DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an outdoor unit component, and a mounting member connected to an upper part of the detection member and corresponding to the access opening, the mounting member being insertion-fitted or snap- fitted with the base assembly, and a support member is configured to support and be connected to the indoor heat exchanger” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a water level detection device including: a detection member” in claim 28.
“a mounting member” in claim 28.
“an insertion member” in claim 29.
“a joining member” in claim 30.
“a heat insulation member” in claim 34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 28, “the water treatment system further includes a water level detection device including: a detection member located in the accommodation groove”. The term “device and member” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which a water level detection device including: a detection member located in the accommodation groove. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of detecting a water level. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Regarding claim 28, “a mounting member connected to an upper part of the detection member and corresponding to the access opening”. The term “member” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which a mounting member connected to an upper part of the detection member and corresponding to the access opening. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of being connected to an upper part of the detection member and corresponding to the access opening. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Regarding claim 29, “the base assembly includes an insertion member provided at an edge of the base assembly and extending upwardly”. The term “member” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which an insertion member is provided at an edge of the base assembly and extending upwardly. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of being provided at an edge of the base assembly and extending upwardly. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Regarding claim 30, “the humidification device includes a joining member joined to the mounting post and connected to the mounting post by a fastener”. The term “member” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which a joining member joined to the mounting post and connected to the mounting post by a fastener. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of being joined to the mounting post and connected to the mounting post by a fastener. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Regarding claim 34, “a heat insulation member wrapping around an outer wall of the second base member”. The term “member” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which a heat insulation member is wrapped around an outer wall of the second base member. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of being wrapped around an outer wall of the second base member. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Claims 28-30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a water level detection device including: a detection member, an mounting member, an insertion member, an joining member and a heat insulation member” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification fails discloses the corresponding structure that achieves the claimed
function in sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the
inventor possessed the claim subject matter at the time of filing. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva et al (BR PI0622207 A2, hereinafter Silva) in view of Xu et al (CN 217178943 U, hereinafter Xu) and Zhang (CN 113834172 A, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 16, Silva teaches a window air conditioner (window air conditioning unit 120) comprising: an indoor unit component (an evaporator in the indoor space, paragraph ) including: an indoor unit housing (housing, figures 1-2); an indoor heat exchanger (evaporator 60) arranged in the indoor unit housing (figure 2); and a base assembly (drain pan 54, figures 5A/5B) arranged below the indoor heat exchanger (as shown on figures 5A/5B) and provided with an accommodation groove (collection portion 56, figures 5A/5B) that is located in the indoor unit housing at a side of the indoor heat exchanger (it is interpreted that the drain pan 54 would be located below the evaporator 60 at an indoor portion of the air conditioning unit); an outdoor unit component (condenser 124).
Silva teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach a water treatment system including: a filter assembly including a first filter device and a second filter device that are both arranged in the accommodation groove, a water outlet of the first filter device being in communication with the accommodation groove, and a water inlet of the second filter device being in communication with the accommodation groove.
However, Xu teaches a water treatment system (filtering process of the condensed water, so as to ensure the clean of the condensed water, it also has the function of deodorizing, abstract) including: a filter assembly (filter assembly 9) including a first filter device (guide assembly 21) and a second filter device (filter part 17) that are both arranged in the accommodation groove (water receiving plate main body 1), a water outlet of the first filter device being in communication with the accommodation groove (a flow guide component 21 mounted on the water receiving disc main body 1 for guiding and collecting condensed water, paragraph 0008), and a water inlet of the second filter device being in communication with the accommodation groove (air conditioner evaporator defrosting pan further comprises a filter assembly 9, a filter part 17, paragraphs 0016-0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the teachings of Silva to include a water treatment system including: a filter assembly including a first filter device and a second filter device that are both arranged in the accommodation groove, a water outlet of the first filter device being in communication with the accommodation groove, and a water inlet of the second filter device being in communication with the accommodation groove in view of the teachings of Xu in order to yield the predictable result of ensuring the clean of the condensed water and also has the function of deodorizing.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach a water consumption assembly including a humidification device and a spray device, a water inlet of the humidification device being in communication with the accommodation groove, a water inlet of the spray device being in communication with a water outlet of the second filter device, and a minimum filter pore size of the second filter device being smaller than a spray pore size of the spray device.
