DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, 13-14, 18-19, 23-26, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BAEK et al. (US 20240031975 A1).
Regarding claim 1, BAEK et al. teach An apparatus for wireless communication at a relay user equipment (UE) ([0022] one relay UE to be used as an anchor node (AN) for positioning), comprising:
a memory (Memory 104 in Fig. 20); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory ([0451] The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104) and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory ([0451] the processor(s) 102 may process information within the memory(s) 104), the at least one processor is configured to:
receive an indication of one or more of at least one first quality of service (QoS) parameter for a first wireless link or at least one second QoS parameter for a second wireless link( [0378] The network may transmit a PP RequestLocationInformation message to the relay UE), wherein the first wireless link is associated with the relay UE and a network entity ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link.), wherein the second wireless link is associated with the relay UE and at least one remote UE ([0238] When the relay UE receives, from the remote UE through the sidelink, signaling information and SL-PRS necessary for the network to perform positioning for the remote UE, the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS, [0378] The network may transmit a PP RequestLocationInformation message to the relay UE (or remote UE) to request assistance measurement information necessary for performing DL-TDoA-R positioning), wherein the at least one first QoS parameter ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link) and the at least one second QoS parameter ([0238] the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS) are associated with a time period. Note: the first QoS parameter is interpreted as the RSTD of the Uu link and the second QoS parameter is interpreted as the ToA of the sidelink, both are associated with measuring a time period); and
transmit a report of at least one positioning measurement within the time period based on one or more of the at least one first QoS parameter or the at least one second QoS parameter ([0385]-[0388] , The network may receive a PP ProvideLocationInformation message from the relay UE in response to the PP RequestLocationInformation message .., the relay UE may transmit UE-assisted measurement information composed of the remote UE-assisted measurement information and the relay UE-assisted measurement information to the network through the PP ProvideLocationInformation message.., the relay UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a cell ID, relay-UE speed information, relay-UE heading information, RSTD information measured using a Uu-PRS.., the remote UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a remote UE ID, remote-UE speed information, ToA information measured using the SL-PRS).
Regarding claim 2, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (0451] The processor(s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit, via the transceiver, a request for one or more of the at least one first QoS parameter or the at least one second QoS parameter ([0400] the relay UE may request location information from the remote UE).
Regarding claim 3, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one first QoS parameter includes one or more of a first QoS response time ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link) or a first data packet budget, and wherein the at least one second QoS parameter includes one or more of a second QoS response time ([0238] the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS) or a second data packet budget.
Regarding claim 4, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first wireless link comprises a UE-to-universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) terrestrial radio access network (UE-UTRAN/Uu) link ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link) and the second wireless link comprises a sidelink ([0238] the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS).
Regarding claim 5, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the time period includes one or more of a first response time associated with the at least one first QoS parameter ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link) or a second response time associated with the at least one second QoS parameter ([0238] the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS)
.
Regarding claim 6, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the first response time is a same time as the second response time, or the first response time is different from the second response time ([0238] the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS, [0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link).
Regarding claim 9, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one first QoS parameter for the first wireless link comprises a first response time between the relay UE and the network entity ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link), wherein the at least one second QoS parameter for the second wireless link comprises a second response time between the relay UE and the at least one remote UE ([0238] When the relay UE receives, from the remote UE through the sidelink, signaling information and SL-PRS necessary for the network to perform positioning for the remote UE, the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS)
.
Regarding claim 10, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the indication further comprises a sidelink measurement period for measuring a real-time response time of the at least one positioning measurement ([0238] When the relay UE receives, from the remote UE through the sidelink, signaling information and SL-PRS necessary for the network to perform positioning for the remote UE, the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS).
Regarding claim 13, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
perform the at least one positioning measurement within the time period based on at least one of the at least one first QoS parameter or the at least one second QoS parameter ([0238] to perform positioning for the remote UE, the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS), wherein the report is transmitted based on the performed at least one positioning measurement ([0240] The relay UE may transmit remote UE-assisted information and relay UE-assisted information to the base station).
Regarding claim 14, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit a configuration for a data packet transmission associated with the at least one positioning measurement to the at least one remote UE ([0237] The remote UE may transmit, to the relay UE selected as the AN through the sidelink, a packet and SL-PRS including signaling information that is necessary for the network to perform its own positioning).
