DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it recites “Disclosed in the present disclosure”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Fig. 1 has a reference callout with no reference character in the top right corner of the drawing.
Fig. 7 has a reference character that is hard to discern.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following non-limiting informalities:
In claim 4 lines 9-11 describe that M3 represents a moment generated due to friction between the weather strip and the vehicle door body. It appears to the examiner that there is no relative movement between those components and that it should be between the weatherstrip and the vehicle door glass.
Claim 11 line 9 recites “a vehicle door body”, but should recite “the vehicle door body”
Claim 11 line 10 recites “a lifting mechanism”, but should recite “the lifting mechanism”
Claim 12 line 7 recites “a vehicle door body”, but should recite “the vehicle door body”
Claim 12 line 8 recites “a lifting mechanism”, but should recite “the lifting mechanism”
In claim 15 lines 9-11 describe that M3 represents a moment generated due to friction between the weather strip and the vehicle door body. It appears to the examiner that there is no relative movement between those components and that it should be between the weatherstrip and the vehicle door glass.
In claim 19 lines 9-11 describe that M3 represents a moment generated due to friction between the weather strip and the vehicle door body. It appears to the examiner that there is no relative movement between those components and that it should be between the weatherstrip and the vehicle door glass.
Appropriate correction is required. It is up to the applicant to find and correct all issues similar to those described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 17 is a copy of claim 13 from which it depends. Claim 18 is a copy of claim 14 from which it depends. Claim 19 is a copy of claim 15 from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 11-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patrick (FR2732274, translation provided by examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Patrick teaches a vehicle door glass assembly (fig. 1), comprising:
a vehicle door glass (2) with a first end (right end) and a second end (left end), which are opposite to each other along a length direction of the vehicle door glass (left to right in fig. 2),
the first end and the second end of the vehicle door glass being configured for sealed sliding fit with a vehicle door body (as car windows do) along a lifting direction (up down direction in fig. 2),
the vehicle door glass being driven by a lifting mechanism (3) to move along the lifting direction, and a force-bearing point (01) between the lifting mechanism and the vehicle door glass being a main support point (this is where the lifting mechanism attaches to the glass); and
a counterweight structure (9, fig. 5) mounted on the vehicle door glass (2);
wherein in a state where the vehicle door glass moves along the lifting direction, the center of gravity of the vehicle door glass is adjusted by the counterweight structure (the counterweight itself by existing adjusts the center of gravity), and moments of force generated by forces acting on the vehicle door glass relative to the main support point are balanced with each other (as is described on page 2 lines 9-16 of the examiner provided translation).
Regarding claim 2, Patrick teaches that a length of the first end (right end) of the vehicle door glass extending along the lifting direction is less than a length of the second end (left end) of the vehicle door glass extending along the lifting direction (fig. 2 shows how the right end is slightly shorter than the left end), and the center of gravity of the counterweight structure is located between the main support point and the first end of the vehicle door glass (fig. 2 shows that the counter weight is on the right between the main support point and the first end of the vehicle glass door).
Regarding claim 9, Patrick teaches that the counterweight structure (9) comprises at least one counterweight block (shown in fig. 5), the vehicle door glass (2) comprises an inner surface facing the interior of a vehicle and an outer surface facing the exterior of the vehicle (can be seen in fig. 5), and the counterweight block is mounted on the inner surface, the outer surface and/or an edge of the vehicle door glass (as is shown in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Patrick teaches a vehicle door assembly, comprising a vehicle door glass assembly (fig. 1), a vehicle door main body (fig. 1); and
a lifting mechanism (3) mounted on the vehicle door body;
wherein the vehicle door glass assembly comprises:
a vehicle door glass (2) with a first end (right end) and a second end (left end), which are opposite to each other along a length direction of the vehicle door glass (left to right in fig. 2),
the first end and the second end of the vehicle door glass being configured for sealed sliding fit with a vehicle door body (as car windows do) along a lifting direction (vertical direction in fig. 2),
the vehicle door glass being driven by a lifting mechanism (3) to move along the lifting direction,
and a force-bearing point (01) between the lifting mechanism and the vehicle door glass being a main support point (this is where the lifting mechanism attaches to the glass); and
a counterweight structure (9, fig. 5) mounted on the vehicle door glass (2); and
wherein in a state where the vehicle door glass moves along the lifting direction, the center of gravity of the vehicle door glass is adjusted by the counterweight structure (the counterweight itself by existing adjusts the center of gravity), and moments of force generated by forces acting on the vehicle door glass relative to the main support point are balanced with each other (as is described on page 2 lines 9-16 of the examiner provided translation).
