DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(c), the Applicant's submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement has been received, entered into the record, and considered. See attached form PTO-1449.
Claims 5-6, 10, 13, 15-16, 19-20, 24-31, 33 and 35-43 are canceled.
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-12, 14, 17-18, 21-23, 32 and 35 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
A. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “for indicating”; “for identifying” and “for indicating” in claim 14 and “for deciding” in claim 32 and 34.
B. In addition, the following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “central unit (CU)-distributed unit (DU)”, in claims 11-12 and 23.
Applicant is required to review all the claims for the deficiencies noted, supra and correct the claims.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A. Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Applicant claims, “receiving a message for deciding to stop measuring an uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal”. Examiner is unclear as to what happens after the claimed on step, ““receiving a message for deciding to stop measuring an uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal”.
B. . Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Applicant claims, “machine-readable”, but the specification does not explicitly describe what is Applicant’s, “machine-readable”. For purposes of examination, “machine-readable” will be interpreted as “computer-readable”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “central unit (CU)-distributed unit (DU)” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s “central unit (CU)-distributed unit (DU)” could be a signal, (i.e., separation architecture) Claims 11-12 and 23, Para [00338], for example.
Therefore, the claims 11-12 and 23 are rejected as being indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 44 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statuary subject matter.
As per Claim 14, the claim is drawn to machine readable (i.e., computer-readable, interpreted by the Examiner). Applicant’s specification cites, “examples, the functions described in the embodiments of the present disclosure may be realized by hardware, software, firmware or any combination thereof. When implemented in software, “these functions may be stored in a computer-readable medium or transmitted as one or more instructions or codes on the computer-readable medium. The computer-readable medium includes a computer storage medium and a communication medium, and the communication medium includes any medium adapted to transfer computer programs from one place to another. The storage medium may be any available medium that may be accessed by a general-purpose or special-purpose computer.”.
As used herein, the phrase, “machine readable” (i.e., computer-readable, interpreted by the Examiner) may employ signals.
Therefore, Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-12, 14, 17-18, 21-23, 32 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by V. Raghavan (US Patent Publication No. 20230077568 A1 and Raghavan hereinafter).
Regarding Claims 1, 21 and 32, Raghavan teaches a method for stopping positioning a terminal, performed by a first network device, and comprising: sending notification information to a second network device, in case that the first network device determines that the terminal stops (i.e., relative location measurements, relative location determination, motion determination, etc. Information detected by the sensor(s) 213 may be used for motion detection, relative displacement, dead reckoning, sensor-based location determination, and/or sensor-assisted location determination. The sensor(s) 213 may be useful to determine whether the UE 200 is fixed (stationary) or mobile and/or whether to report certain useful information to the LMF 120 regarding the mobility of the UE 200. For example, based on the information obtained/measured by the sensor(s) 213, the UE 200 may notify/report to the LMF 120 that the UE 200 has detected movements or that the UE 200 has moved, and report the relative displacement/distance (e.g., via dead reckoning, or sensor-based location determination, or sensor-assisted location determination enabled by the sensor(s) Para [0094] sending an uplink positioning reference signal (i.e. wireless network such as base stations and access points. It is expected that standardization for the 5G wireless networks will include support for various positioning methods, which may utilize reference signals transmitted by base stations in a manner similar to which LTE wireless networks currently utilize Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) and/or Cell-specific Reference Signals (CRS) for position determination) Para [0059], wherein the notification information is configured to enable the second network device to decide to stop (i.e.,the delta values may comprise magnitude and “direction” of the change, i.e., whether the change is an increase in magnitude or a decrease in magnitude. The antenna or antenna element enable/disable field may indicate one or more antenna elements and/or one or more antennas, with the identification of the antenna/antenna element implicitly indicating the respective component has changed enabled/disabled status, or the field may also indicate the enable/disable status explicitly. Numerous other techniques for indicating change of parameter status may be used.) Para [0151] positioning the terminal (i.e., An estimate of a location of the UE 105 may be referred to as a location, location estimate, location fix, fix, position, position estimate, or position fix, and may be geographic, thus providing location coordinates for the UE 105 (e.g., latitude and longitude) which may or may not include an altitude component (e.g., height above sea level, height above or depth below ground level, floor level, or basement level)) Para [0072].