Regarding claim 18, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive the report of the at least one positioning measurement from the at least one remote UE [0403] The remote UE may transmit a positioning signaling signal including a positioning result to the relay UE), wherein the time period is based on the first QoS response time, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to transmit the report by forwarding the report to the network entity from the at least one remote UE ([0386]-[0388] the relay UE may transmit UE-assisted measurement information composed of the remote UE-assisted measurement information and the relay UE-assisted measurement information to the network... the relay UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a cell ID, relay-UE speed information, relay-UE heading information, RSTD information measured using a Uu-PRS).
Regarding claim 19, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the time period comprises at least one of a first response time between the relay UE and the network entity (0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link), a second response time between the relay UE and the at least one remote UE, or an end-to-end (E2E) response time between the network entity and the at least one remote UE.
Regarding claim 23, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the report includes a second indication of a performance of the at least one positioning measurement at the relay UE or the at least one remote UE ([0388] the relay UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a cell ID, relay-UE speed information, relay-UE heading information, RSTD information measured using a Uu-PRS), or wherein the report includes a third indication of a lack of time or resources to perform the at least one positioning measurement.
Regarding claim 24, Baek et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (BS (e.g. eNB or gNB) in Fig. 7), comprising:
a memory (Note: inherent in a BS); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (Note: inherent in a BS) and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit an indication of one or more of at least one first quality of service (QoS) parameter for a first wireless link or at least one second QoS parameter for a second wireless link ([0378] The network may transmit a PP RequestLocationInformation message to the relay UE), wherein the first wireless link is associated with the relay UE and a network entity ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link.), wherein the second wireless link is associated with the relay UE and at least one remote UE ([0238] When the relay UE receives, from the remote UE through the sidelink, signaling information and SL-PRS necessary for the network to perform positioning for the remote UE, the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS, [0378] The network may transmit a PP RequestLocationInformation message to the relay UE (or remote UE) to request assistance measurement information necessary for performing DL-TDoA-R positioning), wherein the at least one first QoS parameter ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link) and the at least one second QoS parameter ([0238] the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS) are associated with a time period. Note: the first QoS parameter is interpreted as the RSTD of the Uu link and the second QoS parameter is interpreted as the ToA of the sidelink, both are associated with measuring a time period); and
obtain a report of at least one positioning measurement within the time period based on one or more of the at least one first QoS parameter or the at least one second QoS parameter ([0385]-[0388] , The network may receive a PP ProvideLocationInformation message from the relay UE in response to the PP RequestLocationInformation message .., the relay UE may transmit UE-assisted measurement information composed of the remote UE-assisted measurement information and the relay UE-assisted measurement information to the network through the PP ProvideLocationInformation message.., the relay UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a cell ID, relay-UE speed information, relay-UE heading information, RSTD information measured using a Uu-PRS.., the remote UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a remote UE ID, remote-UE speed information, ToA information measured using the SL-PRS)..
Regarding claim 25, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 24, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
obtain a configuration for a data packet transmission associated with the at least one positioning measurement from the at least one remote UE ([0237] The remote UE may transmit, to the relay UE selected as the AN through the sidelink, a packet and SL-PRS including signaling information that is necessary for the network to perform its own positioning).
Regarding claim 26, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
obtain a long-term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP) transmission from the at least one remote UE ([0421] LPP Provide Capabilities: The UE may transmit a ProvideCapabilities message to the LCS ) comprising a Uu link response time to the network entity ([0421] the ProvideCapabilities message may include information on the OTDoA positioning mode, information on supportable frequency bands in which the UE can measure RSTD), wherein the at least one second QoS parameter for the second wireless link comprises a second response time between the relay UE and the at least one remote UE based on the Uu link response time to the network entity ([0238] When the relay UE receives, from the remote UE through the sidelink, signaling information and SL-PRS necessary for the network to perform positioning for the remote UE, the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS).
