Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The abstract should be submitted on a separate sheet with no other verbiage thereon.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
There is a separate drawing in the center of sheet 7/12 (the drawing showing section lines A-A and B-B) which is not labled;
In Figure 1A, both occurrences of reference character 112 should be 110; (see Figure 1A and paragraph 0038, lines 4-5);
Similarly, in Figure 1B, reference character 112 should be 110; and
There are numerous reference characters in the specification which are not present in the drawings, i.e., reference characters 312 (see paragraph 0042, line 2), 413 (see paragraph 0044, line 5), 415 (see paragraph 0044, line 6), 507 (see paragraph 0046, line 7), 505 (see paragraph 0046, line 11), 512 (see paragraph 0047, line 2), 515 (see paragraph 0047, line 6) , 605 (see paragraph 0049, line 11), 615 (see paragraph 0050, line 6) and 203, 207, 204, 205, 201 and 210 (see paragraph 0053, lines 2-4) are not present in any of the drawings. The Applicant should review the drawing to ensure all of the reference characters in the specification are properly shown in the drawings.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0040, line 5, “112” should be “110” (see paragraph 0038, lines 4-5);
Reference character 414 (see Figure 4B) is not present in any of the drawings;
In paragraph 0043, lines 3-4, the specification indicates the rotation mechanisms in the lever and side wall are not shown, however, Figure 4C appears to shown these rotation mechanisms and paragraph 0044, line 2, defines a rotation mechanism 412;
In paragraph 0049, lines 3-4, the specification indicates the rotation mechanisms in the lever and side wall are not shown, however, Figure 6E appears to shown these rotation mechanisms and paragraph 0050, line 2, defines a rotation mechanism 412; and
Reference character 212 is used to denote both the “rotation mechanism” (see paragraph 0040, line 4) and a “fastener” (see paragraph 0053, line 3). It is noted the drawings depict reference character 212 has being directed to the rotation mechanism (see Figure 2A). Clarification is needed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regard to claim 1, on line 3, “to” should be inserted after “attached”.
In regard to claims 3 and 4, it is unclear as to what structure the “conventional fluid dispenser assembly/assemblies” is intended to define. Further, it is unclear as to whether or not the “conventional fluid dispenser assembly/assemblies” is/are intended to be part of the claimed combination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 11, an antecedent basis for “the bio-degradable material” (see lines 2-3) has not been defined. It appears claim 11 should depend from claim 10, as opposed to claim 1, since claim 10 first defines the “biodegradable material”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-12, 14-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pagen (US 2012/0181302, as cited by the Applicant, hereinafter Pagen).
In regard to claim 1, the Pagen reference discloses a fluid dispenser assembly comprising:
a base 3 comprising a floor wall (not numbered, see Figure 2) having a fluid channel passing therethrough (at 15, see Figure 3B), the base further comprising a sidewall (not numbered, see Figure 2) attached to the floor wall, the side wall comprising a base rotation mechanism (which receives projections 7); and
a lever 4 comprising an actuation area (defined by the area of the lever which is pressed by a user) and a lever rotation mechanism 7, wherein the base rotation mechanism and the lever rotation mechanism are configured to engage so that the lever can at least partially rotate within the base (along axis 11 and between the positions shown in Figures 3B and 6; see also paragraph 0018);
wherein the base 3 and lever 4 are comprised of a sustainable material (see paragraph 0041, lines 1-5).
In regard to claim 5, the base rotation mechanism, although not clearly defined or shown, must inherently be some sort of recess in the side wall in order to receive the protrusion 7 on the lever.
In regard to claim 6, the lever rotation mechanism is a protrusion 7 configured to be received by the base rotation mechanism.
In regard to claim 7, the lever 4 comprises an opening 5 configured to dispense a fluid.
In regard to claim 8, the lever 4 has an outer diameter configured to seat within an inner diameter of the side wall (see Figure 1A).
In regard to claim 9, the lever 4 comprises a width that is less than an inner diameter of the side wall and a length that approximates an inner diameter of the side wall (see Figure 1A).
In regard to claim 10, the sustainable material comprises a biodegradable material (see paragraph 0040, lines 1-5).
In regard to claim 11, the sustainable material comprises blends of the biodegradable material (see paragraph 0040, lines 1-5 wherein it is disclosed mixtures of the listed materials may be used.
In regard to claim 12, the sustainable material may be one or more polyethylene (see paragraph 0040, line 9).
In regard to claim 14, the sustainable material comprises a biodegradable polymer (see paragraph 0040, line 4).
In regard to claim 15, the sustainable material comprises recycled resins (see paragraph 0040, line 4).
In regard to claims 16 and 19, the Pagen reference discloses a method forming (i.e., via molding, see paragraphs 0033 and 0034) a fluid dispenser wherein the fluid dispenser includes a base, lever and rotation mechanism as claimed (as discussed above in detail) where the base and lever are formed of a sustainable material (as discussed above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 13, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagen.
In regard to claim 2, although the Pagen reference does not specifically disclose the base and lever are formed from the same sustainable material, the reference does disclose both the base and lever are formed from a sustainable material; see paragraph 0041, lines 1-3 wherein it is disclosed the closure (the closure being defined by the base and lever) is comprised of a sustainable material. Accordingly, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the base and lever can be made from any suitable sustainable material, including same sustainable material, without effecting the overall operation of the device, especially since the Pagen reference does not differentiate the sustainable material which may be used for the base and lever and the Applicant has not indicated the base and lever being made from the same material is critical to the overall operation of the device; as evidence by paragraph 0057 wherein it is disclosed the components of the device may be manufactured by the same material.
In regard to claims 3 and 4, since the base and lever in the Pagen device are formed from sustainable materials, depending on the materials used in the “conventional fluid dispenser assemblies”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the chosen sustainable materials for the Pagen device could produce the claimed percentages of carbon dioxide emissions and plastic waste without effecting the overall operation of the device.
In regard to claim 13, although the Pagen reference does not disclose the molecular weight of the polyethylene, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that any suitable polyethylene can be used, including a polyethylene having the claimed molecular weight, without effecting the overall operation of the device, especially since the Pagen reference does not limit the type of polyethylene that may be used and the Applicant has not indicated the particularly claimed molecular weight is critical to the overall operation of the device.
In regard to claims 17 and 18, as discussed above, the Pagen reference discloses the various elements are formed via molding. Although the Pagen reference does not disclose the specific type of molding method employed, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made any suitable and know molding technique, including those claimed, can be used to mold the base and lever of the Pagen device, without effecting the overall operation of the device, especially since the Pagen reference does not limit the molding technique that is used and the Applicant has not indicated the particular molding technique is critical to the overall operation of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Wood et al. reference is cited as being directed to the state of the art as a teaching of another fluid dispenser assembly comprised of a base, lever and a rotation mechanism between the base and lever which enables the lever to rotate into open and closed positions and the Pagen ‘368 reference is cited as being directed to the state of the art as a teaching of a closure cap made from sustainable/biodegradable materials.
DJW
6/16/26
/DAVID J WALCZAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754