and lever can be made from any suitable sustainable material, including same sustainable material, without effecting the overall operation of the device, especially since the Pagen reference does not differentiate the sustainable material which may be used for the base and lever.
In regard to claim 10, as discussed above, the base and lever in the Kaufman device can obviously be made from a sustainable material. Further, Pagen discloses the sustainable material comprises a biodegradable material (see paragraph 0040, lines 1-5).
In regard to claim 11, the sustainable material comprises blends of the biodegradable material (see paragraph 0040, lines 1-5 wherein it is disclosed mixtures of the listed materials may be used.
In regard to claim 12, as discussed above, the base and lever in the Kaufman device can obviously be made from a sustainable material. Further, Pagen discloses the sustainable material may be one or more polyethylene (see paragraph 0040, line 9).
In regard to claim 13, although the Pagen reference does not disclose the molecular weight of the polyethylene, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that any suitable polyethylene can be used, including a polyethylene having the claimed molecular weight, without effecting the overall operation of the device, especially since the Pagen reference does not limit the type of polyethylene that may be used and the Applicant has not indicated the particularly claimed molecular weight is critical to the overall operation of the device.
In regard to claim 14, as discussed above, the base and lever in the Kaufman device can obviously be made from a sustainable material. Further, Pagen discloses the sustainable material comprises a biodegradable polymer (see paragraph 0040, line 4).
In regard to claim 15, as discussed above, the base and lever in the Kaufman device can obviously be made from a sustainable material. Further, Pagen discloses the sustainable material comprises recycled resins (see paragraph 0040, line 4).
In regard to claims 17 and 18, as discussed above, the Kaufman reference discloses the various elements are formed via molding. Although the Kaufman reference does not disclose the specifically claimed molding method., it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made any suitable and know molding technique, including those claimed, can be used to mold the base and lever of the Kaufman device, without effecting the overall operation of the device, especially since the Kaufman reference does not limit the molding technique that is used and the Applicant has not indicated the particular molding technique is critical to the overall operation of the device.
In regard to claim 23, as discussed above, the base and lever in the Kaufman device can obviously be made from a sustainable material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Spaanstra, Sr. reference is cited as being directed to the state of the art as a teaching of another closure having a base and a lever wherein the lever includes a lever support configured to seat on the floor wall of the base as seen in Figure 8).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DJW
9/17/26
/DAVID J WALCZAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754