Regarding claim 29, Baek et al. teach A method of wireless communication at a relay user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of one or more of at least one first quality of service (QoS) parameter for a first wireless link or at least one second QoS parameter for a second wireless link ([0378] The network may transmit a PP RequestLocationInformation message to the relay UE), wherein the first wireless link is associated with the relay UE and a network entity ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link.), wherein the second wireless link is associated with the relay UE and at least one remote UE ([0238] When the relay UE receives, from the remote UE through the sidelink, signaling information and SL-PRS necessary for the network to perform positioning for the remote UE, the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS, [0378] The network may transmit a PP RequestLocationInformation message to the relay UE (or remote UE) to request assistance measurement information necessary for performing DL-TDoA-R positioning), wherein the at least one first QoS parameter ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link) and the at least one second QoS parameter ([0238] the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS) are associated with a time period. Note: the first QoS parameter is interpreted as the RSTD of the Uu link and the second QoS parameter is interpreted as the ToA of the sidelink, both are associated with measuring a time period); and
transmitting a report of at least one positioning measurement within the time period based on one or more of the at least one first QoS parameter or the at least one second QoS parameter ([0385]-[0388] , The network may receive a PP ProvideLocationInformation message from the relay UE in response to the PP RequestLocationInformation message .., the relay UE may transmit UE-assisted measurement information composed of the remote UE-assisted measurement information and the relay UE-assisted measurement information to the network through the PP ProvideLocationInformation message.., the relay UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a cell ID, relay-UE speed information, relay-UE heading information, RSTD information measured using a Uu-PRS.., the remote UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a remote UE ID, remote-UE speed information, ToA information measured using the SL-PRS).
Regarding claim 30, Baek et al. teach A method of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
transmitting an indication of one or more of at least one first quality of service (QoS) parameter for a first wireless link or at least one second QoS parameter for a second wireless link ([0378] The network may transmit a PP RequestLocationInformation message to the relay UE), wherein the first wireless link is associated with the relay UE and a network entity ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link.), wherein the second wireless link is associated with the relay UE and at least one remote UE ([0238] When the relay UE receives, from the remote UE through the sidelink, signaling information and SL-PRS necessary for the network to perform positioning for the remote UE, the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS, [0378] The network may transmit a PP RequestLocationInformation message to the relay UE (or remote UE) to request assistance measurement information necessary for performing DL-TDoA-R positioning), wherein the at least one first QoS parameter ([0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link) and the at least one second QoS parameter ([0238] the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS) are associated with a time period. Note: the first QoS parameter is interpreted as the RSTD of the Uu link and the second QoS parameter is interpreted as the ToA of the sidelink, both are associated with measuring a time period); and
obtaining a report of at least one positioning measurement within the time period based on one or more of the at least one first QoS parameter or the at least one second QoS parameter ([0385]-[0388] , The network may receive a PP ProvideLocationInformation message from the relay UE in response to the PP RequestLocationInformation message .., the relay UE may transmit UE-assisted measurement information composed of the remote UE-assisted measurement information and the relay UE-assisted measurement information to the network through the PP ProvideLocationInformation message.., the relay UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a cell ID, relay-UE speed information, relay-UE heading information, RSTD information measured using a Uu-PRS.., the remote UE-assisted measurement information may include at least one of a remote UE ID, remote-UE speed information, ToA information measured using the SL-PRS)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. in view of Kozioł et al. (QoS and service continuity in 3GPP D2D for IoT and wearables, 2017 IEEE Conference on Standards for Communications and Networking (CSCN), pp 233-239)
Regarding claim 8, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one first QoS parameter for the first wireless link comprises a first response time between the relay UE and the network entity (Baek [0239] The relay UE may measure the RSTD and quality of the Uu-PRS received from the base station through the Uu link), but does not teach
wherein the indication further comprises an end-to-end (E2E) response time between the network entity and the at least one remote UE, wherein the at least one second QoS parameter for the second wireless link is calculated as a difference between the E2E response time and the first response time.
In a similar endeavor, Kozioł et al. teach
wherein the indication further comprises an end-to-end (E2E) response time between the network entity and the at least one remote UE (Kozioł page 236 col 1 PDB is statically divided into Uu-PDB and SL-PDB,. . . a service has an associated total PDB value of 300 ms ), wherein the at least one second QoS parameter for the second wireless link is calculated as a difference between the E2E response time and the first response time (Kozioł page 236 col 1eNB decides that it is able to meet 100 ms delay over Uu interface, therefore providing the UEs with a less stringent delay budget of 200 ms for PC5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Baek et al. by incorporating Kozioł et al. calculation to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have guaranteed the end-to-end (e2e) QoS requirement for latency.
Regarding claim 7, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one second QoS parameter for the second wireless link comprises a second response time between the relay UE and the at least one remote UE ([0238] When the relay UE receives, from the remote UE through the sidelink, signaling information and SL-PRS necessary for the network to perform positioning for the remote UE, the relay UE may measure ToA (Time of Arrival) using the received SL-PRS), but does not teach
wherein the indication further comprises an end-to-end (E2E) response time between the network entity and the at least one remote UE, wherein the at least one first QoS parameter for the first wireless link is calculated as a difference between the E2E response time and the second response time.