Regarding Claim 2, Raghavan teaches wherein the first network device is a first base station and the second network device is a location management function (LMF) network element (i.e., the ng-eNB 114 using a New Radio Position Protocol A (which may be referred to as NPPa or NRPPa), which may be defined in 3GPP Technical Specification (TS) 38.455. NRPPa may be the same as, similar to, or an extension of the LTE Positioning Protocol A (LPPa) defined in 3GPP TS 36.455, with NRPPa messages being transferred between the gNB 110a (or the gNB 110b) and the LMF 120, and/or between the ng-eNB 114 and the LMF 120, via the AMF 115. As further illustrated in FIG. 1, the LMF 120 and the UE 105 may communicate using an LTE Positioning Protocol (LPP), which may be defined in 3GPP TS 36.355. The LMF 120 and the UE 105 may also or instead communicate using a New Radio Positioning Protocol (which may be referred to as NPP or NRPP), which may be the same as, similar to, or an extension of LPP. Here, LPP and/or NPP messages may be transferred between the UE 105 and the LMF 120 via the AMF 115 and the serving gNB 110a, 110b or the serving ng-eNB 114 for the UE 105. For example, LPP and/or NPP messages may be transferred between the LMF 120 and the AMF 115 using a 5G Location Services Application Protocol (LCS AP) Para [0082].
Regarding Claims 3 and 22, Raghavan teaches wherein the notification information is comprised in part of a new radio positioning protocol A (NRPPa) message (i.e., Each of the gNBs 110a, 110b and the ng-eNB 114 may provide communication coverage for a respective geographic region, e.g. a cell. Each cell may be partitioned into multiple sectors as a function of the base station antennas.) Para [0066] and [0073] (Examiner asserts a specialized communication standard used in wireless networks to find the exact geographic location of mobile devices, focusing on protocols like the LTE/NR Positioning Protocol (LPP), Radio Resource LCS Protocol (RRLP), and NR Positioning Protocol A (NRPPa). These systems allow phones and base stations to swap measurement data and satellite details) and (i.e., extension of the LTE Positioning Protocol A (LPPa) defined in 3GPP TS 36.455, with NRPPa messages being transferred between the gNB 110a (or the gNB 110b) and the LMF 120, and/or between the ng-eNB 114 and the LMF) Para [0082].
Regarding Claims 4 and 32, Raghavan wherein the notification information is configured for the LMF network element to decide to send a measurement stop message to at least one a second base station, wherein the second base station is a base station participating in measuring the uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal, and the measurement stop message is configured to instruct the second base station to stop measuring the uplink positioning reference signal (i.e., other communication technologies and/or protocols) may be used to transmit (or broadcast) directional synchronization signals, receive and measure directional signals at UEs (e.g., the UE 105) and/or provide location assistance to the UE 105 (via the GMLC 125 or other location server) and/or compute a location for the UE 105 at a location-capable device such as the UE 105, the gNB 110a, 110b, or the LMF 120 based on measurement quantities received at the UE 105 for such directionally-transmitted signals. The gateway mobile location center (GMLC) 125, the location management function (LMF) 120, the access and mobility management function (AMF) 115, the SMF 117, the ng-eNB (eNodeB) 114 and the gNBs (gNodeBs)) Para [0068] and (i.e., measurements of the UE 200 may be integrated over time to determine an instantaneous direction of motion as well as a displacement of the UE 200. The instantaneous direction of motion and the displacement may be integrated to track a location of the UE 200. For example, a reference location of the UE 200 may be determined, e.g., using the SPS receiver 217 (and/or by some other means) for a moment in time and measurements from the accelerometer(s) and gyroscope(s) taken after this moment in time may be used in dead reckoning to determine present location of the UE 200 based on movement (direction and distance) of the UE 200 relative to the reference location.) Para [0095].
Regarding Claim 7, Raghavan teaches wherein a configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal is configured by the first network device to the terminal, and the method further comprises: releasing the configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal, in case that the first network device determines that the terminal stops sending the uplink positioning reference signal (i.e., separation between the first antenna element and the second antenna element; or a change in orientation of the first antenna element relative to the second antenna element; or that the first antenna element is disabled; or that the second antenna element is enabled; or a downlink positioning reference signal configuration; or an uplink positioning reference signal configuration; or one or more calibration parameters associated with an electrical distance between the first antenna element and the other component of the UE; or any combination thereof) Para [0009].
