Claim Status
Applicant’s amendments filed on 08/29/2026 have been received and considered. Claims 12-13, 15-24 are pending. Claims 12, 15, 17-18, and 21-22 have been amended. Claims 23 and 24 have been added. Claim 14 has been cancelled.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 15 due to minor informalities is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments in claim 12, which has incorporated the limitations of claim 15 to recite “configured to project” in line 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6, filed 08/29/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 12, 17, and 18 have been withdrawn. The rejections of dependent claims 13-17 and 19-21 are also withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 6-8, filed 08/29/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 12, 18, and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
More specifically, the Applicant argues that Fan does not teach “the reference plane being a plane parallel to a longitudinal direction of the long-length body”, as the “’fixed horizontal plane (x-y plane)’ does not disclose the technical concept of setting a reference plane based on the target object” [Remarks, pg. 7, lines 7-9]. The Examiner agrees.
Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Liu et al. (CN 102915561 A) and Embry et al. (US 2019/0219701 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 15-18, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (U.S. 2022/0108528 A1, hereinafter Feng), in view of Moreno (U.S. Patent No. 12,347,127), and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 102915561 A, hereinafter Liu) and Embry et al. (US 2019/0219701 A1, hereinafter Embry).
Regarding claim 12, Feng teaches an image generator generating an image for identifying a predetermined detectable object, comprising: ([0008] “an information processing device, an information processing device, the device including a memory storing processor-executable instructions and a processor. The processor is configured to execute the stored processor-executable instructions to perform operations of… generating, based on the 3D point information, a 2D point cloud image from projection of the 3D point cloud on a horizontal plane… of a target object on the horizontal plane”)
an inputter in which three-dimensional point cloud data… is inputted; ([0125] “The obtaining module 31 is configured to obtain 3D point information of a 3D point cloud.”)
and a processor configured to project the three-dimensional point cloud data inputted in the inputter onto a reference plane… to generate a two-dimensional image ([0008] “The processor is configured to execute the stored processor-executable instructions to perform operations of: obtaining 3D point information of a 3D point cloud; generating, based on the 3D point information, a 2D point cloud image from projection of the 3D point cloud on a horizontal plane”).
Feng fails to teach three-dimensional point cloud data generated by a sensor detecting surroundings, and project the three-dimensional point cloud data inputted in the inputter onto a reference plane oriented depending on the detectable object. However, this is known in the art as taught by Moreno.
Moreno teaches that it is known in the art for three-dimensional point cloud data generated by a sensor detecting surroundings ([col. 1, lines 27-33] “3D sensors can image a scene to generate a set of 3D points that each include an (x, y, z) location within a 3D coordinate system (e.g., where the z axis of the coordinate system represents a distance from the 3D imaging device). Such 3D imaging devices can generate a 3D point cloud, which includes a set of 3D points captured during a 3D imaging process.”), and project the three-dimensional point cloud data inputted in the inputter onto a reference plane oriented depending on the detectable object ([col. 6, lines 64-67 – col. 7, lines 1-5] “In some embodiments, the techniques may orient the point cloud based on the reference object (e.g., since the axes of the coordinate system may not align with the direction(s) of the plane). Orienting the point cloud may include, for example, determining a reference direction of the reference plane (e.g., a vertical direction orthogonal to the plane, such as a conveyor belt), and aligning an axis of the coordinate system of the 3D point cloud (e.g., the X, Y or Z axis) with the reference direction.”).
Moreno is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to projecting three-dimensional point cloud data. Moreno further teaches that orienting depending on the detectable object is done “since the axes of the coordinate system may not align with the direction(s) of the plane” [col. 6, lines 65-67]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Moreno to Feng to use a sensor to generate 3D point cloud data, and to orient the generated 3D point cloud data in order to align it with the reference plane according to the detectable object.
The combination of Feng and Moreno fails to teach wherein the detectable object includes a long-length body, wherein the processor is configured to project the three-dimensional point cloud data onto the reference plane, the reference plane being a plane parallel to a longitudinal direction of the long-length body, or a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the long-length body, and wherein the long-length body is a pipeline.