Regarding claim 12, Patrick teaches a vehicle (fig. 1), comprising a vehicle door assembly (fig. 1), wherein the vehicle door assembly comprises a vehicle door glass assembly (shown in fig. 1), a vehicle door main body; and a lifting mechanism (3) mounted on the vehicle door body; and
wherein the vehicle door glass assembly comprises:
a vehicle door glass (2) with
a first end (right end) and a second end (left end), which are opposite to each other along a length direction of the vehicle door glass (left to right in fig. 2),
the first end and the second end of the vehicle door glass being configured for sealed sliding fit with a vehicle door body (as car windows do) along a lifting direction (up down direction in fig. 2),
the vehicle door glass being driven by a lifting mechanism (3) to move along the lifting direction, and a force-bearing point (01) between the lifting mechanism and the vehicle door glass being a main support point (this is where the lifting mechanism attaches to the glass); and
a counterweight structure (9, fig. 5) mounted on the vehicle door glass (2);
wherein in a state where the vehicle door glass moves along the lifting direction, the center of gravity of the vehicle door glass is adjusted by the counterweight structure (the counterweight itself by existing adjusts the center of gravity), and moments of force generated by forces acting on the vehicle door glass relative to the main support point are balanced with each other (as is described on page 2 lines 9-16 of the examiner provided translation).
Regarding claim 13, Patrick teaches that a length of the first end (right end) of the vehicle door glass extending along the lifting direction is less than a length of the second end (left end) of the vehicle door glass extending along the lifting direction (fig. 2 shows how the right end is slightly shorter than the left end), and the center of gravity of the counterweight structure is located between the main support point and the first end of the vehicle door glass (fig. 2 shows that the counter weight is on the right between the main support point and the first end of the vehicle glass door).
Regarding claim 17, Patrick teaches that a length of the first end (right end) of the vehicle door glass extending along the lifting direction is less than a length of the second end (left end) of the vehicle door glass extending along the lifting direction (fig. 2 shows how the right end is slightly shorter than the left end), and the center of gravity of the counterweight structure is located between the main support point and the first end of the vehicle door glass (fig. 2 shows that the counter weight is on the right between the main support point and the first end of the vehicle glass door).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 14-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrick (FR2732274, translation provided by examiner) in view of Gopalan (US 10040888).
Regarding claim 3, Patrick does not explicitly teach that a weatherstrip is mounted on the vehicle door body, the vehicle door glass passes through the weatherstrip along the lifting direction to be in sealed sliding fit with the weatherstrip, and the counterweight structure is located below the weatherstrip.
Gopalan teaches a vehicle door glass assembly with a weatherstrip (122) is mounted on a vehicle door body (shown in figs. 1 and 2), the vehicle door glass (106) passes through the weatherstrip along the lifting direction to be in sealed sliding fit with the weatherstrip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patrick with teachings of Gopalan so that there is a weatherstrip is mounted on the vehicle door body, the vehicle door glass passes through the weatherstrip along the lifting direction to be in sealed sliding fit with the weatherstrip. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of protecting the internals of the door from moisture. It is noted that after this modification, the counterweight structure is located below the weatherstrip, as the counterweight structure is on the bottom of the window.
Regarding claim 4, modified Patrick teaches that the moments of force generated by the forces acting on the vehicle door glass relative to the main support point have a relationship: M1+M3+Mvehicle door glass+Mcounterweight +M2=0 (again the examiner directs attention to page 2 lines 9-16 of the examiner provided translation, where it is explained how the forces, and in turn the moments are balanced), where Mi represents a moment of force generated by a sliding friction force between the first end of the vehicle door glass and the vehicle door body relative to the main support point, M2 represents a moment of force generated by a sliding friction force between the second end of the vehicle door glass and the vehicle door body relative to the main support point, M3 represents a moment of force generated by a sliding friction force between the weatherstrip and the vehicle door glass (see claim objection above) relative to the main support point, Mvehicle door glass represents a moment of force generated by the gravity of the vehicle door glass relative to the main support point, and Mcounterweight represents a moment of force generated by the gravity of the counterweight structure relative to the main support point.
