DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-19 and 22-24 are pending, and claims 6, 15, 20 and 21 are canceled according to preliminary claim amendment filed 12/11/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 7 – 11, 13, 16 – 19 and 22 – 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. US 20230396301 A1, hereinafter Yuan.
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches a method for indicating a transmission configuration indication state, performed by a terminal, comprising:
(Yuan: Summary, Fig. 12, para. [0140] device 1205 may be an example of a UE 115. device 1205 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1220, an input/output (I/O) controller 1210, a transceiver 1215, an antenna 1225, a memory 1230, code 1235, and a processor 1240. Para. [0143] computer-executable code 1235 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1240, cause the device 1205 to perform various functions described herein)
receiving first indication information (common beam indication) sent by a network device, (Yuan: para. [0078] UE 115 may receive a common beam indication for downlink reception and uplink transmission. The common beam indication (correspond to claim limitation “first indication information”) may include one or more TCI states, such as a pair of TCI states (correspond to claim limitation “a pair of TCI states”), which the UE 115 may use for downlink reception and uplink transmission. The UE 115 may apply one or more QCL rules, or assumptions, a spatial filter, or both, of the indicated TCI states for downlink reception and for uplink transmission. The UE 115 may select a TCI state, or multiple TCI states, of the one or more TCI states as an uplink component of a common beam based on a selection criterion, which may include one or more parameters associated with the common beam, and the number of simultaneous transmit beams supported by the UE 115. The UE 115 may be configured with different multiplexing modes (such as an SDM mode, a TDM mode, an FDM mode, an SFN mode, or the like) for downlink multi-beam reception and uplink multi-beam transmission, which may be referred to as a hybrid downlink and uplink mode)
wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate one transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (Yuan: para. [0076] UE 115 may receive an indication of a TCI or a TCI state from a BS 105. The indication may include one or more beam configurations or beam configuration states, respectively, such as a quasi-collocation (QCL) relationship (such as one or more QCL rules) between a downlink reference signal and DMRS ports. The BS 105 may indicate a TCI state for downlink communications from the BS 105 to the UE 115. However, the BS 105 and the UE 115 may manage uplink communications separately, which may use additional processing time as well as signaling and network overhead. Thus, the UE 115 and the BS 105 may reduce signaling and network overhead (such as overhead related to beam indication) by using a single TCI state (correspond to claim limitation “one transmission configuration indication (TCI) state”), which may be referred to as a joint downlink and uplink TCI state, to indicate QCL rules for communication using one or more common beams in both the downlink and uplink direction)
or
a pair of TCI states
(Yuan: para. [0078] UE 115 may receive a common beam indication for downlink reception and uplink transmission. The common beam indication may include one or more TCI states, such as a pair of TCI states (correspond to claim limitation “a pair of TCI states”), which the UE 115 may use for downlink reception and uplink transmission. The UE 115 may apply one or more QCL rules, or assumptions, a spatial filter, or both, of the indicated TCI states for downlink reception and for uplink transmission. The UE 115 may select a TCI state, or multiple TCI states, of the one or more TCI states as an uplink component of a common beam based on a selection criterion, which may include one or more parameters associated with the common beam, and the number of simultaneous transmit beams supported by the UE 115. The UE 115 may be configured with different multiplexing modes (such as an SDM mode, a TDM mode, an FDM mode, an SFN mode, or the like) for downlink multi-beam reception and uplink multi-beam transmission, which may be referred to as a hybrid downlink and uplink mode)
for joint transmission. (Yuan: para. [0076] UE 115 may receive an indication of a TCI or a TCI state from a BS 105. The indication may include one or more beam configurations or beam configuration states, respectively, such as a quasi-collocation (QCL) relationship (such as one or more QCL rules) between a downlink reference signal and DMRS ports. The BS 105 may indicate a TCI state for downlink communications from the BS 105 to the UE 115. However, the BS 105 and the UE 115 may manage uplink communications separately, which may use additional processing time as well as signaling and network overhead. Thus, the UE 115 and the BS 105 may reduce signaling and network overhead (such as overhead related to beam indication) by using a single TCI state, which may be referred to as a joint downlink and uplink TCI state (correspond to claim limitation “joint transmission”), to indicate QCL rules for communication using one or more common beams in both the downlink and uplink direction)
Regarding claim 2, Yuan teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a transmission parameter of the joint transmission according to a first reference signal indicated by the one TCI state or the pair of TCI states. (Yuan: para. [0083] UE 115-a may receive an indication of a TCI or a TCI state from BS 105-a (such as included in a downlink control information (DCI) message). The indication may include one or more beam configurations or beam configuration states, respectively, such as a QCL relationship between a downlink reference signal and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports. For example, the TCI state may include one or more QCL rules, which also may be referred to as an assumption, where a rule may associate a reference signal (such as a synchronization signal, such as a synchronization signal block (SSB); a CSI-RS; a positioning reference signal (PRS); or other reference signal) with a channel property (such as a Doppler shift; a Doppler spread; an average delay; a delay spread; one or more spatial parameters, such as a spatial filter; or other properties))
Regarding claim 3, Yuan teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the transmission parameter comprises at least one of: an average delay, a delay spread, a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, or a spatial reception parameter.