Liu teaches wherein the detectable object includes a long-length body ([0012] “S1: Obtain the point cloud data of the pipeline and the unit normal vector of the ground”. Note: “the pipeline” is mapped to “a long-length body”.)
wherein the processor is configured to project the three-dimensional point cloud data onto the reference plane, the reference plane being a plane parallel to a longitudinal direction of the long-length body, or a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the long-length body, ([0013] “S2: Based on the normal vector of the point cloud data after coordinate transformation, find the point cloud data whose normal vector is parallel to the ground, and project it onto a plane parallel to the ground;”)
and wherein the long-length body is a pipeline ([0012] “S1: Obtain the point cloud data of the pipeline and the unit normal vector of the ground”. Note: “the pipeline” is mapped to “a long-length body”.)
Liu is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to pipeline detection using point cloud data. Liu further teaches “the three-dimensional modeling technology of pipeline plants has become a key issue in the design and management system of pipeline plants.” [0004], where the invention “can still clearly classify point cloud data, and the computational load is much smaller than that of existing 3D reconstruction methods” [0036]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill to incorporate the teachings of Liu to the combination of Feng and Moreno to implement point cloud data to pipelines in order to design and management them, where the invention claimed by Liu allows for clearly classifying point cloud data with less computational load.
The combination of Feng, Moreno, and Liu teaches wherein the processor is configured to project the three-dimensional point cloud data onto the reference plane, but fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to project the three-dimensional point cloud data onto the reference plane to generate the two-dimensional image. Furthermore, the combination of Feng, Moreno, and Liu teaches and wherein the long-length body is a pipeline, but fails to teach and wherein the long-length body is a pipeline disposed on a sea bottom. However, this is known in the art as taught by Embry.
Embry teaches wherein the processor is configured to project the three-dimensional point cloud data onto the reference plane to generate the two-dimensional image. ([0066] “At step 908, a determination is made as to whether the underwater structure 204 of interest is included in the point cloud data obtained from the scene. In accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure this determination can be made in connection with presenting the image derived from the point cloud data to a user”, where “2-D targets 312 applied to an underwater structure 204” [0103])
and wherein the long-length body is a pipeline disposed on a sea bottom. ([0039] “In this example, the underwater structures 204 include wells 130 and associated blowout preventers 132, pipelines 120, and a manifold 128.”, “where the underwater structure 204 is an area of the seafloor.” [0085]).
Embry is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to generating images of pipelines on the seafloor. Embry further teaches “it would be desirable to provide systems and methods that allowed for the monitoring of underwater equipment, without requiring monitors that are directly attached to such equipment” [0006], as “access to equipment installed on the seafloor can be difficult, and the installation of additional devices directly on the monitored equipment poses the risk of damaging that subsea equipment” [0006]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Embry to the combination of Feng, Moreno, and Liu in order to monitor pipelines on the sea bottom indirectly without the difficulties of damaging equipment.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry teaches the image generator according to claim 12, wherein the detectable object is disposed along a detection surface. (Feng; [0038] “Herein, the reference plane graph may be a plane graph of the target object projected on the horizontal plane. For example, the reference plane graph may be a plane graph of a building, a 2D map for surveying and mapping or the like. In the embodiment of the disclosure, a conspicuous structure such as a wall, a pillar may be used to automatically match the 3D point cloud with the reference plane graph to reduce the impact of irrelevant information.” Note: the reference plane graph is mapped to detection surface.)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry teaches the image generator according to claim 15, wherein the processor is configured to specify a position of the detection surface based on the three-dimensional point cloud data inputted from the sensor (Moreno; [col. 6, lines 45-56] “At step 204, the machine vision system receives a reference object, such as a reference plane that is specified in spatial relation to the 3D point cloud. Referring further to FIG. 3, FIG. 3 shows the outline of a plane 304 to represent a reference plane. It should be appreciated that the 3D point cloud 300 does not include information indicating the reference plane 304. Rather, the 3D point cloud 300 just includes data of the 3D points 302, and may not even include (and typically does not include) data indicating relations among the 3D points 302 themselves. For example, the 3D point cloud 300 may simply include the (x, y, z) position of each 3D point 302 in the 3D point cloud 300.”).