However, Zhang teaches a water consumption assembly (figure 2) including a humidification device (ultrasonic atomizer 23) and a spray device (nozzle 9), a water inlet of the humidification device (water outlet pipe 19) being in communication with the accommodation groove (atomizing cavity 22), a water inlet of the spray device (atomizing pipe 24) being in communication with a water outlet of the second filter device (of water tank 16, as shown on figure 2), and a minimum filter pore size of the second filter device being smaller than a spray pore size of the spray device (it is interpreted that the size of atomizing pipe 24 is smaller than the pipe of the nozzle 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include a water consumption assembly including a humidification device and a spray device, a water inlet of the humidification device being in communication with the accommodation groove, a water inlet of the spray device being in communication with a water outlet of the second filter device, and a minimum filter pore size of the second filter device being smaller than a spray pore size of the spray device in view of the teachings of Zhang in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the decomposition and purification of the harmful gas in the indoor air is realized.
Claims 17-18 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu and Zhang, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Bae et al (KR 20210048464 A, hereinafter Bae).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the first filter device includes a filter box; and a top of the filter box is opened to form a water inlet of a filter of the first filter device to receive water flowing down from above.
However, Bae teaches wherein: the first filter device (2100) includes a filter box (2100, figure 6); and a top of the filter box (as shown on figure 6) is opened to form a water inlet (valve hole 2111) of a filter of the first filter device (figure 6) to receive water flowing down from above (a heat exchange assembly disposed between the cabinet assemblies 100 to exchange heat exchange between the sucked indoor air and a refrigerant, and a humidifying assembly 2000 disposed in the cabinet assembly 100 to provide moisture to the room, paragraph 0094 of Bae).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include wherein: the first filter device includes a filter box; and a top of the filter box is opened to form a water inlet of a filter of the first filter device to receive water flowing down from above in view of the teachings of Bae in order to yield the predictable result of converting water from the water tank into steam and supplies it to the discharge passage.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein the filter box (2000 including 2110, figures 3 and 5 of Bae) is located below a side tubing of the indoor heat exchanger (a heat exchange assembly disposed between the cabinet assemblies 100 to exchange heat exchange between the sucked indoor air and a refrigerant, and a humidifying assembly 2000 disposed in the cabinet assembly 100 to provide moisture to the room, paragraph 0094 of Bae).
Regarding claim 28, the combined teachings teach wherein: the indoor unit (indoor unit, figure 1 of Bae) housing has an access opening (via door assembly 200, figure 2 of Bae); and the water treatment system (door assembly 200 of Bae) further includes a water level detection device (sensors 2360/2370 of Bae) including: a detection member located in the accommodation groove (lower portion of sensors, figure 19 of Bae); and a mounting member (upper portion of sensors 2360/2370, figure 19 of Bae) connected to an upper part of the detection member (as shown on figure 19 of Bae) and corresponding to the access opening (as shown on figures 2-3 of Bae), the mounting member being insertion-fitted (interpreted to be inserted and attached to housing 2310, figure 19) or snap- fitted with the base assembly (base 130 of Bae).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu, Zhang and Bae, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Huang (CN 107110518 A, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the water treatment system further includes a recovery assembly configured to recover condensate water from the outdoor unit component, the recovery assembly including a water- guiding tube having a water outflowing end extending to the indoor unit component and located above the filter box; and the base assembly is provided with a tube clamp for limiting a position of the water- guiding tube.