Regarding claim 14, Patrick does not explicitly teach that a weatherstrip is mounted on the vehicle door body, the vehicle door glass passes through the weatherstrip along the lifting direction to be in sealed sliding fit with the weatherstrip, and the counterweight structure is located below the weatherstrip.
Gopalan teaches a vehicle door glass assembly with a weatherstrip (122) is mounted on a vehicle door body (shown in figs. 1 and 2), the vehicle door glass (106) passes through the weatherstrip along the lifting direction to be in sealed sliding fit with the weatherstrip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patrick with teachings of Gopalan so that there is a weatherstrip is mounted on the vehicle door body, the vehicle door glass passes through the weatherstrip along the lifting direction to be in sealed sliding fit with the weatherstrip. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of protecting the internals of the door from moisture. It is noted that after this modification, the counterweight structure is located below the weatherstrip, as the counterweight structure is on the bottom of the window.
Regarding claim 15, modified Patrick teaches that the moments of force generated by the forces acting on the vehicle door glass relative to the main support point have a relationship: M1+M3+Mvehicle door glass+Mcounterweight +M2=0 (again the examiner directs attention to page 2 lines 9-16 of the examiner provided translation, where it is explained how the forces, and in turn the moments are balanced), where Mi represents a moment of force generated by a sliding friction force between the first end of the vehicle door glass and the vehicle door body relative to the main support point, M2 represents a moment of force generated by a sliding friction force between the second end of the vehicle door glass and the vehicle door body relative to the main support point, M3 represents a moment of force generated by a sliding friction force between the weatherstrip and the vehicle door glass (see claim objection above) relative to the main support point, Mvehicle door glass represents a moment of force generated by the gravity of the vehicle door glass relative to the main support point, and Mcounterweight represents a moment of force generated by the gravity of the counterweight structure relative to the main support point.
Regarding claim 18, Patrick does not explicitly teach that a weatherstrip is mounted on the vehicle door body, the vehicle door glass passes through the weatherstrip along the lifting direction to be in sealed sliding fit with the weatherstrip, and the counterweight structure is located below the weatherstrip.
Gopalan teaches a vehicle door glass assembly with a weatherstrip (122) is mounted on a vehicle door body (shown in figs. 1 and 2), the vehicle door glass (106) passes through the weatherstrip along the lifting direction to be in sealed sliding fit with the weatherstrip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patrick with teachings of Gopalan so that there is a weatherstrip is mounted on the vehicle door body, the vehicle door glass passes through the weatherstrip along the lifting direction to be in sealed sliding fit with the weatherstrip. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of protecting the internals of the door from moisture. It is noted that after this modification, the counterweight structure is located below the weatherstrip, as the counterweight structure is on the bottom of the window.
Regarding claim 19, modified Patrick teaches that the moments of force generated by the forces acting on the vehicle door glass relative to the main support point have a relationship: M1+M3+Mvehicle door glass+Mcounterweight +M2=0 (again the examiner directs attention to page 2 lines 9-16 of the examiner provided translation, where it is explained how the forces, and in turn the moments are balanced), where Mi represents a moment of force generated by a sliding friction force between the first end of the vehicle door glass and the vehicle door body relative to the main support point, M2 represents a moment of force generated by a sliding friction force between the second end of the vehicle door glass and the vehicle door body relative to the main support point, M3 represents a moment of force generated by a sliding friction force between the weatherstrip and the vehicle door glass (see claim objection above) relative to the main support point, Mvehicle door glass represents a moment of force generated by the gravity of the vehicle door glass relative to the main support point, and Mcounterweight represents a moment of force generated by the gravity of the counterweight structure relative to the main support point.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrick (FR2732274, translation provided by examiner) in view of Kent (US 3759004).
Regarding claim 10, Patrick teaches that the counterweight block (9) is mounted on the vehicle door glass, but does not teach that it is mounted through a mounting fixture, which is adhesively fixed on the inner surface, the outer surface and/or the edge of the vehicle door glass, and the counterweight block is clamped on the mounting fixture and adhesively fixed.