Moreno is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to projecting three-dimensional point cloud data. Moreno further teaches that “In accordance with the disclosed subject matter, apparatus, systems, and methods are provided for improved machine vision techniques, and in particular for improved machine vision techniques that can quickly and efficiently determine approximate volumes of shapes captured in 3D point cloud images.” [col. 1, lines 48-53]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Moreno to the combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry in order to analyze 3D point cloud images quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry teaches the image generator according to claim 12, wherein the processor is configured to extract specific three-dimensional point cloud data from the three-dimensional point cloud data inputted from the sensor, and project the specific three-dimensional point cloud data onto the reference plane to generate a two-dimensional image (Feng; [0043] “In the implementation, since the 3D point cloud is based on the coordinate system of the image acquiring device that may be different from a coordinate system of a real 3D space, the horizontal plane that the 3D point cloud is projected on may be determined firstly... A plane where the image acquiring device captures the images may be determined according to the at least two pieces of pose information of the device. The horizontal plane on which the 3D point cloud is projected may be determined according to the plane. Therefore, 3D point information of the 3D point cloud may be projected in a coordinate system of the horizontal plane to generate a 2D point cloud image of the 3D point cloud.”).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 12, but in an apparatus form. The combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry further teaches an object identification apparatus, comprising: (Feng; [0008] “an information processing device, an information processing device, the device including a memory storing processor-executable instructions and a processor. The processor is configured to execute the stored processor-executable instructions to perform operations of… generating, based on the 3D point information, a 2D point cloud image from projection of the 3D point cloud on a horizontal plane… of a target object on the horizontal plane”)
a sensor; (Moreno; [col. 4, lines 65-67 – col. 5, line 1] “FIG. 1 shows an exemplary machine vision system 100, according to some embodiments. The exemplary machine vision system 100 includes a camera 102 (or other imaging acquisition device)”, where “In some embodiments, the machine vision system processes the 3D data from the camera 102. The 3D data received from the camera 102 can include, for example, a point cloud… A point cloud can include a group of 3D points that are on or near the surface of a solid object” [col. 5, lines 45-50].
Moreno is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to projecting three-dimensional point cloud data. Moreno teaches that it is known in the art to have a 3D sensor in order to generate three-dimensional point cloud data ([col. 1, lines 27-33] “3D sensors can image a scene to generate a set of 3D points that each include an (x, y, z) location within a 3D coordinate system (e.g., where the z axis of the coordinate system represents a distance from the 3D imaging device). Such 3D imaging devices can generate a 3D point cloud, which includes a set of 3D points captured during a 3D imaging process.”). Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Moreno to Feng to use a sensor to generate 3D point cloud data.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 12, but in a method form. The combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry teaches an image generation method for generating an image for identifying a predetermined detectable object, comprising: (Feng; [0006] “An aspect according to the embodiments of the disclosure provides an information processing method, the method including: obtaining 3D point information of a 3D point cloud”, where “the 3D point cloud is used for representing 3D space information of the target object.” [0006]).
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1, but in a submersible. The combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry further teaches a submersible, comprising: a sensor; (Embry; [0039] “The monitoring systems 304 can comprise a lidar or other light-based 3-D sensor or metrology system, and can be mounted to stationary structures or platforms 320, can be placed directly on the sea floor, or can be mounted to an underwater vehicle 324, such as a remotely operated vehicle (ROV) or to an autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV).” Note: “an underwater vehicle 324” is mapped to a submersible.)
and an image generator (Embry; [0040] “a monitoring system 304 can be operated to generate point cloud data”)
…and a processor configured… to analyze the two-dimensional image to identify the detectable object. (Embry; [0066] “At step 908, a determination is made as to whether the underwater structure 204 of interest is included in the point cloud data obtained from the scene. In accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure this determination can be made in connection with presenting the image derived from the point cloud data to a user”).