However, Huang teaches wherein: the water treatment system (water cooling unit 50 provided in the outdoor compartment 12, paragraph 0010) further includes a recovery assembly (water cooling unit 50) configured to recover condensate water from the outdoor unit component (an outdoor compartment 12, an indoor front air intake port 13, two side air intake port 14 are respectively set on the two side of the shell, an indoor air outlet 15, for storing a predetermined amount of cooling water in the water tank 16, as the cooling water filled in the water inlet 16 of the water tank 17, paragraph 0009), the recovery assembly (water cooling unit 50) including a water- guiding tube (cooling water pipe 56) having a water outflowing end extending to the indoor unit component (cooling water pipe 56 leading to the top of basin 52. set a predetermined amount of the working fluid to flow through heat exchange tube 55 so that the refrigerant and the cooling water for efficient heat exchange process, paragraph 0010) and located above the filter box (above basin 54, as shown on figure 28); and the base assembly is provided with a tube clamp for limiting a position of the water- guiding tube (one of ordinary skill in the art would determine that the base of housing 10 would have a structure to restrict the movement of cooling pipe 56 so that the cooling water is maintained for efficient heat exchange process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include a recovery assembly configured to recover condensate water from the outdoor unit component, the recovery assembly including a water- guiding tube having a water outflowing end extending to the indoor unit component and located above the filter box; and the base assembly is provided with a tube clamp for limiting a position of the water- guiding tube in view of the teachings of Huang in order to yield the predictable result of so that the refrigerant and the cooling water for efficient heat exchange process, so as to reduce the temperature of the refrigerant
Further, it is understood, claim 19 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu, Zhang and Bae, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Xing et al (US 20210332988 A1, hereinafter Xing).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein at least one of a bottom wall or a side wall of the filter box is formed with a filter hole as the water outlet of the first filter device.
However, Xing teaches wherein at least one of a bottom wall (at the bottom of water receiving pan 400, as shown on figure 13) or a side wall of the filter box (water receiving pan 400) is formed with a filter hole (water hole 5402) as the water outlet of the first filter device (paragraph 0086).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include wherein at least one of a bottom wall or a side wall of the filter box is formed with a filter hole as the water outlet of the first filter device in view of the teachings of Xing in order to yield the predictable result such that the condensation water can be drained smoothly.
Regarding claim 21, the combined teachings teach wherein the water outlet of the first filter device (paragraph 0086 of Xing) is formed at a bottom of the filter box (at the bottom of water receiving pan 400, as shown on figure 13 of Xing), and the first filter device (chassis 100 of Xing) includes a filter (filter screen 600 of Xing) arranged in the filter box (as shown on figure 10 of Xing).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teachings teach wherein: the water outlet of the first filter device (outlet of water receiving pan 400, figure 13 of Xing) is at least partially formed at a bottom of the filter box (at the bottom of water receiving pan 400, as shown on figure 13 of Xing); and the base assembly (drain pan 54 of Silva) includes a water reservoir (drain pan 54 of Silva) depressed downwardly from a bottom wall of the accommodation groove (depressed downwardly, figure 5A of Silva), the water reservoir including a first recess (top portion of drain pan 54, figure 5A of Silva) located below the filter box and a second recess (front portion of collection portion 56, figure 5A of Silva) extending beyond a region covered by the filter box (interpreted as the region in front of evaporator 30 where a filter would be located, figure 2 of Silva), the second recess being in communication with the first recess (as shown on figure 5A of Silva).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu, Zhang and Bae, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Imai et al (EP 2400232 A1, hereinafter Imai).
Regarding claim 23, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the indoor unit housing has an access opening; the indoor unit housing internally has an operation space located above the accommodation groove and directly facing the access opening; the base assembly includes an engagement structure located in the accommodation groove and exposed in the operation space; and the filter box is fixed in the accommodation groove by the engagement structure.