Regarding Claim 8, Raghavan teaches further comprising: determining that the terminal stops sending the uplink positioning reference signal, in case that the first network device determines that the terminal moves from a first cell to a second cell, (i.e., the delta values may comprise magnitude and “direction” of the change, i.e., whether the change is an increase in magnitude or a decrease in magnitude. The antenna or antenna element enable/disable field may indicate one or more antenna elements and/or one or more antennas, with the identification of the antenna/antenna element implicitly indicating the respective component has changed enabled/disabled status, or the field may also indicate the enable/disable status explicitly. Numerous other techniques for indicating change of parameter status may be used.) Para [0151] wherein the first cell is a cell that allocates a configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal to the terminal, (i.e., send the DL PRS intermittently, e.g., periodically at a consistent interval from an initial transmission. The TRP may be configured to send one or more PRS resource sets. A resource set is a collection of PRS resources across one TRP, with the resources having the same periodicity, a common muting pattern configuration (if any), and the same repetition factor across slots. Each of the PRS resource sets comprises multiple PRS resources,) Para [0124] and the first cell and the second cell are cells provided by the first network device (i.e., of interest for some time in standard specification efforts. Angle-based positioning has traditionally been network based, e.g., DL AoD/ZoD (downlink angle of departure/zenith angle of departure) based or UL AoA/ZoA (uplink angle of arrival/zenith angle of arrival) based. Knowledge of beam shapes and/or patterns used by the TRP 300 for PRS may be transmitted to a (positioning) server, e.g., an LMF, that may transmit this information to a UE. The UE may report reference signal measurements, e.g., RSRP, to the TRP 300 and/or the server 400 and the TRP 300 and/or the server 400 can determine position estimates for the UE) Para [0133].
Regarding Claim 9, Raghavan teaches further comprising: determining that the terminal stops sending the uplink positioning reference signal, in case that the first network device determines that the terminal moves from a first cell to a third cell, wherein the first cell is a cell that allocates a configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal to the terminal, the first cell is a cell provided by the first network device, and the third cell is a cell provided by a third network device (i.e., network entity and/or any other appropriate entity of a present physical state of the UE 500 and/or of a change of the physical state of the UE 500. For example, the physical state notification unit 560 may send a notification to the positioning unit 535 and/or to a network entity, such as the TRP 300 and/or the server 400, via the transceiver 520. The notification may have a variety of content, e.g., indicating a present physical state, indicating a change of physical state with or without indicating what has changed) Para [0149] and (i.e., the network entity) Para [0155].
Regarding Claims 11 and 23, Raghavan teaches wherein the first network device adopts a central unit (CU)-distributed unit (DU) separation architecture; and in case that the first network device determines that the terminal stops sending the uplink positioning reference signal, sending the notification information to the second network device comprises: sending by a DU of the first network device the notification information to a CU of the first network device, in case that the DU of the first network device determines that the terminal stops sending the uplink positioning reference signal; and sending by the CU of the first network device the notification information to the second network device (Figure 1, whole figure) infra:
Regarding Claim 12, Raghavan teaches wherein a configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal is configured by the DU of the first network device to the terminal; and the method further comprises: in case that the DU of the first network device determines that the terminal stops sending the uplink positioning reference signal, releasing by the DU (i.e., The DU 112 hosts the Radio Link Control (RLC), Medium Access Control (MAC), and physical layers of the gNB 110a. One DU can support one or more cells, and each cell is supported by a single DU. The operation of the DU 112 is controlled by the CU 113. The CU 113 is configured to perform functions for transferring user data, mobility control, radio access network sharing, positioning, session management, etc. although some functions are allocated) Para [0077] of the first network device the configuration of the uplink positioning reference signal (i.e., notification indicates: a present orientation of the first antenna element relative to the second antenna element; or a change in separation between the first antenna element and the second antenna element; or a change in orientation of the first antenna element relative to the second antenna element; or that the first antenna element is disabled; or that the second antenna element is enabled; or a downlink positioning reference signal configuration; or an uplink positioning reference signal configuration;) Para [0167].