Embry is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to generating images of pipelines on the seafloor. Embry further teaches “it would be desirable to provide systems and methods that allowed for the monitoring of underwater equipment, without requiring monitors that are directly attached to such equipment” [0006], as “access to equipment installed on the seafloor can be difficult, and the installation of additional devices directly on the monitored equipment poses the risk of damaging that subsea equipment” [0006]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Embry to the combination of Feng, Moreno, and Liu in order to monitor pipelines on the sea bottom indirectly without the difficulties of damaging equipment.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry teaches the submersible according to claim 23, further comprising: a main body including a front portion and a lower portion, wherein the sensor is provided at the front portion or the lower portion. (Embry; FIG. 3, where monitoring system 304 is on the lower portion of underwater vehicle 324, and “a monitoring system 304 mounted to a movable platform or vehicle 324 can be scanned” [0040].)
Embry is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to generating images of pipelines on the seafloor. Embry further teaches “it would be desirable to provide systems and methods that allowed for the monitoring of underwater equipment, without requiring monitors that are directly attached to such equipment” [0006], as “access to equipment installed on the seafloor can be difficult, and the installation of additional devices directly on the monitored equipment poses the risk of damaging that subsea equipment” [0006]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Embry to the combination of Feng, Moreno, and Liu in order to monitor pipelines on the sea bottom indirectly without the difficulties of damaging equipment.
Claim 13, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng, in view of Moreno, Liu, and Embry, and further in view of Fan et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,846,946, hereinafter Fan).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry teaches the image generator according to claim 12, but fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to generate, as the two-dimensional image, a distance image in which a drawing parameter of a pixel is changed depending on a position in a direction perpendicular to the reference plane. However, this is known in the art as taught by Fan.
Fan teaches wherein the processor is configured to generate, as the two-dimensional image, a distance image in which a drawing parameter of a pixel is changed depending on a position in a direction perpendicular to the reference plane ([col. 6, lines 58-63] “As shown in FIG. 4a, range images may be generated by projecting the 3D point clouds to horizontal x-y plane. In this way, several points are projected on the same range image pixel. The number of points falling into each pixel is counted and the number is assigned as a pixel intensity value.”, where “The values of the range image pixels may be defined as a weighted function of number of 3D points projected to said range image pixel and a maximal z-value among the 3D points projected to said range image pixel.” [col. 6, lines 66-67 – col. 7, lines 1-2]. Note: the range images are mapped to distance image, the pixel intensity value is mapped to drawing parameter, and the x-y plane is perpendicular to the range image pixels, which are at the z-axis (see FIG. 4a)).
Fan is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to generating images from 3D point clouds. Fan further teaches that “there has been invented an improved method and technical equipment implementing the method, by which the above problems are at least alleviated with the limitations of computer hardware” [col. 1, lines 44-46], where “a further challenge in organizing and managing the data is provided due to a huge amount of 3D point cloud data together with the limitations of computer hardware” [col. 1, lines 37-40]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fan to the combination of Feng, Moreno, and Fan in order to improve the way a huge amount of 3D point cloud data is organized and managed by computing devices.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Feng, Moreno, and Fan teaches the object identification apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the sensor is mounted on a moving body, and wherein the processor is configured to identify the detectable object while the moving body is moving (Fan; [col. 4, lines 51-58] “For obtaining MTL 3D information about an environment, for example a vehicle-based mobile mapping system may be used. Such a mobile mapping system may comprise at least a panoramic camera capable of capturing 360° panoramic view around the moving vehicle and a plurality (e.g. 4-8) of hi-resolution cameras, each arranged to capture a segment of the 360° panoramic view around the moving vehicle”, where “In the voxelisation step, an unorganized point cloud p is partitioned into small parts, called voxel v. FIG. 5b illustrates an example of voxelisation results, in which small vertical objects point cloud such as cars are broken into smaller partition.” [col. 8, lines 35-39]. Note: the moving vehicle is mapped to a moving body.).
Fan is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to generating images from 3D point clouds. Fan further teaches that “Mobile Laser Scanning (MLS), which is less precise than TLS but much more productive since the sensors are mounted on a vehicle” [col. 10, lines 61-64]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fan to the combination of Feng, Moreno, Liu, and Embry, as a moving sensor allows for more productive scanning than other scanning technologies.
