DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “persistent storage unit,” “control module,” “proxy unit,” and “computing unit” throughout the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “control module,” “proxy unit,” and “computing unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The written description is devoid of any particular structure or materials disclosed as performing the functions that are recited as performed by the “control module,” “proxy unit,” and “computing unit.” Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Branson et al. (2008/0256167).
Regarding claim 1:
Branson teaches:
A serverless architecture distributed fault-tolerant system, comprising:
a serverless architecture control module and distributed architecture-based computing nodes [par 27, 30, 31, 35 – user does not manage the underlying architecture, merely provides requests for jobs in a high level language, so meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of serverless architecture in light of the instant specification. The system includes sites with a plurality of distributed nodes, one site is the plan owner site and acts as the control module of the claim], wherein:
the serverless architecture control module is in communication connection with the distributed architecture-based computing nodes [par 27, 35 – cooperative system, thus requiring communication, owner site performs management and clearly communicates with other sites] ;
the distributed architecture-based computing nodes are configured to receive and execute an assigned target task [par 31, 35 – nodes are assigned jobs/sub jobs to perform];
the serverless architecture control module is configured to monitor a working state of the distributed architecture-based computing nodes [par 89 – failover managers monitor for failures, manager on plan owner is notified of all failures], and
in a response to monitoring a faulty computing node, construct a replica computing node for the faulty computing node based on a persistent storage unit in the faulty computing node [par 89 – no explicit definition of constructing a replica computing node is given in the specification. The broadest reasonable interpretation is therefore any actions taken to prepare a node to operate in place of the failed node. The owner site works to recover critical jobs including pausing communications with a failed site, creating new monitoring agreements, deploying jobs to backup site and resuming execution];
the replica computing node is configured to replace the faulty computing node to continue to execute a target task assigned to the faulty computing node [par 89 – backup resumes job execution];
the persistent storage unit is configured to store graph data and state snapshot data corresponding to the target task [par 38, 57, 68 – sites contain persistent storage and store CIP data and relationships, which correspond to graph data, and sites store checkpoint data to allow for job resumption], and
the state snapshot data comprises intermediate state data generated during execution of the target task [par 68 – checkpoints are intermediate state]; and
the replica computing node is configured to restore an execution of the target task based on the graph data and the state snapshot data corresponding to the target task that are stored in the persistent storage unit [par 67, 68, 89].
Regarding claims 11 and 20:
See the teachings above with respect to claim 1. Branson further teaches a method and a non-transitory computer readable medium [par 6, 100, 102].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
‘645 to Douros et al. discloses a failover manager for checkpointing and persisting process states to allow for resumption of processes after a failure and restart.
‘923 to Regge et al. discloses serverless workload freezing and resumption. The publication is after the prior date of the instant application and merely represents a state of the art.
‘676 to Volos et al. discloses worker processes in a distributed architecture that store task objects and dynamic task graphs is a persistent shared memory to allow for work sharing and stealing and resumption of tasks after failures.
‘624 to Parthasarathy et al. discloses using a leader node to monitor task execution on other nodes and to resume tasks from failed nodes by consulting a task log file stored in shared persistent storage.
/MARC DUNCAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113