(Yuan: para. [0083] UE 115-a may receive an indication of a TCI or a TCI state from BS 105-a (such as included in a downlink control information (DCI) message). The indication may include one or more beam configurations or beam configuration states, respectively, such as a QCL relationship between a downlink reference signal and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports. For example, the TCI state may include one or more QCL rules, which also may be referred to as an assumption, where a rule may associate a reference signal (such as a synchronization signal, such as a synchronization signal block (SSB); a CSI-RS; a positioning reference signal (PRS); or other reference signal) with a channel property (such as a Doppler shift; a Doppler spread; an average delay; a delay spread; one or more spatial parameters, such as a spatial filter; or other properties))
Regarding claim 4, Yuan teaches the method of claim 2, wherein determining the transmission parameter of the joint transmission according to the first reference signal indicated by the one TCI state or the pair of TCI states comprises: determining a transmission parameter of a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) port (Yuan: para. [0083] UE 115-a may receive an indication of a TCI or a TCI state from BS 105-a (such as included in a downlink control information (DCI) message). The indication may include one or more beam configurations or beam configuration states, respectively, such as a QCL relationship between a downlink reference signal and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports)
of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (Yuan: para. [0110-0113 & 0088] TRP may perform joint transmissions of PDSCH1, PDSCH2, PUSCH1, and PUSCH2) according to a first reference signal indicated by a joint TCI state or a downlink TCI state in the one TCI state or the pair of TCI states; (Yuan: para. [0083] UE 115-a may receive an indication of a TCI or a TCI state from BS 105-a (such as included in a downlink control information (DCI) message). The indication may include one or more beam configurations or beam configuration states, respectively, such as a QCL relationship between a downlink reference signal and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports. For example, the TCI state may include one or more QCL rules, which also may be referred to as an assumption, where a rule may associate a reference signal (such as a synchronization signal, such as a synchronization signal block (SSB); a CSI-RS; a positioning reference signal (PRS); or other reference signal) with a channel property (such as a Doppler shift; a Doppler spread; an average delay; a delay spread; one or more spatial parameters, such as a spatial filter; or other properties))
or
determining a transmission parameter of a DMRS port of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) according to a first reference signal indicated by a joint TCI state or an uplink TCI state in the one TCI state or the pair of TCI states. (Yuan: para. [0083] UE 115-a may receive an indication of a TCI or a TCI state from BS 105-a (such as included in a downlink control information (DCI) message). The indication may include one or more beam configurations or beam configuration states, respectively, such as a QCL relationship between a downlink reference signal and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports. For example, the TCI state may include one or more QCL rules, which also may be referred to as an assumption, where a rule may associate a reference signal (such as a synchronization signal, such as a synchronization signal block (SSB); a CSI-RS; a positioning reference signal (PRS); or other reference signal) with a channel property (such as a Doppler shift; a Doppler spread; an average delay; a delay spread; one or more spatial parameters, such as a spatial filter; or other properties))
Regarding claim 7, Yuan teaches the method of claim 1, before receiving the first indication information sent by the network device, further comprising:
receiving second indication information sent by the network device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate configuration of a plurality of sets of second reference signals; (Yuan: para. [0070] Some signals (such as synchronization signals, reference signals, beam selection signals, or other control signals) may be transmitted by a BS 105 multiple times in different directions)
determining a transmission parameter corresponding to each second reference signal; and sending third indication information to the network device, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate a transmission parameter corresponding to at least one second reference signal.