Regarding Claim 34, Raghavan teaches wherein receiving the message for deciding to stop measuring the uplink positioning reference signal of the terminal comprises: receiving notification information sent by a first network device; and deciding to stop measuring the uplink positioning reference signal according to the notification information, wherein the notification information is sent by the first network device in case that the first network device determines that the terminal stops sending the uplink positioning reference signal, and the second base station is a base station participating in measuring the uplink positioning reference signal sent by the terminal (i.e., other communication technologies and/or protocols) may be used to transmit (or broadcast) directional synchronization signals, receive and measure directional signals at UEs (e.g., the UE 105) and/or provide location assistance to the UE 105 (via the GMLC 125 or other location server) and/or compute a location for the UE 105 at a location-capable device such as the UE 105, the gNB 110a, 110b, or the LMF 120 based on measurement quantities received at the UE 105 for such directionally-transmitted signals. The gateway mobile location center (GMLC) 125, the location management function (LMF) 120, the access and mobility management function (AMF) 115, the SMF 117, the ng-eNB (eNodeB) 114 and the gNBs (gNodeBs) Para [0068] and (i.e., measurements of the UE 200 may be integrated over time to determine an instantaneous direction of motion as well as a displacement of the UE 200. The instantaneous direction of motion and the displacement may be integrated to track a location of the UE 200. For example, a reference location of the UE 200 may be determined, e.g., using the SPS receiver 217 (and/or by some other means) for a moment in time and measurements from the accelerometer(s) and gyroscope(s) taken after this moment in time may be used in dead reckoning to determine present location of the UE 200 based on movement (direction and distance) of the UE 200 relative to the reference location) Para [0095].
Regarding Claims 44 and 45, Raghavan teaches and network device, comprising: a processor; a transceiver connected with the processor; and a memory for storing machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to execute (Figure 1, whole figure, supra.
Regarding Claim 46, Raghavan teaches a chip, comprising a programmable logic circuit or a program, wherein the chip is configured to realize a method for stopping positioning a terminal (i.e. performed by specific circuits (e.g., an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)), by program instructions being executed by one or more processors, or by a combination of both) Para [0060].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zorgui et al., (US Patent Publication No. 20240357492 A1), “Network power saving and RF sensing” (October 24, 2024) discloses wireless communication at a network entity is disclosed herein. The network entity obtains an indication of an NES mode, where the NES mode is supported by a set of network nodes or a UE. The network entity transmits, for set of network nodes or the UE, a configuration for an RF sensing session, a set of sensing measurements, or a set of sensing signal transmissions based on the indication of the NES mode.
Hosono et al., (US Patent Publication No. 20140148121 A1), “Base station in mobile communication system and wave stopping method” (May 29, 2014) discloses mobile communication system transmits and receives wireless signals with a user apparatus in a cell the base station is connected to a communication network through a router, obtains an address of the route, periodically receives time information from a time information server through the communication network, stores the router's address and a current time indicated by the time information; and in the case where a current-time-storing-is-stopped period is equal to or greater than a threshold value, or in the case where the current-time-storing-is-stopped period is less than the threshold value and is equal to or greater than another threshold value, and an address just received from the router is different from the address stored in the memory unit, transmits a control signal for stopping the transmission of the wireless signal.
Hirzallah et al., (US Patent Publication No. 20240426966 A1), “Techniques for indicating changes in mapping between anchor location/beams and positioning reference resources” (December 26, 2024) discloses from a network entity, at least one of: (1) a first indication of a first mapping and a first list of indices for first location information, where the first location information is associated with a first set of network nodes and a first set of PRS resources and where the first mapping associates each index in the first list of indices with at least one PRS resource in the first set of PRS resources, or (2) a second indication of a previous implementation of the first mapping. The UE selects or configures at least one AI/ML positioning model based on at least one of the first indication or the second indication.
Raghavan (US Patent Publication No. 20230077568 A1), “Dynamic antennal radiation pattern notification” (March 16, 2023) discloses UE for indicating change in physical state of the UE includes determining a change of the UE from a first physical state of a plurality of physical states to a second physical state of the plurality of physical states and transmitting one or more antenna system characteristics, corresponding to an antenna system of the UE, based on determining the change of the UE from the first physical state of the plurality of physical states to the second physical state of the plurality of physical states.
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov