DETAILED ACTION
Claims 8, 13, 18, 22-23, and 26-29 have been cancelled.
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/05/2024. Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-17, 19-21, and 24-25 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Specification
5. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words (instant abstract is 27 words) in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-17, 19-21, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (US 2022/0312282 Al).
For claim 1 Chang teaches a failure recovery method, performed by a terminal device (paragraph 4 “a method for radio link failure recovery in user equipment and corresponding user equipment”), the method comprising:
performing failure recovery based on configuration information for mobility in response to occurrence of a failure (paragraph 21 “the handover command is an RRC connection reconfiguration message including a mobility control information (MobilityControllnformation) information element …the mobility control information information element includes configuration information of the target cell,” and paragraph 74 “the conditional handover link recovery enabling indication is used to enable the UE to attempt to execute a conditional handover to recover a radio link according to the stored conditional handover configuration when an MCG RLF occurs”).
For claim 2 Chang teaches the method, wherein the configuration information for mobility comprises at least one of:
configuration information for selective activation of cell groups (paragraph 21 “reconfiguration (Reconfigurationwithsync) information element for a master cell group (MCG)”), or configuration information for conditional mobility management (paragraph 74 “the conditional handover link recovery enabling indication is used to enable the UE to attempt to execute a conditional handover to recover a radio link according to the stored conditional handover configuration when an MCG RLF occurs”).
For claim 3 Chang teaches the method the method, wherein performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility comprises at least one of executing a mobility process (paragraph 21 “the handover command is an RRC connection reconfiguration message including a mobility control information (MobilityControllnformation) information element”) or applying configuration of a target cell group corresponding to the mobility process (paragraph 21 “the mobility control information information element includes configuration information of the target cell”).
For claim 4 Chang teaches the method, wherein performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility in response to the occurrence of the failure comprises:
in response to the occurrence of the failure, selecting configuration of a target cell group from the configuration information for mobility (paragraph 21 “the handover command is an RRC connection reconfiguration message including a mobility control information (MobilityControllnformation) information element”); and
performing failure recovery based on the configuration of the target cell group (paragraph 21 “the mobility control information information element includes configuration information of the target cell”).
For claim 5 Chang teaches the method of claim 4, wherein selecting the configuration of the target cell group from the configuration information for mobility in response to the occurrence of the failure, comprises:
in response to the occurrence of the failure, selecting the target cell group from candidate cell groups corresponding to the configuration information for mobility (paragraph 30 “when a radio link failure (RLF) of a master cell group occurs, the UE initiates an RRC connection re-establishment procedure to re-establish/resume a connection to a network side. After initiating the RRC connection re-establishment procedure, the UE executes a cell selection procedure to select a re-establishment cell, and transmits a re-establishment request message to the same” and paragraph 36 MCG and SCG selection”); or,
obtaining the configuration of the target cell group from the configuration information for mobility (paragraph 21 “the mobility control information information element includes configuration information of the target cell”).
For claim 6 Chang teaches the method of claim 4, wherein selecting the configuration of the target cell group from the configuration information for mobility in response to the occurrence of the failure, comprises:
in response to the occurrence of the failure, selecting the configuration of the target cell group from the configuration information for mobility based on a selection strategy configured by a network device (paragraph 5 “when the RLF occurs on the UE, if the UE is not configures with a conditional handover, then executing a cell selection procedure (strategy)”).
For claim 7 Chang teaches the method of claim 5, wherein in response to the occurrence of the failure, selecting the configuration of the target cell group from the configuration information for mobility based on selection strategy configured by the network device (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure (strategy)”), comprises:
in response to the occurrence of the failure, starting a selection timer, and selecting configuration of a candidate cell group from the configuration information for mobility based on a preconfigured selection strategy (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure (strategy)” and pargraph 6 “a cell selection monitoring timer T is started”);
determining selected configuration of the candidate cell group as the configuration of the target cell group in a case that the selection timer does not expire (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure (strategy)”); and/or
wherein the selection strategy (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure (strategy)”) comprises at least one of:
selecting based on a triggering condition corresponding to a candidate cell group in the configuration information for mobility (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure (strategy)” and design options);
selecting based on a measurement result of a candidate cell group in the configuration information for mobility (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure (strategy)” and design options):
selecting based on pre-configuration of a network device (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure (strategy)” and design options):
selecting based on a protocol specification (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure (strategy)” and design options); or
selecting based on implementation of the terminal device (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure (strategy)” and design options).
For claim 9 Chang teaches the method, wherein performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility in response to the occurrence of the failure, comprises:
in response to the occurrence of the failure, selecting a cell for reestablishment (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure and re-establishment procedure”);
in response to the cell for reestablishment being a cell in one or more candidate cell groups corresponding to the configuration information for mobility, determining a candidate cell group to which the cell for reestablishment belongs as a target cell group (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure when an RLF occurs on a radio link (RLF) of UE”); and
performing cell group failure recovery based on configuration of the target cell group (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure when an RLF occurs on a radio link (RLF) of UE” and paragraph 36 “RLF occurs on MCG, then SCG link is used for re-establishment, if SCG is good, or a timer T310 is not running”).