(Yuan: para. [0100] UE 115-b may report one or more RSRP values for each reference signal resource. For example, UE 115-b may report RSRP values differentially for the one or more reference signals. That is, UE 115-b may report an RSRP for a first reference signal with the largest absolute value of RSRP and additional RSRPs for additional reference signals based on the absolute value of the RSRP (such as in descending order) and the difference between the RSRP for the first reference signal and the RSRP for each additional reference signal)
Regarding claim 8, Yuan teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the third indication information is indicated by a sounding reference signal (SRS), or the third indication information is included in channel state information (CSI).
(Yuan: para. [0085] E 115-a may update one or more measurements for a number of reference signal resources (such as no more than 64 CSI-RS resources, SSB resources, or both) and may report indicators, such as a CSI-RS indicator (CRI) or an SSB resource indicator (SSBRI). para. [0098 & 0096] UE 115-b may perform group-based beam reporting using multiple simultaneous receive beams. For example, the CSI report configuration)
Regarding claim 9, Yuan teaches the method of claim 7, wherein, the third indication information comprises an absolute value of the transmission parameter corresponding to each second reference signal;
(Yuan: para. [0100] UE 115-b may report an RSRP for a first reference signal with the largest absolute value of RSRP and additional RSRPs for additional reference signals based on the absolute value of the RSRP (such as in descending order) and the difference between the RSRP for the first reference signal and the RSRP for each additional reference signal. Para. [0138] At 1115, UE 115-h may transmit a report including indices for multiple reference signal resources for the one or more reference signals. For example, the report may include an indication of an absolute value of the RSRP with the reference signal with the greatest RSRP value and the difference between the RSRP and any additional RSRPs for additional reference signals.) or, the third indication information comprises a relative value of the transmission parameter corresponding to at least one second reference signal relative to a transmission parameter corresponding to a designated second reference signal.
Regarding claim 10, Yuan teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
receiving fourth indication information sent by the network device, wherein the fourth indication information is configured to indicate the designated second reference signal. (Yuan: para. [0083] positioning reference signal (PRS). Para. [0088] sounding reference signal (SRS). Para. [0103] TRPs may transmit separate reference signals)
Regarding claim 11, Yuan teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising:
determining a second reference signal that meets a designated condition as the designated second reference signal; and sending fifth indication information to the network device, wherein the fifth indication information is configured to indicate the designated second reference signal.
(Yuan: para. [0071] UE 115 may receive one or more of the signals transmitted by the BS 105 in different directions and may report (corresponds to claim limitation “fifth indication”) to the BS 105 an indication of the signal that the UE 115 received with a highest signal quality (corresponds to claim limitation “meets a designated condition) or an otherwise acceptable signal quality (corresponds to claim limitation “meets a designated condition))
Regarding claim 13, Yuan teaches a method for indicating a transmission configuration indication state, performed by a network device, comprising: (Yuan: Summary, Fig. 12, para. [0140] device 1205 may communicate wirelessly with one or more BSs 105, TRPs 205. device 1205 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1220, an input/output (I/O) controller 1210, a transceiver 1215, an antenna 1225, a memory 1230, code 1235, and a processor 1240. Para. [0143] computer-executable code 1235 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1240, cause the device 1205 to perform various functions described herein)
sending first indication information to a terminal,
(Yuan: para. [0078] UE 115 may receive a common beam indication for downlink reception and uplink transmission. The common beam indication (correspond to claim limitation “first indication information”) may include one or more TCI states, such as a pair of TCI states (correspond to claim limitation “a pair of TCI states”), which the UE 115 may use for downlink reception and uplink transmission. The UE 115 may apply one or more QCL rules, or assumptions, a spatial filter, or both, of the indicated TCI states for downlink reception and for uplink transmission. The UE 115 may select a TCI state, or multiple TCI states, of the one or more TCI states as an uplink component of a common beam based on a selection criterion, which may include one or more parameters associated with the common beam, and the number of simultaneous transmit beams supported by the UE 115. The UE 115 may be configured with different multiplexing modes (such as an SDM mode, a TDM mode, an FDM mode, an SFN mode, or the like) for downlink multi-beam reception and uplink multi-beam transmission, which may be referred to as a hybrid downlink and uplink mode)
wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate one transmission configuration indication (TCI) state
(Yuan: para. [0076] UE 115 may receive an indication of a TCI or a TCI state from a BS 105. The indication may include one or more beam configurations or beam configuration states, respectively, such as a quasi-collocation (QCL) relationship (such as one or more QCL rules) between a downlink reference signal and DMRS ports. The BS 105 may indicate a TCI state for downlink communications from the BS 105 to the UE 115. However, the BS 105 and the UE 115 may manage uplink communications separately, which may use additional processing time as well as signaling and network overhead. Thus, the UE 115 and the BS 105 may reduce signaling and network overhead (such as overhead related to beam indication) by using a single TCI state (correspond to claim limitation “one transmission configuration indication (TCI) state”), which may be referred to as a joint downlink and uplink TCI state, to indicate QCL rules for communication using one or more common beams in both the downlink and uplink direction)
or
a pair of TCI states (Yuan: para. [0078] UE 115 may receive a common beam indication for downlink reception and uplink transmission. The common beam indication may include one or more TCI states, such as a pair of TCI states (correspond to claim limitation “a pair of TCI states”), which the UE 115 may use for downlink reception and uplink transmission. The UE 115 may apply one or more QCL rules, or assumptions, a spatial filter, or both, of the indicated TCI states for downlink reception and for uplink transmission. The UE 115 may select a TCI state, or multiple TCI states, of the one or more TCI states as an uplink component of a common beam based on a selection criterion, which may include one or more parameters associated with the common beam, and the number of simultaneous transmit beams supported by the UE 115. The UE 115 may be configured with different multiplexing modes (such as an SDM mode, a TDM mode, an FDM mode, an SFN mode, or the like) for downlink multi-beam reception and uplink multi-beam transmission, which may be referred to as a hybrid downlink and uplink mode)
for joint transmission. (Yuan: para. [0076] UE 115 may receive an indication of a TCI or a TCI state from a BS 105. The indication may include one or more beam configurations or beam configuration states, respectively, such as a quasi-collocation (QCL) relationship (such as one or more QCL rules) between a downlink reference signal and DMRS ports. The BS 105 may indicate a TCI state for downlink communications from the BS 105 to the UE 115. However, the BS 105 and the UE 115 may manage uplink communications separately, which may use additional processing time as well as signaling and network overhead. Thus, the UE 115 and the BS 105 may reduce signaling and network overhead (such as overhead related to beam indication) by using a single TCI state, which may be referred to as a joint downlink and uplink TCI state (correspond to claim limitation “joint transmission”), to indicate QCL rules for communication using one or more common beams in both the downlink and uplink direction)
Regarding claims 16 – 19, Yuan teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 7 – 10, and therefore method claims 16 – 19 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 22, Yuan teaches a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory having a computer program stored therein, wherein the processor is configured to: (Yuan: Summary, Fig. 12, para. [0140] device 1205 may be an example of a UE 115. device 1205 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1220, an input/output (I/O) controller 1210, a transceiver 1215, an antenna 1225, a memory 1230, code 1235, and a processor 1240. Para. [0143] computer-executable code 1235 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1240, cause the device 1205 to perform various functions described herein) and Yuan teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and therefore apparatus claim 22 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 23, Yuan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed, the method of claim 1 is performed. (Yuan: Summary, Fig. 12, para. [0140] device 1205 may be an example of a UE 115. device 1205 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1220, an input/output (I/O) controller 1210, a transceiver 1215, an antenna 1225, a memory 1230, code 1235, and a processor 1240. Para. [0143] computer-executable code 1235 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1240, cause the device 1205 to perform various functions described herein)
Regarding claim 24, Yuan teaches a communication device, comprising a processor and a memory having a computer program stored therein, wherein the processor is configured to perform claim 13. (Yuan: Summary, Fig. 12, para. [0140] device 1205 may communicate wirelessly with one or more BSs 105, TRPs 205. device 1205 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1220, an input/output (I/O) controller 1210, a transceiver 1215, an antenna 1225, a memory 1230, code 1235, and a processor 1240. Para. [0143] computer-executable code 1235 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1240, cause the device 1205 to perform various functions described herein)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Sengupta et al. US20220272706A1, hereinafter Sengupta.