Kent teaches a glass assembly with a mounting fixture (6) which is adhesively (column 1 line 66 through column 2 line 4) fixed on a surface of glass (4). It also teaches components clamped together (column 1 line 66-collumn 2 line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Patrick so that the counterweight block is mounted on the vehicle door glass through a mounting fixture, which is adhesively fixed on the inner surface, the outer surface and/or the edge of the vehicle door glass, and so the counterweight block is clamped on the mounting fixture and adhesively fixed. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of a secure connection between the counterweight block and the glass.
Claim(s) 5-7, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patrick (FR2732274, translation provided by examiner) in view of Watanabe (US 732618).
Regarding claim 5, Patrick does not explicitly teach a first sealing strip and a second sealing strip are mounted on the vehicle door body along the lifting direction, the first end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the first sealing strip, and the second end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the second sealing strip.
Watanabe teaches a vehicle door glass assembly (fig. 3) with a first sealing strip (44 from fig. 6) and a second sealing strip (44 from fig. 5) are mounted on the vehicle door body along the lifting direction (see fig. 6), the first end (right end) of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the first sealing strip (see fig. 6), and the second end (left end) of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the second sealing strip (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patrick with the teachings of Watanabe so that there is a first sealing strip and a second sealing strip are mounted on the vehicle door body along the lifting direction, the first end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the first sealing strip, and the second end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the second sealing strip. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of protecting the interior of the car from moisture.
Regarding claim 6, modified Patrick includes teachings from Watanabe and teaches at least one first limiting structure (32 in fig. 6) is disposed between (fig. 6 shows that there is a portion of 44 that extends above the limiting structure) the first end of the vehicle door glass (as shown in fig. 6) and the first sealing strip (44),
at least one second limiting structure (32 in fig. 4) and at least one third limiting structure (32 in fig. 5) are disposed between the second end of the vehicle door glass and the second sealing strip (fig. 5 shows at least a portion of the sealing strip extending above and below the limiting structures, and fig. 3), the first limiting structure and the second limiting structure are cooperated to limit the movement of the vehicle door glass along a thickness direction of the vehicle door glass, and the third limiting structure limits the movement of the vehicle door glass along the length direction of the vehicle door glass.
Regarding claim 7, modified Patrick includes teachings from Watanabe and teaches that the first limiting structure (32 in fig. 6) comprises a first guide bracket (element 32 itself is a guide bracket), which is mounted on the first end of the vehicle door glass along the lifting direction (see fig. 3);
a first guide groove is formed in the first sealing strip along the lifting direction (as is shown in fig. 6), and two first limiting surfaces (93 and 94) opposite to each other along the thickness direction of the vehicle door glass are provided in the first guide groove; and
the first guide bracket abuts against the two first limiting surfaces (fig. 6 shows the elements abutting) and is slidable in the first guide groove (capable of).
Regarding claim 16, Patrick does not explicitly teach a first sealing strip and a second sealing strip are mounted on the vehicle door body along the lifting direction, the first end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the first sealing strip, and the second end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the second sealing strip.
Watanabe teaches a vehicle door glass assembly (fig. 3) with a first sealing strip (44 from fig. 6) and a second sealing strip (44 from fig. 5) are mounted on the vehicle door body along the lifting direction (see fig. 6), the first end (right end) of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the first sealing strip (see fig. 6), and the second end (left end) of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the second sealing strip (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patrick with the teachings of Watanabe so that there is a first sealing strip and a second sealing strip are mounted on the vehicle door body along the lifting direction, the first end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the first sealing strip, and the second end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the second sealing strip. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of protecting the interior of the car from moisture.
Regarding claim 20, Patrick does not explicitly teach a first sealing strip and a second sealing strip are mounted on the vehicle door body along the lifting direction, the first end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the first sealing strip, and the second end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the second sealing strip.
Watanabe teaches a vehicle door glass assembly (fig. 3) with a first sealing strip (44 from fig. 6) and a second sealing strip (44 from fig. 5) are mounted on the vehicle door body along the lifting direction (see fig. 6), the first end (right end) of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the first sealing strip (see fig. 6), and the second end (left end) of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the second sealing strip (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patrick with the teachings of Watanabe so that there is a first sealing strip and a second sealing strip are mounted on the vehicle door body along the lifting direction, the first end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the first sealing strip, and the second end of the vehicle door glass is in sealed sliding fit with the vehicle door body through the second sealing strip. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of protecting the interior of the car from moisture.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634