For claim 10 Chang teaches the method, further comprising: receiving indication information from a network device, wherein the indication information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to perform failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility (paragraph 74 “the conditional handover link recovery enabling indication is used to determine whether the UE is allowed to attempt to execute a conditional handover to recover a radio link according to the stored conditional handover configuration when an MCG RLF occurs”).
For claim 11 Chang teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the indication information is one of:
first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to select configuration of a target cell group from the configuration information for mobility (paragraph 74 “the conditional handover link recovery enabling indication is used to determine whether the UE is allowed to attempt to execute a conditional handover to recover a radio link according to the stored conditional handover configuration when an MCG RLF occurs”); or
For claim 12 Chang teaches the method, wherein before performing failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility in response to the occurrence of the failure, the method further comprises at least one of:
determining the occurrence of the failure in response to occurrence of at least one of master cell group synchronization reconfiguration failure, master cell group radio link failure, secondary cell group synchronization reconfiguration failure (paragraph 12 “radio link failure recovery in MCG or SCG”, paragraph 21 “reconfiguration (Reconfigurationwithsync) information element for a master cell group (MCG)”, and paragraph 74 “the conditional handover link recovery enabling indication is used to determine whether the UE is allowed to attempt to execute a conditional handover to recover a radio link according to the stored conditional handover configuration when an MCG RLF occurs”), or secondary cell group radio link failure (paragraph 12 “radio link failure recovery in MCG or SCG”); or
in response to occurrence of a failure in a master cell group or occurrence of a failure in master cell group failure recovery, performing one of:
entering an idle state, falling back to configuration of a source master cell group, or triggering a reestablishment process (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure”): or
one of:
or triggering a reestablishment process (Fig. 2 “re-establishment procedure”).
For claim 14 Chang teaches a failure recovery method, performed by a network device, the method comprising:
sending configuration information for mobility to a terminal device, wherein a failure recovery process of the terminal device is based on the configuration information for mobility (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 15 Chang teaches the method, wherein the configuration information for mobility comprises at least one of:
configuration information for selective activation of cell groups (as discussed in claim 2), or
configuration information for conditional mobility management (as discussed in claim 2).
For claim 16 Chang teaches the method, further comprising:
configuring a selection strategy for the terminal device, for indicating the terminal device to select configuration of a target cell group from the configuration information for mobility for failure recovery (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure when an RLF occurs on a radio link (RLF) of UE”).
For claim 17 Chang teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising at least one of:
the selection strategy comprising at least one of:
selecting based on a triggering condition corresponding to a candidate cell group in the configuration information for mobility, selecting based on a measurement result of a candidate cell group in the configuration information for mobility, [[and]] or selecting based on pre-configuration of the network device (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure when an RLF occurs on a radio link (RLF) of UE”); or
configuring a selection timer for the terminal device, for indicating the terminal device to select the configuration of the target cell group in the case that the selection timer does not expire (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure when an RLF occurs on a radio link (RLF) of UE”).
For claim 19 Chang teaches the method, wherein the configuration information for mobility comprises at least one of:
configuration of candidate master cell groups (paragraph 7 “”, conditional handover candidate cell”, Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure when an RLF occurs on a radio link (RLF) of UE”), paragraph 34 “when an RLF occurs on UE configured with a conditional handover, the UE determines whether a suitable cell exists among candidate cells in a conditional handover configuration”, and paragraph 12 “MCG and SCG”), or configuration of candidate secondary cell groups (Fig. 2 “cell selection procedure when an RLF occurs on a radio link (RLF) of UE”), paragraph 12 “MCG and SCG”);
wherein there is no association relationship between the candidate master cell group and the candidate secondary cell group, or there is an association relationship between the candidate master cell group and the candidate secondary cell group (paragraph 36 “RLF occurs on MCG, then SCG link is used for re-establishment, if SCG is good, or a timer T310 is not running”).
For claim 20 Chang teaches the method, further comprising:
sending indication information to the terminal device, wherein the indication information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to perform failure recovery based on the configuration information for mobility (paragraph 74 “the conditional handover link recovery enabling indication is used to determine whether the UE is allowed to attempt to execute a conditional handover to recover a radio link according to the stored conditional handover configuration when an MCG RLF occurs”).
For claim 21 Chang teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the indication information is one of:
first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates that the terminal device is allowed to select configuration of a target cell group from the configuration information for mobility (paragraph 74 “the conditional handover link recovery enabling indication is used to determine whether the UE is allowed to attempt to execute a conditional handover to recover a radio link according to the stored conditional handover configuration when an MCG RLF occurs”); or
For claim 24 Chang teaches a terminal device, comprising:
a processor (Fig. 3 “processor”) and
a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (paragraph 13 “a processor execute a program stored in memory for RLF recovery” and Fig. 3 “memory”):
wherein the processor is configured to perform failure recovery based on configuration information for mobility in response to occurrence of a failure (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 25 Chang teaches a network device, comprising:
a processor (Fig. 3 “processor”) and
a memory storing a computer program executable by the processors (paragraph 13 “a processor execute a program stored in memory for RLF recovery” and Fig. 3 “memory”):
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 14 (as discussed in claim 1).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Turtinen et al. (US 2024/0357385 A1).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415