In a similar endeavor, Kozioł et al. teach
wherein the indication further comprises an end-to-end (E2E) response time between the network entity and the at least one remote UE (Kozioł page 236 col 1 PDB is statically divided into Uu-PDB and SL-PDB,. . . a service has an associated total PDB value of 300 ms ), wherein the at least one first QoS parameter for the first wireless link is calculated as a difference between the E2E response time and the second response time (Kozioł page 236 col 1eNB decides that it is able to meet 100 ms delay over Uu interface, therefore providing the UEs with a less stringent delay budget of 200 ms for PC5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Baek et al. by incorporating Kozioł et al. calculation to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have guaranteed the end-to-end (e2e) QoS requirement for latency.
.
Claim(s) 21-22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. in view of PERRAS et al. (US 20250175248 A1)
Regarding claim 21, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive a maximum UE order for the report; and select the at least one remote UE based on the maximum UE order for the report.
In a similar endeavor, PERRAS et al. teach
receive a maximum UE order for the report (PERRAS [0093] A maximum number of hops allowed per traffic type may be provisioned); and select the at least one remote UE based on the maximum UE order for the report (PERRAS [0100] the packet updated to include a maximum of 2 hops is transmitted to WTRU4 204 and at 316 Edge WTRU5 205 is selected by WTRU4 204 as a next hop based on the direction of the transmission (i.e., UL), the traffic type (i.e., SM signaling), and a number of hops (i.e., 2 hops) available based on the packet transmitted at 314).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Baek et al. by incorporating PERRAS et al. selection of remote UE. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the end-to-end latency, thus improving the QoS.
Regarding claim 22, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, but do not teach
wherein the report further comprises a UE order number of relays associated with each of the at least one positioning measurement.
In a similar endeavor, PERRAS et al. teach
wherein the report further comprises a UE order number of relays associated with each of the at least one positioning measurement ([0080] a Relay WTRU may advertise its relaying capabilities (e.g., MM signaling capability, SM signaling capability and/or user plane data capability), distance to the network (i.e., number of hops to the traverse to reach the network), and lists of Remote WTRUs that it may reach with corresponding distance (i.e., number of hops to reach one or more Remote WTRU)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Baek et al. by incorporating PERRAS et al. selection of remote UE. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network to select the best relay nodes.
Regarding claim 28, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 24, but does not teach
wherein the report further comprises a UE order number of relays associated with each of the at least one positioning measurement.
In a similar endeavor, PERRAS et al. teach
wherein the report further comprises a UE order number of relays associated with each of the at least one positioning measurement ([0080] a Relay WTRU may advertise its relaying capabilities (e.g., MM signaling capability, SM signaling capability and/or user plane data capability), distance to the network (i.e., number of hops to the traverse to reach the network), and lists of Remote WTRUs that it may reach with corresponding distance (i.e., number of hops to reach one or more Remote WTRU)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Baek et al. by incorporating PERRAS et al. selection of remote UE. to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have enabled the network to select the best relay nodes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-12, 15-17, 20, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
indicate the at least one positioning measurement based on a measured round trip time (RTT) being less than or equal to the time period.
Regarding claim 12, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
indicate the at least one positioning measurement based on a measured RTT being less than or equal to a sum of a first response time between the relay UE and the network entity and a second measured response time between the relay UE and the at least one remote UE.
Regarding claim 15, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
select the at least one remote UE based on one or more of the first wireless link or the second wireless link.
Regarding claim 16, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
select the at least one remote UE further based on at least one measured real-time response time between the relay UE and the at least one remote UE.
Regarding claim 17, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive a query for a first QoS response time associated with the at least one first QoS parameter from the at least one remote UE; and
transmit the first QoS response time associated with the at least one first QoS parameter to the at least one remote UE.
Regarding claim 20, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive a second indication of a first update of one or more of the at least one first QoS parameter for the first wireless link or a second update of one or more of the at least one second QoS parameter for the second wireless link based on the report.
Regarding claim 27, Baek et al. teach the apparatus of claim 26, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
transmit a first positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration comprising a lower periodicity PRS configuration in response to the Uu link response time being equal to or greater than a threshold response time; or
transmit a second PRS configuration comprising a higher periodicity PRS configuration in response to the Uu link response time being equal to or less than the threshold response time, wherein the lower periodicity PRS configuration has a lower periodicity than the higher periodicity PRS configuration.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644