DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Applicants’ filing of December 5, 2024. Claims 1-14 are presented for examination, with Claims 1 and 9 being in independent form.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 5, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0220428 (“Simonyi”).
Regarding Claim 1, Simonyi discloses a control device for verification of a commissioned lighting system (114 in Fig. 1; [0033]-[0034), the control device being configured to
define a verification path in a digital floor plan, the digital floor plan identifying and locating a respective component of a plurality of components of the lighting system, and the verification path defining a verification sequence of the plurality of components (Fig. 4; [0067], commissioning path 402);
receive a start indication from a commissioning device ([0071], start commissioning);
communicate an actuation of a respective next component of the plurality of components in accordance with the verification sequence ([0072]);
send an actuation indication indicating the respective next component ([0072]);
receive an actuation confirmation indicating an actuated component of the plurality of components ([0074]); and
verify a match of the actuated component and the respective next component ([0074]).
Regarding Claim 2, Simonyi further discloses wherein for defining the verification path, the control device is further configured to define the verification path in accordance with an algorithm of combinatorial optimization (Fig. 4; [0067], commissioning path 402).
Regarding Claim 3, Simonyi further discloses wherein the algorithm implementing a travelling salesperson problem (Fig. 4; [0067], commissioning path 402).
Regarding Claim 4, Simonyi further discloses wherein for defining the verification path, the control device is further configured to receive an appendage indication from the commissioning device, the appendage indication indicating an appendage component of the plurality of components ([0074]); and
append the appendage component to the verification path (Fig. 4; [0067], commissioning path 402).
Regarding Claim 5, Simonyi further discloses the respective next component comprising a sensor or light switch; and the actuation comprising an actuation of the respective next component by a user; wherein for communicating the actuation, the control device is further configured to detect the actuation of the respective next component ([0068]; [0081]).
Regarding Claim 6, Simonyi further discloses the respective next component comprising a luminaire; and the actuation comprising an actuation of the respective next component by the control device; wherein for communicating the actuation, the control device is further configured to perform the actuation of the respective next component ([0072]).
Regarding Claim 7, Simonyi further discloses the respective next component comprising a group of components of the plurality of components ([0054]).
Regarding Claim 8, Simonyi further discloses wherein for verifying the match, the control device is further configured to readdress the respective next component responsive to a mismatch of the actuated component and the respective next component ([0054]; [0072]).
Regarding Claim 9, Simonyi discloses a commissioning device (116 in Fig. 1) for verification of a commissioned lighting system, the commissioning device comprising a user interface ([0061]), and being configured to:
display a verification path in a digital floor plan, the digital floor plan identifying and locating a respective component of a plurality of components of the lighting system, and the verification path defining a verification sequence of the plurality of components (Fig. 4; [0065]-[0067]);
send a start indication to a control device for verification of the commissioned lighting system responsive to a touch of a symbol in the user interface representing a start button ([0071]);
receive an actuation indication indicating a respective next component of the plurality of components in accordance with the verification sequence from the control device ([0072]);
highlight a symbol in the user interface representing the respective next component ([0072]; [0075]);
detect a touch of a symbol in the user interface representing an actuated component of the plurality of components as determined by the user (using smart device 116; [0061]); and
send an actuation confirmation indicating the actuated component to the control device ([0074]).
Regarding Claim 10, Simonyi further discloses further being configured to send a start indication to the control device responsive to a touch of a symbol in the user interface representing a start button of an automatic operation mode (using smart device 116; [0061]); and
detect, in the automatic operation mode, a lapse of a configurable timeout timer following which the respective next component represented by the highlighted symbol is taken as the actuated component ([0074]).
Regarding Claim 11, Simonyi further discloses further being configured to define the verification path ([0067]).
Regarding Claim 12, Simonyi further discloses wherein for defining the verification path (Fig. 4; [0067], commissioning path 402), the commissioning device is further configured to
send an appendage indication to the control device responsive to a touch of a symbol in the user interface representing an appendage component of the plurality of components for appending to the verification path, the appendage indication indicating the appendage component ([0074]; [0130]).
Regarding Claim 13, Simonyi further discloses a system for verification of a commissioned lighting system (116 in Fig. 1), comprising:
a control device according to claim 1 (114 in Fig. 1; [0033]-[0034]);
a commissioning device comprising a user interface ([0061]), and being configured to:
display a verification path in a digital floor plan, the digital floor plan identifying and locating a respective component of a plurality of components of the lighting system, and the verification path defining a verification sequence of the plurality of components (Fig. 4; [0065]-[0067]);
send a start indication to a control device for verification of the commissioned lighting system responsive to a touch of a symbol in the user interface representing a start button ([0071]);
receive an actuation indication indicating a respective next component of the plurality of components in accordance with the verification sequence from the control device ([0072]);
highlight a symbol in the user interface representing the respective next component ([0072]; [0075]);
detect a touch of a symbol in the user interface representing an actuated component of the plurality of components as determined by the user (using smart device 116; [0061]); and
send an actuation confirmation indicating the actuated component to the control device ([0074]); and
communication means for connecting the control device, the commissioning device and a plurality of components of the lighting system (108).
Regarding Claim 14, Simonyi further discloses the commissioning device comprising the control device ([0033]-[0034]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0254916 (“Kaag”) relates to a system, device, and method for automatic commissioning of application control systems.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0241338 (“Ganick”) relates to a self-identifying one-way authentication method using optical signals.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0376570 (“Verbrugh”) relates to maintaining a lighting system.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0248760 (“Deixler”) relates to replacing wireless-communication enabled components in a luminaire.
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2844