CTNF 18/872,121 CTNF 91286 DETAILED ACTION Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-9, 11, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (EP 1 761 063) in view of Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…,” Signal Processing: Image Communication (2013)) . Regarding Claim 1, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses a method for decoding (video decoder 1100 [0057]) an encoded (compressed bitstream [0059]) block (the current block to be decoded [0060]) , comprising: determining a first directional intra prediction mode (intra prediction according to the H.264 standard using pixels of neighboring blocks [0034], e.g., vertical mode [0036]) for first lines of pixels (pixels of a first area [0036], lines [0033]) within the encoded block (input current block divided into at least two areas [0033]) ; reconstructing the first lines of pixels (pixels of the first area are intrapredicted by the intrapredictor 332 and then reconstructed through transformation, quantization, inverse quantization, and inverse transformation [0039]; The quantized residual video data of the first area undergoes inverse quantization in the inverse quantization unit 316 and inverse transform in the inverse transformation unit 318, is added to prediction video data of the intrapredicted first area for reconstruction [0038]) using the first directional intra prediction mode (intra prediction according to the H.264 standard using pixels of neighboring blocks [0034], e.g., vertical mode [0036]) ; … second lines of pixels interleaving the first lines of pixels (interleaved, Figs. 5A-D) within the encoded block (division unit 331 divides the current block into a first and second area [0033]) ; reconstructing the second lines of pixels (interpolation unit 333b interpolates the average of pixels passing through the pixel C of the second area among the pixels of the first area [0044]) using the second directional intra prediction mode (determined edge direction [0044]) and at least the reconstructed first lines of pixels (among the pixels of the first area positioned in the determined edge direction [0044]) ; and outputting a decoded block (obtaining reconstructed video [0066] forming a decoded prediction block [0067]) including the reconstructed first lines of pixels (decode a first area [0066]-[0067]) and the reconstructed second lines of pixels (and second area [0066]-[0067]) …. Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches determining, based on the first directional intra prediction mode (based on directional intra prediction, p. 589 left column; dominant direction for each intra mode, p. 583 left column) , a second directional intra prediction mode for second lines of pixels (non-sampled pixels predicted from reconstructed samples, p. 588 left column, from reference samples in the dominant direction, p. 589 left column; Fig. 11 – interpolation in the direction of intra prediction mode); pixels… reconstructed (video coding, Introduction) … for storage or further processing (for DVDs, TV, Introduction). One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the interpolation of Song using the dominant direction, as in Wu, because Wu teaches that it is a flexible interpolation scheme for intra-prediction, improving prediction accuracy while reducing spatial redundancy, resulting in improve rate-distortion compression efficiency, improving the coding and visual quality of video (p. 582 left column; p. 591 right column). Regarding Claim 2, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein reconstructing the first lines of pixels comprises: predicting the first lines of pixels according to the first directional intra prediction mode while skipping the second lines of pixels (pixels of the first area are intrapredicted according to a vertical mode among the intraprediction modes of the H.264 standards [0036]) . Regarding Claim 3, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first lines of pixels are predicted (pixels of the first area are intrapredicted according to a vertical mode among the intraprediction modes of the H.264 standards [0036]) using previously reconstructed pixels of one or more neighbor blocks of the encoded block (using pixels of neighboring blocks [0034]) , and wherein the second lines of pixels are predicted () using both of the previously reconstructed pixels of the one or more neighbor blocks (available pixels of a neighboring block or the current block, may be used [0045]) and the reconstructed first lines of pixels (pixels of the first area positioned in the determined edge direction [0044]) . Regarding Claim 4, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first lines of pixels are odd numbered rows or columns of the encoded block, and the second lines of pixels are even numbered rows or columns of the encoded block (see interlaced rows/ columns, Figs. 5A-5B) . Regarding Claim 5, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 1. Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches wherein the second directional intra prediction mode is inherited from the first directional intra prediction mode (dominant direction for each intra mode, p. 583 left column; non-sampled pixels predicted from reconstructed samples, p. 588 left column, from reference samples in the dominant direction, p. 589 left column; Fig. 11 – interpolation in the direction of intra prediction mode) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the interpolation of Song using the dominant direction, as in Wu, because Wu teaches that it is a flexible interpolation scheme for intra-prediction, improving prediction accuracy while reducing spatial redundancy, resulting in improve rate-distortion compression efficiency, improving the coding and visual quality of video (p. 582 left column; p. 591 right column). Regarding Claim 6, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 1, wherein pixels of the second lines of pixels (into the pixel C of the second area [0044]) are predicted using linear interpolation or polynomial interpolation (average [0044]) performed against one or both of pixels of the first lines of pixels that are adjacent to the pixels of the second lines of pixels (pixels in the first area positioned in the determined edge direction [0044]) or previously reconstructed pixels of one or more neighbor blocks of the encoded block that are adjacent to the pixels of the first lines of pixels. Regarding Claim 7, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 1, comprising: determining a spatial sampling (division unit 331 divides the current block into a first and second area [0033]) for the encoded block (subsampling into half the number of pixels, Figs. 5A, 5B) ; and splitting the encoded block into the first lines of pixels (first area including odd-numbered lines [0033]) and the second lines of pixels (second area including even-numbered lines [0033]) according to the spatial sampling (splitting into Figs. 5A, 5B) . Regarding Claim 8, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of any of claim 7, wherein the spatial sampling indicates (flag information in the header [0056]) to predict the encoded block (intraprediction according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention [0056]) using a pyramid pattern (first area including odd-numbered horizontal lines and a second area including even-numbered horizontal lines [0033]) within which sets of lines of pixels including the first lines of pixels and the second lines of pixels are hierarchically arranged (first area including odd-numbered horizontal lines and a second area including even-numbered horizontal lines [0033]) . Song does not disclose but renders obvious the method comprising: determining … a third directional intra prediction mode (determined edge direction [0040]) for third lines of pixels interleaving the first lines of pixels and the second lines of pixels within the encoded block at a level of the pyramid pattern which that is hierarchically below a level to which the second lines of pixels correspond (repeating the block division of [0033] on a block that has already been divided once) ; and reconstructing (interpolating [0040]) the third lines of pixels (“the second area” [0040] on a block that has been divided twice using block division unit 331 [0033]) using the third directional intra prediction mode (determined edge direction [0040]) and at least the reconstructed second lines of pixels (using pixels of the “first area” [0040] on a block that has been divided twice using block division unit 331 [0033]) . Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches determining, based on the second directional intra prediction mode, a third directional intra prediction mode (non-sampled pixels predicted from reconstructed samples, p. 588 left column, from reference samples in the dominant direction, p. 589 left column; Fig. 11 – interpolation in the direction of intra prediction mode) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to sub-sample the block of Song using the block division unit 331 twice because it is a known technique being applied in a known device, and Wu suggests that replacing intra predicted pixels far from the prediction border with interpolated pixels has the benefit of reducing the residual data, improving coding efficiency (p. 582 right column, last paragraph). One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the interpolation of Song using the dominant direction, as in Wu, because Wu teaches that it is a flexible interpolation scheme for intra-prediction, improving prediction accuracy while reducing spatial redundancy, resulting in improve rate-distortion compression efficiency, improving the coding and visual quality of video (p. 582 left column; p. 591 right column). Regarding Claim 9, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 8. Song does not disclose, but renders obvious wherein the third lines of pixels are reconstructed (interpolating “the second area” [0040] on a block that has been divided twice using block division unit 331 [0033]) using previously reconstructed pixels of one or more neighbor blocks of the encoded block, the reconstructed first lines of pixels, and the reconstructed second lines of pixels (using pixels of the “first area” [0040] on a block that has been divided twice using block division unit 331 [0033]) . Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches wherein the third directional intra prediction mode is inherited from the second directional intra prediction mode (non-sampled pixels predicted from reconstructed samples, p. 588 left column, from reference samples in the dominant direction, p. 589 left column; Fig. 11 – interpolation in the direction of intra prediction mode) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to sub-sample the block of Song using the block division unit 331 twice because it is a known technique being applied in a known device, and Wu suggests that replacing intra predicted pixels far from the prediction border with interpolated pixels has the benefit of reducing the residual data, improving coding efficiency (p. 582 right column, last paragraph). One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the interpolation of Song using the dominant direction, as in Wu, because Wu teaches that it is a flexible interpolation scheme for intra-prediction, improving prediction accuracy while reducing spatial redundancy, resulting in improve rate-distortion compression efficiency, improving the coding and visual quality of video (p. 582 left column; p. 591 right column). Regarding Claim 11, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the spatial sampling is determined using one or more syntax elements encoded to a bitstream (flag is added header of block when intraprediction of the present invention is used [0056]) including the encoded block (receiving a bitstream having data for a first area that is intra-prediction encoded and a second area that is interpolated [0013]). Regarding Claim 13, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 7. Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches wherein the first directional intra prediction mode is an initial directional prediction model (existing directional intra modes, p. 587 left column) and the spatial sampling indicates to split the encoded block into a number of sets of lines of pixels that is equal to a power of two (the sampling ration is ½, p. 589 left column; i.e., 2 1 =2, this is a power of two) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the interpolation of Song using the dominant direction, as in Wu, because Wu teaches that it is a flexible interpolation scheme for intra-prediction, improving prediction accuracy while reducing spatial redundancy, resulting in improve rate-distortion compression efficiency, improving the coding and visual quality of video (p. 582 left column; p. 591 right column). Regarding Claim 14, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses an apparatus for decoding (decoded [0049]) an encoded block (current block [0051]) , comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to execute instructions stored in the memory (computer-readable code on a computer-readable recording medium. The computer-readable recording medium is any data storage device that can store data which can be thereafter read by a computer system [0075]) to: reconstruct first lines of pixels (pixels of the first area are intrapredicted by the intrapredictor 332 and then reconstructed through transformation, quantization, inverse quantization, and inverse transformation [0039]; The quantized residual video data of the first area undergoes inverse quantization in the inverse quantization unit 316 and inverse transform in the inverse transformation unit 318, is added to prediction video data of the intrapredicted first area for reconstruction [0038]) within the encoded block (division unit 331 divides the current block into a first and second area [0033]) using a first directional intra prediction mode (intra prediction according to the H.264 standard using pixels of neighboring blocks [0034], e.g., vertical mode [0036]) ; reconstruct second lines of pixels (interpolation unit 333b interpolates the average of pixels passing through the pixel C of the second area among the pixels of the first area [0044]) interleaving the first lines of pixels (interleaved, Figs. 5A-D) within the encoded block (division unit 331 divides the current block into a first and second area [0033]) using the reconstructed first lines of pixels (among the pixels of the first area positioned in the determined edge direction [0044]) and a second directional intra prediction mode (determined edge direction [0044]) …; and output a decoded block (obtaining reconstructed video [0066] forming a decoded prediction block [0067]) including the reconstructed first lines of pixels (decode a first area [0066]-[0067]) and the reconstructed second lines of pixels (and second area [0066]-[0067]) … . Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches second directional intra prediction mode determined (non-sampled pixels predicted from reconstructed samples, p. 588 left column, from reference samples in the dominant direction, p. 589 left column; Fig. 11 – interpolation in the direction of intra prediction mode) based on the first directional intra prediction mode (based on directional intra prediction, p. 589 left column; dominant direction for each intra mode, p. 583 left column) ; and output (video coding, Introduction) … for storage or further processing (for DVDs, TV, Introduction) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the interpolation of Song using the dominant direction, as in Wu, because Wu teaches that it is a flexible interpolation scheme for intra-prediction, improving prediction accuracy while reducing spatial redundancy, resulting in improve rate-distortion compression efficiency, improving the coding and visual quality of video (p. 582 left column; p. 591 right column). Regarding Claim 15, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: determine the first lines of pixels based on a spatial sampling for the encoded block (division unit 331 divides the current block into a first and second area [0033]; Figs. 5A-C) , Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches wherein the spatial sampling is based on the first directional intra prediction mode (spatial sampling optimized based on intra mode, Fig. 11) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the interpolation of Song using the dominant direction, as in Wu, because Wu teaches that it is a flexible interpolation scheme for intra-prediction, improving prediction accuracy while reducing spatial redundancy, resulting in improve rate-distortion compression efficiency, improving the coding and visual quality of video (p. 582 left column; p. 591 right column). Regarding Claim 16, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the apparatus of claim 15. Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: decode the first directional intra prediction mode from a bitstream to which the encoded block is encoded (there is no change in the codec syntax and coding loop; i.e., the intra prediction mode is signaled using methods in the existing codec, p. 587 left column) ; decode the spatial sampling from the bitstream (the existing intra modes are modified with the proposed down-sampling structure of Fig. 11, p. 587 left column) ; and split the encoded block into at least the first lines of pixels and the second lines of pixels according to the spatial sampling (split according to Fig. 11) . Regarding Claim 17, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the apparatus of any of claim 14. Song does not disclose, but renders obvious wherein multiple sets of lines of pixels within the encoded block including the first lines of pixels and the second lines of pixels are predicted in a pyramid pattern (repeating the block division of [0033] on a block that has already been divided once) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to sub-sample the block of Song using the block division unit 331 twice because it is a known technique being applied in a known device, and Wu suggests that replacing intra predicted pixels far from the prediction border with interpolated pixels has the benefit of reducing the residual data, improving coding efficiency (p. 582 right column, last paragraph). Regarding Claim 18, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage device including program instructions executable by one or more processors that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations for decoding an encoded block (computer-readable code on a computer-readable recording medium. The computer-readable recording medium is any data storage device that can store data which can be thereafter read by a computer system [0075]) , the operations comprising: splitting the encoded block (division unit 331 divides the current block [0033], Figs. 5A-D) into first lines of pixels (into a first and second area [0033]) and second lines of pixels (and second area [0033]) according to a spatial sampling (splitting into Figs. 5A, 5B) for the encoded block (current block [0033]) ; reconstructing (obtaining reconstructed video [0066] forming a decoded prediction block [0067]; intrapredicted [0036]) first lines of pixels within the encoded block (pixels in the first area [[0036]) using a first directional intra prediction mode (according to a vertical mode among the intraprediction modes of the H.264 standards [0036]) ; reconstructing (obtaining reconstructed video [0066] forming a decoded prediction block [0067]) second lines of pixels (interpolation unit 333b interpolates the average of pixels passing through the pixel C of the second area among the pixels of the first area [0044]) interleaving the first lines of pixels within the encoded block (interleaved, Figs. 5A-D) using the reconstructed first lines of pixels (among the pixels of the first area positioned in the determined edge direction [0044]) and a second directional intra prediction mode (determined edge direction [0044]) … ; and output a decoded block (obtaining reconstructed video [0066] forming a decoded prediction block [0067]) including the reconstructed first lines of pixels (decode a first area [0066]-[0067]) and the reconstructed second lines of pixels (and second area [0066]-[0067]) …. Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches second directional intra prediction mode inherited from the first directional intra prediction mode (non-sampled pixels predicted from reconstructed samples, p. 588 left column, from reference samples in the dominant direction, p. 589 left column; Fig. 11 – interpolation in the direction of intra prediction mode); pixels… reconstructed (video coding, Introduction) … for storage or further processing (for DVDs, TV, Introduction). One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the interpolation of Song using the dominant direction, as in Wu, because Wu teaches that it is a flexible interpolation scheme for intra-prediction, improving prediction accuracy while reducing spatial redundancy, resulting in improve rate-distortion compression efficiency, improving the coding and visual quality of video (p. 582 left column; p. 591 right column). Regarding Claim 19, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage device of claim 18, wherein the spatial sampling identifies the first lines of pixels as either odd-numbered rows within the encoded block or odd-numbered columns within the encoded block (the first pixels are odd rows/columns, Figs. 5A-B) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim(s ) 12 is re jected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over So ng (EP 1 761 063) in view of Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…,” Signal Processing: Image Communication (2013)) and Zhou (US PG Publication 2021/0195194). Re garding Claim 12, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the method of claim 11. Song does not disclose, but Zhou (US PG Publication 2021/0195194) teaches wherein a first quantizer delta value (delta QP for the previous CU [0056]) used for the first lines of pixels (the previous CU [0056]—note, CU is assumed to have rows and columns of pixels) and a second quantizer delta value (delta QP for the CU [0056]) used for the second lines of pixels (the CU [0056]—note, CU is assumed to have rows and columns of pixels) are derived from the bitstream (the entropy encoder 334 includes this QP information [0056]) , and wherein the second quantizer delta value (delta QP for the current CU [0056]) is encoded to the bitstream (the entropy encoder 334 includes this QP information [0056]) relative to one or both of a quantizer used for the first [] pixels or the first quantizer delta value (delta QP is based on QPprev [0056]) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to quantize first and second groups of pixels in Song, as taught by Zhou, because Zhou teaches that adapting the coding tool to the particular block, i.e., increasing the granularity of the quantization improves the visual quality performance of the encoder [0017], resulting in better coded video . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (EP 1 761 063) in view of Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…,” Signal Processing: Image Communication (2013)) and Mukherjee (US PG Publication 2017/0048553) . Regarding Claim 20, Song (EP 1 761 063) discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage device of claim 18. Song does not disclose, but Wu (NPL: “Mode dependent down-sampling…”) teaches wherein the spatial sampling is determined (optimizing the down-sampling structure using equations 17-18, p. 588 left column) . Song does not disclose, but Mukherjee (US PG Publication 2017/0048553) teaches determined using a decision tree (determining whether to partition using a decision tree [0077]) . One of ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed would have been motivated to implement the interpolation of Song using the dominant direction, as in Wu, because Wu teaches that it is a flexible interpolation scheme for intra-prediction, improving prediction accuracy while reducing spatial redundancy, resulting in improve rate-distortion compression efficiency, improving the coding and visual quality of video (p. 582 left column; p. 591 right column). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace the optimization of Wu with the decision tree of Mukherjee because machine learning enables a computer to draw conclusions from patterns in both apparent and latent variables, engendering the potential for further improving the sampling scheme . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : KR 20100009718 A – upsampling in the prediction direction, either horizontally or vertically US 7257271 B2 – pyramid decomposition of an image Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHADAN E HAGHANI whose telephone number is (571)270-5631. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9AM - 5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jay Patel can be reached at 571-272-2988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHADAN E HAGHANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 2 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 3 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 4 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 5 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 6 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 7 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 8 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 9 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 10 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 11 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 12 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 13 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 14 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 15 Art Unit: 2485 Application/Control Number: 18/872,121 Page 16 Art Unit: 2485