However, Imai teaches wherein: the indoor unit housing (body casing 1) has an access opening (opening 32a, figure 1); the indoor unit housing (body casing 1) internally has an operation space (space within body casing 1, as shown on figure 1) located above the accommodation groove (groove within plate 14b, figure 1) and directly facing the access opening (as shown on figure 1); the base assembly (bottom plate 32) includes an engagement structure (tab 10) located in the accommodation groove (as installed) and exposed in the operation space (within the space of body casing 1, figure 1); and the filter box (filter holding unit 6) is fixed in the accommodation groove (to the groove within plate 14b as installed, figure 1) by the engagement structure (via tab 10, figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include wherein: the indoor unit housing has an access opening; the indoor unit housing internally has an operation space located above the accommodation groove and directly facing the access opening; the base assembly includes an engagement structure located in the accommodation groove and exposed in the operation space; and the filter box is fixed in the accommodation groove by the engagement structure in view of the teachings of Imai in order to yield the predictable result of improving a maintenance performance and a service performance.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu, Zhang and Bae, as applied to claim 28 above, and in further view of Ulrich et al (US 20230383990 A1, hereinafter Ulrich).
Regarding claim 29, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the mounting member has an insertion slot with an open bottom; and the base assembly includes an insertion member provided at an edge of the base assembly and extending upwardly, the insertion member being vertically inserted and engaged in the insertion slot.
However, Ulrich teaches wherein: the mounting member (member 119) has an insertion slot (where sensor elements 120/120’/120” are located, figure 6) with an open bottom (as shown on figure 6); and the base assembly (drip tray 310) includes an insertion member (inlet connector 201) provided at an edge of the base assembly (at the edge of drip tray 310, figure 6) and extending upwardly, the insertion member (inlet connector 201) being vertically inserted and engaged in the insertion slot (connected to each other, figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include wherein: the mounting member has an insertion slot with an open bottom; and the base assembly includes an insertion member provided at an edge of the base assembly and extending upwardly, the insertion member being vertically inserted and engaged in the insertion slot in view of the teachings of Ulrich in order to yield the predictable result of detecting the presence and amount of water in its direct vicinity.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu and Zhang, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Wang (CN 206131163 U, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 30, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the humidification device is arranged in the accommodation groove; a mounting post is arranged in the accommodation groove; the humidification device includes a joining member joined to the mounting post and connected to the mounting post by a fastener; the indoor unit housing has an access opening; and the indoor unit housing internally has an operation space located above the accommodation groove and directly facing the access opening, the joining member being exposed in the operation space.
However, Wang teaches wherein: the humidification device (humidification component 8) is arranged in the accommodation groove (air outlet 7); a mounting post (back plate 10) is arranged in the accommodation groove (figure 1); the humidification device (humidification component 8) includes a joining member (fixed frame 3) joined to the mounting post (as installed, figure 1) and connected to the mounting post by a fastener (via screw hole 6, figure 1); the indoor unit housing (indoor air conditioner 1) has an access opening (air outlet 7); and the indoor unit housing internally has an operation space located above the accommodation groove (interpreted as within the air conditioner 1, an operation space exists) and directly facing the access opening (air outlet 7), the joining member (fixed frame 3) being exposed in the operation space (figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include wherein: the humidification device is arranged in the accommodation groove; a mounting post is arranged in the accommodation groove; the humidification device includes a joining member joined to the mounting post and connected to the mounting post by a fastener; the indoor unit housing has an access opening; and the indoor unit housing internally has an operation space located above the accommodation groove and directly facing the access opening, the joining member being exposed in the operation space in view of the teachings of Wang in order to yield the predictable result of providing a humidifier for air conditioner of embedded integral mounting and dismounting is convenient and the structure is simple.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu and Zhang, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Xiang et al (WO 2025039750 A1, hereinafter Xiang).
Regarding claim 31, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the base assembly includes: a base provided with the accommodation groove and having a drain port in communication with the accommodation groove; and a plug configured to open or close the drain port.
However, Xiang teaches wherein the base assembly (base 123) includes: a base (base 123) provided with the accommodation groove (interpreted as a groove within base 123, figures 5-6) and having a drain port in communication with the accommodation groove (the valve is disposed at the drain port and connected to the base; the valve is configured to open or close the drain port, paragraph 0005); and a plug configured to open or close the drain port (the valve is disposed at the drain port and connected to the base; the valve is configured to open or close the drain port, paragraph 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include wherein the base assembly includes: a base provided with the accommodation groove and having a drain port in communication with the accommodation groove; and a plug configured to open or close the drain port in view of the teachings of Xiang in order to yield the predictable result of avoiding excessive condensed water in the water collecting portion from overflowing, which is beneficial to improving the drainage reliability.
