DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the water-receiving sink with an open top formed between the water receiver and the back shell” with “the water receiver connected to a lower end of the back shell at a rear side of the back shell” as claimed in claims 14 and 25 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
water receiver in at least claim 14.
engagement member in at least claim 27.
Water receiver is interpreted to cover a drainage outlet as per para [0016] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Engagement member is interpreted to cover a groove as per para [0062] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 14-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 14 requires that “the water receiver be connected to a lower end of the back shell at a rear side of the back shell” (see line 4). Claim 14 further requires that “a water-receiving sink be formed between the water receiver and the back shell” (see last paragraph of claim 1). It is unclear as to how the water-receiving sink is provided between the water receiver and the back shell when the water receiver is already connected to the back shell.
As best understood, the back shell is #20, the water receiver is #30, and the water-receiving sink is #31. It is not apparent from the specification how the water-receiving sink #31 is provided between the water receiver #30 and the back shell #20.
Appropriate correction is required.
A similar issue is found in claim 25. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 calls for the limitation “the second groove” twice (see last two lines); which limitation lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
For examination purposes, “the second groove” is interpreted as the groove.
Claim(s) 15-24 and 26-31 is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-17, 20, and 23-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (US 20150013371 A1).
Regarding claim 14:
Cho discloses a volute component (Fig. 1-8) comprising:
a back shell (see Fig. 2: back shell has #10a);
side shells (see Fig. 2-3), rear edges of the side shells being connected to the back shell (see Fig. 2); and
a water receiver #13 connected to a lower end of the back shell (#13 is connected to the lower half end of the back shell) at a rear side of the back shell (see Fig. 5: #13 adjoints the backwall); wherein:
the back shell and the side shells form a cross-flow channel (see Fig. 5 and airflow thereof), the side shells being arranged at two sides of the cross-flow channel in an axial direction of the cross-flow channel (see Fig. 5), and an air channel inlet #10a being formed between front edges of the side shells (Fig. 2 & 5); and
a water-receiving sink (see spout below #40 that discharges condensate from evaporator #40 to pan #13) with an open top (the spout above has an open top; at least through which condensate from #40 flows therein) is formed between the water receiver and the back shell (see Fig. 5: the spout is disposed between the front end of the water receiver #13 and the back shell), and is configured to receive water dripping along the back shell (see Fig. 5: by virtue of the structural limitations being met, the prior art can achieve this function).
Note: the limitation “configured to receive water dripping along the back shell” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114/Il.
Regarding claim 15:
Cho further discloses wherein the back shell is provided with a guide rib #11 extending vertically and protruding from the rear side of the back shell (see at least Fig. 2 & 5: feature #11 is a three-dimensional guide rib that extends vertically and protrudes from the rear side of the back shell).
Regarding claim 16:
Cho further discloses wherein the back shell is provided with a plurality of guide ribs #11 arranged at intervals in the axial direction of the cross-flow channel, each of the plurality of guide ribs extending vertically and protruding from the rear side of the back shell (see at least Fig. 2 & 5: features #11 are a three-dimensional guide ribs that extend vertically and protrude from the rear side of the back shell).
Regarding claim 17:
Cho further discloses a top shell connected to an upper part of the back shell (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20:
Cho further discloses wherein a groove #10b is formed on an outer surface of a connection between the top shell and the back shell (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 23:
Cho further discloses wherein the back shell is provided with water-blocking plates at two ends of the back shell close to the side shells (see top panel and bottom panel of housing #10), the water-blocking plates extending vertically and protruding rearwards (see Fig. 2 & 5: the top panel and bottom panel of housing #10 are a three-dimensional elements that extend vertically in their thickness direction, and that each protrude rearwards from a front of housing #10).
Regarding claim 24:
Cho further discloses wherein the water receiver and the back shell are integrally formed (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 25:
The subject matter claimed here is substantially similar to that of claim 14. Thus, for sake of simplicity, conciseness, and brevity, please refer to the rejection of claim 14 above for the rejection of claim 25. Only the differences will be addressed.
Cho further discloses an air conditioner (abstract) comprising: a heat exchanger #40; wherein the heat exchanger engages with the volute component to shield the air channel inlet (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 26:
Cho further discloses a base arranged below the volute component and the heat exchanger; wherein the base includes a first support (see bottom plate of housing #10; Fig. 5) supporting the water receiver and a second support (see plate supporting elements #30 & #40; Fig. 5) supporting the heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 27:
Cho further discloses wherein: the water receiver includes a first engagement member at a bottom of the water receiver; and the first support includes a second engagement member at a top of the first support, the second engagement member forming a groove with an open bottom; and the first engagement member is shaped to be compatible with the groove and engages in the groove (see Fig. 5 of Cho Reproduced and Annotated below).
Fig. 5 of Cho Reproduced and Annotated
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 20150013371 A1) in view of Liu (US 20080141710 A1).
Regarding claims 18-19:
Cho discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the top shell is provided with a guide rib extending vertically and protruding from an outer side of the top shell; or wherein the top shell is provided with a plurality of guide ribs arranged at intervals in the axial direction of the cross- flow channel, each of the plurality of guide ribs extending vertically and protruding from an outer side of the top shell.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches that it is known to manufacture housing of air conditioning unit with a plurality of ribs extending vertically and protruding from an outer side thereof (see ribs 10a-b; Fig. 3 and 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Cho with the top shell having the claimed configuration above, in a similar manner as taught by Liu.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have increased the compressive strength of the top shell; thereby, reducing the risk of undesired deformation.
As modified, the top shell is provided with a plurality of guide ribs arranged at intervals in the axial direction of the cross-flow channel, each of the plurality of guide ribs extending vertically and protruding from an outer side of the top shell.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 20150013371 A1).
Regarding claims 21-22:
Cho discloses all the limitations, except for wherein a guide rib extends vertically and protrudes from the groove; or wherein a plurality of guide ribs are arranged at intervals in the axial direction of the cross-flow channel, each of the guide ribs extending vertically and protruding from the groove.
Nonetheless, Cho already discloses grooves provided with a plurality of guide ribs #11 arranged at intervals in the axial direction of the cross-flow channel, each of the plurality of guide ribs extending vertically and protruding from the rear side of the back shell (see at least Fig. 2 & 5: features #11 are a three-dimensional guide ribs that extend vertically and protrude from the rear side of the back shell).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Cho with the groove #10b provided with the claimed and disclosed features above; since that concept was already taught by Cho.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have prevented sagging or buckling of the groove(s) under extreme temperature fluctuations.
As modified, a plurality of guide ribs are arranged at intervals in the axial direction of the cross-flow channel, each of the guide ribs extending vertically and protruding from the groove.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-31 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The combination of elements as set forth in claim 28 does not appear to be disclosed or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu (CN 218119982 U), Chen (US 20240117973 A1), and Rust (US 5715697 A).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763