Regarding claim 5, Yuan teaches the method of claim 1, Yuan does not explicitly teach: wherein, the first indication information comprises a first media access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the first MAC CE is configured to activate one TCI state or a pair of TCI states corresponding to a code point in a TCI field in downlink control information (DCI); or the first indication information comprises a second MAC CE and DCI, wherein the second MAC CE is configured to activate one TCI state or a pair of TCI states corresponding to each of multiple code points in a TCI field in the DCI, and the DCI is configured to indicate one code point in the multiple code points.
Sengupta from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: wherein, the first indication information comprises a first media access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the first MAC CE is configured to activate one TCI state or a pair of TCI states corresponding to a code point in a TCI field in downlink control information (DCI);
(Sengupta: para. [0052] UE can be configured by MAC-CE with DCI codepoints for DL-only beam indication using DL TCI state, UL-only beam indication using UL TCI state or joint DL/UL beam indication using joint DL/UL TCI state. In one embodiment, the TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC-CE (see TS 38.321) or the Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC-CE (see TS 38.321) with Ci=0 ∀i, can re-used, which allows the configuration of single TCI state per DCI codepoint)
or
the first indication information comprises a second MAC CE and DCI, wherein the second MAC CE is configured to activate one TCI state or a pair of TCI states corresponding to each of multiple code points in a TCI field in the DCI, and the DCI is configured to indicate one code point in the multiple code points. (Sengupta: Para. [0052] UE can be configured by MAC-CE with DCI codepoints for DL-only beam indication using DL TCI state, UL-only beam indication using UL TCI state or joint DL/UL beam indication using joint DL/UL TCI state. The TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC-CE (see TS 38.321) or the Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC-CE (see TS 38.321) with Ci=0 ∀i, can re-used, which allows the configuration of single TCI state per DCI codepoint. The UE is able to determine the applicability of the beam indication based on the configured TCI state type e.g., DL-only, UL-only or joint DL/UL beam indication. In another embodiment, for the case of Enhanced TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC-CE (e.g., shown in FIG. 4), when Ci=1 and R=1 for a given codepoint i, the UE expects to be configured with two TCI states in the i-th codepoint wherein the first TCI state is a DL-only TCI state applicable to separate DL-only beam indication and the 2nd TCI state is a UL-only TCI state applicable to separate UL-only beam indication. Fig. 8 step 802 para. [0108] At 802, the process 800 may include decoding a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) to indicate downlink control information (DCI) codepoints for downlink (DL) only beam indication, uplink (UL) only beam indication, or joint DL/UL beam indication. At 804, the process 800 may further include decoding a DCI to indicate a beam for an uplink or downlink transmission based on the DCI codepoints.) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Sengupta in the method of Yuan. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for performing data transmission/reception as described above, the components of the AN 608 may perform various logical functions that include, for example, RNC functions such as radio bearer management, uplink and downlink dynamic radio resource management, and data packet scheduling (Sengupta: para. [0102 & 0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Yuan and Sengupta teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 5, and therefore method claim 14 is rejected using the same rationales.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
US 20240306023 A1 in para. [0124] teaches UE 215 may determine the ordering of the two RIs, PMIs, or LIs may be based on a relative value of the CSI-RS resource ID of the two CMRs (e.g., the first RI, LI, or PMI may be associated with the CMR that has a smaller CSI-RS resource ID)
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418