Further, it is understood, claim 31 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu and Zhang, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Yu et al (US 20220099310 A1, hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 32, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the base assembly includes an integrally formed base, the base including: a first base member located directly below the indoor heat exchanger; a second base member located at a side of the indoor heat exchanger and provided with the accommodation groove; and a support member is configured to support and be connected to the indoor heat exchanger.
However, Yu teaches wherein the base assembly (figure 13) includes an integrally formed base (water receiving tray 23), the base including: a first base member (right portion of water receiving tray 23, figure 13) located directly below the indoor heat exchanger (figure 13); a second base member (left portion of water receiving tray 23, figure 13) located at a side of the indoor heat exchanger (figure 13) and provided with the accommodation groove (figure 13); and a support member (support plates 241/242) is configured to support and be connected to the indoor heat exchanger (as shown on figure 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include wherein the base assembly includes an integrally formed base, the base including: a first base member located directly below the indoor heat exchanger; a second base member located at a side of the indoor heat exchanger and provided with the accommodation groove; and a support member is configured to support and be connected to the indoor heat exchanger in view of the teachings of Yu in order to yield the predictable result of providing support for the heat exchanger.
Further, it is understood, claim 32 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu, Zhang and Yu, as applied to claim 32 above, and in further view of Liu (CN 206361837 U, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 33, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein: the indoor unit housing includes a panel; and the spray device is arranged at the first base member and located at a side of the indoor heat exchanger facing towards the panel.
However, Liu teaches wherein: the indoor unit housing (box body shell 11) includes a panel (cover main frame 15, figure 2); and the spray device (atomizer 123) is arranged at the first base member (left portion of base 12, figure 2) and located at a side of the indoor heat exchanger (at a side of evaporator pipeline 34, figure 2) facing towards the panel (towards cover main frame 15, figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include wherein: the indoor unit housing includes a panel; and the spray device is arranged at the first base member and located at a side of the indoor heat exchanger facing towards the panel in view of the teachings of Liu in order to yield the predictable result of providing atomization so as to humidify the air.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva as modified by Xu, Zhang and Yu, as applied to claim 32 above, and in further view of McCarty (US 4136529 A, hereinafter McCarty).
Regarding claim 34, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the base assembly further includes a heat insulation member wrapping around an outer wall of the second base member.
However, McCarty teaches wherein the base assembly (tray 68) further includes a heat insulation member (insulating material 100) wrapping around an outer wall of the second base member (tray 68 may include insulating material 100 surrounding the tray 68 and extending between the bottom wall 18 of casing 12 and the bottom surface of base 23 of chassis 22, col 6 lines 24-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air conditioner in the combined teachings to include wherein the base assembly further includes a heat insulation member wrapping around an outer wall of the second base member in view of the teachings of McCarty in order to yield the predictable result of preventing substantial amounts of relatively colder outside air from entering the chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 24, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Yu et al (US 20220099310 A1). The prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone, or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein: the second filter device includes: a filter member, the water inlet of the second filter device being formed at the filter member; and a connection member including a connector and an engagement member, the water outlet of the second filter device being formed at the connector, the connector being detachably connected to the filter member, and the engagement member being engaged with an engagement structure at the base assembly; and the indoor unit housing has an access opening, the engagement member partially extending to a position facing the access opening to be exposed by the access opening”. The closest prior art, Yu teaches the indoor assembly further includes: a water receiving tray arranged below the indoor heat exchanger; a support member arranged at the water receiving tray and supporting the indoor heat exchanger; an indoor filter screen arranged at the air input side of the indoor heat exchanger and is located above the water receiving tray.
Conclusion
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763