Regarding claim 21, claim 21 recites substantially similar limitations to claims 13 and 14, therefore, rejected under the same rationale under the combination of Feng, Moreno, and Fan as claims 13 and 14. The combination of Feng, Moreno, and Fan further teaches wherein the processor is configured to generate a contour image by binarizing the distance image depending on the drawing parameter to further extract a contour (Fan; [col. 2, lines 17-21] “According to an embodiment, the method further comprises binarizing the values of the range image pixels; applying morphological operations for merging neighboring points in the binarized range images; and extracting contours for finding boundaries of the objects.”)
and wherein the processor is configured to specify a longitudinal direction of the long-length body based on the contour image and identify the long-length body as the detectable object based on the longitudinal direction ([col. 7, lines 19-26] “Next, contours are extracted to find boundaries of objects… [which] may be used to identify each contour as a sequence of edge points. The resulting segments are checked on one or more aspects, such as size and diameters (i.e. height and width), to distinguish buildings from other objects.”, where “These shape-related features may be computed based on the projected bounding box to x-y plane (ground). Projected bounding box has effective features due to the invariant dimension of objects.” [col. 9, lines 58-61], and “The vehicle may be driven at the posted speed limit and the sensors are calibrated and synchronized to produce a coupled collection of high quality geo-referenced (i.e. latitude, longitude and altitude) data.” [col. 5, lines 3-6]. Note: though it does not explicitly state that the object is based on the longitudinal direction, it is taught that the object is detected from the properties as identified based on the contours, where the contours are extracted from images that include longitude data, therefore, could have used the longitude as “one or more aspects” to distinguish objects from each other).
Fan is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relate to generating images from 3D point clouds. Fan further teaches that “there has been invented an improved method and technical equipment implementing the method, by which the above problems are at least alleviated with the limitations of computer hardware” [col. 1, lines 44-46], where “a further challenge in organizing and managing the data is provided due to a huge amount of 3D point cloud data together with the limitations of computer hardware” [col. 1, lines 37-40]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Fan to the combination of Feng, Moreno, and Fan in order to improve the way a huge amount of 3D point cloud data is organized and managed by computing devices.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Moreno, Liu, Embry, and Fan, and further in view of Guerneve et al. (“Underwater 3D reconstruction using BlueView imaging sonar”, hereinafter Guerneve).
The combination of Feng, Moreno, and Fan teaches the object identification apparatus according to claim 19, …the sensor performing a plurality of scans while the moving body is moving, but fails to teach wherein the sensor generates two-dimensional point cloud data in one scan, and wherein the three-dimensional point cloud data is generated by performing a plurality of scans. However, this is known in the art as taught by Guerneve.
Guerneve teaches wherein the sensor generates two-dimensional point cloud data in one scan, and wherein the three-dimensional point cloud data is generated by performing a plurality of scans ([pg. 2, col. 1, last par., lines 1-3] “In order to obtain a 3D representation from the 2D information contains in the sonar images, a re-projection of the sonar image over a spherical arc is applied”, where “The point cloud obtained from the reprojection in 3D of a sonar image is then added to a 3D map” [pg. 2, col. 2, full par. 1, lines 1-2], and “The resulting 3D map then represents a set of points that potentially exist after a few observations.” [pg. 2, col. 2, full par. 1, lines 9-11]. Note: the 2D data in a sonar image is mapped to one scan, where the 3D point cloud is reconstructed with multiple scans from the multiple sonar images.).
Guerneve is analogous to the claimed invention, as both relates to the reprojection of 3D point cloud data from underwater sensor data. Guerneve further teaches that “Using this technique, we enable the surface reconstruction of an inspected structure using standard sonars” [pg. 1, Abstract, lines 9-10], where “Results can be obtained in real operation time, paving the way for further 3D online applications” [pg. 1, Abstract, lines 15-16]. Therefore, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Guerneve to the combination of Feng, Moreno, and Fan in order to retrieve point cloud data using sensors in real time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA HA/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611